(2007/02) February

Stella,
Hope your MIL's treatment and recovery is going well!

Hee, you wanna take baby home? Means time to try for #2 liao ;)

chocbabe, Charis,
Yeah, I asked my friend to help me ask her gynae... her gynae also said cannot have induction and epidural cos contractions stronger and therefore higher chance of wound rupture.

Eh, Charis, got wound rupture cases lah, but probably not so high in SG cos most pple here just go on with C-sect. The rate is 2 in 1,000 for wound rupture for VBAC.

chocbabe, you choosing GA or epi C-sect? Wow, Ryan is so advanced, can google and youtube!

Catz,
No wonder Dr. Chan knew who you are straightaway, without even me telling her your surname!
She's really nice, but hubby still doesn't really like TMC *sigh*

fat babe,
Thank you! I also hope to strike soon
but must keep telling myself not to be stressed and overly kan cheong.

Hee, yes, we are expensive babies, but what to do, my grandma wanted boys to carry on family name mah, so my poor mother cannot stop at my 2 older sisters and me! Good thing times have changed now and women are no longer subject to inlaws rubbish

Eh, my friend who delivered at NUH stayed in a single room, and on the 2nd night, they gave her a candlelight dinner with her hubby in the room!

jelly,
Hee, actually big family can be quite fun I think. If I can afford financially, I also wish to have 3 or 4 kids, but alas, age catching up liao!

smurfy, thanks for asking your friend! My sis give up already... 'cos really scared the dog end up mati just for 2-3 nights of being away... so cannot lor. Wah so you will drive at 8pm? QY not grumpy ah? I v scared that kind of timing 'cos of the kids knock out in the car then we arrive at midnight hor, then dunno what it will be like when we reach the hotel. We like to drive when they have their afternoon nap.

jelly, you have 5 other siblings?! Waaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh.. *jaw drop* Even if it's 5 in total like huskie's family, that's A LOT!

huskie, teehee, yah I'm the one and only
Hope your hb can put his dislike of TMC behind him... 'cos good gynaes that you can click with aren't easy to find!

garfield, aiyoh I think your hb is v typical S'porean male lor. Some guys can even have 3-4 kids but never change diaper in their lives! V tough to cope with 2.. I know it's tough. Need at least 3 pairs of hands and split your body into 3! Haha..

chocbabe, I'm no supermum.. in fact I was talking to milkie last night and telling her that the reason I'm still sane is 'cos I exercise absolute discipline over the kids i.e. if I say STOP, means STOP or NO means NO. I have no time to sit there and plead with them... but of course it was tough getting Bethany to this stage 'cos she's nowhere near as naturally compliant as Timothy.

And my other secret to sanity is that the kids are sleep trained! So I know my day has a certain schedule. Once the basics like naps, bedtime, feeding, pooping and bathing are in place in the schedule, you'll find your day is a lot easier to manage 'cos the kids are more cooperative on a schedule. If Timo didn't go to bed by 7.30pm when Beth was born, it would've been a lot harder to persevere with the breastfeeding as I had to pump at night to boost supply. Not to mention that I get to have better rest too. Hope you can iron things out with your PILs. Not easy that you'll be stuck with them and your hubby won't be around to defuse the tension

jelly, yes I think NUH is your best option and hor, call ambulance hor, pls don't drive!! Or ask your colleague to drive you!

fatbabe, thanks thanks.. I try to keep peace in the family. I mean, they are still my elders. Don't want my kids to think that being rude to old folks is OK. It's tough.. it's really tough trying to 'love' my PILs.

chocbabe, I feel with #2, actually a lot of things u got to close one eye and relax a little. I am also particular and dun like it even if things are a little crooked
but sometimes its just difficult with a toddler and newborn at home
Sending the older one to cc can be a good option so that at least you have time to take care of #2 while older one is learning some stuff in cc. THen when Ryan is back, you can spend some quality time with him. I cannot imagine A being at home the entire day cos he is so active and noisy, think it will drive me mad
Just my point of view

brought Ashley to do her blood test this morning, thank God the reading came down substantially and she doesnt need to do phototherapy anymore
poor girl.

fat babe, hope your#3 happens soon

garfield, think your hb and mine are quite similar
But he likes to bring A out which is good. And he likes to run errands, he is out buying papaya and pampers now
think he just hates to stay at home like me

U know I cant wait to hit the malls, really sian at home. Today I can resume latching on Ashley, finally no need to pump out milk
btw, which milk bag is good for freezing breast milk? My freezer is full of frozen milk now in via cups which takes up too much space.

catz,

ya he used to change for zz when we dun have maid. guess he take for granted. men r just lazy. not like us mummies more able to sacrifice our time.

garfield, hehe.. guess he figures pay maid for what? My hb is thankfully hands on with the kids. On weekends, he will bathe both of them and play with them... in fact when I was hospitalised, he was really superdad... but only thing is that he's always busy so it's usually me and the kids. He can't cook porridge or make any meals for them and usually leaves me to make their milk. Ah well, can't have anything. At least he can bring the 2 kids out by himself. But agreed, usually mummies are more sacrificial. I know of some moms who are damn bochap with the kids.. it's the fathers doing all the work. My SIL is one of them.. and my hb's friend's wife is another one. Totally indifferent to the kid... my SIL is just lazy.

huskie,
i should be choosing epi... wanna witness the birth regardless if hubby can be with me.

catz, cherryale.
Thanks for your advice... think i really need these pointers now. Hubby and I are training him to keep to some sleeping schedule also. Hubby has been clearing leave so can watch over him. Worry is next week, everything will go haywire cos hubby will not be ard and I'm working. We want him to be up by 7.30am and nap cannot be over 4pm and sleep by 9.30pm. So far, it worked really well and we like it. Both of us are writing out the schedule for Ryan now and just hope it will be execute properly. I also aspire be like catz in 2 yrs time when ryan is 4 and meimei is 2, then i can then take control... haha.... cos hubby should have finish training and i can be a SAHM.

cherry,
i have not use any bag yet. but i heard there 1 bag rather good, starts with lac...? i can't rem cos i haven't really use it yet. i m also using via cups as well as hospital bottles.

my hb also loves going out. he feel so bored at home. but soemtimes i just like to rest at home lo after doing some stuff. he does bring zz out but not v often lo. haha there was once where he bring zz out during my cf n end up he came back early w a black face. y? cos zz refuse to eat n he bopian threathen to take the noti boy home immed. haha

catz, ya i think he will def help me if maid not around lo. he just plain lazy. i told him cannot always rely on her, wat if she suddenly leave?

if i not wrong, he hasn't bath for the kids b4! luckily he still change their diapers n occasionally feed. feed also lazy. sometimes he come w excuse tat zz dun wan anymore n need me to do it cos i can make him finish. aiyo he needs patience la. i use to loose patience v easily in the past but i m amazed w myself how i can be more patience w my kids... haha

this sun i goin to a function n maid on leave. i was joking to him if i can leave him alone w the kids...

catz... no lah, 5 siblings including me. I am the 4th.
I dunno how can i tahan to be a sahm like u, pvl, charis and huskie. I will be at a loss of wat to do wif the kids. Oredi i dread of this weekend been alone at home wif Xi. How to occupy her time besides her nap and meal times? She loves gg out and I am at a lost of where to bring her. I really think been a sahm is much much tougher than a FTWM.

huskie, yes, big family can be fun! But then, i still wish to stop at 2 or 3, max. I dunno how my mum last time managed to take care all 5 of us, plus helping wif my dad's biz plus doing all the housework.

Cherry, i bot Lansinoh milk bags from a spree. Have not used them yet though but heard good comments.

cherry
ya i oso used lansinosh milkbags.. cheap n good.. then i buy those lock n lock box to contain it.

chocobabe
yah lor, u still thinking of SAHM's life ar? i would freak out leh kekeke but then u can stilll get a maid and sahm.. then it would be diffeerent :p

cherry, I used Lansinoh but you gotta spree for it. The other ones that are good are BlueEgg and Pigeon but not so easy to find bags. I will be doing another Drugstore spree if you wanna buy?

smurfy, to me SAHM with maid is taitai
Me, Charis, PVL and huskie are in the slave SAHM category. Hehe.

garfield, my hubby was the one who bathed the newborns when we brought them back from hospital! He really loves the kids and can do stuff that even my mom finds scary

jelly, 5 kids is a lot wor.. it's tough for you right now 'cos you are heavily pregnant and sort of between 2 homes I guess. You can buy Xi lots of coloring and activity books, toys to keep her occupied? As in, you sit next to her and play/teach her? Time passes quite quickly if they are occupied. Oh or do crafts?

smurfy, YES!!! I have a huge messy mat which is washable and I bring it out on the rare occasions I feel generous and let the kids mess around with craftwork.

jelly, chocbabe, suggest you load up on lots of crayola and craft stuff.. and new toys to keep #1 occupied when #2 arrives.. hehe.

catz/smurfy, good suggestion!!! But i have not bot any paint set for her wor... That time saw some sprees on those washable crayons, shd have got some.
Most of the time i read for her or bring her downstairs to walk walk. Bot her a tea playset as xmas present and she loves it. But she won't play for very long one each time. If i not heavily preggie now i wld have brought her to the public swimming for a dip since it is just a stone away from my place. Saturday still easy cos morning got JG class and half day gone liao. Sunday dunno do wat. Maybe shd call up my elder sis see she got any plan or not.

Catz... YES, the crayola spree. U ordered from crayola before? Shd really stock up some stuff from there as my 2nd month of maternity leave will be in sg and i will be kept at home wif the 2 kids alone. Must find something to occupy Xi else i think i am gg to die!!!

jelly, I bought all my Crayola during the Robinsons 20% sale.. super worth it, no need to spree (haha, seldom hear me say this right?).. Crayola spree always get rejected, no point trying. But yes, you should buy a whole bunch of big drawing papers, crayons, finger paints or those Crayola special paints that don't stain anything else but their special papers.. lots of activities to keep her occupied.

catz,
yah... i actually bought a playdoh set and ryan can play with it for a long time.

smurfy,
haha... that's what i hope to be lah... haha but i dunno if i will be bored after a while...part time maid maybe, but not full time cos dun like an extra person staying around.

Jelly,
here are a list of things i do with Ryan sometimes...
- play doh,
- use a pen to trace his hand then colour it
- watch tv e.g ABC, sesame street, etc
- go youtube to look for things like planes flying, waterfall, trains, disney cartoons or whatever he ask for
- had a sticker book where he has to take out the stickers and stick at specific spots
- stacking stuff and use a ball to bowl it down
- play pinball on the computer (haha.. he loves this)
- lego to build stuff (he has been building twin tower since he came back from KL after seeing the petronas tower)
- cycle up and down the house
- hide and seek

yes cherry, it is Lansinoh! i rem the name liao thx to the gals. heard it is good. I saw the packaging n feel quite ez to use as compared to pigeon.

jas
frm the crayola webbie.. 15% discount code -> CCB8 .. but i dunno whether it works or not.. coz i buy quite some time ago.. KIDDOS never get bored with painting n crafts.. it's onli the mummies who got to wash up...and since i got a maid to clean up, QY almost every evening oso got some kinda painting work at my mum's place... unless he busy cheong his mercedes and forget abt paint..i soo sianz with it, n acted blur last n ite when he pass me his bowl and ask me add water so that he can wash his brush kekekee...i asked him add water for what.. luckily he not able to reply :p

catz
the finger paint that works on their special paper, i dun like lehhh,... very oily.. the rest of their products very good though..

jelly,

for me, i play cars with zz. it enough to make him excited. any sizes of cars from big to small.
he loves stacking and destroying blocks too. soemtimes we play soccer at home too. or can do reading n flashing cards.

sometimes i get a pen or those writing boards and ask him to draw stars or watever.

Huskie..1 in 1000 sounds alot leh..haha..Anyway, I just bang on the hope that its rare..n case to case..also depends on how competent the gynae is..SO I'm trying to be very careful with my choice of gynae. I hate both c-sect n epidural..cos kena both liao..The epi part is even more scary.

Yael is so crazy about drawing n coloring now..at one time its cars and blocks. I have not intro paint though..think he will nuts over them too.
I just hate to think about the clean-up.

Any crayola sale goin on now?

Smurfy, Chocbabe..Being a SAHM with a maid will be slightly easier life lah..but depends on how many kids..my fren has 4 with a maid still quite tough to manage.

Wow mummies... I feel ashame looking at the list of things u do with the kids. Guess i shd not bother too much on my housework and spend more time wif her. Nowadays i leave the playing part to her daddy. In JB she has 2 tricycles to play with and she likes to run around the garden. I also bot her an aquadoodle for drawing and those wooden toys of different shapes for her to play. But here like nothing much and so little space for her.

Catz, why crayola spree always kena rejected? They dun accept international cc? Maybe i shd go Robinson this weekend to get the stuff. But i scaaaaare to drive there alone wif Xi ah....

jelly, is robinsons having sale now? If not, not worth it to go down centrepoint to squeeze with the crowd esp just and ah xi. Can get smaller sets of crayons and pencils first to occupy Ah xi.

I have delegated the playing role to the papa since he is more able to play rough with A, they will play with cars, balls, drums, keyboard etc, anything that is noisy
I am looking forward to playing with meimei, hopefully she is the type who likes dolls and all the girls stuff.

catz,garfield, smurfy, thanks for the recommendation on lasinoh milk bags. Are they available in the stores?? Need to get them fast

jelly,
I buy those cheap thick plastic table cloths from the shop in the market, but lay them on the floor for Soph to play playdoh, painting or water play.
You can give her a bit of water for her teaset, then let her pour from pot into cup or do teh tarik.. Soph can engage herself in this for very long! But need to change her later cos they'll be wet. And make sure room is not very windy in case they catch chill.

Sometimes I'll just tape mahjong paper onto the floor, then let her paint with brushes or do finger painting.
I bought my Crayola stuff from the Oriental Trading Spree.

I also let her cut bits of paper with scissors, then let her glue and make xmas cards etc. She really loves cutting and glueing stuff.
Hee, maybe you can get her to make a card for meimei.

Charis,
It's 2 in 1000, not 1 in 1000.
But yes, an experienced gynae will definitely be a wise choice.

Hi Jelly,

I have transferred to your DBS savings plus a/c. Thanks for your help...err, i hope this is the correct acct

Amount S$39.00
Transaction Reference 2060128717

today i bought cherish to her cc to buy uniform..guess wat, she actually know it is sch and cried..die liao lah..i cant imagine how she reacts when she starts her cc next mth.. i gotta grind my teeth and bear with the heartache.

re: painting :

i bought an easel for cherish and she seems to be enjoying drawing w her marker. the bad thing is her hands will be v dirty with marker stains. i am considering letting her use chalk on the other side of the easel , which is of black board material.

oh another thing cherish is crazy abt is chasing bubbles.. i just sit there and blow and let her do the chasing

Morning mummies...

Early morning oredi kena bruises and some bleeding on my right knee as just now fell outside my office canteen. Haiz... Luckily bb seems ok just that the knee hurts loh.

cherry, think Robinson got preview sales again for members from 9-11 Jan. Saw the mailer this morning. See this sunday i have enuf courage to drive to centrepoint wif Xi or not. Thanks, got ur fund!

Huskie, thanks for your suggestion! Ya, Xi loves her tea sets. Last nite was thinking whether to give her some water to pour or not. Maybe i shd ya? Let her play on the bumper playmat. Easier to clean up later. Sop can use scissors quite well now i believe, saw from ur blog. Let Xi try once before sometimes back, she still not able to cut, will let her try again. Sometimes we adults just afraid of the cleaning up later. Shd just let go a bit and let them have some fun ya...

stella, Xi also loves bubbles!!! But we only let her play during bathtime.

jelly, alamak!!!! You OK? You need to go gynae check up or not??

Hehe, you better be careful these few days hor.. maybe ask your sis to accompany you to Robinson's? Crayola spree usually get rejected 'cos they say buying in bulk or something like that. Anyway, with 20%, buying in SG is not too bad.

stella, oh dear, how come Cherish got phobia? Well, the first month will be v tough, hope she will adjust and find a loving teacher to help her through the separation anxiety.

Aiyoh packing for chalet tomorrow... shack! Packing the whole house...haha.

jelly, sure ok? so dangerous... be careful.

catz, goin chalet? wow enjoy.

stella, hope cherish can cope well after some time. have she been to other classes yet besides gym? must be prepared for sep anxiety n also sicknesses...

zz v cham like tat, while yr kids enjoy colouring n drawing, my hb doesn't allow zz to hold even a pen... cos he scare he draw the walls... %&*^*

anyway, while i m around only, he get the chance to draw. so tat y he dun have any crayons or play dohs bought by daddy. I secretly bought some colour pencils for him.

cherry, u can check out "Want to sell" section here. Saw some mummies selling away Lansinoh milk bag at close to spree price before.

catz, shd be ok... Just monitor first. Where u gg for chalet?

Jelly..Aiyoh..I remember for this pregnancy u fell a few times already..Pls be careful ok. But I also think pregnant woman tummy so huge kind of hard to balance sometimes..is it? SO all the more be VERY CAREFUL..dont run or walk too fast n try not to squeeze in thru big crowds.

Catz..Stil got robinsons sale? Then can buy some more Crayola stuff. I bought a small set of crayons..and its a furniture saver plus being non-toxic..My boy likes to eat crayons!

Oh dear jelly!!! You fell again? Hey, must take care OK? I also sort of slipped coming out of the bathroom today after showering Sarah. But didn't fall, just steadied myself against the wall, But now my pubic joints hurt when I walk. BB seems OK too so should be alright lah.

charis/pvl, ya... this is dunno how many time i fell for this pregnancy. Must be my shoes lah... It is flat sole but maybe the sole is slippery kind. Haiz...

Pvl, are u ok??? U also must be more careful ya since u need to handle ur two kids.

oh dear jelly, pls be careful, u are due anytime already right? remember u are only about 1-2weeks behind me. When is your last day at work? Try to rest more. Poor thing, hope your knees are ok. we need to be in tip top condition to give birth.

PVL, do be careful too! take care.

today somehow my stitches are a little uncomfortable. Dun know if they are infected..aiyoh, hopefully not. I am doing sitz bath 4times a day starting from today, hopefully it will sooth it a little.

Catz, wow so fun going to chalet. I wish I can go out leh

btw, how u all thot of how to celebrate our kids' second birthday?? I am doing A's second birthday and Ashley full month celebration at the same time cos its only 3 days apart. Havent bought a single thing like balloons, party favours etc.. Perhaps this is the good reason for me to sneak out?? I have been telling hb can he sneak me out for a few hours and he refused, said the CL said if i dun rest I will get backache
alamak..

cherry, garfield, believe it or not, this is my first time in a chalet. Just called up the chalet office to bombard them with 1001 questions..haha.. they must think this woman is the biggest suaku ever.

PVL, aiks, do be careful. You probably over-compensated and strained something. I'm also v scared of slipping and I'm not even carrying a watermelon in front of me. Do take care!

cherry, alamak, hope your stitches are OK. You'll have a checkup soon right?

Hehe.. I'm doing a big combined party for the kids' birthdays... bought all the Little Einstein stuff from EZpartyzone a couple of months back.

Charis this week is Robinson's member sale, not sure if the 20% will apply for non-cardholders... but yes, it's worth it! Esp if Yael is into eating crayons, then better get non-toxic Crayola ones. There are cheaper non-branded non-toxics out there but I don't trust!

jelly,
must be careful... since i was expecting, i have been wearing crocs. Flat and non slip... really swear by it.

when u stopping work? when is ur edd?

jelly, the chalet is at the beachfront at Changi.. the SAF chalets. Was quite hard to ballot for it!

chocbabe, I love Crocs too but they wear out quite quickly.. that's why I have about 2-3 pairs for the kids in every size. For myself too.. I've already worn out 2 pairs of Crocs.

Catz, I've been to that chalet but think there's not much facilities for kids rite? Enjoy your chalet

Re: VBAC
My cousin managed to have VBAC after 3 c-sections leh. Amazing hor?

Choc, I cant go thru natural cos I had op to remove fibroids and cysts before I preg too.

jelly, you haven start your leave?

cherry/chocbabe/gig, i have not started my leave. I feel perfectly fine to work lei, dun want to waste the leave and stay at home waiting for the D day. Hopefully bb won't pop before next tuesday. Next Wed will have gynae checkup and shall decide then. My boss oredi gave an ang pao to bb yday, he scared anytime i pop. Ha...

chocbabe, can't wear crocs to work rite? Weekend i wear my birkis, then weekdays i have a pair of white and a pair of black flat shoes to rotate depends on what colour of clothes i wear.

Catz, need to ballot for thte chalet? Enjoy the bdays celebration!

Giggler, planning to go to Ubin and also hang around Changi area.. 'cos that's where we used to stay

VBAC after 3 c=sections?! YIKES!

jelly, yah this chalet v hot property 'cos it's newly renovated. Actually hor, I find that I trip a lot with my birkenstocks leh.. so I've given up wearing them for the time being.

actually crocs r quite slippery. i nearly slip when i wearing mary jane.

i dare not wear slippery shoes while i preg.

catz, i just been to tat chalet last sun! rem my evil auntie? the chalet is v new n clean. but kind of small. good for small family of 4? there r many facilities there ley. got swimming pools n playground. also bowling for adults. also can go nearby beach to walk walk see aeroplanes too... can see them flying real low! anyway, it quite ulu if no car lo.

jelly,
I am wearing the Malindi one... i tot quite presentable for work.... I wear it everyday to work. Anyway, if u wear flat shoes, make sure it has good non-slip sole below hor...

Gig,
u mean ur cousin has 4 kids?? so amazing. Me gonna stop at 2. Anyway her gynae actually willing to let her try VBAC after 3 c-sects??

Now got excuse already cos SIA only give free tickets to up to 2 kids per year for pilots... haha so if i got a 3rd one, have to pay for his/her ticket...

chocobabeeee
wow laooooooo, what kinda excuse is that :p.. then ur hb will say since i pilot, pay 1 ticket instead of 5 tickets right? still cheaper.., me oso stopping at #2. i oredi look like a half dead person all over again.. never gonna thr this again.

jelly, so most likely you gg to deliver next Wed? Your boss so nice to give you ang bao. Local co?

garfield, think Catz is not gg to that chalet that you went.

choc, my cousin's 3rd bb was stillbirth at 38weeks. Sad story lah, her bb got strangled by the umbilical cord. I also amazed that her gynae actually allowed VBAC after 3 c-sections. I agree that having 2 kids is the ideal.