(2007/02) February

Jelly..Ic..Yup half-day is enough "stress" for a young toddler..BUT dont worry..children are a versatile bunch they'll adapt easily..there'll sure be some separation anxiety at first but Xi seems to have a secure attachment to u and family, so hope that will help her overcome it real fast.

Jelly,

Why not full day for YX.. usually lesson will end abt 4 plus.. then your aunty/ uncle can fetch her

of cos intially can just let her try out 1/2 day.. slowly she'll like to stay longer..

from the CC i enquired.. sually they will have either lang in mornign and the other in afternoon.. then have other interesting activites thruout the day.. It will be ok to put her for 70% of the day.. then at least later when she comes home, she can still bond with mei mei..

maybe intially you got to take leave to help her and your aunt to settle in the arrangement loh..

me too when lil J started school i took leave to help grandma to settle in to the new routine mah..

sometimes old folks are worried abt changes.. they aren't sure if they are competent to handle the job..

jelly, agree with charis that baby easier to look after than toddlers but since your aunt never volunteer, then its really quite paisay to ask. If u put meimei in infantcare near aunt's plc, does it mean u will have to rush home to pick her up? Or can your aunt help to collect her?

i am also thinking how to settle the care arrangement for A and meimei. My plan is to send A to full day cc, but inlaws will send him there later in morning and collect him around 5pm. Maid will take care of meimei during the period when A is in cc. But problem starts when A comes back. He is so active that currently my maid has to watch him all the time, so will not have time to watch, feed,carry meimei at the same time. Sometimes i wonder how other maids can handle two kiddos at the same time, still cook and do housework??

charis, seeing Xi currently so happy at my aunt's place, i bu she de to put her full day at cc yet. So we thot of sending her to half day cc nearby my aunt's place first for her to get use to school life, before the arrival of her meimei, then later see how...

sunsweet, i hope meimei can come out early becos January is the peak period in work for both myself and my hubby. I have prepared to work from home during the confinement, can't imagine the possibility of taking longer leave after the confinement. Btw, is the cc u plan to put lil J is the PCF kindergarten at Jurong West Blk 662B? heard the standard there very high!

cherry, ur in law are able to help ur maid to cope wif A and meimei after A's school? I am looking for infant care nearby my office, so i can pick her up after work, before go to my aunt's house to pick up Xi. A lot of logistics to think about. Hmmmm.....

milkie, wow.. YR is really a good eater.
Sher finds porridge yucky!!!

cherry, Sher lost wt after the recent flu, so now abt 10kg.

jelly, maybe send YX to cc full day and your aunty just need to take care of #2. Sure or not??? even need to work from home during cf? That's bad cos cf is the period that you really need rest?

jelly, cant rely on inlaws cos they will have their own appointments and not always at home. Really a lot of logistics to think about, sometimes very sian, unlike last timme my mum's time she doesnt have to work and has mil to help look after babies.

last time when i gave birth to A, I also need to work during maternity leave. but this time round, I will not. Not prepared to work so hard this time round. this time round also luckier as my boss is looking to bring an overseas colleague to come and cover me when i am not around. my gynae said most likely i will give birth earlier as A came out at 37weeks, usually same trend.

jas
maybe u just go ask ur auntie directly lar!!!!!. start with ur concerns of putting meix2 in a infant care (so young, so vulnerable to virus etc).. then ask her whether she thinks this idea will work or not -----> u put ah-xi in half day cc 2 or 3mths before meix2 comes out.. then 1 or 2 mths later transfer ah-xi to full day cc.. so that ah-xi can adapt well.. then she take care of meix2 for u.. for ah-xi right, maybe arrange for transport to bring her back (if ur auntie thinks she cannot cop).. then all that ur auntie has to do is to prepare dinner for ah-xi? if ah-xi really cannot adapt to half or full day cc before meix2 arrives.. then no choice put meix2 to infant care.

that sounds the most ideal to me lor..tell her directly lor .. dun waste time playing guessing game lar.. maybe she just waiting for u to open ur golden mouth:p

smurfy, i also havent cos i already registered A at another cc near inlaws plc. he is currently on waitlist but most likely can get a plc in jan. As for Pats, I want to compare with MMI first. How is your search on cc coming along?

Jelly,

nope i'm not planing to put Lil J at BLk 662B its too far.. me at St 52 ..

I'm eyeing on St. Andrew's CC or maybe PCS.. which are both walking dist. frm my place...

if both places filled i would hten consider NTUC / Appletree (but its 1/2 day session not CC)

cherryale
MMI in sengkang cannot make it leh. the teachers looks so bored with their work (read: not teaching). onli see 1 cheena teacher looks soo engaged. i'm either at character montessori in sengkang (coz it's sooo nearby, clean and new and got lil swimming pool, but it does seems to be able to provide for the kindgarten levels leh) or pat's (coz QY had settled and enjoyed his D-story club, but i really dunno whether i can cope with the fees if there is number 2 in future).

smurfy, i wish i have more courage. But i guess my aunt wld have thot of that too and since she knows i am badly looking for someone to look after meimei, if she willing to look after #2, i believe she will tell me. She never babysit before Xi, so maybe she wants her freedom back?

Do u think D-story club is worth joining? I am considering to enrol Xi to the Pat's nearby my place. I think it is the newest cc under Pat's. I called them 2 days ago, they do not have d-story club now but will start one probably in Nov. They will contact me once they have confirmed the date.

Which Pat's u are thinking to enrol QY to?

haha last night i ask Lil J..
who is **My name**? she replied Mama..

then who is **Hub's Name**? she replied Papa

Finally asked her who is "Lil J's chi name" she replied Baby..

haa haa haa so cute! :p

jas jas
which pat's near ur place? d-story club enrichment course is relatively cheaper as compared to JG and GUG. $33.10 nia for 1.5hrs. mainly for parents-kids bonding and u learn some simple things u can do with the kiddos at home lor... nothing exciting nor fancyful props... but it is good if u plan to put ah-xi in pat's in future, coz they will have priority hahaha. and it's a good start for them to interact, socialise and get used to classroom env in their own pace lor until they r ready? i'm looking into lim ah pin road .. hey hey.. mine's not confirm k? cozzzzz i got no urgency lar.

u go ask ur auntie direct. u never know until u ask. maybe she's pondering on her side as well. at least once u get a confirmed answer, u are clearer off in ur search lar.

Gig - oh, I m watching Fa Zheng Xian Feng. My sis's BIL lent her. so I borrowed lor. Sher also 10kg only? Was it bcos he was sick tat time so lost weight? It's skinny lor... I can c all the guitar strings. ha ha ha...

Mummies, hw tall r ur kids?

jelly, are you staying at clementi west?

Sunsweet, lil J is so cute with her replies.

Ah ger, Sher slimmed down alot. That show is nice.

Gig - tats bcos Sher lost wt. mine is 110% intake bt still 10kg.

tis morning 7am fed him 210ml milk while on the way to mum hse. 9.30am, when mum was prep niece's milk, he also asked for his. mum told him cannot, he made noise. No choice, another 210ml. FINISH!

my mum said - this boy super high cc!

sunsweet
ahhaaha lil j is soo cute in her reply... whenever i tell QY the family story in the bedroom and asked him where's daddy.. this lil rascal just points to the toilet room without looking or thinking!

ah-ger
A eats his porridge and other food well? haiz.. QY on a pathetic level of 60ml of milk per day.

laffing in their sleep
ehhh do ur kids laff in their sleep aR? <- AS in dreaming and then giggles and laughs? QY always does that leh... some times woke up by his laughing to find him still asleep.

Smurfy,

luffing in thei dreams = v. happy baby..

keke

sometimes Lil J will call mama/ ahma or just "talk" in her dreams..

Very cute haha

keke Lil J will also tell me "Papa zhai chong liang/ fang jian".. when daddy is not even back from work.. she just assume that when she does not see him hahah silly..

keke bascially Lil converse in mandarin.. but she understand both eng and chi..

dunno she will be like alien to her classmates? cos she's like the only on speaking mandarin :p

Last tues, her classmate cried in class. she when over, bend down and take a closer look and walked away telling her other classmates "jie jie ku le".. manz this is a very KPO gal.. haha

Ah ger, A likes milk so much?

smurfy, my kids smile/laugh/talk in their sleep.

Sunsweet, lil J so cute leh... hahaha... Why she converse mainly in mandarin? Sher will mix eng and mandarin, depends on his audience.

Sunsweet - is 84cm tall???????? i know A is slightly over the table already bt nv really measured him in exact.

Smurfy - A has a nickname "100 meals" ha ha ha......... he eats whenever anybody eats...

Gis - yeah, he's a milk freak! my 900g FM finish in less than 2wks..... min 3milk feeds per day bt nt more than 5 feeds lah... cos when we r outside, if we eat dinner, we also give him some rice + food, let him self-feed. He doesn't want us to feed him anymore. When he's gd, he can eat it w/o any mess, if nt, aiyoh... rice all over his clothes...

smurfy ah... the one near my place is the Jubilee Park branch. That day i called, the lady sounds very nice. Too bad quite unlikely i will put Xi in that branch in the future unless i become a sahm. But i am considering the Pat's branch at ulu siglap which is near my work place. If i enrol her to d'story club at jubilee park, will they give priority next time if i want to enrol her to the ulu siglap?

Mnn... i think my aunt is thinking also. I am sure she has our best interest in heart, but i think she likes her freedom too, maybe she is struggling now, and better if i dun press on her that much...

gig, i stay at clementi central, opp the ntuc. If u take train from central to west, definitely u will pass by my block.
Sher really lost a lot of weight hor, only 10kg. My gal oredi 14kg liao...

sunsweet, lil J is a very sweet gal lei... and she can talk so well liao...

Sigh after I came to say hello, i haven;t time to cm in again to join the forum. Always got work to bother me.

my son was suspected to kena HFMD, so worry the germs will spread to metta, duno wat to do. Today after gg back home will start to sterile everything. Sianz this stupid disease.

Lil J Speaks mandarin cos 24hr with Ah Ma who speaks mandarin to her..

but she understands english just that she hardly speak loh unless some words like barney, shoe, apple, but not in sentences..

her sentances are all in mandarin...

that day I tested her both mandarin and english..
** Playing with her picnic set**

SUN: Baby please pass me the spoon.
Lil J: Nah *Passes spoon*
SUN: Please pass me the fork.
Lil J: Nah *Passes fork*
SUN: Please pass me the kinfe.
Lil J: Nah *Passes knife*

she got it all right.. so its just she doesn't speak eng.. but she understands

she started singing twinkel twinkel little star -- shorten version "Twinkel Star... Twinkel Star"

And "I Love you" - Shorten version "meeeee (me).. Lyyyyy (Family) "

Well this is the effect after weeks of Barney.. hahah

Bitbit,,
oh no HFMD... but not true that 1 kid gets is the slibing will get it.. cos my frd'd younger son got it but his big bro is fine..

do your kids play lacing game?

as in lace couple of beads on a shoelace??

what is the game good for?

I saw at some places they actually teaches this game to young kids

ah ger, my 900gm finished in approx 1 week or less cos A takes 225mlx4 milk feed everyday, each time is 5 scoops of milk powder. but he is as skinny as ever and short too
definitely not as tall as some of the girls here.

smurfy, did u check out MMI in kovan? Some MMI are not real MMI, maybe that's why the standard varies. Think they are charging about $600 after $300subsidy for fullday cc. Similar cost to pats, maybe slightly cheaper.

I am not so keen on Pats now cos if A goes to the cc that I have registered him in Jan/Feb, then Pats only take him in Aug, it will be another adjustment period for him. I might as well wait till he finishs the entire year then decide, unless the cc really cant make it.

hey mummies, can I link ur blogs if you hv one?
i hv facebook too.

gg home to look after my son liao.. see ya later if i hv the time log in at home

Jelly..Yup I understand..I'm half-hearted to send Yael to school at all..will hold off until I find I cannot manage..haha.
I thought yr aunt mentioned she wanted to ask if her neighbour want to help to look after Xi..but cant bcos of the dog? Means that she assume u want her to take care of meimei right? Ask her again lah..Like smurfy said..ask her directly but diplomatically.
Or are you considering a maid? To take care of baby and Xi can still go to school.
Or how about being a SAHM or take just a year off work?
Haha..Sorry dont mind me..I'm just suggesting..maybe u have thought of all these yourself. I know its really "headache" to be in this position.

Sunsweet..Lacing game/activities are good for fine-motor skills and eye-hand coordination..very good activity..
I have yet to start with Yael though..usually this kind of activities is good prior to learning to writing/colour.
Saw some nice lacing toys at OG Orchard.

bitbit,
HFMD is scary..its one of my concern oso to send tyler in cc...coz usually..get them from there..haiz..do take care..its very painful to see them HFMD...coz cannot eat..and v lethargic

jelly, sunsweet,
seems like the girls are growing fast!!...84cm and 14kg..amazing!!

ah ger,
tokking abt eating habits..i oso no control..tyler wan eat wat...i will juz give..let him try..he's finishing his 900gm one week...he eats like a fish...wun know he's full..then when he's real full..he will vomit everything and start eating again..

sunsweet,
yup..the lacing beads thingy..apparantly is wat the school uses..it was in tyra's report card last year..how many beads she can "link" together..and suprisingly co-ordinated colours..

lil J v clever le!! i think quite a couple of babies like sherwin, QY is oso quite multi-lingual...keke...tyler is still v mono..cannot even comprehend english well..

his current longest statement is "XX go where?" whenever he see someone go out..or when he's finding his missing aunty.

Hi i m back home and start cleaning up the house, clean and mop. Very tiring, backache.

Juz managed to login at this hour but everyone is off.

my mum went back with metta, so it's too quiet without her here. my mum will hv no off this weekends.

As my boy is suspected to kena HFMD, we hv to let my mum bring metta back her place. He has 2 white spots on his tongue. We let him drink green bean soup and barley, hopefully it's NOT HFMD but some uclers. Let's see how is he tommorrow morning.

gd nite everyone.

babe, t1 and t2 sleep with the maid in the same room? yesterday mil came to my plc and i was discussing with her whether to let A slp on toddler bed in his room instead of all 4 of us slp in the same room when meimei arrives. She said if this is the case, then better let maid sleep with A so that when he wakes up at night,he would not be scared. aiyah, so fan.

actually i am trying to prevent A from spending too much time with maid but seems like even though he sleeps in the same room as me, he is still super attached to the maid. guess no choice, until her contract ends and we send her home.

cherry,

yes T1 and T2 have been sleeping wif the maid...

its the practical way for me..coz i stay up late...plus my room is not huge..wif sharp corners..so safer to let them sleep wif maid.. in the middle of nite if they wake..she's there for them..

i understand why you wun wan the A to spend more time wif maid...however...it mite be good in a way coz when your newborn is here...A wun feel so left out..at least if he throw temper or feel neglected..u dun haf to worry...

its tough..like i am super struggling when maid is not around...luckily i took leave...though i sent tyler to CC..coz the attention they demand at nite is too much for me..

if she's good wif A...why need to send her bk neh?? kids will know you are the mum no matter wat...

relax yah...

cherry
i empathaize with u.. but u gotta think the best situation for everyone.. if u really needs the rest, then u got no choice but to leave 1 in another room (with or without maid).. otherwise, learn from some of the mummies... i think garfield has them all in her bedroom (u gotta confirm, cannot remmeber well)..

i am in clouds 9 these days.. QY keeps on calling "mummy" these days.... when i am outta sight frm him, he looks for me and calls out "mummy" happily when he found me.. when i gets out of hb's car leaving him there with hb, he keeps on asking for "mummy"...and finally he voluntarily kisses me a few time these few days (caught me by surprise until i dunno how to react)... it's been a long long wait for me.....

smurfy

these few days cherish also everything mama mama...until i scared... even i go toilet she also cry.

Hope every child are doing well.

Smurfy,
So happy for you. Kids at this age are cheeky. My daughter now starting to speak lots of words in sentences like " Mummy (or anybody she knows) what are you doing?" Getting very verbal now.

smurfy, QY so cute.. Beth started calling me Mummy 2 months back. A bit sad lah.. 'cos she's my last baby.. wanted her to keep calling me mama for longer. Ah well.

Stella.. haha, I also scared.

Sunsweet,
We'll drive up cos still got my in-laws lah, plus seriously considering going to Genting also, so more convenient to drive up.

When we ask Ryan
Me: What's Daddy's name?
Ryan: A***
What's Mummy's name?
Ryan: E*****
What's Ryan's name?
Ryan: Yong Jie

We actually taught him the actual name.. hehe. We teaching him grandparents name now. think they will freak out... hehe

My in-laws are back from their 2 month holiday. Not very happy about it.. dunno what to say also, cos Ryan has grown very close to me the past 2 months and now i felt that he is taken away from me... I felt that they are too pampered towards Ryan.. and i dunno if they "know" how to bring Ryan to his new school and whether they will be encouraging him to go.

I've decided to apply for 1 day childcare leave to help him settle him in his new school.

Alot of things on my head now, my husband went for pilot interview last week. If it goes well for him, I thinking of moving back to my parent's place with the kids, then my in-laws will feel useless staying in Singapore. But how u expect me to stay with in-laws when hubby not ard for most of the year during the training right??

Ryan so clever.. can say out papa and mama's name..
Lil J will only say who that name belongs to.. keke

keke Chocbabe i think you suffering seperation anxiety from your kid :p keke we'll get over it..

cos every weekend I have stong bonding with Lil J then comes Monday I got Seperation Anxiety loh
like now...

As for moving to where, i think play by ear bah.. at least now its too early to decide..

Smurfy.. wow now QY being to super glue to you.. keke enjoy hor.. :p

Charis, lacing toy at orchard? him maybe i can check it out on of these days..
but now i got Lil J to play poking plastic "beads" thru a chopstick.. think the next thing i will get her lace thru is soft material like shoe laces.. keke

morning to all....

jelly - ur gal already 14kg??????? my niece 3yrs+ also 13.6kg only leh... Wah ur aunt really know hw to take care of kids v well....

Cherry - cos mine eats alot of other junk, so, he seldom drinks milk during the day. the most i think is 3 feeds on normal days. yest I measure A, think he's kinda short, only 82cm leh.... frm the las time I measure him at 18mths, he was 80cm.

It's so fun to hear ur kids all u. A arh... calls by "pa pa pa", "ma ma ma".

Tat day I was just talking to my gf, &amp; was saying wat r the words A can say. Bt of cos, nt all words are accurate. After listing down, I think he's learnt quite alot... I think is betwn 15 - 20 words. bt hes still doesn't call me when he wants me..

*faint* fat_babe, vomit then eat again? abit kwa zhang leh... heng my A nt like tat.

Wah, all ur kids like v clever leh.. can speak a few words at one shot? Mine is all the bb language.. bt he's v chatty.... just tat we dun understand him only.

haha talking abt chatty, ah ger. my gal was busy chatting with her barney last night while i pretend to sleep and listen to her conversation

I think i can figure our 1/2 of her conversation.. the rest couldn't understand.

anyone watched last night's F1.. keke exciting. with lots of accident.. :p

Was Happy Alonso Won!! yeah.. Renault!!

Chocbabe..Tough feelings..but I'm sure things will work out for u and family..anyway u'll still see Ryan daily right?
My in laws dotes on Yael too..n when we lived with them I had a tough time with them over house chores, obligations n also parenting my boy..but I always tell myself grandparents after all love the grandkid..its never that think they want to "take Yael away" from us.

As for moving to yr parents..I think like Sunsweet say, see how things are then..for me I'll feel more comfortable with my own parents..but some inlaws are ok to live with..haha..so really depends.
If its going to be a long training..lets say a year or so course, how about moving overseas with yr hb?
Anyway r u planning to resign when 2nd one comes?

mine arh... nwadays like big boy... when we go out, he kept holding onto my hands, &amp; talked as he walked. bt of cos I couldn't understand a single thing. Unless as he talks, he also points.

Yeah, I watched las night's race. So exciting leh.. a pity I didn't watch it Live at Marina.

Y so happy Alonso won? Ferrari won, then we can hv cheap petrol again wor......hee hee... bt the whole team really v unlucky lor... Haiz.. #1 to bcme the last. I think Massa las night can't slp le. The team member who flashed the light also no need to think of remaining in the team liao. So careless.

The 1st one who had accidents, aiyoh... so scary... heng he was ok.

chocbabe,

yah agree tough choice..will your parents be happy to look after ryan??

yup i think our kids are starting to recognise us and feels attached to us..

felt very bad about tyler....maid "left" him..and i dump him in the school..everyday when he's bk from school..he starts koalaing onto me..refuse to go anywhere without me...this morning..i can still hear him yelling when i was 2 blocks away from his CC..

ah ger,
yah lor...i oso dunno wats wif tyler..he juz lurves food...so he will eat non stop..juz to get the "taste" then spit them out.