(2007/02) February

Garfield, haha.. don't want is the next most popular phase next to 'NO'

Think all kids like to imitate and feel like grown-ups.. very quick hor? not baby anymore

smurfy, teeheeeeeeee... Beth also follow Timo to wipe her mucus on her shirt :p And she keeps grabbing Timo's birdie when he's in the shower..kakakkaak.. joker.

milkie, you darn lucky YR is such a easy sick patient lor. HFMD is such an awful disease. Beth ah, she's an observer, that's what the 2 teachers at ELC told me separately. YR is lagi observant too. Socks - Beth cannot handle yet... even Timo cannot handle so YR is doing very well in terms of her motor skills! Take care la...

PVL, I very tempted to give birth before CNY so that I dun have to make preparation for it. Hehehe....

cherryale, I'll be week 37 the week before CNY so shd be able to go for c-section liao. Anyway, dun think gynae wants to work during CNY ba.

Catz, ya ya... I rem you were so fan when preg with Beth. Glad that everything is fine now. Looks like our kids are really 'talking'.

milkie, kids learn very well by observing pple ard them... YR very independent gal hor? Sher in the act of removing his clothings himself recently to act like tarzan... Hope YR recovers asap.

smurfy, hahaha... kids pick up bad habits alot faster rite???

Gig i think before CNY is better cos I was told rat is better for us than cow. Think we same chinese horoscope right, you are the same age as starlite right?

milkie, YR's development is very impressive. A still wears his shoes into the living room and only when I screamed at him to stop than he realised he is still wearing his shoes.

The only help i got from A is chores that he like to do like throwing rubbish for me, putting the phone back etc.

catz, my "moodiness" has been managed
I just went to mothercare and spent close to 300 after discount buying new towels, bodysuits, bibs for meimei. Think I need to buy some stuff that are for new baby as 0-3 mths may be too big. I got a feeling that meimei wil not be too big a baby esp compared to A. So far my gynae didnt tell me the weight but looking at my tummy, its way smaller than when I was pregnant with A.

Think the next thing to buy will be A's new toddler bed, mattress and bedsheet this weekend. The teats, and other feeding stuff I will buy when Robinsons has the 20% sale.

hi milkie, long time.
It's wonderful how our kids have developed hor? Wah, if YR can let herself out then you'd better watch her. One day she might just go out without your knowledge!
My terror likes to throw things into the dustbin. In fact, I've been looking for a few of Sarah's math cubes which he was playing with last week. Can't find. Jialat, Now the set only has 96 cubes. I suspect he might have thrown the 4 cubes into the dustbin. My hb emptied the bins last weekend. So sad. I even went downstairs to look cos he throws things out of the window too. He is also fond of wedging things in small spaces like behind wardrobes or stuffing them in bags.

garfield,
Dun wan is the most useful phrase hor? I want and don't want. Everything is "I want" or "dun wan".

cherryale,
Is Mothercare having a good sale? I need some onesies and bodysuits for my new bb cos I gave the old ones away to a needy person, and they have in turn passed them on.

pvl
kekeke ben sooo notti arr? must be a real handful. next time another #3 another handful one for u.. hahhaa

hey hey, huskie long time no log in oredi right?

Question:

Is it a good time to look for a better paid job that's nearer to home..

If you planning for no.2 and ...
current co. benifits not too bad + have dependent's medical claims..

just that current job is 45mins away from home...

headache..

sunsweet
if i oredi found a better staying job nearer home now, i would take up the offer.

hmmm, for looking ard, i dunno leh, nowadays market sooo bad, if suai suai look ard then by the time i found one, preggie oredi how?

Cherry..Wah that's a real shopping spree..retail therapy worked for u I guess..hehe.

PVL..Yup mothercare is having a sale..best place to go is Centrepoint cos the stock is much more than the smaller outlets.

Milkie..How's YR in school? Dont think u shared about her and your experience so far..haha..Catz n me miss u at ELC!

PVL, they have some packed bodysuits that are discounted prices. I have a 20% less voucher on packed suits and 15% less voucher on other items, so took the opportunity to shop
Thot best place is harbourfront as its their flagship store?

A likes to throw useful things into the rubbish bin too. I have found his cloth book, some toys in the bin before, so we make it a point to check the garbage or at least eyeball it to make sure there are no useful stuff inside.

sunsweet, maybe the better paid job also has similar benefits as current? Most companies offer more or less same benefits I think unless its those very small firms. But need to think when u are having #2 cos joining a new company typically means putting in extra hours initially.

smurfy, we actually took back the offer recently when we realised that the girl was pregnant. Reason was the job requires her to carry fairly heavy stuff and is not suitable for pregnant woman esp during first trimester.

actually at the back of my mind when I was choosing all the girlish pinkish stuff was WHAT IF my baby is a boy???? Then guess no choice, he will still have to use the pink bodysuits, sleepsuits, bibs etc

question?

if upon signing of contact we did not test preggy.. but month later tested preggy like that how?

as long as we work 180 days in co. we'll be entitled ML right?

sunsweet
ur question tricky leh, guess cherry the best person to advise..

i think depends on the company oredi lor, i mean since u oredi signed that means u oredi in... but then u r still on probation, still can easily give the excuse n remove u due to unsatisfactory performance right?

Cherryale,

thats my concern too on the intial hours in new job.

but anyway nothing is firm yet.. till then ...

now dunno hope i'm preggy or not :p

mummies...kekek

today more "active" neh..

sunsweet,
me not the expert in HR..but if i am not wrong..the law was change..from 180 days which is 6 months to 3 months..meaning if a staff haf been working 90 days for you....muz pay them the maternity benefit..which is 4 months pay..even if they wan you to leave...

honestly, if i planning...then i wun leave current company la..unless the new company is oso pro family...plus people wun give you funny look...like wahh..once come in...then go on ML...

yes its 90 days now.

Sunsweet, if u sign the contract, go for medical and is not pregnant but realised that you are pregnant upon joining the company eg. in the first month, it wil be fine since you are already an employee. But of cos this also depends on the company culture. We have employed new staff when they are already pregnant before if the role is suitable eg. no need to carry heavy objects. BUT some companies or bosses do frown upon pregnant women so like what smurfy says, they can dun confirm you and terminate your services on grounds of performance. For me, I think if preparing for #2, then stability is probably better.

actually i joined my current company and got pregnant when I was only 1 month on the job. I prob already conceived when I joined just that I didnt know, so luckily my boss was very understanding and I did my part do by putting in the hours required. so sometimes really depending on the company.

sign contract liao means you would have tendered resignation on current job.. then go med check, skali preggy then oh no..

maybe its really not a good time to consider a switch..

but i really dislike the travelling time of my current office since it moved to this new premises last year.

sunsweet,

my current workplace is less than 10mins drive away from home and 5 mins drive from my mum place.

in my contract, it is stated i will only have fully paid maternity leave after complete probation..that is y i am shelving my no2 plans for now.

i really like the short travelling time. In times when i have to work late, i am consoled that i can reach home in a while. in the morning, i can spend more time with cherish.

sunsweet
there's always a risk lor? be clear of wat u want lar.. stella took the risk coz she knows what she wants and ultimately she can spend more time with cherish....if they offer u a contract, go test urself with HPT and etc.. :p, if ans is no, take up the offer first :p... coz ttcing not confirm can strike one right? if heng heng strike then u keep a low profile until ur probation ends.. (maybe if ur boss pro-family, then can sound him.her out)

for me, i'm staying put n waiting for bonus... and hopefully an increment coz boss just hired a incompetent manager and oredi has problems with him n passing more things for me to do...

sunsweet, some candidates will wait till they clear the pre-employment check before tendering resignation. I think smurfy's suggestion is good, go test using the normal test kit first, then if negative can go ahead.

I feel you need to know what you want and find out whether new company is pro-family. If they are then, you really dun have to be so worried. Actually my personal concern with being in a new job while pregnant is that u never know how the pregnancy will be like eg. for my #1, I had no MS and didnt fall sick at all for the entire duration, but #2, I had pretty bad MS and in the last few months, I have been falling ill with cough etc.

sunsweet
yah yah i am that type, pre-employment checkup done and confirmed pass with hR, sign appt then tender... :p

cherryale
then how u manage A during this period? sticky to the maid? A still sleeping in with u? no lar, u gotta say that this bb gives u less scare as compared to A... u went through so much tests and etc the first time round mah, so this one seems easier :p

Smurfy, that's true. For A, I was well physically but mentally scared and worried. But I really cant stand coughing every month, it is really a record cos I have not fall ill so frequently before.

A is even more sticky to the maid, think he regards her as his mummy
He still sleeps with me that's why we cross infect each other. Think I am having a fever now, must be from him.

I am very sleepy today, no energy.

cherry, so mouse better for tiger? Gynae gave me a date range from 20-27Jan for my c-section. Hb thinking of getting shifu to select a date. You seeing doc or not?

PVL, cant tell that Ben so notti leh.. hehehe.....

hi gig, saw that u quite active at Jan09 thread
I hardly post there, dunno, nothing much to say there

i think they said something like cow has a hard life, "zhou nu zhou ma" so rat is better
actually for us best is dog, pig and horse.

no lah, not seeing doc. i think i just need to take panadol and sleep but I have a workshop to conduct this afternoon so cant take drugs.

cherry, zz also like to throw things into dustbin. but so far he throw away used tissues, empty snack bags... hahaha he is our useful runner. but got 1 time he throw away a toy tomato... think he dun like the toy. cos we pick it back, n nxt moment we saw it in the rubbish bin again! haha

n there another time where we throw away a spoilt toy. he actually pick it out n put back to his collection... *faint

yup my little gal was smaller than zz. so there was a time where i buy the crazy 8 clothings... it was super small n i worried tat my bb can't wear or at least wear for some time. who knows now she still can wear!

haha still in deniel mode tat it a gal? I was like u n I also buy girlish stuff. I didn't really put v high hope cos dun wanna disappoint myself. but i was thinkin if turn out boy, wat shall i do to the clothes n bows... hahhaa

ic, seriously in my current and previous jobs I do not have pre-employment health checks. so don't know whats the procedure like.

it is not that i don't know what i want.. but its tat i have no complaints abt my current job except the distance.. 45 mins from home (via MRT) is kind of time wasting.. in the past i enjoy short travelling dist like stella.

humm how to find out if the co. if pro-family? Wouldn't it be rude to ask tat during interview?
Maybe i should ask the agent instead?

these days do you discuss pay package in terms of annual or in terms of month?

me long time no interview liao.. cos had been in current co. for 4 yrs.. hahah

cherryale, best for us is dog, pig and horse? Sherwin consider dog according to lunar calendar and pig according to feng shui. And my hb is horse. Hehehe......

sunsweet, I discussed pay package in annual terms. I asked the HR directly if the co is pro-family lah. But the situation turned out to be different as what the HR said. Sigh...

Gig,

maybe to HR is pro-family.

keke i think from the age group of most of the staff i guess we can know if the company is pro family or not.

the last time i had the chance to scan thru my current office during interview that why i got a feel tat its quite pro family... which is somehow quite true..

giggler, cherry,

you girls are tigers?? me is good match goat, dog & tiger...but then i realise there's another chart to show.."parents & kids chinese horoscope match" quite different..

but good to haf "good match" in the family..hee

my hb & tyra is monkey..and tyler was a plan dog...instead of pig...

Sunsweet, I'm in invt div, most pple are workaholic. Hahaha...

fat_babe, wat do you mean by 'plan' dog? Me now having headache with rat or ox for #3. Hahaha... My mom prefers me to give birth to an ox cos he'll be CNY bb, she keeps saying that it's not gd to have yr-end bb but with no valid reason one. Hahaha

cherryale
i am not going to tell u that ultimately A knws u are the mum.. coz i know that feeling really sucks.. but i am going to tell u, that's the onli choice u have now, coz u need to rest more and be in good health to deliver the next child.. nothing's more impt than bringing the child to life..

giggler
oioi, u got the best headache :p.. rat or ox? :p

gig, A is a dog cos he was early feb. I think older generation dun like babies borned tail of the horoscope
Think my mum has the same thinking even though she is a christian!

babe, yes, mu lao hu

sunsweet, u should ask in terms of annual and whether there is guaranteed AWS. As for whether it is pro-family, u can ask about the culture, age group. If mostly are married with young children, then the company will be under pressure to provide some work-life balance or pro-family programs. Sometimes the headhunter/agent is not very familiar with the company so it is best that u ask during the interviews. Actually it is also important to ask about working hours because u want that to be a good fit. No point saying you can work late when actually u do want to have some sort of balance. So good luck in your job search! Hope u can find a job that pays better and is nearer your place

smurfy, yes everyone tells me that and its quite sian cos I dun know when that day will come. Some told me by 18mths and 18mths come and gone and A is still sticky to the maid. BUT I do have something happy to share today
A woke up on his own today, without me 'disturbing' him, and gave me a big bright smile. Then he started to call "papa" which is his usual first word in the morning, and when I asked him how about me? He said "mum mum". It is not the "mum mum" that refers to eating cos the tone is slightly different
then when I was blow drying my hair, I called out to him saying "Mummy is looking for baby" and he came inside the room and sat on my lap and after a while he said something that sounded like "mum-mi". whether it is really calling me mummy or not, it certainly made my day!

garfield, i have exactly the same feelings as u had for G
think i wont be sure till baby is borned

when people asked me boy or girl, i only dare to say most likely girl..haha, and i didnt dare to open the Mothercare stuff in case I go for scan this sat and gynae suddenly says its a boy!

giggler,

i was planning for a doggy baby ma...actually think tyler's EDD can be near piggy or sumthing like dat...but i c-sect him to be a dog..dunno neh....but i pref dog la..but i think even if i wait till actual EDD its also few days before CNY...so no matter wat is dog..hee

for your case...i think OX will be better?? since its more clear cut...juz dat you haf to stay home during CNY loo...

cherry,
i oso heard old folks say not good to be year end baby...dunno why oso..

Cherryale,

thanks for your tips

keke I'll pray hard for you for a gal
keke

but would you want to try for a gal IF *touch wood* your no.2 is a boy?

fat_babe, why ox better for me?

cherry, according to feng shui, as long as bb born after 7th Feb 2007 is consider pig leh. So according to lunar calendar, Sherwin is dog but according to fengshui calendar, he is pig. Very luan hor??? hehehe...

quite busy to post lately cos of term closing... but good thing is last day of school today... yippee... teachers still hv to go to school but only 8-12pm for first 2 weeks of Nov, then we are off... hehe

Ryan 2 new hilarious words are:
Princess - Big Ass
Big Clock - Big cock (he will shout it out at Ikea whenever he sees it... embarassing)

chocbabe, tokin abt their pronounciation...

i have another word to share
"flag" as "fat" hahahaha

there was once we stop at a traffic light and there was a fat man crossing the road. suddenly zz scream "fat fat" and pt out. I look up n saw the man. I told zz cannot be rude. then he still say. then as the man walk away, i notice he still pting so i look up n saw the flags. haha

Gigg, I was v luan like u too when i conceive zz. I told myself I never had a early yr front bb. cos his horoscope will be v luan n i can't read his fortune haha. then kenna in the end so can't escape. but luckily zz waited n came on CNY hahhaha. solve my prob.

cherry, i also always tell ple most likely gal but they still congrat me for havin gal lor.

fat_babe, r u same yr as me? i think i have goat n tiger best frens too.

garfield,
i think so...i am a horsie...kekeke....

giggler,
coz rat and tiger not superb match yah??...and since your mum preferred a OX?...hehe...

smurfy,
you very clever...u know wat i was tinking..hehe...okie...shall see if got happening thing next few months not...hee

Cherry,
actually I think you are very weida... gotto juggle work and A while pregnant and still sacrifice a good night's rest by co-sleeping with A so that he doesn't sleep with the maid. Don't be so tough on yourself lah. When's your maid's contract expiring? You can start afresh when the new maid comes?

Giggler,
I think Spring started on 4th feb 2007 in the year of the pig? Not very sure but I think my MIL says Ethan is a piglet even though his birthday is 6th Feb. Think I'm neutral to mickey mouse or baby ox - think ox is more compatible to me and hubby in terms of horoscope but heard oxen has a harder life? Think I'll just take what comes

Smurfy,
You so early stock up for #2... if you end up having a girl, I buy the boys' stuff from you at 50% discount ok?

Oh, btw, I signed Ethan up at Cherie hearts yesterday. He is scheduled to start on 17th Nov. Just sending him for 3 hours a day in the pm. Everybody's got a different take on CCs... not sure if I'm doing what's best for him

winnie,
keke....long time no see!!

smurfy,
okie okie...i shuddup.....disney...hmmm...okie..i go see disney princess...

fat_babe, yes same

winnie, just abt to think abt u... when our swim ah? haha at least for our boys... but it has been raining these days... so sian.