(2007/02) February

skinnybabe, oy..too-ri sounds cute hor...i also think so. btw, i know what to call your third one lah...alamak...if boy, called TYSAN (chinese for tarzan) if girl, just call her TYTY lah (tai tai mah). hee hee

cherry, i reply to u later...my hub cooking steak and fries now so he wants me to chit chat with him while he cooks.

cherry, I don't know but I always have to bring my own tissues to their toilet. Don't ask, don't wanna know. Yup, no soap.. really disgusting. Speaking of which, have not seen them for maybe 2 months already..ahahhaa.. shiok
Eh you got middle name? What if next time A also doesn't like his middle name? ahahahha..

fatbabe, glad you like the EDM... perhaps it's the brush you are using for application lah. Brushes make all the difference.. but nevermind, slowly experiment. As long as no oxidation and dirty look, good for you!

milkymilkmilk, yah confinement food has a lot of herbs and ginger in it.. but it's kinda nice. I'm usually detest pork and herbs but dunno why I had such an appetite for this kinda food after popping.. but hor, mine no frog legs, no vinegar pig trotters and kidney/liver/whatever.. so they substituted with stir-fried lean pork or lean beef whenever they had those weird items. But anyway, glad you found a good CL already! What are her rates? My sister might need somebody come Oct.

catz, A's middle name is much much nicer than mine ok...You will laugh if I tell u my middle name

milkie, this week I havent had chance to eat steak. Too busy and hb was busy the entire sat, no time to bring me out
Your hb can cook??

Babe, if u take Milkie's suggestion, your #3 will definitely ignore u for the rest of his/her life or track down milkie to hang pig head at her door

hey mummies, need ADVICE - for those who have started potty train your baby, what potty do you use?

Do you use a potty potty or those kids seat that you attach to the adult toilet bowl?

I saw a baby bjorn potty at motherworks but it costs $62. Looks very nice with many different colours to choose from.

And for mummies with 2 kids, do your kids share potty?? Is it permissible cos its kind of like private right??

milkie, where do u intend to get new cot for TR?

cherry, hehe.. next time you tell me k?
Steak is super easy to cook lah dear.. just get your pan nice and hot and slap it in.. of course you gotta practice if you wanna get the done-ness right. For potties, I have always detested those potty type.. I use the potty seat trainer. So much cleaner and neater. And yes, the 2 kiddos share potties.. it's no more private than the toilet seat itself mahhhh..

Hi, I am selling Baby Brain Flashcards Dvds. Items are all brand new in packaging distributed from the company. Would you be interested to get it? It comes in the following:
1) English Level 1
2) English Level 2
3) Chinese Level 1
4) Chinese Level 2
I provided the link below for your reference. Please check it out and get back to me if you are interested. I am selling it at $14 per disc. Retail price is $16.90. Please confirm your order with me so that I can put you on the waiting list. Shipment will arrive latest by next weekend. Collection will be at Hougang / Sengkang. Other venues can be discussed. Thank you.
http://www.babybrainflashcards.com/
Please get back to me at:

Wah, so many posts on Sunday!

MIlkshake,
I haven't checked my email today yet, but please let me have your a/c no so that I can give you your change from lunch. And how can I return you the Dora ball?

cherryale,
Hahaha, I just popped in to intro myself on the Jan09 thread lah. I might not participate very actively cos I have this thread and Sarah's one to mind as well. May not have the time.

Eh, Catz,
No toilet paper? Eeks! How can a family live without TP? I suggest you carry a roll in the car with you at all times. Bring it along to your IL's. A toilet roll in the car will come in handy. I always have one in my car
. Are your IL's allergic to soaps or what? How does she boil the clothes? In a cauldron, like a witch?? Hahahaha! Bubble bubble toil and trouble....

Cherry,
Ben has been on the toilet seat adaptor since he was about 6 months old. Cost me all of $3.50.
And I bought the toilet adaptors for Sarah, so they share. We have a total of 4 adaptors, 2 for the house toilets, 1 in my MIL's place and 1 we left in the church toilet. He poos in the toilet regularly, but I have yet to take him the next step - no diapers - cos he doesn't tell me yet.

Congratulations to Garfield. Princess Gemma has arrived this morning, weighing in at 2.845kg
Just only got the SMS from garfield

PVL, seriously I don't know how they do it :p Yes, she boils the water on a charcoal fire (!) in a big metal tub. Scary scary and she pokes it with a stick. Sigh. All their clothes are so colourless and/or funny shaped/coloured and still smell bad.

cherry, so this time round will u be doing 2 mths confinement again?
u will be doing c-section ??

cherry, now u got me very curious about your middle name. say leh....

catz, i heard my friend say that it is normal for women who have undergone pregnancy to change their appetites even after giving birth. So maybe it's that reasoning that u tend to like the confinement type of herbs and stuff that they use lor. I still cannot leh...i don like fish at all unless it's deep fried or raw.

catz, i don't think the CL can do anymore this year. I was lucky i got her for the November/Dec period cos she was fully booked till then. Her rates are at 10 an hour so it's very competitive.

cherry, my hub can cook pretty well and he enjoys cooking actually. He not so spoilt like singaporean men lah in this aspect...hee hee i know singaporean men are really quite hopeless in the kitchen.

But my hub never cooks in front of his family cos i think it's kinda like a no no in their culture for men to enter kitchen. He picked up cooking from school in ozzie cos boys and girls are supposed to learn cooking n sewing and don know what else. Different from in singapore where only girls do home economics.

Only problem with hub entering kitchen is he is very messy so end up guess who has to clean up?

And like what catty said, steaks are really easy to cook. Just make sure u buy good steaks and u can't really go wrong with just salt and pepper and a little mustard at the side.

Regarding my 2nd cot, i still not sure where to get yet...haven't really been looking ard but think i'll be ok with a cot sold in robinsons or taka. i won't splurge on a stokke's cot man.

Hey, actually i saw this shop at united square that day when we had the SAHM gathering. It's called flexa. I might wanna go in and check out their beds...looks really nice. U might wanna go check out that shop too. I think u might like it.

For potty training, i haven't attempted it at all cos it's just too disgusting to clean. Hub and I will probably get a potty that has the disposable plastic bag inside before we attempt a task as disgusting as this.

Btw, catz or any other mummies, where to get the potty with such plastic bags ah????? What brand carries it???

PVL, just hold onto the change and dora ball lah...we wil be meeting again for lunch right? hahaha u so funny, say catz mil is a witch. kekekee

GARFIELD, congrats to u!!!!!!
wah..another mummy given birth......who is the next mummy in line????

chocbabe, :p :p I'm not mean lah..hee hee joking joking mah...but who knows...skinnybabe a bit bian tai one, she might just decide to call her 3rd ones Tysan and Tyty just to piss them off big time. hehehehee

milkie, the potty with plastic bags - i bought from Mothercare... the brand is Tommee Tippee.. if you cannot find, let me know... mine is still brand new, sealed and unused
Yah it was weird that I liked cf food since I usually do not eat such things. Hubby says that it must be that my body really needs 'heaty' food.. :p Hey my hubby can cook too just that his food tends to be hmm.. heavy on pork ('cos he's hokkien), super oily and salty (like his parents' food).. but he's neat lah. He will clean the whole place and mop the floor after cooking.. but hor, he's not set foot in the kitchen ever since I became a SAHM. @#$%^&* Wah the CL is definitely a good deal. Too bad she can't take anymore bookings! Yah I heard Korean families are very MCP type.. but that's why Korean men are so much more macho than Jap.. teehee...

Flexa - I also like but er.. too pricey for the moment. My sis bought her baby crib from Mothers' Work.. some Aussie brand starting with B.. think the price is about $1500? Quite solid, can use until the kid is 7 years old so it's a good investment. Mamas and Papas at Robinsons is also very nice.

milkshake,
I also have some kind of potty that doubles as a step stool, which I got as a gift and have never used. It's lying in some cupboard now. I think it's from The FIrst Years. Dunno about disposable bags though. Just use any plastic bag lah. But it's so environmentally unfriendly. The other way is to keep a little water in the potty (and you can add Dettol into the water so that it smells clean), so when YR pang-sai's into it, the sai doesn't stick on the potty. Just empty it into the toilet bowl and flush.
Actually, recently, all boys and girls must do BOTH Home Econs and Technical in Sec 1 & 2.
Catz,
The advantages of a SAF husband - they're disciplined about tidiness. Mine is the opposite.
Wow $1500 for a crib is quite ex!

milkie,
u r just like my husband who wants to name his children HE Bao Dan and HO LEE, Trinity (english name)... his surname is HO by the way and hanyu pinyin HE. Can puke blood whenever we discussed about names last time....

Garfield... congrats! Do come in and tell us your bith story....

chocbabe...

milkie not mean la..coz i mention naming them tycoon & typhoon...muahahha...tysan or tyty sounds cuter...muahahha...but whichever way..they will probably hate me...but i can always "push" the blame...to the mad aunty on forum..

HE BAO DAN!!...very delicious!!..

garfield,
congrats to arrival of GEMMA!! bring on the PICS when you are bk!!...

milkie, i been to flexa, expensive but very nice. Its the kind of concepts that I really like but too bad, my hb doesnt appreciates
But he likes stokke cot though as he thinks its very well made. Honestly if I have a princess as a first child, I may have bought one. But for #2, I really dun want to splurge too much cos I know in the end it may go to my very thrifty sil's hands.

last i heard from my mil, she may not want to put her baby in mil's plc after all. Maybe her mummy is going to look after the baby. Well, i dun quite care as long as she dun bothers me with constant reminders to my mil to send A to school.

Since both Catz and PVL recommend toilet seat adaptors, I shall go and get one. Hey, which brand is good? And they wouldnt fall inside the toilet bowl right? I scared that my A got tiny buttocks

On cooking, my hb can cook better than me for sure cos I cant even cook maggi mee. I only eat bowl noodles, those that u pour hot water, cover for 3 seconds and its done type
And I dun know how to boil water either
Only made my first cup of milo when I was 18 yrs old

btw, i am on mc again, think after slogging for so long, I should take a break

my middle name huh...its totally totally not for me. My dad named me florence!! Maybe he meant it for another daughter, not me
I can die if I am known by that name. Even my hb doesnt know about this.

btw, in order to use toilet adaptor, I need to have a stool for A to climb up the toilet bowl right?

And, do the kids really stay on the toilet seat adapter? Will they do biz half way then decide to run off? And for boys, how do they pee? stand on stool to pee straight into toilet bowl?

morning to all........

thanks thanks... for the belated wishes.... *touched*.

Hmm.. nothing much leh... once ur status is 'upgraded', personal touch is naturally 'downgraded'. Sobs........

On Thurs, I recv a gift frm my twin gf.
Fri recv a Getek cake frm 2 of my gfs.... Sat - din do much... went makan in the morning then went Courts spend $$. Evening went to IKOI to eat w/ his ex-colls... Hb din buy my any gift tis yr....bt he asked his ex-colls to buy a cake for me. 5 big men singing b/day song for me. Ha ha ha.... bt we were in the pte room lah... bt we shared the pte rm w/ another grp. LOL.... *malu*.

We wanted to go mt Faber to c the night scenary one bt A was so damn tired.... tat we tot shld nt exhaust him since he was still a little bit unwell. So we went hme.

Sun - had something in the morning, then I went for a belated lunch treat frm my gf & her bf @ Swensesn. They then ordered a 3 scoops ice-cream birthday sundae to share. B4 tat they sang me the song again. ha ha ha.. can't imagine - 3 BIG CARDS liao still singing b/day song.

After lunch walked awhile & look at some hps.. din buy cos utterly broke tis entire mth (oh, I bought a super exp home equipment fw wks back...). Then I went back hme.

Rested till early evening when A woke up, we went to The Rail Mallk & ate @ Clap - it's zi char bt higher-class restaurant lah. Food so so, nt too bad (wkend super pack) bt v exp!

tats it, tats my b/day for the Big 3! Tis morning when I came to work, my gf gave me a Coach skinny coin-pouch wallet. Luv it *muacks* cos I can use it on every Sun.

Thks Catz for posting! I wanted to post also, bt something was wrong w/ my network... Argh............

CONGRATS to Bb Gemma & Mummy Garfield. Can't wait to c the lil princess's pics....

Milkie, you're lucky to manage to find your desired CL.

Catz, I got the sms from Garfield too

Cherry, I dun use potty too, using the potty adaptor, more hygenic this way. Florence sounds good mah, not tat bad lah.

Ah ger, hahaha... You're so blessed that so many pple still bother to celebrate your bday.

Ah ger,
Sounds like you had a very busy birthday!!! SO fun! Happy belated birthday.

Garfield,
CONGRATS!

Cherry,
Like I said, for my kids, it's the hard plastic toilet seat. no brand type. I bought from some neighbourhood shop selling household stuff. Both my kids sat in the seat without any problems. They can't run off cos they can't get off. No need stool unless you are training them to be independent to climb on and off themselves. I lift them onto the seat when they need to go. Ben can sit there for ages. He's fallen off 2x though, because he was naughty. But he's learnt his lesson. He sits to pee. Once Sarah was about 3, she didn't need the adaptor to pee anymore. She could just climb on board the adult seat and do it. But for poo, she prefers the adaptor. Easier to balance, and she can read at the same time
. Only drawback, this seat sometimes doesn't fit well over some toilets, esp some in hotels which seem to have a gigantic hole! So some delicate balancing is necessary when that happens. The kids (& I) don't mind the red 'ring' mark on their buttocks after they have been sitting long.

ah ger, agree with Gig, u very blessed, so many people celebrate your bday! For me its only my parents and my hb celebrating it. No more celebrations with friends since everyone has their families.

gig, if u meet me in person, u will know why a girlish name like that doesnt suit me at all. Yucks!

envy garfield having 1 boy 1 girl, so xin fu

Garfield, hope that you will be able to rest well, and that your maid will be able to take good care of you. As for zz, hope that he will be kwai kor kor

btw, my A has shown obvious bias for gals. In the class yesterday, many didi and boys his age want to get this toy from him but he refused to give them. Then this sweet little mei mei in pink came and asked for it and he gave to her..wow, so young already know.

the other day a group of my male friends were talking about swimming breaststroke, then one of them said, since young he has been a damn good breaststroker, even before he learnt how to swim..haha!!!

aiyah, no lah.. cos the gf who treated me at Swensens was my fren of 17+yrs liao le......

then as for hb - cos he agreed to go out w/ them for dinner on my b/day! So in a way, it's no choice lor............

As for the gf who gave me the skinny coin pouch - she's my Sec gf also of 17+yrs...

The rest of the gfs, just sms lor.........

I do tat for them every yr also.

pvl, i shall go source from the cheap neighbourhood shop and see if i can find something like that. Better to buy cheap one and let A try then get something expensive and he doesnt use
Thanks for the tips!

cherry - u wanna buy a potty arh........... most of my gfs just buy those cheap red potty & let them use.. my gf - use the one she had for her wedd. Ha ha ha........

my mil just told me that she bought a potty for A to use months back but he doesnt like to sit on it
so I think I shall buy toilet adapter instead.

something new maybe will attract my curious boy to sit on it

cherry, sher doesnt like to sit on potty also leh, think his butt too big liao. hahaha... But he ok to sit on adaptor to do his poo poo lah.

garfield
congrats congrats... remember to share with us ur birth story k?

milkie
i think Toor-ri is a nice name.. so similar to Yoo-ri..

cherryale
my house got the wedding potty, his own potty and potty adapter.. but he perfers to hold onto our hands and shit in his diaper leh..

catz
u must be crazily in love to accept the man and his family then...

ah-ger
i oso never celebrate birthdays with friends since QY's arrival leh. and the worst thing from my hb is that he got me another necklace again (dun he ever realize I DUN WEAR THEM.. and says it's my MOTHER'S day pressie as well)

bought QY to sungei buloh wetland last sun... he had funs running through the nature reserve..and fell down a couple of times (luckily ain't that bad).. and Terrible Two has officially started for QY... with him being manipulative of our feelings.. keep on asking the maid to carry him when the inlaws came over for dinner.... (this boy has never ask for the maid to carry him when we are around)... insisted on playing things that he shouldn't and everything oso goes "Mai".. frankly speaking, i have no patience for such games and let him experienced hand being poked by a toothpick (coz he insisted on playing with it), palm touched by a hot kettle (coz he want to play with my hot kettle).. i never know i can be so harsh to him...but i dun like to play games lor... so noisy.... giggler,pvl, catz, tell me this is just a phase and they will snap out of it soon, pls.

PVL,
you scaring smurfy le...

smurfy,
hee...its bad...but not so bad...if not we wun be having #2 & #3 yah?!?!

dun feel guilty...sometimes in fact..i try to let them learn..much dat i feel like protecting them...but they repeatedly bang thier head against the wall..or touch the very hot bulb...not everytime me or maid will be there for them one ma...so let them bang and learn the pain lor...hopefully they will stop...

but tyler seems abit dumb..once bitten, nvr shy...haiz..

smurfy, not to scare you... there's terror three after terrible two leh. Hahaha...

fat_babe, I also let them learn the hard way at times, it's more effective stimes.

Garfield, Congrats on the arrival of yur little princess :)

cheeryale, i bought a potty from Mothercare and a potty adapter from Safety first. Timothy didn't even want to try sitting on both of them but guess what? he is at least willing to seat on the cheap potty which my PIL bought from the market for a good 2-3 mins for fun.

My turn to be on mc tomorrow. Down with flu and tired from BIL's wedding y'day. Wah... can't help but vent out how stingy my BIL/SIL are... my husband help out from morning to night and all he received was an ang pao of $10! The last time my BIL attended our wedding... he didn't give us any ang pao. At his wedding last night, somemore we still give them $300. I guessed I will have more experience with their stingyness in future

pvl,giggler
u mummies... 3rd time mummies r a horrible grp!! hahaha ehhh issit just a phase thingie... some days good mood,.. some days bad mood type..

this QY is very bad... i tell u, he can cry so pitifully for his pacificer.. then when i give it to him, he can change his whole face and smile instantenously... same for feeding porridge.. he can "mai. mai, mai." then when i give him fruit, he can eat and give me a wide grin - like he won over me...

Jazzcy,

your BIL is well to do not??..keke..sometimes bobian when it comes to family members...me & hb all #1 in the family...so hor...we nvr recieve any angpaos from siblings...keke haf to give them somemore..as "recognition" of new family member..

my SIL getting married in 2 months time..and sis getting married next yr..keke...now we oso dunno how much to give...but again...my SIL & BIL both so young...and total income is more than $11k /mth liao..same goes wif sis and bf..so i think probably we give $200 or maybe buy small jewellery..ie pendant or bracelet..keke...i am the stingy SIL...

giggler,
yah lor...cannot let the kids be too sheltered...in the past the kids oso learn through own mistakes one ma...but juz haf to be careful lor..

anyone knows of any temporary helper/ maid for like 2 weeks dat type huh?? i enquire a few agencies they dun offer le...

me headache la..maid going home end sept early oct....i oredi fearing the days...spoke to boss..likely to take 2 weeks leave...but i still may not be able to handle..

jazzcy, u are getting me started on stingy BIL/SIL leh, my fav topic
when we got married, guess what they gave us, a sword (those replica) for my hb, who on earth in his right mind gave sword?? Then for our housewarming, I cant recall what they gave, think they didnt give us anything. For their wedding, they asked my hb to be driver, to be mc..all I disagreed. I was heavily pregnant, so told them hb has to take care of me,so go find someone else. Then now that they got their own place, I dun know what we should give them, maybe angpow $200?? I have no idea what is their combined income but when they first started working, my sil (at that time still gf) told my bil that they must each save $800 per month, so if u go by that amt x 6 yrs of working, they prob have a nice 6 digit savings in the bank. I am sure the amt is higher cos as they earn more, they will definitely save more. Actually its a good habit to save but must be reasonable also, and certainly not at others' expense

babe, the last time my maid went back for 10 days, A was only 8 mths old. Those were the most unimaginable 10 days, it felt like 10 years to me. I was alone most of the time, hb agreed to take leave, but in the end sabo me. Then mil supposed to help, also cant help much cos she just as inexperienced. U bao zong hor...

jazz, so do u intend to toilet train timo before #2 arrives?

cherryale, now i join you in the club of having stingy BIL/ SIL. my hb was the mc and driver y'day and that is all he gets! i think my family is used to giving big angpow... initally i was planning to give $500 but scaled back on the advice of my hb. my parents who attended their wedding wanted to give $360 but i told them to cut down to $250. haha. if not, they make even more from us. they throw their wedding at a restaurant so that they can make $ from the wedding to fund the photo taking and hopefully, even honeymoon. that's what they said. guess it is my family ptactice to give resonably big
angpows.

fatbabe... definitely they make at least $11k combined a month. Their home appliances all the expensive ones and going to Banyan tree tomorrow for honeymoon, followed by Egypt/ Europe later this year for 2nd honeymoon. Can't be poor right?

tell u all something... i very 'smart'... although my BIL/SIL are older than us, I pre-empted my hb to tell my FIL that we are not going to serve them tea y'day. Wah! Immediately, we heard 3 different groups of people ask 'How come the younger BIL/SIL not serving tea" when it was announced that tea ceremony is over! haha... i have no respect for them and that's the reason loh ;-))))

jazzcy, clever girl, but how did u get out of the serving tea thing? use the reason that you are pregnant? For me, hb is the eldest son, so all the bros and sils must serve tea to us...haha

yes, my family also usually give reasonable angpows esp if its relatives. BUT for my stingy BIL/SIL, I told them to just give $280 cos they chose a very lousy cheap menu. I am surprised that my mil actually agreed to it cos for our wedding, she insisted on topping up $500 per table to upgrade the menu of cos at her own expense cos I refused to pay for it. For bil's wedding, initially she even suggested they do away with wedding dinner, so maybe that's why bil always feel that she is unfair.

your bil/sil if older, then must be quite well off lah, maybe stashing up for early retirement

Anyway, i always feel that sil is very competitive, always trying to 'win' in everything. She is the middle child from a family of all girls so sometimes very insecure and must proved that she is very capable. As for hb and I, we are the take it easy type, so until today, my hb havent even agree to a monthly savings plan. just the other day, I asked him how much is he insured, and he asked why I want to know. I said, so that should anything happen, I need to know if its enough to feed me and two kids.. then I told him he needs to increase his insurance coverage to at least 500k. In fact 1mil will be most ideal, told him Allan Wu has 1 mil so that Wong Lilin and the two kids are covered should anything happened to him

hello gals! long time no talk!

hee..anyway, i learn from cherry that a no. of gals here pregnant already so tot just to come in and say congrats!

congrats to Cherry, Jazzcy, PVL, Gig and Milkshake! Hope I din leave out anyone else. (Btw, Gig, u surprise me leh, tot u stopping at 2! Anyway happy for you)

Congrats to Garfield of the birth of her darling daughter too. Got her sms this morning.

I'm doing my confinement now. Had a confinement lady this time round so not as bad as the last one. Generally, my mood and emotions are also much better compared to last two confinement. Bf-ing but as usual, ss is low as the last two times. But i just try my best.

wishing you gals a smooth 9 months and delivery! My 3rd pregnancy went by on so fast. I missed being pregnant already!

starlite...
post some pics of the new baby le..!!

jazzcy,
yeah they do sound rich..!! cheap menu then dun need to bao so much la..anyway help them do so many things..keke..

cherry,
very stress when you haf competing SIL..as in hb's brother's wife...coz confirm got "competition"..like children la...pay la..wat la....me lucky hb is the only guy wif 2 sisters...not so bad..even if my MIL dun like me...no one else can "compete"...

Hi.....loong time no talk for me.

Wow.....so many of u r pregnant. I din read past post.....anyway....congrats to all of u. So 2nd, 3rd or 4th one.

Me busy & lazy at home SAHM. Feel like going back to work but my dear son still on breast feeding. Now....more worst ...suck more often worst then new born. Think my nipple gonna drop off already.

Congrats Garfield & welcome bb Gemma. hmm... the next one to pop will be my turn soon. Due in Aug.
So excited. Stomach feeling very low... and can feel movement in my lower tummy.

Still busy wit my work...Hope bb don't come out yet as going port dickson this weekends. Will have my routine checkup on Friday b4 the trip.

Lastly, happy belated b'day to to Ah ger.

gtg...went to look at the aug 08 thread n realised most of the mummies are eagerly welcoming their arrival of their little angel. I can't wait to experience carrying the little bb in my arm and bfing him...Hope my ss come early not not on the 4th day after deliver.

Good night.

jc..
hey hey r u coping on ur own, with or wiithout a maid? pics of ur lil boss leh. ekekkee

jazzzy
i like the way u got out of the tea ceremony. i bet u use pregnancy as a excuse but i like it lor.. coz it is ultimate to them and the rest who r ard - to tell them u dun respect them