(2007/02) February

Smurfy,
Got $1k baby bonus mah

Then also I am a small partner in a small business and I pay income tax on it yearly lor... think will still be able to get a bit of $$$ for the 4th month ML actually.

Are premature children eligible for the enhanced Baby Bonus scheme?

If the child’s estimated date of delivery (EDD) is on or after 1 January 2009, but is born prematurely before 1 Jan 2009, parents may write to MCYS to check his/her eligibility for the Baby Bonus. They should include the doctor's certification on the EDD and copies of the following documents:

a) Birth certificates of all children;

b) Citizenship certificate of all children (if applicable);

c) Marriage certificate; and

d) NRICs or passports of both parents

Source: http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/MarriageNParenthoodPackage/FAQs/FAQs+on+Baby+Bonus.htm

Smurfy, Sunsweet..Thanks for the links!
I like tat the childcare leave is increased, 2 days is not enough..at least now my hb no need to worry about depleting his leave..n he can take more during my confinement next time.
Now u can even go for unpaid leave up to 6 days when u have a child below 2.

Huskie..Haha..thanks..yup it was rather funny.. pleasant surprise to win something..cos signed him up for fun.

Sap..I had the same problem with Yael at one time..So I tried to read some tips from the Gina Ford book..Anyway, Yael takes awhile to fall asleep too..but I make sure its dark, the usual bedtime routine of bf, read a story sing songs...but I put him on his bed when he's drowsy..and he learnt to fall asleep on his own..There are nites where he'll want to play n try to get off bed..I leave the room and he'll cry..then I come back a few minutes time n he'll get the idea..n he'll sleep after tat.
Maybe u shouldnt stay with her too long..jus feed her..then put her in the bed..What does she do before bedtime? Try to wind down her activities an hour before bedtime.

Yeah..Tonight I get to go out on a rare nite out with girlfriends..
We going to Central Mall..hmm anyone been there..anything nice there? We meeting after 9pm leh..think most shops close liao..cannot do shopping..looks like can only eat n drink..but I also dont drink..haha.

smurfy,
your HR confirm dui ar..

peko...sure got "appeal cases"...later on alot of mummies will write petition to govt liao...dat wat alot did during the last adjustment in 2004

giggler,
I GA all the way...and i prefer to keep it as dat...dun wan to do epidural..

but for epi, your cut pain will probably set in much later...for GA once you wake up...you feel like killing the gynae..( pain will last for 15-30 mins) then you will be accustom to it..kekeke

winnie,

can one la..even if baby come early hor...usually is 2 weeks ma...still in JAn 09

hee..your #2 EDD is tyler's bdae..!! waahahah...121 i like the number..

5th child no baby bonus leh..think i must reconsider having 5 then..hahaha! But if I read info properly, govt will match up to $18k on CDA for 5th child!
Anyway, still very far away lah.
BUT now 2nd baby, get $1k top-up cash gift..So for mummies expecting their 2nd..thats some good news too right..

looking at childcare ..

govt providing more assistance to schools to employ better qualitfied teachers. I hope that with that in mind, school will not impose their higher cost of employment to parents but to leverage on govt..

else the $300 (full dau) revised childcare subsidies will be quite useless (one pocket in, the other pocket out)

sunsweet / fat babe
oPs, no lar, i was just sneakily joyous over my HR colleague lar..not the mummies here.. u have not met one who goes onz forever talking abt her pregnancy... and she thinks she is the queen queen type now lor.. and i hates it that she always compares how lively she is now as compared to my state last time.. most of our mummies here EDD is next year mah? :p

Sunsweet,
thanks for the info
That's reassuring to know.

Skinnybabe,
I think my ethan was only 36 weeks leh. And #2 usually even earlier rite? Might be a dec baby... Tyler's BD easy to remember yah. Maybe I can aim for 111. Not bad also

charis
u are good, 2 is good enough for me, 3 will be accident.. kekekee.. but frankly speaking, i see myself changing job after #2 comes along, or i might just join ur rank lar... the recent event got me thinking how precious a life is lor .. imagine a 4mm sac in our bodies then and now we are cuddling a dunno many cm diameter head in our hands

Charis,
Enjoy your well-deserved girls nite out!
Central is a lot like square2 but substitute the Korean stuff with Jap stuff bah. Got a few nice mid-range Jap restaurants. I tried the tung lok signature place last time but found it too pricey. Then there is this ice cream place paisley and cream that is quite nice for hanging out. Can try.

Huskie,
Saw Sophie's photos! So cute!!! Her cheeks quite chubby in the pics leh... she doesn't look underweight to me leh.

sunsweet,

agree wif you..last time govt say subsidies childcare..then suddenly all childcare become damn expensive...coz they know now govt subsidising..parents haf "looser pockets" can stil "up" the fees..

currently tyra's school fees is 530...so i am paying 380...wif the new subsidy...i may well be paying 230..which makes it very affordable for me to both to CC..keke...

Smurfy..Yes yes..good for u too! Hope tat u'll have yr 2nd one soon..n maybe some day u will be a sahm..best decision yet for them! Haha!

winnie,,

ethan was impatient..keke...hmm..then you haf to "stand by" to appeal wif doc's written EDD & stuff..can still get one le..!! you wan a 08 baby??

Winnie..OIC..Thanks for info!
Maybe we'll try the ice-cream plc..provided its not closed yet..my girlfriends are also mothers..so can only go out after the kids' bedtime..haha! That's 9pm for me leh hahaha!

huskie, i think the reason why my gal is so chubby is due to her greediness and milk addict. She eats all the food we give her. Everyday she has 3 feeds of milk (total 22 oz) and 2 feeds of porridge. In between her snacks are biscuits, raisins and/or fruits. Have you tried giving sop fm yet?

sunsweet, i am not FTWM but i am sianz at the parenthood package too becos i am a PR... Nothing for us PR... sob sob...

saph,
Ben is put to bed btw 9 and 9.30. We just do a diaper change, brush teeth, cuddle, pray, sing and dump him in his cot, and walk out of the room. He falls asleep pretty quickly. He has his milk during dinner time, and nothing else after that. He wakes up at about 7.30 - 8 in the morning these days. He has a 2 hour nap in the afternoon.

jelly,
Your YX is as heavy as Sarah!

SAHMs,
We must meet again soon to grouse about our lack of benefits. Hahahaha. When Catz comes back, let's arrange a get together. What's happened to Mrs Juicy Milkie?

Aiyah, 3rd child no enhancement in baby bonus. So sad. Still the same as before. That's it! I've lost interest in this topic. There's NOTHING IN IT FOR ME!!!! So sad.....

Charis, PVL,
Wah your toddlers are so nice...My girl wants me to sleep with her. If I leave the room before she sleeps, she can cry non stop. I'll try to read more to her before bedtime. She doesn't want to sleep so early because she sees that we are all still in the living room. She want to join us too. Thank you so much for the tips.

smurfy,

Ah-xi sg PR, msian citizen.

Somehow i am at lost of wat I want to write for ah-xi's blog. Maybe due to my tirednedd, maybe too long not update now dunno where to start again. I just read QY's blog, u have so much to share and can sense so much love u have for ur boy and the little bb... U know wat, u are my aspiration for buying books for ah-xi. But compared to ur collection, i feel ashamed lei. hehe...

These are Xi's most recent photos. Does she look like 14kg?
1653079.jpg
1653080.jpg

Jelly,
Ah Xi is so so cute and lovely. Hug hug ans Kiss kiss. She don't look over weight at all. I think my daughter also have the same size. Didn't weight her for some time. My daughter don't like to wear anything on her head. Want to put nice clips also cannot.

jelly

ah xi dont look like 14 kg..she dun look overweight.. cherish weight has dropped to 10kg i think.

re: bb no2,

just now my hb was thinking if i haven quit my prev job, i would have been preg by now.. now he very eager for #2 leh.. while i still scared i cant manage.

re: bb sleeping time.

gone were the days where cherish sleeps before 8. now she sleeps ard 9 and wake up ard 7. But she still need 2 naps a day.

manz... this is crazy..
Lil J is sleeping at this hour!!??

but i'm glad cos she skipped her Afternoon Nap today..

hehe can surf my webby till shiok tonight!!

jas
ah-xi looks chubby but not like fat fat until 14kg leh... kekeke but yah yah pretty lil girl.. ehh thanks thanks.. i oso guilty of late updates for the blog these days..
.. anyway, all parents love their kids.. it's just that i choose to express my love by jotting it down before i forget.. and the books... maybe it's a childhood dream for myself to be surround with books.. coz last time poor, can onli rent 2 hand books ... read and return for 50c like that type.

Mummies, thanks for all the nice compliments on my Xi... I was also very shocked when found out she is 14kg! Think she has heavy bone like me...

Sap, my gal also needs me to accompany her till she sleeps, then I will carry her to her playpen. But sometimes middle of the nite, she will wake up and will want to sleep wif us. Normally i will accompany her till she sleeps then i will leave the room and do my stuff. But lately very tired, so most of the time will sleep at the same time as her.

Sap, Xi used to pull off the hairclips and hats when i put on her. But i persist since i bot so many hairclips and hats for her. haha... Now she loves her clips and hats.

stella, looks like govt's new incentives do work! Quick quick go join us MTB lah...
Are u working now? How come cherish weight drop?

sunsweet... good wat... lil J sleeps at 10pm...

smurfy... the blogs will be a good memory and gift for our kids later... Now i can't help but wish my housemate will move out soon so that i can fulfill my dream of building a kids' room for my babies...

Jelly,
Ya I bought lots of clips and hair bands for Xinfaye too. Must be persistent a bit like you. Ha ha! I love her dresses too. You have great taste.

Smurfy,
I want to see your blog too.

Would like to update on Xinfaye's developement. She can now name most her picture cards, help to complete some story lines and when I sing ABC, she can help to complete the alphabets when I pause for her to reply (middle of the song). She's starting to speak more now. Her favourite line is "put back". Everytime we bring her for shopping, wanting to buy her something, after looking at it for a while she would say "Put back". Her daddy and grandma would say "Good, good. Save money" Ha ha. So far there is only one incident she didn't ask to put back. It was a toy pram. She keep on pushing it, don't want to let go.

sap,
2 days ago, my rainbow fish book arrived from amazon, i read to QY once.. then following day..i asked the boy "where's ur rainbow fish book?".. he really go search and get the book for me... kekeke so happy.. other development wise.. definitely not as fast as xinfaye.. coz she's home taught by u .. oh i pm-ed u the link of the blog..

to share.. a parenting book.."a complete resource book for toddlers and twos" by pam schiller.. i got this book recently from kino 20% discount.. a lot of ideas to do things with ur kids lar..more for CCs and Hometeaching kids.. dunno practical for FTWM or not.. but can try some of the ideas lor.. espcially for ppl who are clueless like me kekekeke

Smurfy,
Saw your blog. Very touching. Hug, hug. Motivates me to start writing again.

By the way. Xf likes the same stroller that QY. She kept pushing it around.

my dear sap.
now QY got two of these kinds of strollers.. #%$@%@#^$#@#!$^%#$%.. some days,, he even pushes the stroller downstairs.. where ever he goes.. i think this is one of my better buys %&$^$%^%$&$%&

Smurfy,
Ha ha. I didn't get her the stroller. i got her a shopping cart instead. Though it would be more worth it. She likes that too. keep on pushing it at home and busy putting things in and out ot the cart. I am going to get a a tricycle soon. Was looking aroung for a good one. Found one lately. She needs to be a little bit taller to reach the paddles. Planning to get it this weekend. Best thing about it is it can be folded. Will post it here in the weekend.

smurfy/sap... my gal also love pushing our shopping carts nowadays? shd i get her a toy push cart? But i afraid she "san feng zhong re tu" later become white elephants.

sap... haha, the clothes in the two pic i posted above, coincidentally both bot by her dad. The cream colour one is actually a romper her daddy got from Japan, and the other dress is from baby guess USA. But he shd have got bigger size lei, can wear longer mah...

Sap, ur xinfaye is really amazing lei... My gal can talk many words, but not sentence... But i am happy wif her progress. Let her learn at her own pace.

Jelly,
Ya, I don't believe in pushing them to learn too. I make sure it is fun. At times she would just suprise me with her abilities.

About being SHAM. I am greateful that I am able to take care of Xf for 5 months. gald that I am able to potty train her before going back to work. For mummies who wish to start trainning your toddler, you can try getting Gina For's potty trainning book. I didn't follow 100% but gald I read it cause it did help a lot. Now save a lot on diapers.

jelly,
YX is so cute and lady-like! But she really does not look like 14kg to me. Jerlene is only 8.7kg...and has been like that for months. Dunno how to make her 'grow' although she has been eating well and snacking a lot. Mebbe u can advise me YX's daily diet...I follow see can work on Jerlene or not

Sap,
my gal oso don't like me to put anything on her head. Whenever i see nice clips, I am always very tempted to buy them. But once I put on her head, she will pull it out and throw. Lost many clips le...

Gd morning ladies!

Had a nice girls nite out ytd!
I got back at 3am..was at Clarke Quay..had supper at Hooters n then kena dragged by gfs to some club cos its ladies nite..not the "clubbing" type at all so was rather bored, though I do welcome the "no smoking rule". I couldnt even finish my Tequila Sunrise..i realised after my gf ordered for me, that I have to bf Yael in the morning, so had a little few sips n that's it..haha..when u are bf, n preggy (Im saying this general, not refering to me la hehe), have to miss out abit lah!

Sap..Yr Xin very cute leh..haha..this age when they learning to talk really very enjoyable to hear them right?!

Jelly..Ah xi so sweet..dont mind wear clips n hats..so girly!

PVL..Yes yes lets meet up after Catz get back..
Yup nothing for us..sob sob..but our hbs get to take more leave! Everything start next year though..my hb's leave left like few days only ahh!!

Eh..Dont know where is mrs juicy milkie haha..she MIA these few days.

Jojo,
It's been a while. How is Jerlene? I use to check your blog but I lost the link. Could you PM me you blog again? About weight loss... maybe you can stop giving her jabs for the time being? Hopefully she will do better. I am anti jabs. Read a lot of bad things about them.

Charis,
I know how you feel. Breastfeeding really takes up all your freedom. Glad you had a good night out. You deserves it!

About toy cart. I bought a cheap one from carefour. Afraid she will get bore with it if i get an expensive one. She likes it.

Toddlers talking.
Very very cute when they talk. Love it when she call me. Xf starts talking in sentences after 18months. When I reach home from work she would say "Mummy's back!". When she is eating she likes to ask you to sit with her. Very very cute.

i am back!

Typed a whole load and now it's gone missing! Dont know whats happening???

Julian hasn't been feeling well after his MMR Jab... Fever on and off... yesterday, stomach flu attacked so high fever, vomitting, diarrhoe and loss of appetite... Can tell that he is in discomfort and I feel so sorry that I couldn't really ease his pain... today on child care leave to take care of him. Hope he gets better soon.

Jelly, your gal is so so sweet and I wish I had one like her. A little chubby but not fat, i like
Must be a darling to you and hubby

Smurfy, I chanced upon your blog via another friend's. Got to read the recent entries... so touching and I teared
I think it's good that you capture them this way as they reflect your innermost feelings and thoughts. I understand your pain and will continue to pray for you. Stay strong and take good care of yourself.

Sap, my boy still gets tired at about 7pm but I try to stretch the time a little by bringing him out for a stroll or a jog (i jog while pushing him in his tricycle) so now he sleeps at about 7.30-8pm. He then gets up at about 7.30am and my hubby will give him his milk before he leaves for work. This boy doesnt take long afternoon naps. He sleeps only about 1.5hr in the day so that will be about 13.5hr a day. I dont know if that is enough for a toddler tho but guess if he is not restless and doesnt show signs of fatigue in the day, should be sufficient i think.

Chocbabe, please take good care of yourslf and the baby in you. Students nowadays dont show respect to the people around them, esp teachers. No point stressing yourself up with them cos it's not worth it. My colleague just lost her baby (sorry got to mention this) slightly after 1st trimester. She told me that school and students are part of her miscarriage. Actually, I saw her on a few occasions getting angry with the kids... poor gal... Now, even in a school with better students, I still have to chase work like mad! really like mad! and it's so tiring doing that over and over again, esp when you have so many classes! Really frustrating and I really dont know how I am going to cope if I am pregnant again???

Sap and charis, so envious of you both... kids are developing so fast. My julian is slow, hasnt started speaking yet. Only heard him say 'Jie jie' (my maid) and 'car' last week. Other than that, he refuses to say anything. When told to call mama or papa, he sticks out his tongue. I was worried at first but now I have decided to let him learn at his own pace. He can only do actions when songs are sung and follow instructions very well. I guess at least I know that he can hear us, I should be happy

sap, ya... it's has been a long while. Very busy with work. In fact, Jerlene never lose weight. She just never gain weight at all since about 12 mths. She also never take much jabs leh...so I dunno why she cannot grow. Haven't even taken the MMR. PM u the blog address liao...

Oh forgot!

Mummies who are delivering next year, congrats! YOu got all the perks but for mummies who are delivering this year, I feel that you are not losing out anything cos in the first place, you decided to have another little one cos of your love for kids and nothing to do with whatever incentives govt is giving you. I know sayang not to get the perks but when your little ones arrive and you can embrace them in your arms, you will forget all these incentives
We should just be happy that we can be mothers!

GraceofGod,
Don't rush. you can be suprised at how well they are listening and learning especially when they are not talking. heard of a case where there is a boy starts speaking only at age 3. His first line was "Mummy, I am hungry"