(2007/02) February

Thanks Mrs Wong. I am "jumping around" in my mind. Can't quite decide on which gynae to go to and which hospital too. So many considerations to think about... money, experience, environment etc etc.. quite a headache....

Hi mummies, anyone have any remedies for morning sickness? I'm down with vomiting most of the time.....haiz! tried doctor's medicine also no use....

Hi doggy,
Glad that you r allright now...do take extra care.
I dun hv MS but just feel uncomfortable when I am hungry or after food. Dislke that feeling. Stomach feel so bloated. I am always hungry ...every 2 hrs i am hungry. So worry that i will become a fat pig....cos need to eat.

Hi Bitbit,
ur boy is very cute.

Hey doggy..

Some warm menthol tea may help..caffeine free kind n its safe for preggies..I bought at taka basement..I breathed in the smell n drank it..it ease my MS..Rest is best i guess..I rest when I have MS, after a few minutes it gets better..eat small meals..think of what triggers the MS too..is it smells, hunger pangs, etc..

Hi Charis,

I seen my gynae on 24jun whn i abt 5wks. So he said i can go back to him 3weeks later. By thn i shd be 8+wks base on my LMP.

Hi doggy,

I do experience MS. I try taking small meals instead. sometime even half slip of cake only. I came across a book which encourage us to find out what is our food preference. At least grab somethg which we like, better than empty stomach. And I came across Mrs Wong saying drinking ribena? Yes, this really helps! I can't drink any water this week! So i switch to ribena, at least i am drinking water.

oooh doggy, i heard the injections are painful. i'm ok. trying for march. hee hee. but with world cup on is abit difficult leh. haha

Anyone started buying maternity wears? i bought a polo shirt from kiddy palace last weekend, quite ok, $29.90. Now hunting for more, cos my tummy cannot hide anymore liao. i am in my 9th week, but tummy looks as if i am in 3-4 months. Any places to recommend with good and affordable maternity wears?

Chole,

I went Orchard Palz last week during lunch.(Near my off) I bought 3pcs of maternity office top(cotton) for abt $58+ Quite worth cos of the GSS(Buy 2get 1free) & the OG card 10%. I guess I will start looking ard cos whn u need u might nt find cheap ones. Hv u tried Toa Payoh?

my bb gave me a scare again... was spotting on friday till now..

just went to scan, everything is fine. bb is 1.32 cm @ 7w4d.

just pray that bb is fine.

hi chloe,

i bought two pcs of sundress from kiddy palace,but seldom wear them.. i can still fit into my normal clothes.

i am thinking of getting babydoll dresses instead of maternity dresses.

wanted to get pants but could not find any that suits my height. i am too short

Hi Stella,
you must rest at home....i really rest and sleep. Try not to walk...i was spotting last week and went to see my gynae....luckily after 2 days of bed rest, i'm fine. Did a scan, bb was 2.88cm @6w4d

hi stella

take care, and rest well at home.

u can find 3/4 pants for preggies in kiddy palace. i wanted to buy them but they are temp out of stock. The shop has ordered for me, so my hubby will help to pick them up when they are ready. i think they cost about $30+, adjustable waistband.

doggy, i am forcing myself to drink too... Like u, plain water tastes so bland. My urine is yellow and smelly now, so just have to continue forcing myself to drink...

hi leomom

no, i've not tried toa payoh... Any idea which shops in toa payoh sell maternity dress? i will be taking no-pay leave till i deliver. So, i dun think i will buy office wear. Probably the casual ones will be good enough for me.
heehee... my husband suggested that i wear his polo shirts since they are big enough for me!

Hi doggy, mmm juice is another great idea. What juice are u drinking? I heard can't take de montel banana, water melow & papaya(cos vit a)?

Hi Chloe,

So envy u, thn u wouldn't need to spend much on these maternity wear. Cos whn BB comes, we still need to spend. Maybe u juz grab some causal wear frm Toa Payoh. Pai sai, i really can't remember which shop cos TPY quite big but i don thk some r frm maternity shop. U can also check those babydoll dress like what stella mentioned.

Hi Chloe, not sure if this may help, but for casual wear, you can actually consider draw-string pants or track pants. They are quite loose and comfy. Just buy bigger sizes, and since drawstrings, can wear till 6th or 7th month.. depending on how big your tummy grows.

Hi Leomum,
i drink grape juice and ribena.....i just tried drinking plain water again, make me vomit again

Yup, my mum said cant take del monte banana & water melon coz they feel its very liang. I went to see TCM and was told not to eat as well....

hmmm stella, not too sure leh....whats the diff between the 2? thot we saw from the screen and the gynae just measure? no?

Autum, it's best to quickly decide on one gynae then stick to that gynae. I chose Dr Woo for several reasons:
1. We are comfy with him
2. He explains all our queries and is not rushed as there is no 'next patient'
3. His antenatal and delivery packages are comprehensive
4. Clinic is convenient and very nice environment with nice nurses
5. Hospitals he deliver at are convenient

My experience with him so far is good. He does an U/S every visit (even when I was 4 weeks). When I was 4 weeks, he say can't see anything, but he will still scan to see if I have any fibroids or cyst that might complicate the pregnancy. He said it was good to know early so we can plan ahead. Turn out got nothing, except a cyst in the ovary, which he says it normal cos the cyst is the one producing hormones until the embryo has implanted into our wombs and started to provide its own hormones

There was once I saw some light bleeding, panicked and called him at 3am. He answered our call and asked us to head down to clinic immediately. No extra charge. Turn out the bleeding was due to me having constipation, nothing to do with the pregnancy

Doggy, you can try herbal teas. Take some peppermint leaves, crush and put in hot water. Sniff it if you will vomit anything you eat. It will help with MS.

Leomom, I drink Ribena for energy boost cos I can't be eating at work all the time
It realli helps to curb any uneasy feelings
Sometimes, gassy drinks help also. One mouthful and BURP!! It helps relief the bloated feeling.

Cannot eat de monte bananas cos 'cooling'. But I still eat la. I also ate pineapples. Just dun eat too much at a go

But now, I got craving for the short bananas. Dunno y, I'm normally not a banana person.

Chloe, you taking no pay leave till you deliver? My gynae say working is good cos we move around and dun become lazy. Only high risk pregnancy then need to take leave. You having twins?? Then will you be entitled to maternity benefits if you are on unpaid leave till you deliver?

Stella, mine is only 2cm at 8wks. I also thought Doggy's bb is quite huge

doggy,

normally there will be measurement on the sac and another one "crl" measurement, which measures ur bb from head to bottom

Stella is right, CRL refers to crown rump length. Which is the length of bb from head to butt, legs not included

hi mrs wong

i having triplets, that's why my family is encouraging me to take no pay leave. i've checked with my HR and according to labor law, as long as i have worked in the company for more than 180 days, i will be entitled to 3 months paid maternity leave.

My condition will be more complicated and based on wat i heard about pple conceiving triplets, it is going to be physically and emotionally draining. So i got to be extra careful lor. i am unlikely to carry them to full term, but i will try to carry them as long as i can. i come across one lady who delivered her triplets in 31 weeks, quite an achievement already.

And becos i carrying triplets, my tummy is now beginning to show. Me only in my 9th week!

stella

my babies are 16mm, 17mm and 18mm in week 8, smaller than most of u. But dr said they are in the acceptable size.
heehee... i cannot afford to have them too big, they will burst my uterus for sure!

Chloe, I think your bbs sizes are alright. Mine is 2cm at mid of week8

Triplets are triple joy!! heehee...If I got any extra hand me downs that I dunnid, can pass to you
If not have to buy 3 of everything will be v tough!

If triplets you must realli rest well at home already. Take unpaid leave will be best

I have a church fren that had triplets. She carried them till 30 weeks on full bed rest. They stayed in NICU for 2 days, high dependency ward for 4 days, normal ward for 2 days then were discharged. Everyday my fren had to pump milk for them then send to hospital. Thankfully at the same time, another fren of ours also gave birth and had excess milk, so all 3 gals had the priveledge of being feed total breast milk for the first 2 months. It realli helped them alot in terms of health, if possible, you can pool around to get breast milk for your babies also

My fren's gals are 26 months now
V cute and adorable

Now you must rest well and eat well. Best if you can make appt with nutritionist to analyse your diet cos you cannot eat too much cos your babies might grow too big and not enough space for them. But cannot eat too little cos you need to feed 4 pple!!

Must take care!! Remember to update us! I feel so happy for you

I'm in the start of week 9 now, my tummy also v obvious although I onli got 1 bb inside me
I already start to wear maternity wear

if you can, try to wear dresses instead of skirts and pants cos more comfy and less pressure on the tummy

hi mrs wong

thanks. i'm aware that triplets tend to be prematured and need to be admitted to NICU... As part of my IVF program, i have purchased insurance for 3 embryos. Luckily i bought 3, cos it is very rare to have triplets, and surprisingly, i am the lucky one.
i dunno how much longer can i continue to be mobile, cos carrying triplets adds a lot of weight to the lower body...

My family has not announced to the rest of the relatives. So i've yet to receive any hand-me-downs. Hopefully when we announce after the first trimester, hand-me-downs will start to pour in.
wow, u started wearing maternity dress! heeheee... i still hunting for more.

Chloe, lucky you bought insurance for 3! I feel so happy for you now
V excited to see if your triplets will be v different from each other or not
My fren's gals are all v similar in terms of personality, but looks wise, onli 2 are identical twins

Actually, you should ask your gynae about simple exercises you can do on bed or while sitting down to ensure good blood circulation. Cos bed rest means decreased blood circulation which also results in cramps, bed sores, etc.

My excited parents already went around announcing. They couldnt contain their excitement la. haha...
But I think you will get alot of hand me downs, esp when pple know you got triplets!!

Wish all MTBs here happy pregnancy

hi all MTBS, am into my 7th week, so far no MS (touchwood) & feel very norm....
last week scan, bb was measured at 4mm.... forgot to add, i had IVF at KKH and this is my 1st attempt

Hi hi Mrs Wong & Stella,
Thanks for explaining.....i will ask my gynae for more info on this coming wed....anyway, size is not impt as long as they are healthy...am i right? Hey Mrs Wong, where to get those mint leaves? My MS is really bad, like a vomiting machine man....

Hi Chloe,
Really feel excited for you....triplets! How I wish i could have triplets and close shop after that
Take good care of yourself....and be happy

HI doggy..

yep... size does not matter.. most important is healthy

u also married in mar2006 ? me too, my actual day is 18/03/06. so next yr anniversary is also somewhere our bb full month.

mrs wong,

u started to wear maternity wear liao? i also in a fix cos i cant wear my normal pants already. now if wear maternity dress, it abit odd.. can only wear babydoll dress

Doggy, I use peppermint leaves which my mum grows in her garden
You can easily get peppermint leaves at the market.

Stella, I got maternity wear cos I simply can't fit into my normal clothes. It is too uncomfy already. Now I only wear the skirt and pants, dress depends on design, some that my hubby bought can be worn without looking like preggie woman

Hi doggy..

U can try takashimaya basement..there's a tea stall there. But 1 bottle of mintleaves cost about $15..a bit ex..but can easily last 2 months..cos u jus need 1 teaspoon of the leaves to make about 3 cups of tea.

Hi mrs wong, chloe, stella..

My first pregnancy I also had to wear maternity jeans cos I couuldnt fit into my normal jeans/pants at the 1st tri.

This pregnancy I watching my diet..I dont jus eat whatever I want..plus with MS, I have lost
about 1-2 kg in a month..So still can wear my current clothes..also I feel weird wearing maternity clothes so soon haha..But I already have a few sets from the previous pregnancy..n I have some babydoll tops which can be worn as maternity..

So ladies u can look around for babydoll tops which is easier to find, in normal boutiques..those kind with flare cut..they tend to be less 'maternity' n 'mumsy'..haha. I find quite hard to get babydoll dresses..seldom see them around in shops..I'm planning to tailor some maternity dresses..my seamstress can do 1 dress for only about $40.

Mrs wong,

I also started to notice that my tummy got a bit bigger now. I was wearing an elastic skirt just now and my hubby also commented now i have a bit of tummy.

I remembered for my 1st pregnancy, i only started wearing maternity wear when im around 4 months. prior to that, office skirt and pants quite tight liao and cant button them up, so i just left it unbutton and juz lock the zip.

For 1st pregnancy, its seems that your tummy has expanded quite fast hor? Did u put on weight so far?

btw, anyone of you had scan that shows that the bb is lesser in weeks compared to what gynae has calculated?

I just went for scan just now. the scan shows bb should be 7 wks 6 days at 1.53 cm. Gynae said 8 wks plus if calculate from my last menses. US said edd shd be 14 Feb whereas gynae estimated 9 Feb. I ask him whether bb size is normal, he told me yes.

Cos i told him i remember my 1st bb measure around 2cm at 8 wks.

my gynae fees is $1600 including delivery. those that are paying 550 or 750 here, is your package inclusive of delivery?

Hi starlite..

I think that's possible..I heard of cases like that too..cos calculation is always an estimate..even the ultrasound may give an estimate based on the range they have been programmed to..

leomom, same here I also seen gynae in Jun and only see sac and my next appt on 14Jul (Fri) for 2nd appt, one day b4 you, hahha, hopefully to see the heartbeat soon.

i really worry and hope I could quickily confirm if there is heartbeat!!! (I worried because my previous one m/c due to no heartbeat)

I am not SAHM lar, have to work else no money. I FTWM. very sianz, everyday hv to face office politics. Idoit work!

hey seems like you all always hungry ah? Me always feel the bloated and full feeling leh! Around evening when going to dinner time, I feel like going to puke when smell food. Yet I am still so FAT looking.

Starlite I already hv a tummy popping out leh, can u imagine I am juz 6 or 7 wks. I agree with you during my 1st preg, my stomach only starts to show at 5th month! But now my DH says overall he would class me under the FATTY club (meaning I do look fat lor).

leomom and JC, thanks for compliment on my boy, haha he is a noti boy.

leomom, Mrswong, I drank ribena too but dare not drink too much. The previous PG I genna gest diabetes so cut down on sugar. Nowadays I try to avoid rice. So scare...

stella i am short too and my thigh had grown fatter, It seems that my upper thigh can't find my pants soon, it's one of preggy sympton, so scary.. I hope you are not spotting anymore? My 1st preg also spotting, lucky this round is better juz abit hate food.

MrsWong, juz to check if u r the one staying near Jurong Kechil? Dr Woo have a clini at Ten mile Juction right?

MTB, would like to conso a table to record our Nick/EDD/CurrenctPregNo#. So that maybe can see easily, juz wonder what is you all opinion?

Anything else to add?

If so I can start it

Nick/EDD/CurrenctPregNo#.
1) bitbit / 14 feb 07 / 2

Hi bitbit..

My first pregnancy I jus ate n ate, wasnt really cos my tummy was showing..it was a bit but more cos of bloatedness..Anyway, my gynae felt I was slightly underweight then n I was an exercise regular, which kept my weight down..so he told me to better put on..n I did..n honestly looked better with more weight..But well I lost some of the weight I put on..

Do add me too..Hope this time my pregnancy will be all the way well!

charis/16 feb 07/1..hmm..I think can add the gynae n hospital..Mine is Dr. Goh Y.C. Mt. Alvernia.

So stella n mrs wong are newly weds..hehe..How was yr weddings?

Mine was in Nov 05, n another one in Jan 06..2 weddings, dont know which one to celebrate as anniversary..haha.

ya, my clothes seem to be feel tighter already... haha, glad I'm not the only one. Was a little upset thinking that I'm the only one who's tummy seems to have started protuding. I thought most people wouldn't show till they are 3 or 4 months. So was a little sad thinking it's all fats. Hopefully it's more baby than fats ^_^

bitbit,
will supply you the info after I see my gynae this saturday. Forgot to ask him EDD the last time. Thanks for taking the trouble to compile the data!

Starlite, i tink partially cos I've slowed down on exercise now. Plus I'm v skinny, so any weight gain is v visible

Charis, I got married in April this yr
My wedding was great
Everything went better than I expected cos my coordinator did so many things for us that added that special touch

Hmm..mrs wong..that's nice..any photos to share?

To have a good coordinator is a blessing..maybe we should get coordinator for baby shower too! haha.

Charis, my coordinator is not my wedding planner. She is the coordinator for the catering, but she added so many extra touches for us! My family was v grateful to her for helping us so much

hi gals, i am now in my 9th week. Went for scan today, babies are all healthy 23mm, 24mm and 25mm.

Here's the latest list that i have compiled:

Nick / EDD / CurrenctPregNo# / Gynae / Hosp
bitbit / 14 feb 07 / 2 /
charis / 16 feb 07 / 1 / Dr. Goh Y.C. / MtA
starlite / 9 Feb 07 / 2 /
chloe / 5 Feb 07 / 1 / Dr L C Foong / Gleneagles

Chloe, you every week go for scan? My next appt will be when I'm in week 12
Last week was week8, just saw Dr Woo

Nick / EDD / CurrenctPregNo# / Gynae / Hosp
bitbit / 14 feb 07 / 2 /