(2007/02) February

gd morning to all...........

Last Sat was a nightmare....
1) A woke up damn early, 7am! & didnt want to go to slp. I told myself, die big time cos by 9+ 10am he sure gets grouchy & impatient. True enuff lor, by 10am, wah, CMI already.. i had to pull his pillow out & let him hug. He wasn't attentive tat day, & I had to carry him out in order nt to disturb others.

2) i put him at the pool, he simply refused to get up! All other kids already carried up by the parents, changed & left, bt my DEAR A still sitting tare, refused to let me carry him. When I forcefully carried him up, he kept crying. The teachers already started to close the doors at the classroom, left one door only. & I didn't bring the towel out w/ me. Hb wasn't ard, cos he said use the 2hrs to do hsework at hme. Hence I was all along w/ him.

3) Bcos of tat he didn't wanna let me change him, cried & cried & cried cos I didn't let him remain at the pool.

4) Notti boy, kept playing w/ the tap water. So angry!

Nevetheless, by the time hb came, we hopped on, & he KOed in less than 5mins!

talking abt childcare, I m wondering if I shld put A at the cc dwnstairs, using thematic approach (the std way of teachign), or shld we travel a few stops away from our hse & put him in a Montessori cc.

Any comments??

SIL encouraged Montessori instead cos she said base on A's characters, she felts tat he will nt like thematic approach. It would b better for the teachers in the centre to observe him & educate him base on his personalities. In tis way, he will enjoy learning more. Tis was wat I tot also bt I dunno if wat I m thinking is right. Also, I dunno which one is gd, esp when BP area has lots of ccc ard. Anyone heard of feedback on Seedlings Patch? They hv one at BP, 1 at Dawson & dunno ware.

Oh, any idea if we are able to teach our kids using their left & right hand? Cos we noticed A likes to hold pens/ pencils or even some of the things on alt hands, SIL said if we can train him on tat, would b gd, can develop his left/ right brain. She said we can hold his left hand & write as he holds on his right. Bt my boy doesn't allow us to hold his hand to write things one...

congrats to gig & PVL, wow u all are great mums, pei fu.. Starlite, congrats to your No 3 bundle of joy!

myself no #3, many discouragment. Ask my ang lah, he dun wan no 3 leh.. but he is also thinking for me lah. i am suffering from high cholestrol, high tricelydeles level, thing is that after stop BFg in May this year, i actually start my course of Red yeast to control my chol level. Can't take that if I am Bfg and cannot get preg also. We juz dun wan to hv any harm at this moment. My Ang says that it's better I have my health rather then we have 3 kids. So I am trying to get my cholestrol level down first. I might be too old by then, sigh..

garfield, when my 1st boy was at LV, they call it toddler spider.. yee.. why spider?? Is the Form teacher still teacher ida?

GOG, how is your Julian?

tub: Adding to your list, i think have to include the product call "White Rabbit-brand Creamy Candy" coz this prodcut is from China, also said to be contaminated with melamine!

Really jialat all these business people, earn their money in expense of other people's life, somemore, mostly babies and kids been harm. Never consider the retribution in return!

bitbit
i do not have #3 lar. not even #2.

ah-ger
think u gotta take leaves to visit a few shortlisted cc (maybe bring A along)... then u further zoom down to 2 or 3 lor?

stella
Cherish has thick n black hair..so nice ;)

catz
i saw ur genting pics... beth got such beautiful dovey eyes....

while u mummies talk abt bringing ur kiddos to overseas trip.. poor poor Qy still stuck with exploring SG.. last sat brought him to singapore discovery center.. sunday brought him to bukit timah nature reserve (ekkekee he has wobbly legs in the evening though :p)

ah ger, my gal also likes to do things using both her side of her hands. We just leave her be lah, not intending to purposely train her or wat.

smurfy, over the weekend Xi and I stayed in sg cos hubby not around. Thinking hard of where to bring him as I not familiar wif the roads here. So ended up Sat brought her to centrepoint kai kai, then yday to west coast park to walk walk. She seems to have a good time! But u very good, also thot of new places to bring ur QY.

Xi now can hold her spoon steadily and eat by herself. But veeery slow. So i normally give her her own bowl with some porridge for her to self feed, while i feed her at the same time from another bowl of porridge.

ah ger
subjective leh, depends on ur needs... i look for overall env (aircon vs non aircon, bungalow vs detached house vs standalone building).... teachers (locals vs PRC, teachers.. whether teachers are lively and energized or bored)..... classroom situations...(whether teachers in control of the class, wat they do with a crying child). price... (my search was slightly biased lar, since i did not bring QY with me hahaha)

aiyo, jelly, I can only travel when school hols start so peak period lor... sian...

Bitbit, Julian is fine after the operation. Am thankful that he went through it, esp after seing him run around actively at the playground. His appetite is also better and he is gaining much more weight now. Thanks for asking.

mummies, want to check how to store potatoes. My maid store them in the fridge, that is not the right place right?? Where do u all keep the potatoes, inside the cupboard or on the worktop?

jelly, wow u are so fast, got the stroller already
I like joovy only cos of the stand for A to kaypoh and be pushed around. But if both A and meimei need to nap outside I will have a problem
Unless I try to get a sling to carry meimei, so that is another thing that I will explore
Keep meimei close to me also

smurfy, u are really very good to QY, always thinking of new places to bring him. We have been talking about taking A to science centre for the longest time but hb is so busy with work that he has no time for us. That's why in oct, we must definitely take leave and bring A out.

jelly. i wanna see your aust pix too!!! when did u travel there? Which part of Aust?

GOG, u gg on free and ez to taiwan this coming dec? We booked taiwan tour also, in Dec and we book it as early as last month so we managed to secure the tix already. Will be tough for us this time round coz my mum is not joining us, only my hb and myself with 2 cheekies.

here is that little no. 2 cheeky - metta
the brother is in green sweater.

metta says: "hello aunties, i am metta. i am 19mos old already. i'm keeping mama busy so that she has no time here for chatting, hahaha.... i want her to chat with me!"

(this pix was taken at 16mos)
1733235.jpg

bitbit... ur metta is soooo cute lei... miss chatting wif u. Hope u have more time to come in here... I link ur blog to mine can? Will pm u my blog add...

cherry... there are pros and cons of this kind of stroller, like if the front seat fully recline, then the kid at the back may not be able to sit, and this stroller can only use after the meimei is 6 mos old. But after weighing the pros and cons, we decided to go ahead to get one, as we prefer something like this to those double strollers. Most importantly the one i am getting is the ultralight one, so i can handle myself especially in the morning and evening when i need to carry both gals to the car myself.

I'm back from HK..
Well its basically a shopping and eating trip.. Missed Lil J and Hub V. Much..

Cherry,
I usually store potatos at room tempt.. with onions and garlics

Chocbabe,
I'll be staying at the hotel.
keke i have not booked my tickets so still have chance of driving up.. cos it will be much faster

cherryale,
I store potatoes in the fridge. They don't sprout so quickly. Do not eat sprouted potatoes. There are toxins in the potatoes once they sprout. I store my garlic in the fridge too. They keep better.

bitbit,
Metta looks really pretty and cheeky

Catz..Saw yr Genting pics..the family looking good! Been ages since I was there..didnt know its quite fun for kids.
We will be going for class tomorrow n thursday..cos Yael was sick last Thur so I called up to make-up tmrw.
YR started school this week so she stopped attending the classes.

Cherry..Bugaboo and Phil & Teds are selling at Mothercare too..but ex lah..$800 plus for the Philn Teds, to make it a double its extra $100 plus.

Bitbit..Ya lor u MIA so long..Metta so cute!

garfield, my son is no longer with LV biopolis coz after i pop metta coz no one bring him to cc. he basically stay at home while i do confinement and thereafter rest for a year b4 he came to the cc at my current office area.

he said that he prefered the school at my office and when we bluff to sent him back to LV, he cried. I think there are some unhappy incidents. Also he got sick easily over there.

Thanks mummies for the praise to metta, but if u really see her, she act like a tomboy at home.

The pic above was taken in Aust. It's at a farm and they are watching shepherd dogs chasing sheeps. It was in June.

jas, actually we went aust too but only to melbourne for 5 days. I was excited when I saw the pix u taken, makes me wanna go melbourne again. i like the place, so quiet and cooling. did u manage to see the penguin parade? it's really a pity we cannot take pix.

oh i am back to work, check in later..

bitbit... 5 days in melbourne not bad wat... Including ur trip to Philip Island for the penguins? We did not go to Philip Island this time, as hubby not interested and I have been there b4 during my uni days. We went to Great Ocean Road and Grampians instead. Where was the farm u went to? There are moo-moo and baah baah everyone hor over there. On our way from airport to home, asked my gal what's on the road along ECP, she said "moo moo" then realised no "moo moo" then only said "car". Haha...

jelly,

how did you prep YX's meals at Aust.

I was thinking if i need to invest on a travel cooker if i bring lil J to KL.

I'm staying at hotel so have to bring own cooker.

unsure of getting plain porridge there.

As for the ingredents it would be easy as per our table food.

Garfield,

Well I'm glad i'm in SG cos HK is too cramp and rather disorganise.

Pollution is quite bad too. I cannot feel any fresh air around.

I dun think I would go HK for holiday liao.. cos the clothes and shoes are too small for me.. then only left eat eat eat.. whahahaha

catz, did u and hb drive up to Genting or by air or coach?

my ang will never drive up coz he is not familiar with the road in Malaysia and then he has his own theory: " I came to relax, not sleep after long hours of driving", haha.. well then that is true aso coz the luxury coach of the WTS we usually book our Genting trip with, always park & pick passengers along the road of our house. Too convenient for him to pick an excuse not to drive.

smurfy, hahaha.. I was guessing, sorry to mistaken u preggy..

Feb thread mummies are really hardworking ya! Congrats once again to all preggy mummies here!

bitbit
then it's a bad guess lor.. :p

kekeke metta got a cheeky look... n ur kids are so lively and active type.. but why ur blog all chinese words.. hard to read leh.. :p

jelly/smurfy/graceofgod

cherish hair is not thick in fact v little... just that in this photo, she just had her bath and her hair is just dried..thats y look more volume.

ah ger,

abt cc, i also v headache..cos no matter which cc cherish is, she sure cry for the longest time. furthermore, she is now v tramatised by her playgroup.

i have enrolled her in next yr half day cc near my mum place, but we adopt a "see how it goes" approach

stella, cherish looks so gal now

Ah ger, when do you need to enrol A to cc? Must start your search early as some gd cc has long waiting list leh.

bitbit, metta really got cheeky look hor? Guess our kids are the cutest now. Hehehe...

sunsweet, are u gg to drive up to KL or by plane? If ur car trunk or luggage still got space, better to bring a small rice cooker along to preprare porridge for lil J. Ingredients wise such as meat, u can get them easily from the supermarket there. For my aussie trip, i didn't bring a rice cooker or slow cooker as our luggages are too full!!! So we just let her eat whatever we ate but realised she didn't like the food there that much so quite poor thing loh, as she lost some weight after the trip. We did buy lotsa biscuits, raisins and fruits to let her munch.

Yday my boss chit chat wif me on the primary education system here. Being kiasu, I called up Nan Hua Primary school which is the only better school around my area, and realised my place is within 2km, beyond 1km of the school. So disappointed...

giggler
u enrolled sherwin liao? where?

stella
maybe u try another playgrp? guess cherish just need more time than the rest.. u do participate with her in her current playgrp right?

die, seems tat i am the one still dilly-dally on cc arrangment despite talking so much..

jas
whahaha u worse. go and find pri sch infor so more.. ai yoh.. tat one hor, not that urgent.. maybe when YX is 5yrs old, change flat or make ur hb do some kind donations and be the road marshal for one term lor? . :DDDDD

Hahaha, smurfy... scared by my boss loh... He said it is a damn complicated but important process. Must get it right once and for all. I heard a lot of schools need more than donation like doing voluntary work. If can just give donation and secure a place, then save a lot of headache liao...

morning....

2day working in darkness... cos the switch abit sort sort... by right will auto on itself, bt 2day it didn't & we on it again & still it's nt working.

Gig - my hse tare has lots of cc, so I dun think need to worry much. As for the one dwnstairs, cfm hv plc lah. Jus tat I dunno if I shld prioritise the kind of teaching method.

V confusing leh, some cc say they use MI (Multiple Intelligence) teaching, some say use thematic teaching. Nt the same? Then wats Montessori teaching? All the terms r so luan...

Anybody heard of Carpe Diem? They r the one who's using MI lor. Then Cherie Hearts leh? There must b a reason y some cc charge more exp than the other right? Cherie Hearts is like $800 or $850 b4 subsidy. the one dwnstairs my hse is only $580.

jas jas
that's why i say beside donations, must get ur hb do road marshal or warden work kekeke..tat time i pass by dunno which pri sch... wow lao... see some old ah-gongs doing road marshal works...feel soo sorry for them... but it's really... anything so long as their grandchild can have a place in that school mentality.. :p

actually I find such doings like abit overboard leh... Well, I say tis cos I find tat even normal neighbourhood schs are following which i think abit silly.

As of now, I dun think I'll ever do tat. Unless u tell me, my ah boy is so talented tat he shld sqz in w/ other geniuses to get into gd schs.

ah ger, phase 2C is for those none of the below:

Phase 1: For a child who has a sibling studying in a school of choice;

Phase 2A1: For a child whose parent is a former student of the school and who has joined the alumni association as a member not later than 30 Jun 2007; or whose parent is a member of the School Advisory/Management Committee.

Phase 2A2: For a child whose parent or sibling has studied in the school of choice; or whose parent is a staff member of the school of choice.

Phase 2B: For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2007 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2008; or whose parent is a member endorsed by the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

oh.... i think i wil also belong to 2C lah.... ha ha ha... dun think I will spend such time doing those things. many children also go to normal schls & excel in their studies.

humm.. we are talking abt PRi school here when our kids only barely 1 yr plus!!?? haha

OK i admit I tot of that b4 even Lil J was born.. cos i'm thinking if I should send her to the pri i attended (NYPS)or to the one just opposite my place, Ru Lang which is also a good pri school too.

What you think??

Actually I'm Confused loh...

Furthremore for 2007 we have 2000+ more kids born compared to 2006.

I noticed NTUC also has childcare centres. Has anybody tot of sending their kids tare? If not, y? Theirs r nt the same as those PCF ones right?

Ah Ger,

I might send Lil J to NTUC or PSC CC if she were to go CC ..

But the NTUC CC at my place here have a fierce China Teacher..

dunno she got ai xin or not.. :p

Re: Travelling - cooking for kid
Eh.. should I buy a small rice cooker or a travel stove?

which is better manz?

wah... so many things to bring for travelling.

For me, I wun buy any one cos I wun bring. Bt if to give opinions, maybe still can lah. Can the small rice cooker cook dishes? if can, then just buy rice cooker lor. Small travel stove - u mean induction type or gasoline?

sunsweet, go for rice cooker.. safer. Or if you hv a slow cooker, lagi best.. It takes about 2 hours to do white rice porridge, about an hour longer if you're using brown rice. For KL, I always opt to stay in service apartments like Ascott, PNB Darby or Prince.. at least got kitchen, easier to prepare milk etc. For the kids, I never cook when we go on holiday. It's jar food all the way

Montessori - thing is that a lot of so-called Montessori are not exactly following the true-blue style of Montessori so you also gotta be aware of this. They can charge sky high prices and not give you a true Montessori experience.

Thanks for the comments on the Genting photos. The kids indeed had a great time and it was when the two of them were on the rides together that I realised that it was the correct choice to have 2 kiddos. Those single child very lonely.. sit the rides also got no friends. My 2 monkeys may fight but they do love each other's company. Haha.

bitbit, we always self-drive. Ever since my hubby and I were dating, we always drive to M'sia. But then again, we are both seasoned drivers after all our years overseas. 4 hour drive is nothing... but if your hubby is not comfortable, guess dun push it. Although I feel that travelling with kids in car is easier 'cos they can have all their creature comforts in the car plus dun hv to squeeze everything into tiny luggage. But then again, my family dun travel light

Catz - thks for the feedback on Montessori. Yeah, I also read b4 tat those claimed to be Montessori progs r nt really doing wat they shld b doing.

I called Seedilngs, they hv 2 locations - Dawson & BP. Seems nt bad. They hv a mixture of both Montessori + thematic approach, which I think is gd. Bt again, nt cheap wor... going 4ward, they r gng to up the price frm 700 to 800 b4 subsidy. *headache*

nw, the one dwnstairs my hse tare, they assured me the increase is gng to b v min, maybe even less than $50. so now the diff is +/- abt $200.

jelly, lots of pple applying to be PV for Nan Hua and got rejected leh.

smurfy, no lah, haven register Sher with any classes. hehehe...

Ah ger, even neighbourhood sch also diff to get in nowadays leh, esp for my area. Sigh...

Sunsweet, for me, I'll choose Ru Lang cos I dun want my kid to travel too far for sch. Esp when they have CCA and stuff and need to stay sch till late.

Gigg..
if got ru lang then will be enroll at later stage.. whereas if go NYPS higher chance of being enrolled. cos earlier phases mah..

anyway i think better think abt Kindergarten 1st.. then say.. I asked St. James which I was form they say ex-students have priority but then its exp hor for like 3 hrs its 1K+ per term.. excluding enrichment classes and Bus fare..

keke think i'll take the neighbourhood CC.. PCS/ NTUC

RE: KL Trip
My Cousin booked us at the same hotel she hold her dinner. so have to bring own cooker if would to cook for Lil J.

Most likely will drive
cos it will be faster then taking plane as I stay at the west will use 2nd link.