(2007/02) February

chocbabe, ur mum threw the kitchen set away? What a pity!!! I think in this age it is common for both gals and boys to like to play wif this kind of toys loh. Got ur transfer liao. Thanks!!! U got ur stuff?

smurfy, which one is more flimsy??? U got QY stainless ones??? Wow....

stella, how have u been? How come got the infection? How's ur mil? R u trying for #2 as well? Then jia you wor...

babe, ya, i think i will miss her koalaness in the future when she no longer stick to me. U know yday this gal refused to follow me home and wanted only my aunt to carry her. I felt so rejected and sad...

Fatbabe..Tyler has swollen eyes or swollen eyelids/eyelid infection with pus?? If swollen eyelids think eye drops not as effective as eyelid ointment..I confirmed this with a pharmacist..cos I had a few private GPs gave me eye drops no use leh..then finally a polyclinic doc gave me eyelid ointment.
Or the next best thing u can do is hot compress..it will reduce swelling n if hardworking enough with the hot compress it will actually burst the pus out..Sometimes I dont go doc, I just use hot compress, within 2 days the swelling clears..but do not squeeze the pus out prematurely..nor use bare fingers..nor use needle etc..must warn u lah.

PVL,
Ah, you use belly pork... should be nicer! Next time I'll do that too.
Hee, taste test? Don't make me stressed!
How can my amateur babi pongteh pass your Peranakan tastebuds?

But I am happy lah - today Sophie didn't make much of a fuss with her babi pongteh dinner, and hubby says it's nice.

Next week when hubby recovers from his sore throat, I wanna try a garam assam and ayam pedas

If successful, then even can do a lunch at my place for the next playdate!

smurfy,
You got the Ikea stainless steel set? Woah, that is my dream set... looks like WMF right? Not cheap too, I remember.
So for now, I just let Soph play with mineral water bottles, funnels and my real whisk and strainer.

Catz,
Your hubby doing his post-grad now yeah? Think even if he comes out, with his experience in SAF, can join places like DSTA or ST Tech/Engrg? Should be quite good?

I didn't know HPB will start calling now? I better get Soph's MMR done soon.

stella,
Hope your MIL is doing well.
I like the idea of letting Cherish help with cooking

I also sometimes let Soph stirfy some dishes.

huskie, me hubs already finished his postgrad but he's thinking of doing another postgrad this time. Er... DSTA and ST will be WORKING for SAF leh.. lagi cham but well, if they match his pay, why not? hehe.. aiyah don't worry lah.. HPB will send you warning letter but heck lah, won't die.

Oh goodness, I would never ever dare to cook peranakan for anybody with peranakan blood either... teehee.. PVL don't scare people ok?

Charis, Beth's lump is getting smaller with the Fucithalmic but I think she goes and scratches in her sleep :p

Huskie..OOOHH..I love garam assam n ayam pedas..I dont know how to cook them yet though..kind of oily though too..but I love it..my granny makes hella nice garam assam..must learn from her..Yes yes do invite us for lunch someday haha!

fat babe

i also dunno how i get it.. all of a sudden sore throat. i tot it is just a normal sore throat until i felt earaches and swollen neck.

jelly/huskie

my mil is ok frm the surgery , will be doing chemo after cny, thats the "siong" part. regarding no2, will put on hold till mil treatment ends

huskie
tat ikea kiddy pots is not cheap!!.. wow lao, i buy without noticing the price, coz QY was pulling my hand then...and it was onli at the counter thta hb realised it.. :p.. yeah very stylo...

stella
yah yah, r u coping well? take more cooling stuffs hor.. u r good lor, knows how to deal with cherish and makes her feel useful by engaging her in real cooking stuffs while she stick with u in the kitchen

jas
i cannot remember which is the more filmsy one.. but quite easy to tell from the pic?

stella, glad to know ur MIL is doing fine after the op. So u will be staying at home looking after her and Cherish after the chemo?

smurfy, u gg malacca next week? Hubby asked me yday whether wanna go malacca tomorrow or not. But i not very keen lei... Nothing much to do there except for food and would prefer to rest at home...

jas jas
err i will stop over there for one nite before i go up cameron. felt that it's a good stop lor, at least the food is nicer and less crowded than kl on a friday. err for ur case arr.. i do think it's good for u to rest at home lar... unless u feel u wanna rest and relax in the slow moving melaka town with ah-xi before mei mei is born.

sunsweet
u knw where is good to get? i onli knw that rest. ole sayang..?

Smurfy,

ole sayang is popular among sgrean.

for pineapple tarts & Loveletters i usually get from the local pdts shop few which is shop down the used to be DBS Chalet.

However DBS Chalet is no longer ard.. so u look out for the Puri Hotel which is diagonal to DBS Chalet.

Just watch out for pick pocket and snatch theft. I was there almost 6 mths back and my SIL almost had her handbag snatch by a motorcyclist while walking along the road on a sat afternoon.

The locals were helpful to help us to nurse her wound. However they say most likely the thief is not local malay.

So you just watch out for your own safety.

have they started selling loveletters? aiyah, I got cravings recently...I need to drink very cold water with a lot of ice. Not that I am really doing it but i kept thinking about it

catz, yesterday when inlaws went to pick A up, he again refused to go home. I think cos they picked him up at 1-ish while the other kids are still around in the centre as they are there for full day cc, so he is probably wondering why he has to go home.

Bought him a pair of crocs yesterday to wear to school so that its easier for him to remove and wear the shoes. He loves it so much
Kept looking at himself in the mirror this morning. I think my son is really really in love with himself. He will look at himself, smile and then kiss his image on the mirror..cannot take it, vain like my hb.

smurfy, hope QY gets well soon. I am always worried that A will pick up all these bugs when we go to clinic for vaccination. So I will keep washing his hands or wipe them esp now he has the awful habit of putting his finger or hand into his mouth

If i'm not wrong we can get pineapple tarts and loveletter in malacca anytime of the year..

Kuit bankit (the white coconut cookie,
all those usual new year goodies are available too..

so usually the must stop by store I get my CNY stuffs in Malacca is there loh.

Hehe now i feel that I should stop by malacca next week when I drive up at KL.

Oh yah not to forget to eat Chendol.. with nice nice gula melaka.. my fav stall is a corner stall at the other end of the Chalet.. haha

Cherry,

why not consider full day for A?
since he loves to be with his friends

I think full day will end activities at about 5-ish..

smurfy,
So nice going to Melaka. For real good Nyonya food you have to look for Aunty Lee's. But alas, I can't even tell you where it is. It's past the Portuguese settlement. Quite far out. Another pretty OK Peranakan Restaurant is Nancy's Kitchen, in Jonker Lane or something like that. One of the side roads joining the 2 tourist roads. They also sell very yummy nyonya chang, and might have tarts and stuff at this time. Sorry, i have no address. I just know how to get there. hehehe. There's also a nice chinese restaurant very reasonable price, called Bei Zhan. It's right at the end of Jalan Melaka Raya, near the prison.

huskie,
Your sophie can eat spicy stuff ah? I haven't tried any of the 'pedas' or assam stuff that has chilli yet cos the kids will complain when they eat. I haven't cooked a real curry for 5 years! The hottest they'll go is Kromak and dahl-cha, and that's just a little peppery spicy, not really hot.

PVL,

hehe you know how to cook buah kalat(misspell) chicken?

My fav :p....

usually i go to Guan Hoe Choon for my nyonya fix..

i think with the "little Nyonya" show i might want to cook more Nyonya food
but have to standby lots of spices when comes to cooking

wish i have a Spice garden.. everything will then be fresh and easy to reach :p

sunsweet,
I know how, but never do it cos it's very very very mafan to prepare the buah keluak nuts. I just let my mother and my MIL do it and enjoy the feast. Sarah calls it "bonker nut" and she's not very adventurous trying it probably cos of the colour. My mum usually makes it with pork ribs, Nicer.

I always have a batch of basic 'rempah' all ground up in the freezer. Can use it with lots of things, like frying veges, even marinating fish. I make the rempah when I'm freer and then freeze.

wow wow, that's a lot of good tips, must archive this page.. thanks thanks mummies!!!

sunsweet
ai yah, u shld stop over for one nite lar, sooo near yet soo far feeling for u kekeke

sunsweet,
The basic rempah is shallots, chilli, candlenuts (and supposedly belacan, which I omit cos of allergies). I substitute belacan with half a Knorr ikan bilis cube (without MSG). You can also add turmeric (a small piece), and lemongrass. Grind all together til it becomes a very smooth paste. As for proportions, heh heh, it's all agaration. Just use more shallots. Nicer and sweeter.

no lah will not stop over.. quite bored over there without the usual kakis..

in the past our frd use to book almost the whoel chalet which can stay about 15-20 pax.. then we will all drive up and wack chicken rice, penang laksa, nyonya food and have my chai tao kway & beer at jonker st. on sat nite.

if its just only us.. keke its seems a bit boring loh..

Oh yah if you are there on Friday evenings, can go to the st. behind DBS Chalet for their Pasar Malam.. its only for the evening selling mainly food.. my fav nyonya kway are found there loh..

PVL,

U know if in SIN anyone still selling this Nyonya pankcake that u eat with kaya and banana?

i miss this tea break goodie for the longest time liao..

Catz,
Yeah, working for them is like SAF, but at least there is a corporate ladder and none of those 2-weeks-away-from-home exercises.

Charis,
No lah, I've never cooked garam assam and ayam pedas before, but my New Mrs Lee cookbook has been collecting dust on my shelf, so I dug it out to check what I can cook.
It doesn't seem that difficult... I think the secret lies in the rempah.
I was so inspired by the book and the Nonya show that I got myself a mortar and pestle to pound the spices the traditional way

hey, you grandma can cook these dishes? Should really learn from her!
I'm Hakka from dad's side, so my family did not traditionally eat such dishes. The only things I can probably learn is how to make rice wine and yong tau foo.

PVL,
Eh, Soph cannot eat spicy food, so it's really for me and hubby. Too bad for her, she'll probably have to eat some boring steamed chicken or fish if we're taking spicy food :p

Yes, I think Nancy must be good, cos I went twice but never got to eat there cos their buah keluak is always sold out.
Wow, I must go find out where this Aunty Lee's is.

stella,
Chemo will be quite draining on the body and mind. Hope your MIL stays strong physically and mentally!
You get well yourself too!

sunsweet,
Are you referring to Apom Berkuah?? Heh heh, I just made the banana/yam gravy for dessert yesterday
. A little simpler recipe, known as Pisang Pengat. Didn't make the apom, cos no time lah. As for pple selling.... I don't know. We don't normally go out to eat Peranakan food
. My MIL makes apom berkuah too, but she no longer has her shop otherwise I'd recommend you to go there. Come over today or tomorrow and there's still some leftover

huskie,
So you would cook separate for Sophie if you're doing spicy? I can't be bothered cos I have to cook for 2 kids. It's enough for me to cook for the adults here

PVL,

I only recall its Apom something.. long time back my uncle get them for us from Joo Chiat/ katong area.. now the shop gone liao..

I do recall it had banana and kaya like dip for the pancakes :p

And you made them!! Awww.. I wish i can taste them!! hehe tough to make or not? I want to try making some leh.. :p but need to pancake to complete the taste lah.. kekeke

wow, didnt know all of you are so into nonya food and some of u are peranakan. I love nonya food too
Make me salivate with all these talk about food

sunsweet, yah, if full day, we will bring him home at 5pm but prob will not consider full day at this point in time. Perhaps when I return to work and maid has to take care of meimei then I will put him for full day. In any case, my maid is already v v free during the day with A in school now. She is bringing our clothes to mil's plc to iron so that she has something to do in the day. If not, end up keep talking to my mil's maid and mil will not like it cos her maid ended not being able to finish the household chores.

sunsweet,
The Pengat is most easy to make. No need the pancake lah. Just eat like that is also nice. I have no time to make the pancake and the gravy is already enough calories.

I used 5 bananas (Pisang Rajah), sliced thickly.
Melt a few blocks of gula melaka with a little water and pandan leaves. Strain through seive.
Dilute about 1 cup of the gula melaka syrup with about 1 cup of water. Bring to a boil
Add in the bananas and any other stuff you want - can use small sago balls, sweet potato, yam, tapioca etc. I used a small yam cut into small chunks and pre-steamed til soft. Not too sweet.
Boil until bananas and other ingredients are cooked. (Shouldn't take more than 10 minutes.
Add in 1 cup of thick coconut milk which has a pinch of salt mixed in. Bring to boil. Turn off when dish just bubbles. Its done!! Adjust the sweetness by adding water.

Apom berkuah gravy is more starchy than this cos I think they add flour. But this will do too.

For the apom, you need to play with flour, yeast, coconut juice, coconut milk etc etc etc. Too complex for me. Then you need to fry it ..... forget it. If you really want the recipe I can copy it here for you. But it's quite long and arduous. Maybe try online. Perhaps there are simpler ways of doing it

You really know how to eat peranakan food hor? We tend not to eat outside food cos of the belacan and prawns. Allergic lah.

sunsweet
so this ole sayang is not as good as this auntie lee or nancy's? ai yo, my initial plan was ole sayang for lunch and hoe kee chicken rice balls for dinner.. is jonker walk open on weekdays nite? i'm not thinking of being adventurous this time round as my parents r oso going, so it's more of slow n relaxed type..

Smurfy,

Ole sayang is ok lah.. cos i have not tried Auntie Lee / Nancy so dunno the exact location.

as for chix rice.. the other coffee shop further down call "Chung Wah" is better (personal preference) its oppo OCBC bank.

Hoe Kee serve other food then chix rice.. like assam fish head.. but chung wah only sell chix rice

Jonker walk is most busy on Fri and Sat nights.. other nights i am not sure if there is the pasar malam kind of stalls.

I'm looking at Malacca map.. the shop which sell the new year goodies is along Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock.. shd ben near the juction of Jalan Kubu...

there might be other shops too but so far i have only buy from them b4.. cos DBS Chalet was Near by mah.. keke

The chendol place of frequent is called "Donald and Lily" their laksa is good too the blogger didnt like their chendol but i find it ok.. the one at jonker st too much ingredients for my liking .. see URL: http://www.amazingmelaka.com/category/foods/

this site gives u many other good food places..

my turn to ask abt where to eat in KL..

anyone?

I'm staying at The Ascott loh.. is the popular KL Bak Kut Teh ard the area??

Hi all the PRETTY Mommies!
Really v long nv come in liao..
How's everyone??
Seems like more baby dusts being sprinkled around ;>
Wishes everyone has a very Merry X'mas & a Great 2009 ahead!!
CHEERS

everyday he would ask me to open up the cabinet which i store away the play-doh...
tis day i finally allowed him this little treat coz he's sick..
he's grinning from ears to ears the moment i took the bag out...
and made me remove the playdoh from the small containers..
after which, he tossed away the playdoh and played with the small containers instead

i wish i have a normal boy who likes normal toys

smurfy, A likes to play with containers too, perhaps u can take it as QY is creative?

Its such a rainy day today, hopefully the sky will clear up in the afternoon so that I can bring A out. What do the mummies in this thread intend to do today?

Its so nice to have christmas round the corner, really feel like going shopping or just walking around in town but its just too crowded. I left Isetan scotts after 5 mins last week, its simply too crowded for a preggie like me with a young toddler.

Gak, are u still flying?

sunsweet,
hey ask you ah, do u know what is the "market rate" for angpow in KL ah? my first time attending wedding overseas... not sure how much to give...

any other mummies know?

Hi Cherryale
yup am still flying..
these few days got some time of my own as my boy's at my mom's
keke..so bad hor!
How're u?
when's ur EDD??

dear mummies

good morning!!! i am down with a v bad tonsilistics since last thurs.. was given jab and three day antibotics ..today still feverish and on mc. v guilty cos i just join the co not long ago and now already take 2 day mc.

smurfy,

cherish also dun like toys..the only toy she likes is jigsaw puzzle. other than that, she like to play interactive games like hide and seek or ask me to join her in jumping etc...nowadays she likes to pretend as mummy and feed me, help me shampoo all these things

stella, alamak, poor you. I used to have v v bad tonsilitis.. until cannot talk, can only eat yoghurt/icecream and baby jar food.. got so bad that I had my tonsils out in the end and so much better nowadays. Hope you get well soon. Tonsilitis really sucks lor.

gak, wah still flying!
Long routes or short routes?

So tired... *yawn*

catz, i am super tired today, really dun even feel like stepping into office. Cant stand the tonnes of emails in my inbox..fedup, today really not in a good mood, esp after seeing those mails...urgh..the pain of working

gak, my EDD is early Jan but most likely will deliver sometime Dec. Is your boy in cc or fully taken care by your mom? Flying is good mah, everyday can look so pretty

stella, cherish is so cute, can pretend as mummy and tried to feed u.

smurfy, not sure if I remembered correctly, did u get the little tikes grand coupe for QY the last time? Does he like it and is he still playing it now? Do u let him ride it at home or only outside?
I need to get A a present (both xmas as well as the gift to korkor when meimei is out) so thinking of getting this.

cherry, eh thought you were already on leave? I actually have a little tikes coupe for Timo... the both of them still use it.. haha and fight over it!

Anybody any idea how much to pao for wedding lunch at Marina Mandarin?

catz, I was on leave in Nov and early Dec. Came back to work, 9 more working days to go..damn sian. Today got tuesday blues

A loves the little tikes coupe when he was at JG, forever chiong for the car when its outdoor play. Now his cc doesnt have this, so I was thinking of buying it. Saw the pics u posted on FB, your beth is so so unlike the usual description that you have given loh..And I see how u put tutu to good use, it does look very pretty...next time i shall get for meimei

cherry, no wonder.. thought why you itchy backside go back to work for what?! Nevermind, just 9 days to go! Think you just buy the coupe la.. makes a good 'BIG' gift from meimei. Beth ah.. she loves her tutu and all things girly. Pity she's so violent. Yesterday she bit/pinched Timo until she drew blood. Sigh. Told you to get tutu.. haha.. Milkie ordered quite a few for YR also.

huskie, thanks for asking... I really enjoyed my SAHM week.

cherry, just bear with it, only 9 more days to go... Oh ya, I still have to crack my head on gifts from bb to Vane and Sher.

Catz, I agree with cherry leh, Beth doesnt look a bit like what you described.

Smurfy/Sunsweet, CONGRATS!!! CONGRATS!!!

Giggler,

sigh this #2.. very naughty.. didn't allow me to have a good birthday.. whole of yesterday feel darn tired and pukey.. today head spinning after b'fast.. sigh...

why this preggy like so chiam like that leh...

Catz, u think its a good gift idea too? Okie, I shall place the order once mil allows me to put it at her plc. Its too bulky for my plc, and most of the weekdays, A is at mil's plc in the day, so make the most out of the car

gig/catz, 9 days is like 9 months to me now! I have so many things to do that I have asked my staff to tabao macs for me...stressed! But of cos still must come forum to pour out 'sorrows'. Tonight I definitely want to leave earlier, want to go taka to soak up christmas atmosphere
at least something to look forward to provided hb dun dua me last min. I think i super deprived, everything that i bought are either for A or meimei or for the family..havent bought anything for myself. Told hb i want a new bag, NOT diaper bag, perhaps will find something from LV tonight

gig, are u back at work or still SAHM? hehe, u got to get two pressies

sunsweet, beginning is like that lah, bear with it..console yourself that possibility of high chance its different sex since u were like that with lil J.