(2007/02) February

oh yah garfield, I posted your Crocs on NYE but hor, it's a bulky item so might take more than the normal 2-3 working days k? My return address is written on it, don't worry.

garfield
why u dun try JG? alot of mums like it, find it good oso. u try asking huskie for more infor abt shichida method, think sop and huskie still in it.

garfield, yah lor, heard lots of good things about JG too! Kindermusik he will get bored after a while.. at least JG got music component too and I think he'll get more interaction from that.

oh ya, thxs gals for reminding me... JG is also one of the choices too. of cos if i put him in kindermusic won't be long too. i just wanna him to enjoy, learn things (which most prob cannot stay in kindermusic too long as things might be repeated) and to social lor.

me also lazy to attend previews too. best is word of mouth. but of cos b4 i let him in, I must see the place first lo.

catz, dun worry. I check everyday in case the box is jammed... haha btw, i receive my photobk liao. v nice! love it! I deserve a hug! but pretty upset that I didn't manage to add my scan photos cos of the limitation. I did the edit in mac book and it seem the software has limitation such tat cover and first pg must be same pic. only found out after I finish the whole book. n i can't copy the file to windows version. anyway, overall still nice. contains all of zz and G pictures to present...

shichida - is it v ex? me not keen to spend too much cos budget. anyway, my main objective is for him to social first but of cos suitable learning enviroment where he can learn things.

i think hor, shichida, the mummy gotta do homework oso leh, practice the flashcards and the memory thingie with them <- go ask huskie. i dunno :p

Catz,
Yes, Sarah talks back, and has been doing so for about 6 months or more already. I try to answer her once, but if she keeps on and on about the same thing, and it begins to become a time-wasting excuse, I will stop her. Once I realised that this sort of behaviour was becoming a habit, I became very conscious to stop it, because I found that in answering her, i was also encouraging her to go on and on. I'm very firm about what I want her to do, so if she gives me any funny reactions these days, I just stick to my guns. Then she will normally progress to a tantrum, which I deal with in the usual way (cane). But in calmer moments I have been teaching her from some Christian books regarding this sort of behaviour (as well as some other common habits of young children). She is now quite aware that we are displeased with talking back and tantrums and also dilly dallying etc. It's a gradual thing, but there is slow improvement, I'm glad to say
. I think the key thing is to let Timo realise that this line of questioning gets him nowhere, and it displeases you. It also wastes time and if that is his goal, then it is wrong. You need lots of patience lah. Correction won't happen in a day. More like many months.

smurfy,
It may end up like how you describe it... hahahah!

PVL, ok.. thank God I have you to check with. Will try your method instead of just jamming my fingers in my ears.. hahaha..

garfield, smurfy,
The Little Neuro Tree got so many branches set up cos it's franchised. At least I know the Hougang one is franchised. So not sure if the quality of the teachers will be the same if franchise.

Homework -> yeah, supposed to flash cards everyday, but seriously, I cannot make the cards fast enough to flash, so I am really laxed about it.

smurfy,
Hee, your latest blog is dated 15 February 2009? ;)

Re: Shichida and Trio,

The juicy part is this.... Shichida was brought in by this lady, but apparently didn't do much for the business and left it to her brother to run and grow the business. Things fell out between them and the bro left to open Trio. How i know this is the son of the Trio boss is my student.

Apparently according to my student, Shichida is facing alot of lawsuit and not doing well. Staff apparently is not happy cos the lady boss (my student's aunt) quite a miser and gives her staff expired stuff as bday pressies or something like that... He say Trio is developed from Shichida and covers more languages. My student's little sister was totally on the Trio programme from a little baby and he told me his sister can read newspapers now already. Think she is 5yrs old now if i not wrong.
The bugis one is the main office....

chocbabe,
Wow, that is juicy news indeed. I think Trio has quite a good program... I like their 3 languages part.
But Bugis is quite a hassle to drive to, cos traffic is always so heavy there.

Hi mummies...

Yesterday brought Xi to JG's orientation program at the Evans Rd branch. We were there half an hour earlier so have time to tour around the place. Xi loves the place though she can only peeped in to see the classes from the tiny window on the doors and the outdoor play. The teachers appear to be very lively, caring and patience! Before the class when we were walking around the place, one teacher stopped Xi and talked to her. She sounds very nice! Each session comprise the followings: Free Play, tabletop acrivities, magic box, story time, speech and drama, outside play, playclub bears, music and snack. For the bilingual class on Saturday, there are 4 teachers (2 English + 2 Mandarin) with a class of 18 students. After the orientation, we let her play at the playground and she seems to enjoy it though she dare not play some of the things. Next week the class is gg to start. I hope she will love the classes and become more independent and love to go school in the future.

Happy New Year! May all of you be blessed with happiness, joy and good health

Smurfy, CONGRATULATIONS!

Jaczzy and Cherry, Congratulations on the arrival of your little ones! Rest well during your confinement!

HELP!
Recently I placed an order and made payment for a thermal flask in the Bulk Purchase section. However, the thread went missing a few days ago... under such a circumstance, what should I do? thanks.

GOG, it's prob been moved to the 'Closed' section of BP . the thread should still be there. Don't worry.

jelly, great that Ah Xi liked her class! So who will bring her once meimei arrives? Ask you ah, if I drive down to KL on Fri (3 days before CNY) and leave on first day of CNY, I will prob be jammed like hell on Fri right? Roughly how long on the causeway/2nd Link?

catz,

received my crocs... thanks! the postman actually came up to my house. haha luckily someone around.

zz was so excited n keep saying "mickey mouse!" n wear the shoes immed...

chocbabe, huskie, oh so trio is actually littleneurotree? my hb say his collegue told him littleneurotree is actually sub of shichida... then last sat, some1 mention it shichida who recommend them here too. anyway, learn more abt their program and kind of like it so decided to give it a try. Each week it is 1 lesson and it be taught either Chinese, English or Jap or Malay. each class there be 6 students and class involves bonding w parent, memory and other activities like music appreciation and also social interaction. Hope zz will love it. he be goin to the bugis branch.

garfield, ya.... Hope both of them enjoy the schools!

Catz, I should be able to bring Xi to her lesson this saturday. Thereafter if i pop, if my hubby around, he will bring her. If he travels, then gotta trouble my aunty liao.

Catz.... Yes, expect JAM on both causeway and 2nd link. Given a choice, we would prefer to travel by causeway if both are jammed as causeway got much more counters, though ppl cutting queue like crazy! Maybe you should leave on Friday before noon, before the queue picking up.

jas
but u will be doing confinment in JB right?

jas/garfield
hope both ur kiddos enjoy class. QY's hopeless, he enjoys roaming on his own nia.

jelly,
Glad that Xi likes her class! It's gonna be a daily N1 class?
Can I ask how much the fees are?

Catz,
Happy belated birthday to Timo!

garfield,
Yep, Trio is Little Neuro Tree... same.... they changed name that's all.
Hubby is keen on trying the trial. Think their new branch at Paradiz Centre has 3 lessons trial for $150.

Let us know how zz's class goes!

jelly, at least you got your auntie as backup.. Oh thanks for the info. Fri early early morning should be OK? Mon should be clear right? Causeway is also nearer for us.. thought you were nearer to 2nd link?

huskie, thanks!

garfield, yay! Glad ZZ likes his Crocs.. too bad cannot get matching color with yours lah.

2nd day of school...luckily my boy is not the problematic kind. The only problem is that Beth doesn't want to leave school after we say byebye to Timo. Got to drag her out of school yelling and screaming. Sigh. The disadvantage of being a Jan baby is that you gotta waaaaait for school to start. All Timo's teachers, past and present keep saying she's ready for school, so sayang she's a Jan baby.

huskie, nope, it's like Pri sch, by the year of birth. Not like childcare which go by actual age. So she's gotta dingdong around with me for another year lor. :p Any plans to send Soph for playgroup?

Ctaz,
Aiyah, then I really should try and aim for a year end baby now! :p

Re. playgroup: lots of neighbours kept bugging me to send Soph to playgroup... they say BrightStart Montessori at Bishan CC is good, but I find it a bit expensive at ard $300/mth for 1.5 hrs every day. Hee, Soph will probably dingdong around with me too

Right now I just hang around with neighbours' kids once a week.

Hi huskie, yes I heard Bright Start is good too.. no harm if you feel you want to let Soph socialise and not freak out when she goes to Pre-N next year. Does she go for any non-accompanied sessions? Beth is perfectly fine being left in creche at church.. WOOHOO! Too bad about school lor. So you'll be enrolling Soph in kindy? Enrolment starts early, don't miss out!

Hey ladies!

Catz..I didnt receive any news from Aida too..But will still be keen to send Yael for playgroup at ELC.

Huskie..Yup heard Brightstart is good too, very popular around that area..but yes ex!
We are paying about $80 plus a month at ELC..for 45min for play..good enough for Yael to mix around n play n have structured time with the teacher too..but that's just once a week..think if its everyday will be too much for me to pay.

Anyway I've not done much with Yael nowadays, just a bit of art, reading and flashcards..cos been busy with some of my work at home stuff.
Im going back to school, doin a cert in educational studies..starting this week..haha..n concurrently I'm starting an enrichment program for pre-schoolers..wish me all the best ok..I really hope to start something..n can pay back my hubby his hard-earned money..thankfully most is from his bonus..maybe if got more time and money I'll do another 2 more certs to get a diploma.

oh i want to say this before i forget.. in june last yr, we brought QY to malaysia to attend his greatgrandfather funeral wake.. then this boy obessed wih the hand praying action, we call that "hor-hor"...since then whenever he see ppl funeral wake or temples, he will auto pray... the funny thing was last sat my hb brought some red chinese new year deco home, put them on the sofa, this lil QY go kneel on the cushion on the sofa and starts his praying again.. *oMg*. A few wks back, my mum go put a cheena red calender in her room, and she say QY will go pray whenever he pass by that spot, that nite my mum tell me her room looks like praying alter meh???????? *pengz*pengz*

smurfy,

Yes, will be having confinement in JB. This morning we drove back to JB to see my gynae as hubby is gg to travel this thurs till next tues, and i noted my urine was very yellowish till like orange colour, affect infection, luckily just now testing was ok. Doc asked me to drink more water. Now hubby wants me to take leave 1 week before my EDD as afraid suddenly i gg to pop while in sg. Heard for #2, the labour is much shorter. While doing confinrment in JB, Xi will stay wif us in JB is hubby is around (so that someone can entertain her), if not, then she will stay here wif my aunt.

huskie, Xi has not started her JG saturday class. Last sat we went for the orientation. She will start her 1st session this sat. No, it is not those nursery class, but once a week 2 hours per session. Total i paid for 10 sessions is $600 plus including GST, $50 refundable deposit and $10 book fees (which allow us to borrow books from its library).

Catz, Friday morning shd be ok. Good luck!!!
Normally we travel by 2nd link if gg to my parents' house in Pontian. If go JB, causeway is nearer. Yes, luckily got my aunt's family as back up. HOpefully hubby will be around most of the time during my confinement so that he can bring her there. No matter how from Pasir Ris my aunt's house to Evans Road is still quite a distance. Pai sei to bother them too much.

Catz... Marymount only accepts kids when they are in their 3-year-old, mean for Beth shall be in 2010? Ya, same problem for Feb babies too... That's why i was hoping for dec baby but then.... haha...

smurfy, u have decided to send QY to Pat's?

Charis, u sound busy wif lotsa things! U need to attend classes for the cert? Good on u that u still have the energy to pursue further study! What kind of enrichment program u are doing now? Can share share???

Charis, good for you! ELC is v affordable.. actually it's less than $70 per month, no? Well, to be certain, it's about $15 per lesson.. darn cheap!

smurfy, hahahahahahaha.. so funny your boy.

jelly, yah lor, this year I will do sibling registration for Beth for next year's intake. Sigh.. Yah agree #2 labour can be quite fast. If you are in SG, doubt you can make it across the causeway in time to deliver wor. No lah, your auntie is truly a godsend... So she will be twiddling thumbs for 1 month waiting for your cf to end? Hehe.

jelly, so you gg back to JB soon and wait for your delivery date?

Re: Enrichment class
I not sending Sher to any class till next yr when he can attend nursery. Now he's running and jumping ard at home.

charis
yeah! recession is the best time to hit back to the books, start on a new career and have a new bb... and u r doing all these right right?

huskie
are u planning for marymount oso since u stayed in bishan? sooooo cool arr the school

giggler
kekeke QY cheong his strollers aka mercedes at home..

jas
i oso think u shld take ur hb suggestion. take one week leave and rest at home in jb, while waiting for him to come back and meimei to pop.. but can u cope alone at home in malaysia. anyone helping u? QY shld still be going pat's lar, i will try to ask whether there's any vacancy frm may/june onwards for half day class.. unless suai suai me or hb loses our job in this crisis, then must settle for cheaper preschool oredi, otherwise dun wanna create too much change in the small lil one's life

oi, dun all ur kids do funny/strange things? how come it always seems to be QY?

smurfy, Beth is just naughty... haha.. and cheeky. Yesterday she thought it was so funny to call herself 'Betty'... so she was going 'Betty, betty.. harharhar' for like 10 minutes. Duh. Oh and her har har har is very loud and deep wan.. my sis says her laugh is SCARY 'cos it doesn't fit her size/looks.

Jelly..Yup hav to go for classes, since I got a related dip I will be a relatively short course for me about 7 weeks only..looking forward to it..been a while since I last studied! Ok la..share a little bit..
I'm developing a school holiday art program with my friend who has background on art/graphic design, but dont know how successful it will be..cos we finding it a little tough cos not much resources on this..On my own, Im trying to start a baby sign language class, music and movement class and another class specially for K2s and P1s..when I finally get it started then will share more..haha..cos I so scared I find it tough n give up halfway..cos its not about jus teaching..I'm doing the curriculum and program also..that's the tough part..cos it must be solid and effective.
If u r interested, I can PM u more details on the programs later on.

smurfy, ur QY is damned funny! Ha.... Xi loves singing dunno wat songs and dance and doing upside down nowadays and she can speak more and better and can respond our questions pretty well. And we are glad that nowadays she can sit by herself on her carseat at the back throughout the journey. In the past, i always sat beside her at the back just in case she fuss and make noise. This morning i looked at her from the front mirror, i suddenly feel how grown up she is now and really like a big sister oredi. Yday we put her teddies sitting side by side in a row. I pretended to give each teddy a candy, then one for her, and ask her another one for who? She immediately answered "mei mei".

Catz... i hope i will have the bloody show first before water bag burst, like last time, so that i have time to make it across causeway. Haha...

catz/gig/smurfy, i dun mind to take leave 1 week b4 confinement to stay in my JB house if my hubby is gg to work from JB too. If not, he sure will force me to stay at my ILs place which i dun want!!! So restricted there and lotsa ppl living under one roof, no privacy at all. I dun like!!!

smurfy, actually i intend to register Xi to Chiltern. But there might be some change in my job soon and i dun want to add on further to our financial burden, so shall wait and see how first.

QY n Beth are so funny... hahaha

zz do funny things too. sometimes i think it just pure attention seeking. anyway he getting notier... yesterday while outside, he actually let stranger hold his hands... *faint. he doesn't wan us to hold his. the lady is so happy.

then going home time, he suddenly throw tantrums n refuse to sit in his chair. hb n maid had to pin him down... omg hb say lucky his neck never break. he is pretty strong for his build.

Smurfy..Still working hard on all 3 u listed above hahaha!
The Baby part seems the toughest..not much can be done leh..I resign my desire to the LORD..He want to bless then good for me lah..if not we'll just wait.
Yael saw the last part of Star Wars where Padme delivered her baby twins and then the scenes where the Jedi ObiWan gave the babies to be adopted etc..n he was looking so attentively..then after that the show ended and he screamed.."Where baby?!!" n he got upset..n kept asking "Baby, baby where?"
So we asked him if he want to have a baby sibling..and he said yes..so we told him to pray to the LORD and ask..maybe He will answer an innocent child's prayers!

Charis, wow.... me really pei fu u for having been able to do so many things at the same time! Wish you all the best on your new venture! Do update us further when the program falls in place. We might be ur future customers wor.

jelly,

u nxt to pop rgt? all the best! ya as wat they say, 2nd labour is faster. at least true for me. so dun think can rush back in time across causeway if jam? I gave birth abt 1 hr after i was admitted. the admission time on my letter is after I have already given birth haha

Jelly,

Indeed our little ones have really grown up.

Last night on our way home from my mum's place i as telling Lil J that she got to be a good gal as mama and papa going to work tomorrow. she says "ok, BB (ref to herself) shang xue (goes to school." then I told her that there is no school tomorrow but on Tues and Thurs. she Nodded her head.

Next I asked her what she learns in school so far? she told me she sings. then started singing twinkel twinkel lil stars, london bridge and xiao xiao zhu.. I and Hubby was very delighted to her her singing by herself.. manz the amt of words she's saying..

then she started counting 1-10.. up to last week she always skipped No.8.. but this time round she got all the nos right.. haha i think the next time i got to teach her is to recognise the Nos. itself.. instead of just reciting..

Jelly..Hehe..thanks lah..Yup will share more in time to come. Actually something's gotta give when want to work from home, I dont want to sacrifice my time with Yael..so housework gotta go a bit, I'm doing the minimum, most important stuff, basically I just make sure toilet n kitchen r clean, house mop once to twice a week only, laundry never fold, just put there first!! I still cook though..haha..saves $$ lah..though eating outside is a breeze!

You delivering in m'sia? Wah causeway jam scary lah..better plan ahead..everything very very ready..hop in car and go! U arranged care for Xi too during that time?

Garfield..Haha..thanks. Yup we hope so.
But my hb worried that if I get preggy this time round I'll forsake my plans..but reassured him that pregnancy is not a sickness..I no choice must continue..if not how to pay him back hor..haha.

garfield, me or winnie the next to pop.
Yaloh, i also scare will pop in causeway. haha...

sunsweet, lil J can count 1-10 liao? My gal still cannot lei though she can recognise the numbers most of the time, but not counting. Everytime we count 1-10 for her, she will shake her head refuse to count, dunno why.

charis, yaya... sure gonna forsake some stuff but as long as the house is kept at reasonable clean and neat can liao lah. Surprisingly causeway condition was pretty good these few trips we went to and fro sg even on xmasday and new year eve when we drove back.

Smurfy, sher is crazy with his drum everyday.

Catz, Beth so cuteeee... I want to meet her in person leh.

Jelly, ya ya sher also singing the whole day. Stimes songs we know, stimes he compose himself.

Charis, all the best to your joint-venture.
Must keep us inform of the prog once it's up.
Yael wants bb sibling? Hope god answer your prayer soon.

Sunsweet, wow... Lil J really picks up lots from her sch. You shd feel happy tat the money spent is well worth.
She's in MMI now rite?

mummies, missed coming to forum and chat

okie, a summary of my birth story:

5.30pm - Did Ctg, then Gynae inserted half a pill into vagina for cervix to soften as my cervix is 0cm dilated. Dr told me that it may take 1 to 2 days to give birth depending on individual's reaction. And in the next hours, I will experience contraction but it may NOT be the real thing. So instead of staying and wait in Glen E, I should go home. Went back to inlaws plc to have dinner.

6pm - on the way home, already can feel contractions, but bear with it.

8pm - contractions unbearable, super super painful. Its the most painful thing I ever felt.

8.15pm - got blood on panty liner when I went toilet. Called gynae, asked to admit to Glen E.

8,45pm - unbearable contractions. Sent to labour ward immediately, 5cm dilated. Asked for epidural.

Doctor came to administer epidural, was 'reprimanded' by midwives for going in so late as was already 6cm dilated by the time doctor came. He said 1 more cm and he will not do epi.

12.08am 31 Dec - Arrival of Ashley

It was quite a short labour compared to first born..so jelly its a right thing to go back JB first

That night when I gave birth, there wer 4 other women delivering at the same time. From 3 midwives, it became only 1 midwife assistng my gynae..and can see from her face that she was damn tired. Hospital seriously lacking healthcare professionals. Good thing for me is that we got upgraded to the suite which cost approx 2.5k per night
Apparently not everyone got lucky cos there was another couple who was 'downgraded' to 2 bedded ward. So Ashley is a lucky gal

Brought Ashley to see pd this morning, spent most part of the day at Glen E. She has jaundice and was asked to be admitted for phototherapy. Luckily her case was borderline so pd allowed us to bring her home and rent the equipment instead to do phototherapy at home. Thank God! At least I dun have to go to hospital several times a day!

okie, going to take a nap now. Ashley is a slow drinker, takes very long to feed and then she will fall asleep. Then she will wake up 1 hour later asking to be fed..I am super tired feeding her. Was telling hb that maybe can give her similac???

Sunsweet, Jelly..Not to worry if they dont identify numbers so soon.
Actually concept counting is more important first..cos numbers are still rather abstract to the toddler..try teaching the concept of counting first..give the tod some toys suitable for counting..or eg I give 5 pieces of uncooked macaroni and count the pieces 1, 2, 3, up to 5 the most for now..or do 1-to-1 correspondence..like during mealtime teach the tod to match a fork and spoon to each plate..or put 1 macaroni piece into 1 bowl.

Yael still cant count despite trying to teach him this part..he's just not ready..in fact, the rote counting saying 1-10 he can say..without even teaching much..haha..
Same for numbers..the toddler will pick up abstract numbers very fast when they start turning 2 or 3 plus. Concept counting is a much more important to skill to develop..children learn from concrete to complex..so its a better way to start.