(2007/02) February

GOG,
Last time when Rya had jaundice and doc gave us an option to either admit him or rent the bili bed and we decided to rent it instead cos we feel that nurses in the hospital are quite busy with so many babies and dun give personal attention to our child and also felt that they are not as gentle as us.

We didn't have much problems using the bili bed actually... we had to improvise it cos Ryan didn't like being put face down. Will post a pic if i can find it to explain what i mean...

Hi Catz and Chocbabe!

Thanks for the encouragement. PD said her level is still high but acceptable. Wants to sun her if we can to get rid of the jaundie completely.

Honestly, it was so difficult leaving her at the hospital last Friday and I cried buckets but today after I saw her and the improved condition, I am more comforted... really best mom's day gift for me
Just now she came home, didn't forget how to latch on... and I was so so elated

This month, our expenses sky-rocketed cos of unexpected hospital stay... plus my hospital bill, confinement lady, Singapore Power bill, daily groceries etc... I cant imagine how big our pockets holes are going to be!

re: food

surprisingly , cherish loves vegetarian diet more than fishes and meat.. if i give her fish or meat, she will take a v long time to finish her meal.

gog,

i guess thats the best mother day pressie for you..no matter how high the bills are going to be.. what matters most is our little precious.

GOG, when we had to leave Timo at the hospital, I howled so loudly that I made more babies cry.. haha.. then all the nurses patted me on the back, all the while ushering me toward the door. Went home and cried some more.. then next morning, 7am checked myself into a single room to take care of Timo. Inspite of having a horrible flu. Hehe.

Expenses with children can never be predicted. My outpatient bills in the past 2 months alone are over $2k liao, incl purchasing the nebuliser. :p

chocbabe, wait for Robinsons sale. 20% + 20 % is the best price liao.

Haven't logged in for sometime... or rather whenever i am on the computer, Timohty fights me coz he also wants to play on the computer.

Catz, Beth looks sooooo good on the picture. Captivating smile :)

GOG, congratulations on the delivery of Joelle. Thank God she is discharging soon!

Smurfy, I report here coz I saw your mail ;-)) Is the lady Nancy? Initially I find her pushy too but she is actually very good. She helps to screen the maids to make sure that they understand English well and have common sense. But hor, warn you first, my maid is the fifth one (remember the last 4 couldn't even make it here even though we agree to select them?). I don't even bother to select the maid... I leave the 80 - 90% of the screening work to Nancy.

Catz, yup, my friend was telling me she spent a total of $200 on her 2 gals consultation and medication... everything is expensive nowadays... sigh...
You actually checked yourself into a single room to take care of Timo... I was thinking of doing that too but the nurses there kept telling me that there is no need for that and that my gal will be in safe hands.... so decided not to.

Stella, agree with you, expenses is secondary, what is important is the health of my gal

Food
What's with our kids nowadays? Julian as well, has been rejecting food that he used to like very much... He will pick up the food (fish and meat) and then place it back again if he doesnt want. But at least he likes veg so I just mince all the meat and fish into his rice till he can't find them.

Jazz, thanks! Haha.. My Timo used to be addicted to the comp at one stage so we've just banned him for the time being.. he has comp classes at kindy anyway.

magd, haha.. yah lor I scold you hor?
So you managed to clear your 'stock' yet? You got A LOT OF TOYS AHHHHHH!!!

GOG, $3-400 is about normal for both kids' consultation and medications.. esp since my kids are on the pricey stuff like Zaditen and Singulair plus the neb medication. Yeah I told the nurses it's not that I don't trust them but I had milk coming in and I was determined to TBF.. first kid mah, so kan cheong. So yeah I stayed in the room with all that zapping buzzing noise for 2 days until gong gong. It was good training for a first time mom like me.. 'cos I basically did all the caring for him myself. Going to toilet was only when my hubby or parents came to visit... else I'd just sit by his buzzing phototherapy bed... crazy first time mom.. haha.

jazzzy
yes, it's nancy.. err she told me she dun have any biodata for me currently leh... coz i told her i want ex-sin who dun require off-days :p yes.. she is very different from the reest of the agencies i have liasied with these days n i quite like her service..

thanks for the feedback on their meals.. kekekee maybe high time to promote QY to adult food....

oh i have been instructed to cut my lil boy-girl's hair again

everyone think he's a she.. with long curly hair and white face...

2439614.jpg

that's his disgusting homewear t-shirt, which he insist on wearing... now everyday he insist on choosing his own clothes.. and most of the times, he would prefer those very very old homewear and sexy short shorts to go out

smurfy, his hair is curly cute! looks jap.

1) Have he/she been promoted from regular porridge?
he still somnetimes eat his own porridge. he also eat adults food

2) If yes, do you cook separately for your toddlers? Or do they share what you are eating?
zz do eat our food too

3) What time are his/her lunch and dinner?
11.30/12 for lunch and dinner 5 plus to 6. on wkend, can be later cos outside. will eat together when we eating

4) Still on 3 regular milk feeds?
yes sometimes more if he refuse solids

5) Eating a lot of snacks for morning breaks/teabreaks?
no... we dun give biscuits/chocolates if he refuse solids. n he doesn't eat breakfast nowadays.

gog, dun worry. most of bbs have jaudice. just make sure she pass out much fluid and poo to reduce the level. make sure she drinks well.

me v sian... tomolo onwards got to wake up super early for work... somemore had to pump... think had to wake up at 5 a.m liao .... sian...

magd, haha u finally came out... yes tat time i cut ah wang style n my hb mock him... haha

miffy is so heavy! wat did u fed her??? i wish my zz could eat so well... at least his lunch n dinner lo...

cherry: it's been a long while since i took pics of her with my phone.... hehee... this is her during cny this year, btwn 23-25 kg....
2440081.jpg

garfield: lol.... i think the horror started when i put her on multivit with lysine, then subsequently on milo with full cream milk.... lol....

magd, WOW, I can only wish Timo can gain weight well. Lysine is good? Timo is only 15kg at 4yo :p

smurfy, teehee.. QY hair is v unique.. he looks so boyish lah but of course stupid people just don't want to look properly, just pass stupid comments first. So your maid how?

GOG,
Good to know Joelle has been discharged!

smurfy,
Qy's hair is nice lah... very cute, and he definitely does not look like a girl with his physique and his outfit!
Soph was also mistaken as a boy even though she was in all pink, so really, it's just the old folks who never observe properly!

Update us on your maid!

Thanks Huskie and mummies
Joelle is doing fine now, feeding better as well.

Smurfy, my boy is a real boy boy but still there are people who call him mei mei or ask if he is a girl or a boy. Sigh... dressed up like a boy k...

the control freak in me lost control yesterday n i started shouting n screaming at everyone at home.. not to buy snacks, tidbits and sweet stuffs to QY... or give him too much choice..
.. this boy is clever lor... knows he got a selection of things to choose.. and given that he definitely choose what he wants... adult rice instead of porridge... cake instead of bread.. and even bread... my mum gives him an option of 2 or even 3 kinds each moRning
.. IT's time like this i feel so useless..

regards to maids.
selected a 23 yr old young girl this time round lar... felt that it's easier to train a new bird than a old bird... she's doing nursing degree, stopped studying coz no $$... when we ask her how to bath newborn... err she could give textbook answers.eerr we feel that if she's able to give textbooks answer...still not that bad lar.. got chance lar.. but somehow we both know that this girl will go back to sch if given a chance.. anyway so long as she got common sense and dun create problem in these 2 yrs, good enough oredi.. she's seems different frm the rest of applicants lor... knows what she wants.. anyway if this still does not work out.. by the time maid #3 comes.. my CL will be ard to help me train her

GOG,
Thank God that Joelle is fine now. You can concentrate on feeding her and recovering from your delivery.

smurfy,
I think QY can eat rice already lah. He probably knows this. Of course, the sweets and snacks... have to control. Even my kids don't really like porridge much. I think their jaws need something more solid to munch on, so they don't like the texture of the porridge.

Catz,
Don't worry about TImo's weight. Sarah is nearly 5 and only 14 kg. Ben is 12+ kg already, going to catch up with Sarah soon. Gabriel is small and light, like Sarah. Looks like her too.

PVL, hey, you need to post up more pix of your 3 musketeers! Sarah didn't look thinner than Timo.. hmm.. maybe 'cos it's more acceptable for girls to be petite? My poor Beth lost weight, her limbs are so thin now. Even my maid said she's so skinny now.. even her pot belly is gone

smurfy, good luck with your new maid. So when does she come in? Yah as for kids knowing how to manipulate, it's v v true.

pvl
:p i think i am going to make the whole family eats bRown rice now..

magd
miffy is chubby and soooo adorable in her cny clothes n hairdo.

weight
err i think it's more impt to keep the kiddos healthy instead of watching over the numbers.. i was a skinny toddler b4.... but teenager onwards.. look so plump n fat...

catz
the new maid shld be here in 3 wks time if everything goes smoothly..

magd, miffy has grown up a lot! Time flies.

smurfy, your new maid biodata sounds quite good. Actually I think it is good to change maid every 2 yrs, then they dun irritate u so much.

I have a question, in the past my maid goes back in Oct for hari raya every 2 yrs. But this year hari raya is in Sept, should we let her go? Her work permit only expires in Jun 2010. Anyway, she has two options:

1) Go back for hari raya and end the contract

2) Stay until Jun 2010 when work permit expires then go home. We will pay her additional 1 mth if she is willing to stay till Jun.

Think she is not keen on option 2 as she misses home. Actually she wants to go back to Indo then come back to work till Jun 2010 then go back to indo to get married. But my mil said no way we should cater to this cos it is very disruptive for us, might as well have a new maid.

Sept is a bad month for us cos hb is super busy that mth. Sigh, all these maids' issues.

cherry

option 1
still disruptive lor.. coz u will have to train new maid.. and most of the time... it's hard to hit jackpot like catz n jazzzy.. if there is one agency u wanna recommend, i would recommend jazzzy's.. the boss is efficient n confident(alil assertive at times), not like those bukit timah/katong agencies.

option 2:
actually err u r obligated to give her home leave every 2 yrs when work permit expired right? so by right.. 2 yrs not up.. can take that as a excuse/reason for her to go back in June onli...

anyway new maids old maids oso got issue.. just that old maid u will know what u will be facing...but with new maids.. it's like a surprise bag... u never know what u get until she comes onboard

GOG!!!
CONGRATS!
How's baby Joelle? Her jaundice any better??
Dun worry ya her jaundice level would go down b4 u know it!

my gf's looking for a female gynea at TMC
anyone got a good recommendation?

smurfy,
Good that you have selected a maid. New maids generally don't have much attitude problems, but you'll need LOTS of patience in teaching them basic things.

I think Qy is choosy about food cos he probably thinks "adult" food is nicer? Yeah, I think he can eat rice already... better promote him to adult food else he may grow up like me, thinking adult food is always nicer!

Hee, I grew up thinking porridge/rice/noodles are kiddie food i.e. not nice (cos my mum always make me eat those stuff), and things like popiah, rojak are adult food and nicer :p

PVL,
Thanks for posting Sarah's weight! It's comforting to know not all kids' weight will keep increasing as they grow older

My 15mth old nephew is the same weight as Soph, and that constantly gets me worried.

gak,
Catz' gynae, Dr. Yvonne Chan at TMC is really nice!
You should get your friend to try her!

Gig,
Saw that you tried to order the black Kate Spade Zermatt Stevie from Joanne but it's OOS.
Also saw from another BP organizer (Bling) thread that she has a KS Tamarind Cove Stevie that is coming in... think she posting the pic this afternoon... I googled for it, and it looks quite nice too, size about the same as Zermatt Stevie.
But I must say Joanne is a really nice and honest BP/spree organiser - I originally ordered my Zermatt Stevie at $330, but she will now refund me $80 since price has dropped to $250.

Hi Gak!

Joelle looks ok now. review on Thursday.
Yup, Dr Yvonne Chan is good I heard too.

PVL, thanks. am so happy she is latching on fine. In fact, she loves latching on rather than fed expressed milk

Food
Yah, nowadays, Julian has been picky as well. He doesnt really snack but he only wants plain rice all the time! We are having a hard time getting him to eat! Also, eversince his fever, flu and cough attack 2 weeks ago, he is so glued to the TV that he can't feed himself anymore. He used to guai guai sit on his high chair to finish his meal, without other distractions like toys and TV but now he is not able to do that anymore. I am so sad as my effort in training him to sit on high chair seems to have gone down the drain... sigh...

Just wnat to drop in quickly to share what I have just learnt from the confinement lady I have just engaged with. She gave me a tip. She said when I am

4 months preggy onwards- take 1 fresh (green) coconut a week -not cold
6 months onwards- 2 coconuts a week
8 months onwards- altenate days

This is to prevent baby from having jaundice. Clearing the system.

GoG
errr likewise...QY cannot sits on highchair at my mum's place... why? coz my mum ask him.. "u want to sit on sofa or highchair?"... then ask him "u want to eat porridge or rice?"

arrgghh it's times like this i miss my high classy when she will follow my instructions why it comes to QY's welfare

smurfy, I am afraid that if I told her option 2, she will black face and no mood to work. Ashley is still young, dun want an unwilling helper who will make me worry.

Think best option is to send her home in Sep and look for another one. I will take filipino this time round. When must I start to search for new maid if the current one is leaving in mid sept?

Jazzcy, how much do u have to pay your agent?? I prefer single, no kid type of maid. Glad that your 5th helper is working out well. How's the biodata like?

cherry/garfield
i remembered u girls were of high praises for ur massage lady.. what's the charges like and how many sessions u engage in? how long is the duration? and can i have her contact numbers pls :p

cherry.
err if ur option is to send her off in sept. most probably i would tell her my decision to send her off in june .. and see whether she got any counter offer.. if none.. my search would start in end june/early july.. and if a suitable biodata appear.. i would proceed to get the new girl in and maybe get the old maid out earlier... if that scenerio happens... it would not crash with ur tight sept schedule.. u need to give urself ample time to prepare for mishaps oso lar(the 1st four maids of jazzzy do not work out)

smurfy, she is not bad lah but the massage didnt help me to lose weight more for relaxing purposes. She is chinese, Dolly 98732936

ok, I will speak to my maid again early jun. My fear is that she wants to go home but her mother will force her to work here as they are relying on her salary to feed the whole family. Your new maid is filipino? Single?? Does she have off days? Actually I am also quite afraid to get new maid, scarely turn out to be a nightmare.

cherryale, let's meet for lunch some time. haven't seen u for quite a long while.

i paid $488 agency fees. Smurfy, actually Nancy is not the boss. The boss is Karen whom I never met but my maid told me she is only around my age. I think it is good idea to get a single maid. I have no issues with my maid's work but wah, need to manage her home sickness and every now and then, she gets upset when she learnt that one of her children is sick. I told her it is common for children to be sick... aiyoh. I think 90% of Filipino maids have day off.

yah Jazzcy, our lunch/play date during ML never happened! Anyway, i was really busy then. are u still staying at the rented plc? or bought a plc already?

will sms u to arrange our lunch date
can pass me your agency contact?

My maid confirmed with mil that she will only work till sept and go back to Indo in time for hari raya. She has a bf and will be going back to get married, then work in jakarta. Well, its good for her. So I definitely will have new maid in Sept...fingers crossed, hopefully will be ok.

cherry
ur massage lady same as garfield's right? yah, this new maid will be single... no off days..wish u luck ;)

jazzzy
ohh i do not know tat.. i onli know nancy used to operates home based for many yrs, in her condo where my boss stayed and he got her maids frm her.

Hi ladies..

Catz..Timo is kinda light huh..haha..my fren's 2 year old gal is almost 14kg already..but she's kind of on the plump side..drinks alot of milk..
My MIL swears by Pediasure..she used to let my SIL drink n she put on some weight.

GOG..Congrats!!! Wah yr epidural story is so interesting..but guess it took away some stitching up pain?

Charis, ya he's a featherweight. Beth also lost weight.. in fact thank God we had the photoshoot before her weight loss. SHe's so lanky now
Pediasure isn't exactly weight-gain though. Timo's been on it since 1 yo and look at his lousy weight!

catz
if u ever go to see Doc ong hor.. can ask for me... "does a 2 yr old toddler needs calicum supplement if he dun take any milk???" onli daily a cup of petite miem yoghurt now. i keep forgetting it

Catz..Yup exactly..but my MIL insists I get it for Y. I told her its an appetite gainer..but Y has a gd appetite..How abt Timo? Maybe he's jus active.
Eh by the way if u planning a ON spree let me know yup, I'm eyeing some stuff..haha..maybe next month got some income.

Smurfy..Think need to supplement..maybe 2 cups..or plus 1 more cheese..if not think can supplement with goat's milk tablet..nice leh..sweet n meets calcium needs.
Y hardly drinks his choco milk..I bf once a day only..he's almost off bf..but so hard to get him to drink cow's milk..he takes cheese..but his likings are seasonal..haha.
How abt QY?

smurfy: relax a bit la... you seem rather stressed over QY's food... meowmi oso like that, sometimes eat nonstop, sometimes dun eat at all... sometimes take plenty of milk, sometimes hate milk to the core.... guess dr ong's answer, the kid will noe and ask... or something along those lines la. for me i ks a bit, been putting all 3 on multivit and for meowmi, since he was 11mths plus lor.

catz: did i hear ON spree????? ehhehehe... remember tell me ah?

miffy is overkill for weight la,,, meowmi is currently 15.6kg or something. but to me still nothing compared to meow and miffy lor..

but hor, meowmi is scary. he is climbing windows leh. omg lor. he was like still pulling the chair and climbing up with me in full view until i glare at him then he bashfully run away.

charis, just let me have your orders when you're ready
I'm sure I'll be able to make up at least 1 batch. Haha. Milkie sure want also.

Smurfy, er don't have to ask. The answer sure yes cos 1 tub is way too little. Suggest you look into liquid calcium! How about trying diff milk for him? But I'll ask if I see him next. But hope it will be a long time from now la. Haha. Choy choy ah.

gak,
My EDD is 2 Oct.
Wow, Dr. Yvonne Chan doesn't take newbies anymore huh? What a shame... she's really good!
How's your planning for your year end baby?

smurfy,
Yep, goat sweets is good alternative, but I stopped giving Soph the Karihome brand one... switched to Ripple -> no sugar added, just pure goat milk... she's OK with it, although she will sometimes point to the Karihome and say "the other one"

Think liquid calcium is quite safe... you don't have to give the full dosage, just half the dosage is also good to make up the 500mg tods require per day.

huskie, actually Dr Chan only takes in a certain number of deliveries per month. When I was preggy in the US, I made my mom call to book her but she was actually already booked up but 'cos I've been seeing her since I was 14, so she took me in. Hehe.

Actually I've just received a 20% off Gap code.. anybody up for it? Gap only... and there's 25% off at Banana Republic if over USD100.

catz, i will email u my ON order. Need to get some new clothes for ashton, poor boy looks like he is from some slum

weight issue - Ashton has been on pediasure for the longest time and look at his weight.. 11.8kg only. I have switched to Isomil now cos he seems to prefer it and can finished the bottle. But I still got couple of tins of pediasure so will switch him back after I finishe the isomil.

Catz,
I remember you mentioned you like some Britax car seat that can be used from newborn till 4yrs old... is it the Britax First Class something? I saw it at Mothercare selling at $468, but the lady said my Altis seat belt is not long enough to use it as rear facing, so I may have to end up buying a bucket type like Maxi Cosi Cabrio and then later switch to the Priori XP... which is a bit leychey.
Also, even if my car sat belt can accomodate the Britax as rear facing, there would be a strap across the entrance of door part where I take baby out yeah? Would that cause inconvenience in taking baby in and out?

Can gimme some input on car seat?

Also, are you doing any more drugstore/luckyvit spree? I'm thinking of getting some teabags... let me know if you are!

charis / huskie/catz / magd
QY's calcium intake is something like Y.. ups n downs.. i am trying to make more egg n cheese omelette but i afraid he gets sick of them :p..i'm always chasing my mum to give him tau kwa.. tau pok.. bean curd skin into his meals (for calcium)...

i've tried different brands of milk powder and fresh milks as well.. all no use... but recently i found that he's taking cold yohgurt drink (1/2 cup per day).. which makes me feel so much more better..

the karihome's goat's milk arr? he takes them occasionally.. and he eats like no tomorow once started.

smurfy,
yeah, Soph's calcium intake is also up and down, but cos I give her multi-vits and liquid calcium, I am not so worried. She comes to me and asks for the liquid calcium herself... seems like she likes the flavour.

Yoghurt drink is good - Soph also likes yoghurt, yoghurt drinks and soy milk.

Hee, the karihome goat milk sweets is veyr addictive, cos so sweet! That's why I switch to Ripple

How's your pregnancy coming along? Tired or not?
My neighbour says I look pale, asks me to eat mroe pao cheng and cordyceps!

huskie
hey, what liquid calcium u give ar? can i get it OTC.. or must be doc's prescribe?

pregnancy going well.. still very energetic..but morning sickness oso sometimes coming back.. bb is heavyweight.. slightly heavier than QY.. 27wks 4 days oredi 1.312 kg.. :p.. i oso started to take more TCM stuffs.. stockpiled worth 2k of EYS things at home now (with birthdya month 20% off) :p