(2007/02) February

Jelly,

Wow YR is tall.. keke Lil is only 54cm..

tall genes eh

Salute to you no Epidural used!

garfield, I dun mind as I want to do another photobook but I agree with you that its not fair to the customers.

Jelly, Yunru is very long, 55cm wow! And congrats that you made it again without epidural. U are really solid, when I was 5cm dilated and having the contractions it was v unbearable..good on you!
so glad that u made it back to JB and deliverd so quickly

winnie
nice to hear frm u again.. hey, why is ethan using such strong words? he's jealous right? but doesn't show in front of his younger sibling? or someone taught him to say those words..

barney
QY not introduced to barney yet. the other day at a friend's place.. he called it a dog.. :p

Huskie
Ai yohh… since u oredi planning.. it’s just a manner of when right?

Jas
Good to hear from you sooo soon and nice to hear that you have an easy birth..  ehh seems like u have a good start oredi, with YX sounding soo happy abt u going to hospital to deliver YR.

girls
i think i am just waiting for an accident to happen..
.. this QY hor, he really dun walks.. he runs... and runs real fast...i'm sooo afraid that one of these days he gets knocks off by a bicycle in the neigbourhood coz the cyclists' view might be hidden frm those pillars at the HDB flats and when they finally see a dashing QY, it's too late...i tried telling him.. but he just ignored and runs faster, i definitely cannot run faster than him now... my mum's oso a slower runner than him... and if my hb is the one who caught hold of him... he just struggled and tries to break free.

Smurfy.

rather then tell him "Dun Run!!" tell him to "Walk slowly!!"

Lil J also likes to run instead of walk but "Dun Run!" will only make her run faster.

So I found out that by telling her to walk slowly or slow down .. she'll really slow down her pace.

I think the kids dun understand what they are suppose to if we tell them not to run? they could be thinking "Am I suppose stop there or what? so I'll keep running.... :p "

Cherry, i will not wan to do another one so soon so i would def want a refund. it their fault anyway.

smurfy, QY likes to run wild now while zz become koala... haha now they opp roles liao... haha how i wish zz can walk more than he wan to carry. but stangely when he is with me, he will like to walk. if he insist not to hold hands at road side, i will still insist to hold his hands tightly cos i dun wan things to happen. but of cos, he not running la. but he also dun like to hold hands while on the escaltor now. n tat scary! i try to put my hands around him so tat in case he fell, i still grab him. wat to do?

then he also dun really watch Barney... first time he saw Barney, he say it dinosaur. then i told him he is called Barney then now he know. but he not fan. but if he see those car rides that have Barney, he would request to sit w him. till now, zz not cartoon or vcd fan... he only prefers our company so quite cham. but save our electricity ;p

sunsweet, u rgt. I read in a book b4 that we must speak positivly instead of negatively. so dun keep saying "don't this and that" they will do it more purposely lor. n that def applies to zz cos he v cheeky.

Been snooping aroung but haven't been posting.... Congrats to all mummies who have given birth... somehow after reading their experiences, I very scared now... scared cos I'll be managing a toddler and newborn pretty much alone...

On the other hand, can't wait to deliver cos really very tired now... baby getting bigger everyday. Went for gynae visit yesterday. Put on 1 kg from my last check-up 4 weeks ago. Out of which 800g goes to the baby.... so that's good i guess. My weight gain is lesser this pregnancy actually though i have been eating alot. So far, put on abt 7-8 kg. I'm 31 weeks now.

Meanwhile, Happy CNY to all of you in advance ;)

sunsweet
of coz i got tell him to walk slowly instead of the usual "dun run" ..in fact i was the one who wrote abt this in this thread a few mths back... but he stilll runs off.. the thing is HE JUST WANTS TO RUN! even in the house, he just runs frm one end to the other (to and fro) in his excitement.. arghh...wow lao, just last nite, i saw a monkey suddenly dashing frm bedroom, to living room, to kitchen.. i think i better think of ideas to stimulate his brains abt cars/accidents/running/baluku/bleeding..

charis/pvl/catz
when do we know that a toddler is just active and not having any developmental issues/or hyperactive child?

Hi hi... reporting here..

Baby chose to come out one week earlier. In the end, left me so unprepared and kan jiong. Had very bad contractions since 1am on 18th Jan but thot it was normal. Started to panic once I saw bleeding at 6am. Only then I started to pack my hosp bag and rushed to hosp. My silly hb still kept asking gynae if we could wait till 24th Jan for c-section. But gynae said couldnt wait anymore so was pushed to operating room immed. Baby was out at 8am, weigh 3kg and 49cm long.
He can latch very well but jaundice level very high. So he's back in hosp today after the check-up. Hopefully he can be discharged asap.

chocbabe, that's good. happy lunar new yr to u too.

smurfy, haha u trying to stop yr running boy n i trying to stop my koala boy... keke

gigg, haha like it wehn u say silly hb... haha sometimes they ask funny things... glad tat u deliver safely. so bb chose his own date this time though c-section ;p

giggler
finally u reported in! kekeke congrats congrats.. wow.. ur delivery process seems even faster..good good..at least all's smooth.... oh does bb have clothes to wear for the first few days (U washed oredi)? :ppPpPppP

gig, congrats, at least now baby out earlier you can rest and recuperate. Very sian to carry a big ball in front

talking about silly hb, I am rather pissed off by mine. He says I shouldnt sleep so much??? please lah, I didnt even take a nap today. He said should go out and get some sun?? Then I asked him u know wat is confinement?? (Although I didnt really confine myself at home this time round) Anyway, cut long story short, he suggested to watch red cliff today. actually we wanted to catch the afternoon show but who knows cc called to say A vomited. Then we changed to watch 8.30pm show. At first we thot A vomited cos he didnt like the green bean soup that they gave him at cc. But who knows in the car he vomited again when we went to bring him home. Now the car seat stink

hb and maid on the way to bring A to the Pd, maid got to go cos no car seat to restraint A. Actually i suggested we bring him to pd tomorrow instead of tonight cos I wanted to bring him to another pd who doesnt operate at night. And u know wat, he has golf tomorrow! Basket, its always golf golf golf...loves golf so much might as well just stay in the golf course
spoilt my mood to watch movie tonight already.

Hey ladies..TIme for me to update.

SMurfy..So u found me in the m/c thread..Anyway replying to yr post there..
This pregnancy came at a time that I didnt expect n am very busy..but nevertheless I dont mind if my plans are hindered by it..cos we were so looking forward to have another baby soon..So guess I'm devastated..But I'm coping with it.
Thanks for yr concern.

I know u understand..n empathise.

Tues nite after dinner I had some painful contractions and passed out some clots/tissue..it was over very fast though..much less pain n bleeding that my 1st m/c. Very sad..but I was quite prepared for the worst.
Will be seeing gynae sometime after CNY..to make sure womb is clear.
Currently I'm trying to rest but its tough cos have to take care of Yael n prep lunch plus I'm having a hormonal whack- nausea, headache..there's still some bleeding n cramps.
Thankfully hb have been buying dinner..so I'm managing.

Thank u for all yr prayers n concern.
Hope I'm all well..so I don't have to do a D&C later on.

Smurfy..Rgd yr post on active or hyperactive..From what I know n observe, boys tend be more active than girls..n physically ahead of the girl peers.
Then a normal active toddler should be able to focus on certain activities when there is a need to..like eating, puzzles, reading a book etc. Anyway I think ADHD/ADD is over-diagnosed in S'pore bcos of our education system..they have to sit down n listen attentively, do worksheets all the time..but kids have different intelligences..some are just more kinesthetic than others..So dont worry too much about QY's activity level ok.

By the way..Congrats Giggler!!

Next one..PVL..when lah? CNY baby this time!

And Congrats Jelly..yes u make it sound so easy..well done..no epi some more..haha!

Hi mummies....

Am up at this wee hour to pump.... So sad.... dunno how come milk suddenly become so little since last nite. Was expecting engorgement when i wake up for pumping just now, but dun have...
Yday until evening, my breast still felt hard but then now like empty liao...

Ya, the giving birth was pretty easy for me for both my gals, but the breast milk part is always so tough!!! So sad...

Charis, please rest well and eat well. U are still so young, am sure u will have didi and mei2 for Yael in near future.

dear jelly and giggler,

congrats on the smooth delivery !

dear charis,

i am sorry to hear abt ur loss..big hugs to you.

smurfy,

touchwood la..but cherish is pretty obedient when she is outside..only run when there is v big open space like in parks.. maybe she is not as daring as Qy.

sunsweet,

i dunno where she gets the concept of hongbao.. i find that she is becoming more and more like a little adult..yday when me and my mum are chatting , she can ask us " wat we talking abt " in chinese. And she has been copying my words and actions too, yday she gave me a cookie and told me "last one"..like how i usually tell her...faint..i got a little "mummy"

charis, so sorry to hear about the mc. Take care and rest well, hopefully there is no need for D&C.

jelly, I was up at 3.45am to pump milk also. Dun worry lah, u just gave birth, will take a while for the milk to be stable. Now I roughly can guage how much I can pump at what time after 3 weeks. Actually it doesnt feel like I have only given birth slightly more than 3 weeks ago, it feels longer than that, maybe second one is really different.

jas
just be consistent.... every 3 hrs go pump.... even if u have bf-ed YR, just pump out another 5minutes (to stimulate the breasts, supply n demand issues)... now is easier coz ur CL with u.. u got a good pump so u shld be able to do it. .. my milk came in 5-6 days onli.. even worse..

charis
i still pop in that thread to read lar.. but seldom post oredi.. u take care... and give urself a few more mths.. i striked 2 cycles after the chemical preg. (urs sounds like one oso right?) oh QY can do things (e.g. eat, draw, read) but yah he's the kind that will not sit down attentively to listen ....in his enrichment class, he will always sneak off to play with the toys when the teacher tells stories, and we will always have to carry him back..... it's so embarrassing, all the kids sit through and we have to carry him back a few times in that 15minutes story telling.. :/

cherry
the afterbirth hormones oso got into you..i tot ur hb is thoughtful enough to suggest a movie leh?

stella
how r u coping soo far? ur mil still stay with u? cherish is in cc oredi right? then ur mum not involved in caregiving of cherish oredi?

Charis, you better rest well now lah. Take care.

jelly, me also pumping now as bb is in hosp now due to jaundice. Felt so sad when we visited bb last evening.

cherry, hb can be really silly hor???? Dun know what they thinking at times. How's A? Got stomach flu?

garfield, not sure if I too pantang or what leh. I suspected that I shifted some boxes in my master bedroom on Sat that why affected bb and gave birth on Sun leh. Now I feel so guilty abt it. Sigh...

charis, sorry to hear it. may u succeed the nxt time pretty soon.

smurfy, dun worry. zz also can't sit on his own stool while the others can. but i just let him sit w him, at least he still in the class.

cherry, photobook reply as wat u mention - credit to my account. but i not happy and shoot them. I want my $ back. I also call up my bank to check. in fact they say merchant can refund us. so i dun see how they can't.

gigg,

i dun knwo it pure concidence. cos sometimes when things happen, we tend to think over wat we did n prob lead to patang items?

cos when zz is born, he has a dimple on his ear and both sides of his mouth. then my mum say it could be we drill hole into wall during preg... but luckily it turn out fine.

then when zz comes out later, my maid! yes claim that could it be I go n meddle w my sis lamp at her place? so haha anything can be thought of.

for yr case, it might be the boxes but for the reason that u over tire yrself?

Gig,

aiyoh dun be so pantang lah..

Bb will chose the time they want to report

Re: Lil J's HFMD
After 7 days Lil J's HFMD is not cleared from Doc yet.. he says got to wait another 3 more days at least (total 10 Days).. hopefully she can go CNY visiting by then. cos Chu Yi she'll be on the 11th day liao..

Hi all... Thanks for the encouragement. I will persist as long as i can. Ru has been sucking well so it is pretty comforting.

Gig, dun blame urself on didi's jaundice. Hope his jaundice level drops soon and can be back for cny wif ur family.

charis,
So sorry to hear your news. Do take more rest and try to get strong again so that you can conceive healthily again soon
. It's the Lord's will, and we know He knows what's best for us.

smurfy, A sounds like QY. When he was at JG, other kids can sit quietly to listen to the teacher during story telling but he will wander around either to touch the puppet or get distracted by something.

Its not a hormonal issue, its just different ways of seeing things. I appreciate the movie but to me the most important things are my children. Eg. Rushing to the pd who is not good so that we will be in time to catch the 8.30pm movie is not my ideal plan neither is a planned golf session. I can give up all these for the sake of my children which hold higher priority to me. My hb is just v different from me in this aspect, he likes to cramp everything and hope to accomplish everything (though most of the time its not humanly possible) even if it means sacrificing quality while I am a perfectionist both at work and at home.

sunsweet, lil J should have recover by CNY since its not serious. Doc prob just want to be sure.

Gig, I called KK dial a nurse and spoke to the staff nurse. She also said could be stomach flu but just monitor and see how. A is still v active, so not that worrying. Anyway, I will bring him to the pd tomorrow just to be sure, dun want to be caught unprepared during CNY and have to rush to A&E.

Hey, I know how it feels to have the baby still in the hospital. So the Pd also told u not to feed bm for the time being? I couldnt give Ashley bm for 2 days when she was having jaundice. Only resume after the level came down.

charis,
Sorry to hear about your loss.
Do take care of yourself and rest well.

smurfy,
I am so sorry to ask you this, but I am a bit confused about chemical pregnancy and after reading yours and Charis' previous postings... you can ignore me and don't answer if you find my questions stupid!

Does that mean that with chemical pregnancy, even with the help of hormone pills, the pregnancy will not be able to proceed?
So if the pregnancy is deemed to be a chemical, does that mean that taking hormone pills will simply prolong it but it would still terminate eventually?

huskie
Chemical pregnacy is the earliest form of mc. most women dun even noticed it unless they are planning to get preggie and r monitoring their cycles closely...they test early on HPTs or just when they missed their LMP. and they get a positive results.... but nothing will be detected via ultrascan scans (coz too early ) and abt one or 2 weeks later the period will come... the onli way u knw u had a chemical pregnancy is via HPTs and Blood tests on HCG level, which is present in pregnancies.. <- something along that line lar... cannot remember all liao... u g o internet and search..most causes is chromsomal defects..

the thing abt hormone pills is that it will stablise a pregnancy but it will never save a unhealthy pregnancy...tat's why some pregnancies even ended after the mummies taken hormone pills/jabs

Thanks ladies..
I'm coping..and trying to rest as much as I can.

Smurfy..Not sure if mine is..I didnt get to go for scan..I m/c 1 week after period is due..the most is 4 weeks plus..not more than 5 weeks.

I need to observe about 40 days before can TTC again..that gives me ample time to rest and build up the health again!

Huskie..Im also not sure about chemical pregnancy.
Anyway, from what I read, studies have shown that hormone jabs/pills does not prevent m/cs..n they cant' really explain why..but guess wat..the one that produces the pregnancy hormones is actually the developing embryo..its a wonder of creation.
Anyway, natural form of hormones are safer than synthetic ones..Synthetic ones have be known to cause defects of sex organs in the baby.
But most gynaes cant't really tell u if the hormones are synthetic or natural..even if its natural form..where do they get it from? I am just very particular about taking anything not really proven to help or inconclusive when I'm pregnant for baby's safety sake.
So I opt not to have hormones pills.
That's my personal choice.
When I was pregnant with Yael I didnt take a single hormone pill even though I was spotting for awhile..n he was fine..but 1st m/c took so many also no use baby did not survive. Its not about the woman's strength or fitness too..cos I know of sickly n skinny women..(like my MIL) carry a baby or even babies to term. My mum's friend actually jumped up n down, whacked herself in the stomach many times, tried to take herbs that supposed to be for abortion..but baby which is her sister still survived. So whether m/c or not, I think most of time we just can't explain.
But I also read that in some studies, for women with recurrent miscarriages due to lack of hormones, getting hormone jabs have actually helped..provided it is taken right during ovulation..and given consistently until the early 1st trimester.
Sigh..So tough to get preggy..At least for me I conclude, Its not in my hands..But God's.

charis.
i think i oso mc one or 2 week after period is due then.... i am oso sick of hearing ppl telling me it's because i am sickly and weak, that's why i always have a tougher time coping with the whole pregnacy process. my silly hb can even tell me coz i take too much cold drinks!.

Smurfy..Yup I understand..
My MIL will say also cos I'm weak etc etc..so fed-up to hear that time..This time, we have not told her anything anyway.
Anyway ppl will also say cos lift heavy things..how heavy is heavy man..nonsense lah..I don't believe. That time before Yael..I relax at home never work also can miscarry.

smurfy, charis,
Thanks for detailed explanation, and sorry if this raked up your unhappy past incidents.
The explanations are quite useful to me, cos the last time I went for my PAP smear and told gynae I am TTC-ing, she gave me a pack of Duphaston for "standby", and said I can take it as soon as I test positive, so I was wondering what will happen if a person starts taking the pills immed after tetsing +ve, and then if it turns out to be chemical.

Smurfy,
Talking about "accidents" waiting to happen... hee, today while I was in toilet, Soph toppled the fan (even though I've told her time and again not to play with it cos it's dangerous). When I managed rush out of toilet, she was already half under the fan!
Sometimes these accidents make me wonder if my sister's method of "whacking" the kid until the kid is afraid of doing that something is better, cos then the kid will nto get into accidents.
She saw Sophie climbing my mum's gate once, and said if her kid does that, she'll whack her kid till the kid is totally afraid and therefore prevent future accidents *sigh*

charis, after reading yr posts, i realise so many things tat i dun know of... guess i really blessed to conceive so fast lor.

ya there r really too many factors around. not necc u skinny u can't give birth. I knew of v skinny ple giving birth n bf easily.

dun stress yrself ok? rest well noe. wat is yrs will be yrs. my fren also got m/c 2 times similar pattern as yrs. noe she gave birth to the second one liao.

huskie, i didn't take those Duphaston too. I dun really believe in eating these things except for calcium tablets. but that becos i didn't have much prob in preg lo.

re: yr sis remark. I think at this age i wun whack. waste my energy n he doesn't really fully understand. even when he is hurt, after a while he start again too. soemtimes i do the "trying to tok sense" into him when he in the mood. or I get something he might be afraid of... like he scare of flies or bee, i tell him if he come closer to the fan, the bee coming to sting him. n i also act scare n run away from the fan. it works on him lo. keke. I really wicked to frighten him but sometimes no choice.

Huskie..Its ok..I'm fine..I'm more matured now somehow.
After my 1st m/c I was very devastated and I really retreated into a corner..avoided all pregnant woman especially my own friends who were pregnant at that point..I took a couple of months to get over..
But now I just want to move on..cos now I have Yael to take care of..I cannot go into depression or whatever negative there is..I must overcome with grace.

So u TTC now..Hehe..all the best!
I think when we next TTC..baby could be born during CNY again..then Y's and the sibling's gap will be 3 years..maybe easier for me lah.

I've been using time-out on Yael especially when he throws tantrums..it works..amazingly! He super dislikes time-out..then I'll ask him to say sorry to me..and he'll be well-behaved for a few more hours..haha!

charis, i use timeout too for zz whenever he starts to cry hysterically. i will move him to a corner n ask him to stay there till he stop crying. soemtimes he will try to run away but i move him back to face the wall. haha after a while he will calm down.

Garfield..Thanks..Been trying to rest..tomorrow my hb will take Y to church..So I can rest!
Guess cos I try to read and find out anything I'm not sure of..Now everything can find on the net so easy not like last time must go library right..I also ask all my gynaes a lot of questions.

Now I'm itching to bake some honey crackles..But have to get ready to go out soon..so think cannot lah..going to do last minute groceries for CNY reunion dinner..cos my hb will buy the wrong things if I dont go with him!

charis
hahaha i was somehow like u..somehow everyone ard u just get preggie then... but then since we can conceive easily by pinpointing the dates, it shouldn't be that hard to get preggie again...

Re. fan toppling on Soph... I've actually spoken to her many many times logically, explaining to her why cannot stand and "pull" and "swing" on the standing fan, but she somehow sneaked there and did it real quick once I went into toilet to take a pee this morning!

I also use time-out, and she automatically apologises to me whenever I say I am angry
And if I don't say I forgive her, she'll get real upset and cry. So I will say I forgive her and ask her not to do it again and give her a hug.

garfield,
No lah, you have no spotting problems, so why need Duphaston?
My gynae gave it to me cos of a previous m/c (before Soph) and also with Soph, I had the same spotting problem, that's why more kiasu.

Charis, smurfy,
Hee, everyone also says I am weak cos don't eat enough meat etc etc... so yeah, I am also immune to people telling me that

<font color="ff0000">To all the lovely mommies here,
Happy Year of the Ox!

in for a evening post....

Jello,
me no BF expert...but will some diet help?? like eating fish or wateva to up supply?? think it will come in slowly?? coz now...3 days only ma..

happy for you dat its a easy birth!!...got time remember to post ru's photo!!....she looks like YX??

giggler,
hehe...nvr catch...is #3 sherman?? or haven decided yet??..keke...

hey..is this the first time u feeling contractions??...haha...muz be weird...coz i haf nvr go to dat stage before!!....u oso post pic fast fast yeah....can go take family photo again...since you haf "completed" it...

charis,
so sad to hear you m/c...but on the positive light...nurse your body and the next one will come along real fast!!....take care yah...its good dat you are taking calmly...

huskie,
i m/c before tyra...but dat 8/9 weeks...had to do D&amp;C coz no heartbeat..dunno if its considered a chemical...coz in the first place..there's no bb i tink..

about the eating meat....take white meat le?? but again there are many vegetarians also gave birth...so even if no meat..should be ok wat...

brought A to the Pd yesterday night. hb not home yet from golf so inlaws came to pick us up.. Pd said he may be having stomach flu, gave him klacid. But it tasted so horrible he puked the moment I injected the medicine into his mouth

charis
am very sorry to hear wat happened..
glad that you are strong for Yael
hope u're feeling better now

the time-out that both you &amp; garfield using sounds very good!!

think i'll try out on Ad! getting out of hand these days...

GONG XI FA CAI to all mommies in advance!
i'll be spending my CNY eve onboard..so sad
&amp; CNY (chu yi) in San fransico

Wish everyone good health &amp; fortune in the year of OX!

Babe, yes, mei2 looks like her sister when Xi was a baby! I have fish for almost every meal, take 2 fenugreek pills everyday, drink lotsa red date drink, milo and anmum milk, latch on as much as possible and express out at least twice a day. Hope all these will help me to increase milk ss gradually.

This afternoon hubby brought Xi back after her class. Am glad Xi takes her mei2 well, sayang her and not jealous when i carried and bf mei2 (*touch wood*). But she still clingy to me lah...

Very sad now as just now noted mei2's eyes yellowish, so asked hubby and CL to bring her to hospital to check. To9 mei2 is gg to stay alone in hospital for the therapy and we will go there tomorrow morning. Hopefully her jaundice level will be lower tomorrow. Now can really understand how Gig u all go thru. Can't help but cried in front of Xi just now at the thot of poor bb stay alone in the hospital.

Anyway, wish all mummies and babies and kiddos a very Happy CNY Year and lotsa happiness! Cheers!!!

gak,
so far he's ok... i guess he can only finally visualise his meimei when she is out and know the effects of it...

he is definately very clingy to me now and keep wanting me to bao bao... dunno issit becos his daddy not ard also...

Jelly,
dun worry, rest well... hope mei mei can come home for CNY...