(2007/02) February

huskie/catz, thanks for the tips in getting bed rails. Think if we getting a bed for Xi, most likely will get a single bed like Pvl for her. Bigger and can use longer.
Now i am giving a second thot of let her sleep on mattress instead of bed. As we tried b4 for her nap, but as u gals mentioned, she will crawl out of mattress and play in the room instead of sleep. Will discuss wif hubby again...

Cameron Highlands resort is super nice and posh but the reviews complained about the noise from the main road... but it's really really nice
Equatorial quite old... saw the reviews complaining about mould and dusky smell.

jelly, the reason I don't like full sized bed is that they are rather high off the floor. Besides, Timo is a very tall boy and I don't foresee he will outgrow his toddler bed yet.. and I will prob give it to Beth when he does finally outgrow his toddler bed.

catz, it doesnt happen all the time, he is just in a more zi dong mood yesterdaay, maybe won some money from shares

garfield, i fear for my walls too, but there are the washable with warm water types so perhaps u can try?

raining heavily now, got to change my plans about bringing A to swim. Nice day to sleep

catz, i cant stand "carless" either..v handicapped. Taking cab is just too troublesome and expensive.

jelly, its v nice to be sahm hor, just now when I was taking a nap with hb, A was shouting for papa and mama outside our room

cherry, for me, I need the kids to be strapped in to their carseats.. supposed to go bird park with some friends but her car can't accomodate all the car seats so I gotta forego lor.

oh forget to add. brought QY to the hay dairies yesterday...i think he got a big big shock... first he tried feeding the goat.. the goat nibble his hand together with the grass.. then he stand too near another goad and kena nose to nose with it... kekkee after tat, he kept his distance real carefully and kept on shaking his head :ppPPpp

smurfy, Hay Dairies got chao bee or not har? 'Cos I really cannot animal chao bee.. scared I puke. NOT PREGNANT hor.. just have an aversion to smelly animals. Even at the zoo, I will stick both fingers up my nostrils to block out the smells.. haha. Or bury my face in Bethany or Timo's smelly necks.. ahaha... better than animal pong.

tat one very smelly.. but as wat fat babe mentioned, u get immuned to the smell lor kekekke.. oh .. hb later said we can see all the goats in the children section of the zoo.. and dun need to get nose-budded somemore.. kekeke .. ohhh the new children area very big playarea..

Sunsweet, don't hv extra discount except for free domestic shipping for USD150 and above. See if any other ladies wanna order or not. I might have a friend who wants some stuff..

huskie,
Wed mornings are good for me too. Let us know when you are available.

stella.
So sorry to hear about your MIL. Stage 2 still got hope, so keep up the spirits.

jelly,
Think I read somewhere that some pple prefer toddler bed cos shorter and very slightly narrower, hence not such an "empty" feeling cos baby was previously used to a nice cozy snug crib.
The Ikea toddler bed is not that short... length is 1.7m compared to a standard single at 1.9m (I think).

Looks like you can be SAHM! Maybe you can consider that since you've been toying with the idea?

Catz,
I have a 10% ON discount code given to me previously cos my item was OOS. Dunno if you can use it? I'll email it to you anyway.

Winnie,
So sorry I thought yours was a princess :p
Re. EYS opening: it's from 8-9 Nov at Square 2 (Novena). Think they distribute "coupons" from 10am-12noon at the Level 1 Atrium then you use the coupon to go to their shop at Level 3 to buy.
Bird's Nest is the Superior Dou Hu Yan, 1 liang at $118 (normal $188).
Cordyceps and American ginseng also got promo.

PVL, Catz, Charis,
OK, I let you guys know if I can do next Wed... cos carpentry will be done by this Fri but I am not sure how my packing will go.

stella,
So sorry to hear about your MIL. Like PVL says, Stage 2 is still an early stage... most importantly, she must be remain optimistic.

huskie, replied to you.. can't use those OOS codes 'cos those are tied to individual account/email addresses. Thanks for the thought!

Don't worry about hosting us so early.. take your time.

Starting a spree for nail polish and nail stuff from 8ty8beauty.com... lemme know if you wanna order anything

Huskie..I'm fine with Bishan..If PVL goes, I can get a lift right..PVL pls? Hehe..
But yup dont worry about having us until u have settled down with your things.

Keep me updated, ladies if we r mtg this week! Thanks.

cherry and huskie... Hee.... On Sunday i was kinda worry what to do wif Xi whole day wif her yday. Well, the time seems like passing fast. But but... haiz... She kena big scold and beating from me cos she kept wanting to go out right after her nap, and refused to wear her shoes, and kept wanting me to carry all the time. *Sigh* Guess I am not that patient to my kids and not suitable to be a sahm for a long term. I am just too glad to come back to work today, and guess she is happy to be back to my aunty's care.

jelly, i find that when I am at home with A, time passes very quickly cos he was on a schedule,we know exactly what to do at what time
A also got scolding from me when he misbehaves eg. during lunch he will insist on having a particular toy which I told him he has to wait till he finished his lunch. That will lead to big tantrums from him and I will have to distract him with something else like singing his fav song and act silly with his froggie friend before he willing eats his lunch again. Its really hard work
But worth every while when he keeps calling mama

its my inlaws who are upset wheneve I am on leave and A doesnt go to their place. MIL said FIL was grumbling the whole day that A wasnt there, so we had to go down for dinner so that they can play with him
When we were there, MIL and FIL kept asking A to call yeye and mama, its so funny.

No wonder mil keep wanting me to send A to cc near their place so that A can be at their place when I give birth to meimei.

cherry... Haha.... we are the opposite. Hubby kept asking Xi dun keep calling mama and mama. U know, she calls mama mama even when she is sleeping and middle of the night wake up crying also mama mama. As soon as she didn't see me, she will call mama.... haiz.... The only time when she won't bother me is when she is eating. So sometimes when i need to do some housework, i need to give her some food like fruits and biscuits to occupy her.

She is very stubborn. Yday when she still cry and cry before we left home for IMM, i closed the door and bring her to our bedroom and put her on our bed. I told her we are not going anywhere and she was like kept coming to me to hug me and crying that she wants to go out. So finally when she answered the three "yes" to me, ie. yes that she wants to go out, wants to wear shoes, and no need me to carry her, then only i agree to bring her out again. She won't do this to other ppl even my aunt except me.... My aunt always says she so well behaved at her place. Even hubby said when he alone wif her, she is very good gal one, but how come she only bully me? Sob sob....

jas ar
ah-xi really wants n seeks for ur attention leh.

cherryale
kekeke pils are always crazy abt their grandchildren. when my mil saw QY, she grabbed him and tried to kiss him... i jokingly told QY.. "run... run.. run":p ... but we r oso crazy abt our kiddos calling us :p..

me got some achievements with QY oso.. these days i change my words on him and he change his behavior... e.g. diaper changing -> instead of saying diaper full, got poo inside, i say u r wet, the feelings not comfortable right? instead of saying don't run, i say walk slowly...instead of saying don't climb, i told him later later fall down, pain pain.. instead of cheonging in the carpark, i told him he's tired after playing the whole day, let mama carry... so happy..

smurfy, u are using positive discipline! Hee... good on u. I've got a book teaching how to use positive discipline on our kids instead of traditionally method of scolding and no no. But no time to finish the book. Ya, she always look out for me and want only me when i am around. It is lovely but i hope she will be more independent as time goes by especially wif the little one arriving soon... I dun want her to be hostile to her sister just like my nephew to his younger brother. Haiz...

jelly, A calls me mama but doesnt expect me to do anything for him
he just likes to call us and in fact sometimes he will shout papa very loud just to let the daddy knows that he is around, but he wll play on his own

Agree with smurfy, Ah xi wants your attention and love that's why she probably behaves more pampered when she is with u.

jelly, i think our kiddos are also sensitive to the #2 arriving. recently A kept pressing and touching my tummy and said meimei/baby. I hope he will love meimei and not feel that he has been displaced. That's why although I will get the toddler bed but will continue to let him sleep on my bed until he is ready to move to his own room, probably together with meimei when she doesnt need to wake up at night.

now A's room is quite cramped with the table, chair, cot, cupboard, chest of drawers and still need to put in the toddler bed.

jas
kekeke i dunno that's called positive discipline. i guess the maid must be pretty amazed when QY came to me instead during diaper changing instead of me grabbing him n putting him on the mat. but it is alot of time n repetition, to get him come to u.. u need to talk and talk n convince him... n it's easier now coz they understand more things...

Smurfy,

I believe I have to learn more from you..

I cannot expect my MIL to do this but i believe I can practice this +ve disciplining method with my hubby .

Over weekend Lil J was hyper active.. climbed the house gate. then at my niece's wedding dinner, she kept running around.. she ran for like 2 hrs.. i think i can train her to be some marathon runner .. or is she trying to train me instead? whahaha...

cherryale, how's your preg so far? Getting tired with big tummy?

jelly, so sweet that YX so close to you leh.

smurfy, good that you found a way to communicate with QY.

Sunsweet, Sher very active nowadays too and can run very fast. Very tiring for my maid cos I no strength to chase after him.

sunsweet
whahhaha that i am clueless as well, QY oso hyperactive type. always cheong here n there.... say something that has immediate effect on her? or tell her let her run for a while... but after that she got to sit down... maybe give her food frm the table if she sits down... or bring enough toys lor.. i'm onli able to talk him through at some things onli hoR... but all these r milestones to me lar.. given tht i got a wild boy...if u choose something to negiotiate with her, make sure u deliever ur promise lor (e.g. i let QY suck pacifier in car rides, coz boring mah?, but after the car ride, he got to remove them... these days when we r parking the car, i asked him "Are u ready to go?" he will give it to me willingly, if it's a very short ride, i tell him dun need coz he's not going to sleep n we will reach the place very fast). for me, i try not to force or insist on something frm her.. talk through him lor... but all these will take a lot of time n slow down what u r doing/going ...

Hi ladies..Something to share..Im so glad that I finally took the step to let Yael go diaperless while I toilet-train him..lots of accidents so far but many successes too for those times he made it to the toilet! Im saving a lot on diapers this way too.

Pvl..thanks a lot! Hope we all can meet up soon!

Jelly..Haha..usually first few days as a SAHM is like tat lah..I get flustered on some days too..especially toddlerhood can be quite trying with their new found independence..u should give yourself more chance and credit..Im sure u can do it if u have the heart to.

cherry, where are u gg to get the toddler bed? U gg to on leave soon?

smurfy, ya, now they start to understand what we say so we have to be more careful with our choice of words. She even knows how to make fun of us like when we asked her to call "papa", she will purposely call "mama" and vice versa. And she knows she has been notty and laughed at our expression. Dunno to laugh or angry...

Gig, ya, it is kinda of sweet that she is so close to me. But sometimes i feel that she is too possessive to me, not even allow my hubby to touch me, and at nite sleeping, i must face her and hug her instead of face my hubby (i sleep in between of them).

Charis, u really think so? I really dunno lei... I afraid i will be a mad woman stucked wif 2 kiddos at home. But given a chance, i might want to try out one day.... When hubby earn enuf to cover my income. hehe....

wow..all abt discipline..cherish schedule was alittle upsetted due to current family situation..but i am more lenient towards her now cos she is also adjusting.

smurfy

i also let cherish use paci and her pillow in car ride, so that i can have peace

Charis,
can i ask how do u train yeal to pee? sitting in a potty or standing? also you basically went on cold turkey and took out his diaper issit? does he wear underwear/training pants?

sorry for so many qns.... wanna try out training him during my school hols.

Charis, wah you very brave. I'm very happy these days 'cos Beth will 100% declare when she needs to poop. She stands and goes 'Mama POOOOOOT'...hehe.. She even did it when we were at the bird park. No more poopy diapers, I'm really happy

stella, aiyoh.. hope you all are doing OK. Who takes care of MIL and Cherish? You??

So sleepy.. yesterday help with my sister's baby until I shack out. Definitely dun want #3 already.. CONFIRM SIGNED AND SEALED CLOSED FACTORY. What to do with a wakeful baby har? He doesn't want to nap in the day.. sleep 2-3 mins then keep crying unless we carry him.. and he's wide awake even though he's yawning. Wah lau, scared siahhhh...

Gig, yah, everyday when I go to the office, I will hear comments like "you are getting bigger and bigger" and "wow, u are bigger than 2 days ago"... very hard to sleep through too cos I will get up at about 4am to go to the toilet and will have problems sleeping after that. How about you?

jelly, I am thinking of getting an extendable bed from Ikea think its called Vikare. A's room is not big enough to have a full size bed at the moment if we are also leaving the cot there so something that we can shorten now and lengthen when he grows will be ideal. actually hb likes the flexa bed but its too big and too high for A now, so we will wait till he is older before we invest in one, hopefully we would have moved to a new place then

I am taking leave on and off this month and also 1 week leave end of the month. Then I will work for another 2.5weeks in Dec and that's it

pacifier during car rides
A will request for pacifier if it is at night as he knows this is "entitlement" to sleep in the car seat but thankfully he will not ask for it in the day and still managed to sleep in the car seat

Catz, your sis is very fortunate to have u and your mum to help out. Hopefully baby zac will become easier as he grows. I am now damn scared of childbirth. Fearful man..

Catz,
Poor you. Sounds like an overstimulated baby. Why don't you try GIna Ford? That worked for Beth right? Last time when my babies were like that, I worked out a strategy. By the time they are like this, by hook or by crook they HAD to get to sleep. So I would just hold the baby in my arms to sleep (or do whatever it takes to get them to sleep). I would just sit and surf the net whilst holding baby. It was just for this time only, not every time. Then start the routine all over again once baby had a good nap. And make sure the overstimulation didn't happen again. Remember for nbs, it's basically feed, diaper change and then down to sleep.

cherry, oh mannnn I tell you being with a newborn really KILLED all maternal instincts for sure. Wah you enjoy your rest before meimei comes along and you might not be able to rest so well for a loooooong time

PVL, tried Gina Ford, didn't work cos didn't seem like the lazy fella was feeding enough. Beth only started Gina Ford in her 2nd month. What about wake time? They gotta hv some wake time after feeding if you go acc to Babywise, Tracey Hogg etc.. arghh.. hope he really gets better.

Catz,
Waketime for a newborn is negligible cos by the time they have fed and changed their diaper, all the feed+waketime is expired. Newborns total waketime (incl feeding) is only about 45 mins. I think at around 2-3 months, total waketime can be about 1 hr. They'll also feed more efficiently so there's more time to play with them.

PVL, he's wide awake even after a feed and can stay up for the whole day! Really don't know what to do with him :p Even if you swaddle and carry him to sleep, he will wake up after 5-10mins. Nightmare.

Catz, you dun like Obama? Your sis very lucky to have you and your mom to help her out leh.

cherryale, wow you gg to take break so early? I think I'll work till I give birth. How are u taking your ML?

Charis, Sher can tell us when he wants to poo but still cant really tell when he wants to urine. You very hardworking to let Yael go cold turkey without diaper.

Re: potty train.

Lil J will tell us only when she has DONE her big and small business..

sigh.. she still cannot pre-amp us..

a few times she tried to say but end up no output of any sort..

Giggler, since my days in US, I am staunchly Republican

I dun dare to take diapers off Bethany even though she has told me she is doing shee shee sometimes.. 'cos aiyoooi, if she has accident, lagi cham!

We tried a few weeks ago to let Xi use potty and kept reminding her to tell us whenever she wants to pee or poo but not successful. End up she always went to a corner and poo there (in her diaper). We scared next time she has phobia on potty so not gg to train her until she is ready. We intend to start again when she can signal us her diapers are wet or soiled or when she tells us she wants to go toilet/potty.

gig, i have a lot of leave to clear this year, if not next yr I will probably only need to work half a year with all the ML, CCL, AL and AL that I brought forward from this yr. Actually I am working almost to the end too cos I will be 37 weeks by christmas time which based on A's record, I may give birth during that time.

I am taking 12 weeks then back to office and take remainder 4 weeks flexibly. Not a choice, more of a need.

catz, same sentiments with regards to US president.

jelly, last time my mother kept on stressing Timo and taking off his diaper until he was so traumatised! He was OK with the poop since he was 6 months old (into the potty) but pee only 2.5 years then only he was comfy enough to tell us. No need to rush

cherry, high 5! Not many of us uncool GOP supporters around :p

Catz,
I too dare not leave diapers on for Ben. For Sarah, I was OK with training her - only child at the time, easier to manage. If she did have a pee accident, she would just stand in the puddle and call out to me. But for Ben, I can foresee that he will not even bother, and will go on running about, leaking all over the house. Yucks. And furthermore, there's now 2 kids, and I'm heavily preggy. I always want to train him but have not started. Maybe I should start tomorrow
. Just keep a bucket of mopping water handy.