(2007/02) February

sunsweet,
u bringing lil J anywhere else like Genting or something? how long u staying in KL?

Thinkin of bringing Ryan to Genting after looking at catz photos.

Chocbabe,
Genting?
yee.. I dun like genting leh I prefer Cameron..
keke have not seen Catz's photo though :p

But not this trip cos not able to take too long of leave.

Should be going on Fri and back on Sun.

Gig,
I tot NYPS is good but then its far far.. imagine lil J have to suffer early mornings on the bus.. I hate that when I was a kid! haha

Heard good things about Ru Lang too. I like how practical the uniform is.. NO IRONING!

sunsweet, oh it's your cousin's wedding ah? Which hotel? Thing about cooking in a hotel room with no suction is that the whole place will have a strong rice smell :p Sometimes 2nd link is so much jammier than Causeway leh. Must check the traffic cams first
But anyway, driving is faster than taking plane, that's for sure.

chocbabe, hehehe.. Genting is good for the kids lah.. Cameron not so much to do but it's more 'natural' I guess. Food-wise, both you won't starve one.

gig, heard Ru Lang is very popular too! I think if i still stay in clementi by then, will apply for the Clementi Primary School which is within 1km from my place. Still under 2C (dun think will have time to do voluntary work), but at least the chance is higher.

My boss very cute, yday he listed down 5 good schools (in his opinion) on the east, including tao nan, maha bodhi, red swastika, st hilda and kong hwa, and ask me to start planning now. Unless i move to the east lah, else where got chance and won't want my gal to travel so far everyday to go to school.

sunsweet... catz is right. sometimes 2nd link can be more jammed than causeway. But for u, 2nd link is nearer rite? I also prefer to take 2nd link if i drive as not much chance of cutting queues by other cars, but hubby prefer causeway...

sunsweet,

I think i might just book 1 night at mandarin on 13th Dec cos i think might be too late for ryan and he might get grouchy if we wait for the relatives to go back home.... then the other nights will stay at relatives place.

Initially wanted to go elsewhere for holiday but i think with my big tummy then, quite difficult, so decided to stay around KL and Genting and maybe Malacca...and take it as a holiday lor.

I planning to go genting, but dunno which hotel or apartment is good for kids.. Catz, any recommendations?? I will avoid first world at all cost.

Catz.. Ru Lang Uniform needs not ironing? haha that i dun know.. but i know NYPS is full white but cannot bleach top if dirty bec no school badge.. Nan Yang is embroidered on the blouse..

My cousin wedding i think Mandarin Oriental.. or is there other mandarin around?

I think I'll likely cook Lil J's Porridge loh.. easier to control.. else hotel may use over nite's rice to cook porridge then not good for kid to eat loh..

Recently i think Lil J is a little sensitive to Prawns cos she had a little rashes like things on her hands after taking some Hea Zuo (Prawn roll).. so I'm keeping her from venturing too much outside food for now..

AS for travelling up north.. 2nd link is always the way.. just call the traffic hotline or the Causeway cams loh

no worries we are quire frequent travellers to M'sia
just that KL Road is a bit messy .. many one way road.. keke

yo mommies...

very long time nvr come in..hows everybody? a lil quiet le..

hot topic on Primary school??

me is on 2 weeks leave!!! muahahha....juz sent tyler to tyra's CC..its his first day!!...hopefully he will adapt well!..

jelly,

i oso dun think i will haf time to do volunteer work if need to...its madness siah..

my hb's cousin not in good school..they oso perform...but they were always complaining why the rest of the students dun get wat the teacher is saying...

i say good wat..like dat they will always feel confident...but my sis think differently, she say in dat case, they wun be push to achieve wat they could...

pros & cons..keke

babe... ur two T's look sooooooo cute lei in their uniform! And they are so much alike now! Same expression some more. haha...

babe... i also dunno i will be as kiasu as now. Haiz... but if possible, will try to send the kids to better school...

my god the kids are so cute in the same uniform..

haha so nice hor.. jie jie and di di going to same school.

Tyler managing well in school this morning?

Skinnybabe

but the kids have streaming at pri 3.. so if they excel.. they will can be posted to gifted programme.

importanly is to keep encouraging them to excel even is classmates are lacking behind.

my neighbour is brilliant but studied in normal pri school.. but his dad keep coaching and challenging him more difficult academic work and thus he keep excelling .. which is good.. so end of he day he skipped 1 level, meaning he went P1 then P3.. dunno know now there are such practice around?

jelly, sunsweet,

tot its easier coz if tyler cry..at least he can find his sis..haha..then i wun haf to rush down...suprisingly he's a little shy this morning versus most of the time..usually when we bring him along when seding tyra to school..he will be stuck there..playing wif the lil frens

as usual i disappeared without saying so dat he wun be upset.

sunsweet,
but the streaming to special stream is soooo tough..and the percentage so little yah..?? or at least during our school days..tink very very few made it le...

i haf 1 fren last time who did 1 yr skip..but coz she indonesian..and she attending school 1 yr earlier than everyone..dats why faster...dunno le..

i wun know if i can "groom" them to excel or not..coz as it is..i am giving tyra very veyr little pressure to learn stuff..

fat babe
hey hey, ur kiddos put on weight.. so cute.. wearing similar uniforms.. happy happy belated birthday to tyra! n hor, learning stuffs can be learnt through fun stuffs oso lor, i bet u give tyra lots of freedom to play n explore on her own, which is good good oso..

pri schools
i dunno how crazy i will get. but most probably it shall still be near the estate i am staying lor.. coz i dun wanna them spend too much of a time on the road.. voluntary work arr.. unless it's something meaningful or interesting.. but road marshals.. no no thank u.

think parents still have to put in some efforts to nurture lar... even if the child is by nature clever.

skinnybabe, SO CUTE! I love bro and sis in matching stuff.. aiyoh, Tyler looks so happy! Such a joyous look on his face to be 'grown up' like his jiejie hor?

chocbabe, Genting we stayed at Resort Hotel... it's 4*. Theme Park hotel is 3*, I don't quite like. First World - avoid unless you book those atas World Club rooms which have faster check-in but for that price, just go for Resort Hotel. Keep in mind that no kettle is provided so you gotta buy your own mineral water as well as bring your own kettle if you so wish. Checked out the reviews on the rest of the Genting and Awana apartments/hotels and they were all bad bad bad reviews... so that's why I chose Resort and thank God.. it was a good choice.

Sunsweet, wah Mandarin Oriental is expensive posh hotel.. right in KLCC, very convenient to shop and the food at the Chinese restaurant is nice
If I hv chance, I would love to stay at M.O. too but with my monkeys, I stay at Ascott more regularly which is just opposite the road from M.O. But recently Ascott hv some wild parties on the weekends by those crazy angmo or hk ppl so hv to look for alternatives.. so this time round we stayed at Prince (they hv hotel and apartment) which was gooooood. Sound proof rooms!

Just got back from Isetan private sale.. shaaaack. now going to zonk out. Timo's teacher got HFMD and he just came back to school this week so I took him out of school for a few days 'cos the rest of his classmates have been exposed to his teacher's HFMD. Too risky already.

haha, so cute, for a while we were talking about cc, then suddenly its pri schools

gig, really are there more good schs in the east? I thot all the branded schs are in town area?

i dun think i will go and do volunteer work, maybe at most join alumni. honestly most good primary schools are good cos they have the GEP and these are the kids who top the scores every year, so if the kids are not in GEP, think the difference is not so great. In fact may be worse cos they will never be as good as those GEP classes. not sure what kind of impact will that have on their confidence.

babe, tyra is really pretty,your two kiddos very close hor, so nice
so u 'maidless' these two weeks?

yah MO is very exp, think the last time i paid $400+ per night?? that was years ago when it was still quite new.

catz, u have been takng trips!! envy! any good stuff at isetan?

btw, mummies, anyone knows or seen mattress that have raised sides so that kids sleeping on it feel more secure? I saw that somewhere but cant recall now. think it was at first few years, but cant find it there anymore.

cherry, stocked up on Egyptian cotton sheets and duvet covers.. the weather is so awful, Egyptian cotton sheets really make all the difference if I don't want to end up sweaty sleeping with fan. Lots of good bargains but alamak, madhouse :p

Raised mattress - hv not seen but I bought those Safety First bedguards for Timo. It runs along slight more than 1/2 the length of the single mattress.

Anybody want anything from Drugstore.com? I'm semi-retired from sprees so this is one of the rare sprees I'm doing to get Desitin for my sister's baby akan datang 2 weeks.

catz,

i got the matching retro tees from far east!!..kekeke...you went for another trip??...very exhuasting to bathe & feed them...

juz 1 day my house is oredi in a mess!!

cherry,
yupz...me maidless liao..waakaka...but my madi still send sms to me yesterdae & today..asking abt the kids..she will haf a good life when come bk lor...coz i sent both to cc liao...now thinking of wat to let her do..muahahha evil ploy..

oh..think we tok tok tok..then no follow through...the trip "pao tang" oredi?? u still going cameron? me going bk work on 8th but seems like my hb not keen to go out wif the kids..kekee

smurfy,
tyler oredi lost weight coz of viral fever, flu..blah..while weighing my maid's luggage, he hopped onto the luggage weighing machine...so the lady was reading and say 12.7kg..wanna check him in as well..??..hahaha..was previously 13+

my tyler no hope liao la..gong gong..oredi dun look like he can study..keke...i know i v bad..but he typical muscle boy, no brainer..

FAT babe
QY oso typical muscle boy... everyday cheong here and there with his baby stroller..even downstairs in LRT..
and we keep bringing the boy to exercise his limps somemore.. last week, he climbed those treks up at bukit timah hill ..

check tyler in the luagge.. damn mean arrr u hahaha

babe, my inlaws dun want us to go cameron, so yah, i pull out of the cameron trip already
so i am looking at other alternatives like bintan.

your maid is very nice to your kiddos, can bother to sms, mine will prob enjoy herself till she forgets to come back when she goes home. U can ask maid to clean your house until its spotless now that the two of them are in cc. wah liao u really v mean to say that of tyler!!! hey, too early to tell if the kid is smart lah. My hb also very clever when young, but i think i am now smarter than him

if your kiddos are at cc, then why is your plc in a mess?? must be created by you lah

catz,agree, egyptian cotton are so much smoother. Was the discount good? recently i bought some 1000tc sheets, superb! about time for me to change pillows and quilt. but recently hb super busy with work, no time to drive me around
btw, does your hb know how much all those sheets cost? I think my hb will faint if he knows the price

eh smurfy,

haha yah i get wat you mean about the dashing here & there..the iron boy now fall from 1metre...can still get up and continue runnning...maybe dats his "talent" lor..

but good le..at least QY wan climb "mountain"...tyler will cling onto me, ask me to carry when we leave from playground..or play area..

cherry,
why dun go cameron le?? roadtrip too far?? me wan go somewhere le...but dunno where...maybe next weekend go book batam..though nothing much for the kids..keke..but can sit boat..hahaha

bintan..go play sand??
my place was left messy by ALL of us...but most importantly tyler..coz he attempted to eat on his own..so by the time he finish his meal, and constantly wiping the table..i was too tired to do the dishes..

babe, yah, they have this idea that its not safe to drive
forbid us to go. so they said if want to go somewhere either fly or take ferry. Then i thot of bintan. Dunno wat to do there cos last time when we were there it was to play golf but with A and now pregnant, i dunno what i can do there.

A also like to self feed and always make a mess of the place and himself. very sian, i am so sleepy. going to take a nap.

Fat_babe, you like to dress your kids in same clothings hor??? Your kids put on wt? What sch are they attending now?

Cherry, there's def more gd sch in the east as compared to the west.

gd day to all.........

*yawn* tired over watching dvds & then researching for cc for A.

I think my A is still at 10kg. Cos my sis has tis Philips weighing machine at hme, think it only recog wt abv 10kg. Las time when he stood, it didn't show, yest he stood on it, finally i saw some numbers... think 10 or 10.1kg. ha ha ha....

i also think east side has more gd schs. bt again, there are many gd neighbourhoods schs also.. Bt i think most impt is hw the teachers teach.

Oh, u mummies aware tat new pri schs, they go by computer-learning? Meaning to say, they nt just go by the books.. cos some kids r bad in reading bt power at PC. Hence they bring learning into the computer.. I think this edu system is rather gd, cos make them feel studying is nt tat coring afterall.

yah hor, they dun hv sambucol for kids, only the adult version unless this one is the 'generic' version? http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=78738&catid=9329

cherry, my hubby would have a heart attack if he knew
To him, everything is still stuck at 80s prices ok? Terok.

Bintan - hmm, not very nice. went before.

babe ah, yah bathing and feeding no joke.. by 7pm I'm super sweaty and tired already. But on weekends and on trips, my hubby handles the bathing

Ah ger, what dvd are u watching? I just finished 'jia hao yue yuan' last weekend. Sher also ard 10kg nia leh.

Catz, guess Bintan less boring compared to Genting.

catz,
have u brought kids to bintan? Seriously what can they do there? Is the beach ok? I have been to bintan 3 times but always stuck in the resorts, so I really wonder whats there beside this. Mr Catz and my hb belong to same category. There was once I hinted to hb by asking him how does the egyptian cotton bed sheet and quilt feel. He said very smooth, then he gave he a strange look cos he prob figured if his egyptian cotton shirt costs at least 150, then how much will a big sheet like this cost??? haha, but i just pretended to sleep already

gig, thot sher was much bigger? I remembered him and Metta as heavyweights of ths thread. A also 10kg plus only.

ger, u always watch dvds at night? Tvb or korean shows? actually i like to watch but no time leh.

hi hi mummies.

wah..catz u also went to the isetan sale? I managed to go in too 'accidentally' cos i not an Isetan member but no one stopped me from going in.....Anywayz, didn't buy much. Only some clothings and hi5 dvds for YR.

This whole week is madhouse for me cos I got a friend who flew in from Melb. She's an old neighbour of mine who is also an indon so have to bring her out shopping.

Now that YR is in half day sch, maciam very free leh. Time passes so fast. She has settled in sch very quickly so i'm very pleased. Also her appetite is growing...so not sure if good or bad. She eats a good bfast at home and then in sch, she takes about 1.5 bowls of rice dish and still asks for snacks from her teacher after her lunch. And when I bring her home, she also asks for more food. So I've been giving her sushi and sometimes bread and fruits.

For dinner, she can eat a big bowl of rice and soup and a dish. And then she still wants more....
so i normally give her dessert ie. Heinz bottled fruit gels or custards or yogurts. And if she wants more food, i give her fruits. After her bath, she still wants food!!!! so i just give her some rice crackers. She is crazy lah.....she eats more than some adults now.

Yday i bought her pepper lunch beef rice and she finished the entire thing.

A granny who had a 3.5year old and a 20mth old kid was super amazed at her appetite.

Is this normal or is it a bit too much?

milkie, YR has a super good appetite lah.. SERIOUSLY. Plus I am always super impressed that she can eat outside food so well. Teehee, you actually can accidentally get into the sale ah?
It was chaos lor. Timo's appetite used to be very good when he first started school but now he macham on starvation diet. Doesn't eat bfast at home, doesn't eat anything at school.. eats a small lunch and a not very big dinner. Sighhhhh.

cherry, went once with Timo and never went back. Crappy beach, full of mozzies and honestly, the ferry ride was quite unpleasant as I'm prone to seasickness. Haha your hubby really very funny. Eh your 1000 thread count is super expensive lah.. at least $700 for the sheets?

fat babe

can you share how tyra ease into cc life? cos i remember she used to be a shy gal also? i am super duper worried next yr when cherish goes to sch.

milkie,

i had the same "problem"..tyra's appetite was v good...when she go CC...the share she gets is way too little as compared to wat she normally eat...so when she comes home...she "makes up" for the pathetic lunch..

stella,
you haf to be hard hearted...i juz left tyra there but before dat prep her dat school is a fun place for big girls and boys..bring her to the school...show her the toys and "facilities" like indoor play area..books...she will be entice to go school.....tyra got use to it almost immediately...

on the opposite..tyler cried quite abit of the morning part...he couldn't sleep..so ended up crying oso...the teachers got tyra to sleep beside him..then he calm down..

Milk..Yr YR has an amazing appetite! I think if she's eating nutritious stuff then its ok lah..but control the sugary snacks..too much is never good.

Catz..U were shopping with the kids too?! Hahaha!
I am so paranoid about lunch hour shopping unless I'm alone to brave the crowd! With Yael NO WAY! He will pull some aunty's skirt or hit someone's backside haha!
Anyway, did u bring Beth to class?
Are u going to continue next term?

Fatbabe..Yr kids are adorable..the look so alike..n how come always same clothes?! U very on lah..I thought usually twins or same sex siblings wear same clothes haha.

Eh skinnybabe, regarding YR's appetite, I've seen the bowls they use at the school. It's about 1.5 times bigger than the Ikea kid's bowl. The only time the teacher told me YR only had 1/2 a bowl was when they served her porridge which YR hates of cos. Since then, I've instructed the teacher to give YR rice as a main and if she wants other food ie. noodles/porridge, to give as a side dish.

I have seen the servings they feed the kids in the sch and i don't think they underfeed the kids leh.

I've also stopped giving her sugary stuff if u meant (lollis). hahahahahaa Nowadays, she only gets crackers, fruits etc...but no more lollis.

She is also getting bigger and taller but not fat lah...so shouldn't be that bad right??? :p :p

eh, i need to get ready liao...chat later

morning gals...

super duper heavy rain this morning!

I was driving along AYE, and almost turned to lower delta road instead of ECP. Luckily no car near me, so i quickly reversed out from the road and turn to ECP. And a few times almost knocked to the cars in front, scary....

milk milk! I guess u will be as eng now that ah-YR in school. So good... more time to go shopping and pedi.
Wah... i thot my ah xi's appetite is good, ur YR lagi better. Ya, i think now they bigger, they prefer rice. But we still give Xi porridge for lunch and dinner. She normally can finish a big bowl of ikea adult size bowl, then followed by fruits.

Btw, has ur dad chosen a dad for TR?

milki/jas
QY is oso another one who keeps on eating non-stop.. at times he likes begging for food n looks so funny.. he finishes 1.25 chinese bowl of porridge every meal (me lazy to start on rice :p).. his diner is ard 5.30pm.. and when we reach home to have dinner @ 730pm.. he's always the first one to climb to the chair when he saw the dishes being served...and starts his 2nd round.. :/ during the lantern festival, he can finish 1/4 of a big pc of mooncake and wanna more n we got to hide the boxes from him.

Haha... smurfy, looks like our kids are all big eaters. Nowadays whenever she asks for anything from us, be it food or want us to carry, she will say "pleasssse", so hard to reject her. Ha...

My aunty confirm can only help me take care of Xi. Now contemplating of finding an infant care centre near my work place to put the meimei after my confinement. Shortlist Baby Planet Montessori at Ulu Siglap. Wait till hubby comes back then decide... haiz...

catz, full of mozzies, then no thank you, no way going to bintan. thanks for sharing. those sheets i usually wait till they have those robinson sale where they slash additional discounts for cardholders,not too sure about individual pricing cos i always buy in bulk, sets of sheets, quilts, pillowcases etc.BUT i will never pay full price for sheets

jelly, i hate driving when its pouring, visibility is so bad. thank god you are ok.

catz, u are amazing, u mean u brought timo and beth to the isetan sale?? how to manage the two kiddos and still have free hand to dig for good stuffs??

Jelly..How come yr aunty take care of Xi?..Thought u put her in cc then she take care of the baby? I think its better the baby be at home than infant care leh..they tend fall sick easily & the teachers sometimes dont/cant attend to the babies immediately when they cry or poo etc.
Try negotiate with your aunty can right? Anyway I find infants easier to take care than toddlers.

Charis, our current plan is to put Xi at half day child care and after her school, my aunty will look after her. My aunt has told me frankly she is not able to cope wif two kids loh, especially both of such young age. She said she will ask her neighbour whether able to take care of my #2 or not but later found out that neighbour has a dog, so not suitable. Then i also got mentioned to her if cannot find a reliable babysitter, maybe have to put meimei in an infant care centre. She never initiate to help me take care of meimei, so i also paisei to ask... *headache*

cherry... ya, i was very worried this morning when driving. Xi seems to realise my tension. Throughout the journey she just guai guai sat on her carseat without a noise...

Jelly..Oic..quite difficult like tat lah..hope something can work out for u.
How about full-day for Xi? NOT that I encourage..but is that one of yr options?
Anyway when are u due?

Charis, yes... we have thot of putting Xi in full day too, but for a start, will put her in half day first.

Me due just right before cny...