(2007/02) February

huskie
i tot alot of ppl recommend paul tseng for pro-VBAC? i know it's TMC.. and even TLC somemore...but he's soo charismatic
~~

Huskie..Oh dear..yup next time..better get her jab done. Yael supposed to go for his DPT today but I cancelled..cos we were tired this morning..having been out at the airport ytd since the daddy on half-day leave.
I guess I better do a PAP smear too..have never done one.
I need to find a gynae too! The one I saw at Glenenagles previously is abit too far for me.

Catz, PVL, So we postpone to next week? Or want to go ahead?

Come across this BP on portable highchair and thot it might be useful for baby and toddler especially when we bring them out for meals: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1936847.html?1228201869

Thot can get better pricing if buy directly from the NZ seller, and indeed, the seller (Dinky Diner) gets back to me at amazing speed with the following price (based on current NZ to SGD rate using paypal, including shipping to sg):
1) if buy 1: about S$17;
2) if buy 2: about S$15 each;
3) if buy more than 10: about S$14 each

Anyone interested?

jelly, hehe I got a Baboz one ages ago for Timo... both of my kids hate it.. never got around to selling it off..haha but it's a good idea... if your kid is willing to be tied to a chair

Haha, Catz... i not sure whether Xi will want to sit on it, but just thot if she does not like it still have meimei. Nowadays she sits on adult chair for her meals. Sometimes we make the sit higher by stacking wif cushion or a stool. But always scare she will fall from the chair. Then we always go out for meals at coffee shop. Sometimes the chairs are just so dirty loh. Hehe...

Fatbabe,

probably would not take the risk will wait till later then announce.. its not tha my co. no pro family.. but its a preventive measure bah..

I've got to read from MOM website " ... require employers to pay maternity leave benefits to employees who are retrenched during their last three months of pregnancy; or dismissed without sufficient cause during their last six months of pregnancy."

probably after 1st trimester then say.. provided my tummy doesn't show too much.

I have a colleague in another dept already 15 weeks (i've asked her).. she've already informed her mgr about it already.

I somehow like to inform my boss cos I'm feeling relly tired during this period.. i dun wish he misunderstand and think i'm being lazy.

(source: http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/press_room/mom_speeches/2008/20081021-CDCA.html)

sunsweet, how was KL?

jelly, hmm.. even my guai Timo dun wanna sit.. even though it's for his own safety... Beth will scream and shout, can't even get the thing tied around her :p

catz... actually if i am good at tailor like huskie, i will try to make one myself. Haha.... Since the price quite reasonable, i would like to give it a try.

sunsweet, hahahahahahah
salah... thought you came back liaoz.. oh yah my dad says hor, Ascott parking you just go in but you gotta validate your parking coupon before you go out if not gotta pay for parking.

jelly, so true! I don't even own a sewing machine.. huskie is really amazing lor. I'm just not the crafty sort of person.. rather buy.. more fun.. haha

Catz.. thanks!

Do you also happend to know if they have vcd player in the room?? haha just in case Lil J wants her Barney?

else i got to lug mine there :p

jelly, huskie, catz, smurfy,
Ya hor, huskie is really talented. I own a sewing machine. It's still in the box! Wish I had the time to pick up sewing again.

Charis, huskie,
Why don't you try the Private Suite at KK? At least KKH provides very comprehensive gynaecological, obstetric and paediatric care. My gynae is quite open to VBAC. Last time he offered the option to Bit Bit. And KK has achieved a world-class standard for emergency care, they can deliver your bb within 10 minutes by C-sect if necessary.

Re: Playdate
I'm OK for tomorrow AND for next week, so I'll leave it to the rest of you to decide.

Catz,

thanks thanks..

hehe at least 1 less thing to lug..

My MIL was saying must bring the big bolster that Lil J Like to lie on to sleep... I was scratching my head "So many things?"

Hello mummies, update on A's first two days at cc.

First day: arrived at 9am, dashed straight to the table and sat on the chair beside 3 other children, started to play with girl sitting beside him. Went to playground with teacher and classmates to play with slides and bubbles. Washed hands, went to classroom for singing/dancing. Principal said he looked fine and asked hb and I to go back first and pick him up couple of hours later. Went back at 12-ish to pick him up, teacher said he cried only when they bathed him perhaps not used to the communal bathing style and also at 11am which is his nap time, he appeared sleepy and slightly cranky. Other than that, his behavior was good.

Second Day: same thing, played at playground, mixed well with the children. Then a girl started to cry unconsolably and another girl followed which led to another boy crying. After A washed his hands to head back to class, he also started to whine a little. Started crying in class and another assistant teacher had to carry him. Hb and I decided to leave the cc to have breakfast since our presence may be worse for him. Went back at 11-ish to check on A. Teacher was cleaning him up as he pooed. Teacher said he didnt finish his lunch today as he didnt like the fries (??? super puzzling cos he loves Macs' fries). anyway, they served western food (chicken fillet and fries with tomato soup) so perhaps my boy who loves only chinese food cannot accept it?? Then A started to drink his milk on the mattress. We decided to go back and pick him up later. We left the cc and came back at 1-ish. He had just woken up. Teacher said he didnt cry when bathing today and only cried a little but was easily consoled by an offer of biscuit. Overall, he is ok for a newcomer. What a relief! I have been praying that he will fit in well. Thank God, hopefully next few days will be the same. Actually he is a lot more brave than me as I remmebered myself pulling my mum the moment she left the school when I was in kindergarten

Catz,
Thanks for Yvonne Chan info... I'll consider her.
Now looking through this thread on Christopher Chong (ex-KK now Gleneagles gynae) who has a night clinic in Bishan.
Just thought it may be more convenient to pop by a clinic in Bishan.

smurfy,
Haha, yes, Paul Tseng is soooooo suave! I always "beo" him when I was waiting for Dr. Chua last time! :p

jelly,
The portable highchair makes the kid look like a giant potato in a gunny sack! Hmm... it feels a bit "tied down" and claustrophic?
Eh, don't waste money on this lah... if you don't mind my not-so-nice stitching, I can sew you one... haha, just for you!

Take a look at this webbie... if you're ok with this pattern, let me know and I can mail it to you, but need to stress on my ugly stitching again!
http://www.sleepingbaby.net/jan/Baby/chairseat.html

Charis,
Better not delay the jab for too long. I think Soph's Hep A booster is overdue by 3 mths... this blur mommy totally forgot about it!
Was the airport fun? I told my hubby I wanted to go, but he thinks it's full of viruses and germs cos so crowded, so never took us there.

PVL,
Actually I also considered your doctor, Dr. Han yeah?
But KK holds terrible memories for me, even worse than TMC!
I went to their A&E on the first night of spotting, and I waited from 11pm till 2am before I saw a doctor!
Their excuse was that there was only 1 doctor on duty, and she was busy with deliveries upstairs.
And after the lady doctor has finished with her probing, I was practically bleeding, not just spotting... and there wasn't any explanation or words of comfort from her.
So no way am I stepping into KK again!

You used to sew too? What did you sew?

hehe Charis and huskie, my Beth also overdue for her jabs. Teehee

huskie, oh Chris Chong is another v v good gynae.. my friend's BIL. But I'd choose TMC over GlenE anytime lah.. honestly I just cannot tahan parkway shenton's management.

cherry, well done A! He's a good boy lah, sounds like you don't hv much to worry about BUT hor, things might deteriorate when meimei comes.

sunsweet, haha, that's why our car is packed to the brim on road-trip... might as well bring everything.. sekali things go wrong then don't hv that particular item right? We always pack the Graco playpen and Timo's Thomas the train sleeping bag even when we go to nice hotels.. haha.. JUST IN CASE. Also lots of bottled water

Catz,
I heard that Chris Chong delivers at Mt A, so I thought I could go for him but if preggers, then choose Mt. A.
I am also not keen on Gleneagles cos so expensive, and heard all those not-so-nice experiences.

Have you heard of Vincent Lee at the same Bishan 8 clinic?

huskie, actually my friend wanted to deliver at TMC 'cos he has delivery rights there too but he told her frankly that it's his strong preference to deliver at GlenE.. seems to be the case with most gynaes since it's so troublesome for them to drive here drive there to different hospitals. Never heard of Vincent Lee although I have nothing personal against male gynaes.
Try Dr Chan.. think you might like her gentle and calm spirit.

Catz,
Thanks thanks. Yeah, I was worried that some gynaes have their preference for hospitals.
Think I'll make an appt with Yvonne Chan... see if I can get one for next Thur since I asked hubby to take leave

PVL,
I was just going through your lunch and dinner lists in detail again... eh, are you Peranakan? Seems like you have quite a few Peranakan dishes.
Is babi pongteh time-consuming to make? Is there any brand of taucheo that is nicer for this dish?
And what is 1234 porkribs?

Gig,
How's your week as a SAHM so far?

huskie,

christopher chong was my first gynae...but unfortunately i miscarried after 8 weeks, he did the D&C for me..at that time he was wif KK..i remembered very upset abt the MC...but he kept joking wif me..things like sky fall down dun worry...becoz dr chong is wif you..very nice gentleman..and he bothers chatting wif us and tell us quite abit of info...i actually wanted to go to him when preg wif tyra..but no more incentive for me to be wif KK coz hubby went out of SAF..

i think he's a good choice if cost is not a concern..keke.coz think he's quite exp..=)

huskie, tell her you're recommended by me (not my nick hor)
Me, my sis and my mom are loyal erm, customers? Haha... Recommended so many of my friends to her already.. and they're all sticking with her. She's a real gentlelady in every sense of the word.

fatbabe, your hubby was SAF regular and left ah??

huskie,
Too bad about your KKH experience.
I used to sew my own skirts cos I could never buy any that fit me and flattered my big bum and hips. But now that I don't work anymore, I'm not so bothered and have not sewn any skirts for a LOOOOng time.

Yes, my mum is Peranakan, so I have quite a few Peranakan dishes in my menu
. babi pongteh is not really time-consuming except you must boil the meat for at least 1 1/2 hrs to make it really tender. Tau cheo - I don't have any particular brand. I just buy the slightly more expensive brand, so hopefully it's not too salty. My dishes are all very easy to make, actually. Not much prep involved. I don't have time for the more complex stuff.

1 tbsp cooking wine
2 tbsp sugar (or equivalent of rock sugar)
3 tbsp vinegar
4 tbsp soya sauce
Throw all in with pork ribs and half cup water, BOIL/simmer for 2 hours. Watch the fluid level though. Add small amounts if necessary. Tends to dry up and chao tar. End product should not have much gravy so end stage boiling is crucial. Be careful of burning. totally easy! Try it!

Rgd SAHM meet/kids' playtime..Guess we arrange to have it next week and hope all can make it.

Huskie..I maybe considering Dr. Christopher Chong for 2nd one..since he can deliver in Mt.A since its cheaper and more pro-bf than Glen.
Yael loves the airport. Its a nice place..esp T3..lots of running space, water fountain, a small playground..viewing mall at T1 has best view of the aeroplanes.
In terms of germs..hmm..I think everywhere has germs/viruses..our airport should be rather apt in the filter of air around..hmm..maybe yr hb watched too much of those "Outbreak" kind of shows is it? Haha.

Ahh! I super dislike any vaginal exams..though I hardly feel any pain..I was super kiasu during my 1st pregnancy and practice pelvic floor relaxation techniques everyday..didnt feel a thing when gynae broke my water bag..nurse looked at me in an odd way..haha.

Catz..Yr lil' sis so funny..must be sedated for any kind of exams?!

PVL..I also dont mind KKH cos of what u mentioned but kind of off the way for us..Gleneagles too..so is Mt.A..haha.
But I have to make the decision based on the gynae's competency and of cos wisely with prayer..I dont want to end up having gynae like the one at Thomson Plaza.

Cherry..Wah must be exciting for u too..seems that A will be enjoying school!

Huskie..Sorry about yr experience at KKH.

But actually I think that can happen anywhere.
I heard that spotting/bleeding in 1st trimester is not really considered a medical emergency..so that's why I stayed home to rest when I knew at that time was starting to miscarry, cos I felt I would be in better care at home with my hubby and I could bleed out in the toilet comfortably then on a hospital bed..I refused to go A&E..I didnt even want to take panadol..anyway think I was delirious then!

Huskie, wow.... u so nice!!! Thanks thanks in advance!!! But please let me know how much is the material costs etc ok? Actually plan to get for my #2 especially when we have meals at both our parents' house since there is no high chair there.

cherry, must be so relief to see A adjusting well in his first two days of school! Think it will get better and better...

huskie
my colleague gynae was chris chong and she delivered in mt. alv. recently. no no me not getting that book, dunno how it is like in actual. and i got too many white elephants at home.

cherryale
wow.. a really did well for his 1st two days in sch. issit half or full day? why bathing leh?

PVL, what do you mean not complicated? Think your repertoire of dishes is already v v good!

Charis, yah, she opts for sedation cos she cannot tahan any type of pain or discomfort.

smurfy, I'm so surprised.. hahahahah... but true la, too many things in storage also no good, will lose track!

huskie, did you manage to get an appt? She doesn't take in more than a certain no. of patients 'cos she tries to keep the crowds down and her schedule flexi.

just wanna ask... what's the going rate for angpow for wedding lunch at marina mandarin? me not in office, dunno what's the current rate.. haha.

why huskieeeee soo interested to find a gynae soo soon arRr?

catz
err if u have a kid like QY, u will stop buying things. remmeber my overly excited thomas the engine aquadoodle mat? it's a pull-along mat now? and that train, instead of running on tracks on that mat, he ran the train by my bed .. -_-'. he dun appreciate any leapfrog items at all. i am thinking of getting him a simple soft toy - eeyoRe for this coming christmas or his birthday..a

catz
this is how my living rm looks like on a normal weekend
.. u see the boxes? u think he's interested in the toys? no, he's more interested in pushing the boxes nia. he onli likes throwing everything on the floor and waits for his mummy's reaction :/
1944261.jpg

Hi mummies!!

Cherry, glad A is doing well in cc. Ethan started cc on monday too. But didn't go as smoothly. He was ok at the center but I stayed with him the whole time so I still don't know if he will be fine on his own. But he came back with a runny nose
So we couldn't take him back on Tuesday... aiyah, so disruptive. Don't want him to think school is just a once in a week activity.

Jelly,
sorry for the slow response. Been taking care of Ethan the last 2 days. I'm sooooo tired. He hasn't been sleeping well due to the blocked nose and wakes up every half an hour demanding to be carried
Really don't know how you manage work, pregnancy and YX alone half the time. Will return your email after this. Oh, regarding CL - I'm not getting one anymore. My 1st maid that was around when Ethan was born is back mah. So the plan is: I'll cater confinement food, ethan will go to cc for half a day and the maid will help with didi. Hubby has 10 days of leave that he was suppose to clear by the end of this month but he managed to "negotiate" to bring it to next month
So he will be around quite a bit too... er, but not like I expect him to be very useful lah :p

Huskie,
Congrats!!!! You bluff us har... say this month no chance cause hubby will be away during ovulation
So the saying goes... When there is a will, in this case, when there is a "need", there's a way. Hehehhe :p

Charis,
How, how? You suspect you are pregnant too right?

smurfy, Winnie,
I think both of you got the wrong idea leh... I am not preggers yet, but I am going to TTC this month... haha, you wanna track my exact O day or not? ;)
I just finished my period last weekend, how to get preggers so soon?
I am keen to find a gynae now cos I need to do my PAP smear that's all. And I thought I could get to know the gynae better through the PAP smear consultation before I decide if I want to go with the gynae if I do get preggers.

smurfy,
What does my blog tell? Nothing leh... that I had a bad period migraine last week mah! Bish!
Heh, I think any kid will love playing with all those toys in your living room!

fat_babe, smurfy,
Yeah, I also heard from my neighbour that Dr. Chris Chong is good. She said he spent 2hrs talking to her during the consultation... hmmm, a bit hard to believe, 2 hrs?! Won't his queue start building up?
The other gynae my neighbour told me is good and is currently with him is Dr. TC Chang from WC Cheng & Associates at TMC.

Catz,
Yep, I got an appt for next Thur 2:30pm. Yikes, gotta do the scan and PAP smear from below. Nurse on the phone, Chris, is really friendly

Charis,
If you go to Dr. Chris Chong and he prefers Glen hospital, then you will continue?

jelly,
No prob about it. You want plain material? What colour? I'll go get the material then sew it.
But eh, for #2? I think this kind of chair seat will be too short for #2?

PVL,
Thanks for the recipe on 123 spareribs! I'll try it another day.
Today gonna make babi pongteh
Will remember to stew it for 1.5hrs!

Winnie,
Your headache so bad?
Why don't you give gynae a call and ask?
Better play safe and ask, cos there're so many types of Panadols around now. I only know cannot take the one that is for cold cos got that antihistamine in it.

Hah! Winnie is here. There is SOMEBODY here who is preggy. But she probably doesn't want to say yet. Still too early hor? *evil wink*

Winnie,
Regular panadol is fine. My gynae said to take it if I have headaches. Anyway, now your bb is fully developed, should be fine.

Huskie,
I actually read the post on migraine when it was first posted and I also got the wrong idea... think there was a line that was quite misleading... haha... good luck this month

chocbabe,
I think it's the TCM portion.... hee, I actually hinted that I am trying for #2, but probably too misleading.
I actually thought pple would know I'm not preggers yet, cos having period migraine mah, how to be pregnant.
Think I better go amend it