(2007/02) February

catz
i heard of ur recommended LC. supposedly to be mrs wong's colleague last time who opened up a clinic. since it's private, it shld be good and suits cherry's needs.. have to agree that TMc is getting poorer in service due to shortage of manpower and poor carpark.. haiz... these days more ppl choosing mt. a instead of tmc

smurfy I think I have blocked ducts though I always ensure that right breast is very empty. Its really v v bad, most times I only get 20ml from right breast. Its that bad
So my main source of mmilk only comes from the left side, poor breast, super overworked. Do both breasts produce same amt for you?

catz, smurfy thanks for the recommendation. I was reading this other thread on LC, seems like there were complains about TMC LC. I am keen to speak with Doris from NUH but I will prefer if she can come to my plc.

Catz, thanks, I will check out Uma. Dun mind going tanglin mall too since I can pick up stuff from motherworks.

smurfy, she was my LC when I delivered Timo and she was GOOD! The Parentcraft clinic.. really terok.. no proper expertise except for Mrs Wong. That Ling woman really tak boleh. I'm Ok with the carparking situation.. honestly.. but I would never ever recommend Parentcraft for consultation post-partum. No personalised solutions.. just one solution fit all which is not helpful lor. End up my sister's PND got so bad.. but Uma is so different. Even though my sis only went three times, she still calls her up every week to check on her PND and bfeeding progress.

Also, anyone ordered nursing wear from Mothers en vogue before? How is the quality and sizing? Dun know if I should take S or XS? initially I wanted to try M but upon reading their sizing chart, it will be too big for me.

Me still v fat after 1 mth, not sure whether to call the massage lady to give another 5 sessions. I had 6 sessions of massage then stopped cos of CNY. Honestly I dun have much faith in massage to slim down, I mean if its so easy then there wouldnt be so many fat people or people going for lipo or to slimming salon. Perhaps its more for relaxation??

catz
what's PND? Ling quite nice to me lar. she dropped by my gynae's clinic to congrats me when she knew i get preggie again after the mc..

cherry
give urself more time on the fats issue lar, onli one mth plus after delivery. oh last time my breastmilk quantity oso differnt.. one breast less than the other... like 20ml lesser than the other..go try that place that catz recommend n feedback, then next time i know :p

catz what is PND?

Fenugreek - i was told that there are two brands - GNC and this greenlife brand from Guardian - anyone knows which one is better?

Desperate times call for desperate measures, I will start on anything that can improve supply. Waiting for my freestyle pump to arrive, hopefully in 2-3 weeks, its such a trouble switching from breast to breast using the single pump.

cherry, my sis has been shopping at MEV like crazy.. haha.. better go down and try at their store.

smurfy, PND = post natal depression. Ling ah, dun like her attitude. She's v cold and hmm, not v helpful with the nursing. My personal opinion lah..

smurfy, i feel the same as u too to give more attention to the elder one as they are more sensitive and demanding now. When both kids are around and they cry at the same time, i will go to Xi first. While calming her I will tell her mei2 is hungry and crying, can mummy go pick her up from her playpen and feed her? Normally she will nod her head and allow me to do so.

Cherry, my milk supply is barely enough for my little gal too. She is drinking abt 3oz if feed her ebm. Ya, i take fenugreek daily to maintain and/or boost my supply. Used to take 2 pills per day, just increase to 4 pills per day. Ya, i bot from GNC via spree here as cheaper. Each capsule is of 610mg. One bottle has 200 capsules.

Pvl, yaya, agree wif Charis, all ur 3 kids have ang moh look when they are babies!!! And Gabriel's full name is very unique!

catz, thanks, prob will go MEV after I go to tanglin mall.

The other day I was shopping at tanglin mall with Ashley alone. I noticed that people were v helpful when they saw me alone with a newborn, of cos there were tonnes of angmos there with their kids. were chatting with a few mummies at starbucks, mainly expats wives so all they do are bringing kids out and hang around coffee joints..

I am v happy actually this time round cos I have guts to do things that I never dare to do with A. I have been bringing Ashley out on my own since CL left

jelly how big is the capsule? I have problem swallowing large pills lah. I am damn worried that Ashley will soon go to 150ml and she can drink every 2 hrs, we call her the ultimate drinking machine. I remembered that for A, he didnt use the large bottle until much later.

just called doris from NUH, very busy lady but sounded quite nice. Her charges are $60 per hour, so if need her to come to my plc, she will charge based on the total to-fro of her travelling time and the timing of visit is also quite inflexible. Think I try tanglin mall first, at least nearer for me and after that still can go shopping

called mother and child..find it quite funny, the lady was asking me if my right breast is red or sore..I answered "no, its fine just not producing milk

smurfy will let u know if she is good

thanks Jelly, wow u v precise. 2.3cm should be manageable, will get it later

I spoke with Uma, seeing her at 3pm. She is very very nice (at least I felt more comfortable with her than with Doris), very motherly and even before I decide to see her she was very encouraging, asking me questions to find out my concerns. And when she asked why I am not latching on and expressing, I wanted to cry cos it was a lack of faith that I can produce enough for Ashley. She said I must believe that I can have enough. Too bad she is going on 2 weeks vacation after today, so the follow up with be with her colleagues.

Actually I do not know why I have these fears (fear that baby not getting enough milk if latched on etc). I just keep pumping and pumping, just now I got a shock when I opened the fridge,even with Ashley taking ebm throughout the day and supplemented with 1 FM feed at night,there are 5 bottles of ebm in the fridge.

anyway, hopefully Uma can help me.

Smurfy..Hope u get back yr appetite soon..baby needs the nourishment..take care n eat whenever u can la..small meals.
Yup I get pains on the side when ovulation time..super obvious..haha!
We'll wait at least 2 cycles before ttc again.

Catz..Aida sms me..but not sure if I can bring Y to class..been so busy lately..see how..will have to decide by next week.

Cherry..Its good tat u r trying yr best to bf!
1 month only wat..I'm sure u'll start to lose some in the next few months..I was fat for at least 3-4 months u know! Haha. But I didnt wear nursing wear..somehow made me feel more fat..but think MEV's nursing wear very fashionable n figure enhancing type..so think u'll feel nice n sexy in them.haha!

charis, i just weighed myself, I am 54.4kg, Ashley is 4.6kg (crude method of subtracting my weight off our weight). I hope to at least go back to 50kg soon. last week when I went back to my mum's house, she exclaimed that I am so fat! She dont mean it but I am rather hurt by the insensitive remark. I mean I already know I am fat, dun have to say in my face. Having lunch now, going out soon

charis
kekkee me striked 2 cycles after the initial bleeding ;).. so i guess the problem with us is to sustain the pregnancy lor... ;).. though i doubt u will try this, but i took the EYS bai feng wan to regulate my hormones and menses thereafter ;).. for me, i can sorta guess the ovulation period lor, so i die die want to do it that nite (though i just touch down frm the plane 2-3hrs ago).. hahahah i knew i would miss that chance if i dun do it that nite... then next mth if i strike, the bb would be born in hungry ghost month, which i dun wanna lor :p .. so it's die die that nite :p

Gong Xi Fa Cai Mummies

My daughter just turned 2 and straight after that she start to trow tantrums by crying non stop if we do not give in to what she wants. Quite a surprise to everyone. I guess it is part of growing up.

Hi Koh,
Came across this site. Hope it will help: http://www.child-central.com/Child-Learning-Development.html

Would like to find out if any of the mummies bought any Multiple Intelligence Educational System set for your children. I find this quite interested but also pricey. Hope can get some info from you. Thanks in advance. Here's the link:

http://www.brainet.com.my/index.html
http://www.flp.com.my/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=3&zenid=41bfb74db550f7debd354b46ddfb5c8b

Charis,
Thank God that you are alright, and needing no further intervention. We struck with Ben after 3 cycles. You are more fertile at this point in time, so it's a good time to conecive.

Saph,
Ben is also throwing tantrums, and it's not helping that we just had another baby I suppose.

smurfy,
Glad that everything is going well.

jelly,
Gabriel's chinese name is 恩颂. Ensong. We used this format for our other two kids. So though we find it looks funny (like some strange English word), we stuck to the format lah. The name was given by my MIL. She gave all our other kids' names too. We keep calling him 'Ben' by mistake. Gotta get used to him.

smurfy, glad that your perseverance has bore fruit

PVL, me too, kept calling Ashley as A
even though they are of different gender.

Went to see Uma, she is great. End up my left breast is not clogged up, just that I didnt latch on properly, so all these while baby only sucking on the nipple. So she taught me how to latch on. And its my left side that is clogged up, no wonder recently the flow is droplets and not flowing well.

Smurfy, u have a breastfeeding pillow right? Is it really useful? I am not so keen to get one as its one more item to store and esp since I dun intend to have #3.

Really hope to be successful in bfg this time round, fingers crossed. Want to treasure this second and last chance to breastfeed.

PVL,

gabriel's chinese name is very nice!!!....btw...then how you translate your surname??...

Saphira,
tyler oso will throw tantrums & cry when he dun get wat he wans..can be made worse by squealings & screaming when he's snatching stuff from his sister...

hi cherry
yes, i was using a breastfeeding pillow, very useful to get the bb in the right position for breastfeeding... but then hor, ur bb oredi 1mth old liao.. soon she cannot fit into the pillow oredi, so dun waste money on it lar... by 3rd mth or so, QY oredi loopsided when using the pillow leh

Pvl, very nice chinese name for Gabriel! Me too, kept calling Ru as Xi.

Cherry, hope we both can be successful in bf this time too! My problem now is the flow is somehow fast (not equal to lots of ss) so Ru always kena chocked when sucking. Poor baby! Now i am contemplating whether to pump out the milk to feed her instead.

smurfy, thot the pillow just provide support? so doesnt matter how big the baby is? The one they had at the centre loops round the mummy and we place the baby on it so that our arms can rest on it. Perhaps I try with normal pillow and see how first, really dun want to waste money on all these things. thanks for the advice

jelly, Ashley also will choke esp on the left breast and I realised she doesnt like the left breast maybe cos it is fuller and I have to force a lot of it into her mouth.

jelly so now u dont express at all? hey after your confinement and back in singapore, u want to go with me to the baby cafe or not? Its a support group for mummy who is bfg, we can ask questions, get advice etc. Its every monday 2 to 4pm at tanglin mall.

starting yesterday, I started to latch exclusively, from 3pm till this morning. things were fine until this morning, Ashley only took 15mins of one breast then went to slp, then woke up half an hour later to feed again. this continued from 5am to 9.30am. Eventually she finished sucking both breasts for a total of about 45mins at 9.30am, then at 10.30am, she was crying for milk again.

This is the part that I hated, I dun know how much milk she has had and kept thinking if she has not enough unlike ebm where I know she already had a certain amt and hence definitely not crying for milk. Any advice pls? this is making me reconsider fully latch on.

cherry, i do express throughout the day min 2x. Becos of the choking issue, i let Ru latch on more on my left breast, and pump out the right breast. Ya ya, i face the same problem too! Ru tends to fall asleep shortly after i bf her, and wake up half an hour to 1 hour for feed again. Very tiring especially at nite. So now i am thinking to give her ebm for nite feed. At least both of us get better sleep.

Hey, i hope can join u for the support group end of this month when i go back sg. Let u know ok then, k?

cherry
she sucked for 45minutes..sucking the milk or suckling the breasts? look out at the jaw areas and ear.. they must move to indicate that the bb is sucking well.. these bbs very good in comfort suckling.. :p they just take the nipples as a virtual pacificers.. this is another common problem with breastfeeding, it's hard to know what the bb is doing...drinking or using the nipple as pacificer... tickle the chin to promote sucking if the bb seems not sucking well..

my CL last time will bring QY out of the room if she thinks he's in the room for too long for bf-ing.. he got hungry very fast again... but give him a few more trys, he behaves himself n dun suckle or sleep on the breast oredi :p

kekkee anyway i think u finally got the real kick of exclusive bf-ing... do persist on, or call the place up if u have further queries...keep going n the problems will go off..

jelly, uma told me between 12am to 7pm the breast production is at its highest so must latch on. But I cheated a little, Ashley last feed for the day is at 11 plus pm so I give her ebm which will last her till about late 3am almost 4am, then I will latch her on. Guess I will continue and see how. See who wears who out first

smurfy, cos I have been latching her on wrongly i,e she has been nipplefeeding, so now its doubly difficult. Each time I latch on correctly, she will try to wriggle out to nipple feeding again. Uma did caution me on this and ask me not to give up. I will try my best

jelly u let me know when u are back and want to go baby cafe ok?
I cant go this coming monday as an insurance agent is coming to talk to me about insurance for Ashley, but will try to go next week

Hi! It's been a long long time I last come here. Now I'm having my maternity leave, going back to work in mid Mar. How are u all doing?

good morning mummies

now cherish stayover at my mum place on friday and sat mornings she will join them for marketing..so i get to relax now..haha

anyway , she got sick on thursday night with runny nose..so fast fall sick after starting her cc.. she can come up with 1001 excuses for not wanting to attend cc every morning..haiz..

hope it gets better soon

Jelly, hb bought the GNC fenugreek, it says can take 1 to 2 capsules daily. U are taking 4 per day?

anyway, to share something v silly. This was wat happened last night.

12+am - fed Ashley ebm

3+ almost 4am - Ashley cried, latched on, fed for 15mins, then she slept.

5am - Ashley cried, latched on again, fed for 10mins on the same breast

5.15am - Ashley cried again, tried to latch on but she rejected my breast. Was getting fed up with her. Then I realised its cos I havent changed her diaper and its already full! Changed diaper and she slept again.

6+am - Ashley woke up, latched on another breast and she got a very good feed. Can feel my left breast being emptied.

8am - gave her ebm

so silly right, I basically just stuff her with my breast each time she cried since I was so sleepy and didnt think that it was other reasons that she woke up

cherry, initially i also thot can only take 2 capsules per day. But later saw from the other forum GNC staff told one of the mummies can take up to 6 capsules per day, so i up to 4 capsules per day.

Ya, noted milk production is highest at middle of the nite, so i normally woke up 2-3 times at nite to pump. Can get 3oz in 20 minutes. Didn't latch on cos Ru as usual will doze off before she can empty my breast. So now i let her latch on during daytime, and feed her ebm at nite.

jelly, I used to take up to 6 GNC fenugreek a day until I got fenugreek BO :p Yucks.. it wasn't as effective as More Milk Plus for me though...

Aiyoh you wake up at night to pump? Yikes... so tiring!

Anybody want anything from Old Navy?

cherry, I got the same prob with bb now. So tiring for me and I'm all drained out leh. Feel like giving up and supplement him with FM soon. Sigh...

hi, i have been almost tbf Ashley these days except when we go out and there isnt a nursing room then will give her FM. Think its really true that when latched on there is more milk, only problem is that she falls asleep usually after 10-15mins. However she is getting more proficient I think, just now she emptied my left breast in 15mins even though it was v v full.

Gig, I am hoping the tiring nights will be over soon once she sleeps thru. Hang in there!

Jelly, how many times do u wake up at night to express? I used to do it like twice a night, then in between I will feed Ashley ebm, so its like I am up the entire night, super siong, now that I latched on, I get more sleep.

cherry, this is my typically nite feeding schedule:

10pm: Last latch on for the day
12am: Fed bb ebm pumped on previous day
12.30am: Pumping. Left the ebm at room temperature
2.30am: Fed bb ebm which i just pumped out
3am: Pumping. Left at room temperature.
5am: Fed bb ebm which I just pumped out.
7am: Pumping. Put in the fridge.
7.30/8am: Bf bb.

I feel both bb and me can sleep longer and better compared to direct latch on at nite which she will wake up almost every hour for feed.

Gig, ya.... very tiring indeed especially you have two older kids to take care of at the same time, but do hang in there and try to bf as long as we can. I have greater satisfaction this time as Ru is almost 100% on my breast milk and knowing that she is getting the best from me.
Really pray hard that I will have sufficient bm for her for at least 6 months.

Catz, hee... i heard of the fenugreek BO too. So far i have not developed the BO yet. Keep my fingers crossed that I won't loh.

Haiz... This morning hubby drove Xi back to sg my aunt's place. She was still sleeping when hubby carried her to the car. So heart pain at the thot of not able to see her again until coming Sat. But having say that, I am glad that she is under good hand of my aunty while i recuperate instead of me having to juggle both a new bb and taking care of her.

jelly, so u only have about 1 hr of sleep between pumping and expressing? siong leh, that;s what i did previously. I also have greater satisfaction this time round cos I feel that I am more hands on with Ashley compared to A. Thank God for giving me a second chance

btw, do u change Ru's diaper in the night eg at 3am? currently I am still using Pampers NB and it fills up every 3 hours, so when I wake up to feed her at 4am, I have to start by changing diaper which is super tiring. She should be able to wear S now, will S be able to contain more urine hence no need to change??

Cherry, i have abt 1.5 hours sleep in between feeding/pumping. Normally I pump after i feed her the ebm. Total feeding and finish pumping is about 1 hour. I have given Ru wear Pampers S after her 1st packet of MP newborn finished. Usually it can last up to 4 hours for her except if she poo in between.

jas
u still have ur CL lady right? why can't ru sleep with her or let the Cl feed ru in the nite? then u get some rest? i mean, cl are trained for nite feedings mah :p... last time, i pumped the milk on schedule, then let the parts for the CL to wash later , then when QY wakes up for milk in the middle of the nite, i (the hb) just pass him over to the CL :p... even when the CL leaves in 2mths time right.. when QY wakes up for milk, hb will carry him to me, i feed bb..n gives him back bb, he change diaper for bb :p .. my job basically is to provide the milk..nothing else kekekke :p

cherry n giggl n jas
jia-you!!!! u girls can do it
... happy to hear that u girls are trying harder tis time round

smurfy,
u have a very good hubby... my hubby basically slept thru. He didn't even know the baby woke up at night.

I also find latching on more convenient cos really too tired to pump in the middle of the night, plus washing etc...

Cherry,
has your ss in the left breast gone up after the visit with the LC? I have the same problem and am thinking of going to visit a LC too. But I don't understand why an incorrect latch could be the root of your problem leh... you've been pumping exclusively mah. So if the problem lies with the latch, shouldn't the right breast have the same problem?

Giggler ah,
I think it's just the hormones talking and you are feeling tired bah. I remember how you perservered against so much criticism from your PILs when you tried to go TBF with Sherwin last time. You're one brave mama. Sure can make it one ok?

Jelly,
I latch at night too cause I'm too lazy to leave my bed. Actually it's quite bad cause this is typically what happens: Ean cries, stuff breast in his face, baby falls asleep after 10 mins and only empties half a breast, mama is sleepy too and just gladly put sleepy baby down, after 1-2 hours repeat, wakes up with badly engorged breast in the morning
Think that's why my ss has been dropping... been supplementing with FM 20% of the time *very ashamed*

Aiya, I'm trying to upload a pic of Ean but my IE keeps shutting down by itself whenever I try to upload the pic leh >

Smurfy,
how? Is your MS over? Are you showing already? Has QY been informed?

Oh, did Ethan's birthday celebrations over the weekend. Much simpler affair compared to last year :p What are the rest of you ladies planning? And hor, I'm a very bad mummy... when we were taking pics during cake cutting, I totally forgot to take Ean out!
Now he is not in the "family pics" taken during korkor's second birthday. Feel so guilty ah.

HI Winnie!
My right breast ss has gone up slightly as in I can see got let down etc but still lagging far behind the left breast.

The reason for this is unknown though it is quite common for breasts to produce unequal amt. her feedback after checking my breast is to latch rather than express cos its the only way to increase supply. She said no matter how good the pump is, it is still mechanical, unlike babies. A correct latch will allow baby to suck deeper and get more milk, hence fuller and wake up at longer interval.

I also didnt pump out the excess even though baby didnt empty it. Should I do it?

Cherry,
I think pumping out all excess after a feed is a good way to increase ss right? But very layceh lor... at least for me cause there will only be like 20-30ml left. Store also troublesome, throw also wasted.
Eh, did you do more of the massage sessions? I also stopped at 6 sessions cause of CNY. Feels "incomplete" somehow. If tummy still feels loose maybe I'll try to do a few more rounds