(2007/02) February

catz, gigg, jelly,

u know wat hb say yesterday to me each tiem i go toilet? he say "rem to look out for head" *faint

never pacify me, still joke.

but now seems better... maybe it BH? my maid think it those China Lychees I ate the previous nite...

i not prepared yet ley... like still got many things to do... i hope she can wait till july... hehe

gigg, zz also v violent n rude... like to beat ple... so not necc must be no 2 lor... think nowadasy kids r too cheeky.

see his sad n innocent face when we bring him to Minds cafe...

1513470.jpg

RE: SAHM gathering..
SAHMS ( & FTWMs who can join us) pls take note:-
Tues 8 July 12:30pm ok?
May I suggest city hall area? Cos its central and convenient by mrt.
Cafe Cartel set lunches at $9.80 nett. So does Swensens..but price varies. We can meet at Marina Square. But I have to check if they have enough baby chairs for us.
So I need numbers, pls put names here..thanks!

1. Charis with Yael

jelly, hehehe... you can keep that dress to bring YX to China?

garfield, wow, you better start packing your hosp bag and rem to get a gift for ZZ from your bb.
Do you realise that our kids look very grown up now? No more bb looks liao.

charis, hope I can join you gals on 8 Jul.

Garfield..ZZ so cute!

Yael is also on small side..he's about 9kg only..height I dont know leh..we have not been to doc lately..still have not done his MMR.

Catz..Beth is doing well! By the way, does she watch hi-five or barney?

The daddy taught Yael to say armpit too..hahaha! His fav. word at times!

Yael knows how to label the main parts of face..eyes, mouth, general animals, day to day items like eat, book, wait, draw, pen, etc..plus some 2 words like pick up, sit down, drink water, milk please, see there..
quite fast for a boy it seems..I think the exposure being with so many adults when we were living in bishan really helps..and I'm teaching him to say sentences..but he still prefers to speak his own language..but I not kiasu lah..I prefer natural learning situations than drilling the kid.

gigg,

yup i pack almost 90% liao. yup i almost forget abt the pressie... yes i have many to give him in fact ahhah

yup zz looks toddler liao.
i can't 8jul... as still will be workin if haven't pop :p

garfield, why zz was sad lei? What present u get on behalf of meimei to zz? Can share? Next time can make a reference. Hehe...

I also dun want to force ah-xi to learn things fast fast. I am very happy wif her current progress. As long as she remains happy and healthy always, i am happy liao...

jelly,

i also dun knwo y he look so sad in this pic... maybe the adults playin game but he can't lor... hahhaa then he walk around table also sian. maybe he showing me the face he wans to go out liao.

along the way, we bought many toys for him... n hb say dun give to him now. wait until mei mei come out, then slowly give him. one of the pressie is the tricyle (the one smurfy bought too)
u prob give YX something she will like. zz love cars and hard items.

garfield... most likely he was bored. Haha...

Maybe i will get her some books or another soft toy on behalf of her did/meimei. She loves books nowadays and will bring us to where i kept her books and to read and sing for her. We really hope to make some space out of the house for a bookshelves to keep all her books so that she can enjoy. As for soft toys, she just love them! Last sunday i gave her a teddy bear at departmental store, she just hugged and kissed the bear and refused to pass to me for payment.

Charis, City Hall quite hard for me to make it at 12.30 lehhhh.. but I know anywhere else would be tough for you to travel to :p Haha.. so our two little ones can say armpit.. teehee.. Yael is lucky 'cos you have cc training. Me, I just wing it on a prayer!
My girl LOVES Hi5 and Barney.. prob loves Hi5 the most lah.

garfield, alamak, why zz look so kor lian?

garfield,
zz nto bad leh, can carry his own rucksack!
Soph still doesn't know how to carry it... her neck and shoulders will hunch like she's a ninja turtle. She prefers to carry those small dainty handbags on her arm... like auntie going to market!

Charis,
Think I'll give the gathering a miss... City Hall can be quite nightmarish during lunchtime... think I will be the one getting migraine

Catz,
Soph also loves Hi5, but the show is abit bimbo yeah? Can let her watch everyday at 11am or not?

Mommies, do you know where to get a nice wooden table and chairs for toddlers? I checked out Ikea, but their corner is not rounded type... safe or not? I saw a safe and rounded one at a shop at United Square just now, but costs $300, a bit exp.

huskie, i bought the plastic chairs and stools and table from Ikea...

aiya zz after a while carry haversack also sian liao. but we also dun do it often as scare his back spoil...

catz, yup he capable to make himself pitiful hahaha. he nowadays also like to wink at ple...

garfield,
I saw the plastic one at Ikea... like the shape and safety aspect of it, but the rectangular one only comes in red... gives me headache leh. The blue one only comes in circular shape, and my place got not enough space for a round table *sigh*

Yeah, better not let him carry rucksack too often, in case it affects posture!

Catz n huskie..So where u all more comfortable with?
I can jus take a cab..or if its accessible by MRT I'm fine..as long as not Jurong West hehehe!

Huskie..I bought the round plastic table for Yael from IKEA..cost about $60..but the round stools not safe..Yael fell off the stool a few times liao..must get those armchair type.
I saw some nice toddler furniture at United Square..a small shop at the basement..but a tad ex for us..we bought some wall decals instead..nice too..maybe u can check it out..they having a sale now.

Yael loves Hi-5 n Barney too! I prefer to let him watch the VCDs cos no advertisments..I dont like him watching violent or adult themes ads or programs.

Gigg..Aiyoh..ya lor..I watch Hi-5 so many times with my boy until I memorised most of the songs subconsciously! Even the dance steps!

sahm gathering
I'm OK with anywhere, cos I'll be driving.

1. Charis with Yael
2. PVL with Sarah & Ben (Sarah can sit on normal chair, but high chair/booster would be preferred)

re: Speech
Wah your toddlers are all talking so much!
I don't think Ben says as much as your todds. His speech is also not so very clear and he doesn't talk a whole lot. Occasionally you'll hear him say things like "no need" (repeating after me), happy, hua (flower), head (sounds like "hud"), eye, nose, apple, no, eat, on, off, banana "nana" and such things. But he won't 'perform' for us.

haha most of u givin yr kids vcds to watch... me still depratin him from watchin tv...

he seldom watch tv. i only let him hear music cds at times.

the only time he wacth alittle is when we come back home n watch tv. n he like watchin advert.

i did try the leapfrog thing but after a while he also not interested.

Calling other SAHMS..Milkshake (U MIA how long ah?)
Nana (u too! Where r u?)
Winnie? Stella (temp SAHM hehe)?
Hmm..any other options of places we can lunch?

SAHM gathering
Tues 8 July

1. Charis with Yael
2. PVL with Sarah & Ben (Sarah can sit on normal chair, but high chair/booster would be preferred)

I just prepared dinner..sooo tired..I dont know how PVL manage leh..eh how u manage lah?
Some more this morning went for brisk walk n sprint..pushed Yael in the stroller..want to faint..I dont know how long I can keep this exercise routine up, been doing everyday since last week..but no excuse lah..Pasir Ris Park is just outside my doorstep.

lunch near cityhall area lehz.. then i can join u gals.. heehe =p

all ur kids can speak already ar.. mine only say "yes" and "there"..=(

Charis, so will Yael dance together when he watch Hi5?

PVL, at least Ben is repeating after you, also talking.

garfield, we cant control him watching TV, we can only control what prog he watch. We try to let him watch edu VCDs lor. And he learns from them also. Like he can recognise some words like Hi, wave, mouth, nose, etc from VCDs.

gigg,

we can control cos tv not in livin rm keke

he learn words from us mostly. he also like flash cards n books. those books with many pictures and then word by word 1. he still dun really appreciate story books. he will sometimes point the picture n then say the word. if those he dun know yet, he will look at picture n then at our mouth to see how we pronounce it.

wow your babies all can speak already, A is still doing baby language. Only only how to call papa,mama, ball etc. Think he is really slow in terms of speech

cherry,

at least he call u mama... mine refuse... keep callin papa to make me angry ;p

but my maid say she heard him saying "mama" when I m not around...

now our kids can understand wat we sayin liao. simple instructions lor. when I say shoe, he will walk over to his shoes and select. v cute.

this morning, i ask him to kiss my tummy/mei mei. he came over and kiss my tummy... so sweet...

sorry just a quick one.. it's a very busy day for me today. hubby's car aircon died for the 2nd time this week so had to ferry him to the workshop with a grouchy (tired) Beth in the back after dropping off Timo at school.. Timo is so miserable at school cos the new teacher is so awful
End up he's very insecure and sticky since school started. THEN today my parents and sister are going to KL to visit my grandma so I'm going to be dogsitting my sister's hyper puppy for the next couple of days. Have to drive the doggy to Turf City for doggy lessons
.. eh, not cheap, $40 for daycare and must pass temperament exam. Haha.. I told my sister that I wished kindies had temperament exams too, so that naughty kids won't come and bite my poor son!

SAHM gathering - hmmm.. United Sq? Novena Sq? Is that too far for you, Charis?? Or Ikea Tampines? Lots of space for kids to run around

OK gotta scoot.. shaaaack

Good morning to all! Finally it's friday!!!

My girl always like to call papa, papa...then hor very sweet one...melt my hb's heart man! She dun really like to call me... but she likes to hug and kiss me hehehe... Talking abt kissing..omg..that day i went to see my gyne, then there was this little boy about 4 yrs old sitting there waiting for his mummy while she went to the loo...my girl went to that gor gor and kiss him...on the lip *FAINT*!

peko, v sweet 1 hor... when he calls papa my hb heart will melt too... can tell from his face. i envy him.

wow yr gal also v pro-active ah... hahha
zz also like to chase bigger kids... when he see them running, he will follow them until the kids scare. they normally abt 4 yrs n above.
got 1 time he wan to follow a pri school gal to lift... the gal so scare n keep running behind her mama back n say "he comin again!"

my hb say he chee ko pek.

catz, u so bz.... wow send dog for lessons? now dog also v good life... hehe

Charis,
Aiyah, I'm super lazy. I just cook simply. 2 step meals - prepare ingredients - cook. No complicated dishes like sweet-sour fish where I have to prep ingredients - fry fish - cook gravy - mix gravy and fish. Too many steps liao. Take today for instance. I've been feeling soooo lazy. Neglected the children all morning. Now they're in front of Hi-5. I'm still here at the comp. Really must get my butt moving. Gotta pack for Camerons, cook lunch, homeschool Sarah, vac & mop living/dining, cook dinner, change children's bedsheets, do laundry........... etc etc etc. Sigh. Feel so lazy. Someone please give me a kick in my butt!

Talking about running around... I'm not so sure about Ben running around. He'll run away! Sarah is OK though. She can control her curiosity.

Catz,
Alamak! Your new car having probs again? So mafan.

PVL, you having MS is it?

peko,wow...your son really got initiative leh. THat gal pretty or not? Sherwin will smile very slyly at pretty, young gals. Hahaha....

PVL..Haha I kick u ok since u asked haha!
Hmm ok..Same here..I try to do soups..so basically just cut up veg, the chicken (usually I ask the NTUC staff to chop for me hehe..then dump into slow cooker! Hehe..but sometimes I do attempt dishes like sweet, sour fish, braised chicken, curry..haha..sometimes lah..but that will take me almost 2 hours to finish all the cooking n cleaning..then Yael wakes up from nap..thats it no more rest for me!

Catz..IKEA tampines serious..that's so near for me! But too far for the rest right?..haha.

PVL having MS? Hmm..Gigg why u say that eh?

gd day to all.........

wah hw cme u all can talk? I can't even log into 2007 thread, all i c was blank page w/ cubes...........

Catz - thks. My 1st shipment yest went thru Vpost, I dunno if I dare to try CGW cos of those probs, afterall, it's nt entirely my purchase. If in the event they really lost our purchase, then hw? Do they compensate? if they do, @ least I dun mind trying them... the most I hv my $$ back only right?

Borderlinx - from where? Cheap? Wat do u use it for?

ever since Gym up their shipping, hv u all tried doing indrect shipping? Like gng thru another channel instead? U$30 for Int'l shipping is quite exp.. esp when it's limited by the amt u purchase.

I saw something which I like bt hesitated bcos of their shipping charges.

PVL, no no it's my hubby's car that's having problems. The Stream is just fine
*Phew*

Ah Ger, you can insure your shipment from CGW for 2% of purchase price if you wanna get 100% refund. Borderlinx is good.. they are DHL and I use it for everything other than ON/GAP.

Charis, I'm seriously OK with Ikea Tampines BUTTTTTT I just remembered I have something on Tuesday :p If the numbers are good, please go ahead without moi.

garfield, yah, this dog very good life. She's a rescue mongrel from ASD.. came with a whole bunch of issues. She was basically half starved to death. But she has some health problems and of course, behavioural problems. She's since gone for expensive obedience classes and every vet visit is well over $200.. plus now her doggy daycare which includes exercise, swimming, interaction.. haha.. got timetable one leh..

OK gonna go zzzzz before doggy comes to destroy my house.

Borderlinx - uses DHL, so does it mean their shipping is higher? Cos I know DHL fees nt cheap leh..

2% of purchase price - converted to S$ or b4.... hmm... just like the Vpost CIF?

Jelly - when u said avoig GST so u kept a limit of U$230 - tis is b4 the shipping $7 or after? Cos I m quite confused w/ the GST explanation in Vpost.

Usually all these apparels order - they dun impose anymore taxes to it already right?

Las time I dun order so much, so I din really bother.. bt tis time - HUGE purchase, so I need to find out more.

ah ger... the limit i normally set include the domestic and estimated oversea shipping cost, so that i can be sure i won't be kena GST.

The taxes u meant is the USA tax? It depends on the merchants and where the stuff is shipped to. Vpost's address is at portland which is tax free. For Bordernlinx it is not at tax free state. So if use borderlinx for ON/Gap will incur US tax. But heard many other merchants such as lesportsac and drugstore will not incur US tax using borderlinx. Many commented borderlinx is cheap and efficient but i have not tried b4 yet...

Btw, Gym international shipping cost has been up???

jelly - u say incl overseas shipping cost - which means by right the merchants - purchase amt alone - shld nt exceed hw much???? *blurred*

yes - I just went to browse tat day.... U$30! it's so exp......... tats y i asked if we can use indirect shipping.

Jelly:

Can you pls explain to me?

Computation of Customs GST

Total Cost of Purchase(A) :
(applies to value of product, including US local delivery and tax) S$395 (<font color="ff6000">which means approximately U$260? Tats y u cap it at U$230??</font>)
Shipping charge (B) : S$50
Total CIF (C) = A + {(A+B) X 0.02} : S$395 + {(S$395+S$50) X 0.02} = S$403.90 (<font color="ff6000">applicable for all?</font>)
Customs GST 7% (D) = C X 0.07 : S$403.90 X 0.07 = S$28.27

wow so confusing... I also just sign up Bordernlinx recently but have not used. i didn't know abt usa tax all this... new to me...

will take note of buyin ON/gap not thru it then.

Ah ger, how much is ur order last submitted?

According to both vpost and borderlinx webbies, Sg GST will apply when total cost of purchase plus shipping cost exceed S$400. Copied from borderlinx:

"There will be up to two types of taxes which you might have to pay.

The first will be the Sales Tax pertaining to the United States of America (USA). Certain States in the USA are tax-free states and as a result no sales tax will be levied on the procured merchandises.

The second will be Goods and Services Tax (GST) in Singapore. GST reliefs are granted on imported items if the total value of the goods plus shipping costs does not exceed S$400.

Where the value exceeds S$400, the entire sum would be subjected to GST.

The current GST rate is 7%."

So normally i work backward:
Max of amt to purchased: [S$400 - $60 (estimated shipping cost)]/1.4 = US$243

But the exchange rate used by IRAS is lower than the bank rate, closer to the rate we see from newspaper (as credit card normally mark up 3%), so the exchange rate used by IRAS shd be around 1.36-1.37, so if your order is within US$250-US$260, i think it is still ok, will not kena GST.

Hope i did not confuse u further...

jelly,

*muacks muacks* for ur clear explanation. tat day when you told me u put a cap of U$230, I followed that, which means my purchase + the domestic shipping = <U$230 lor. I even ks abit, calculate the rate to be max 1.5 when I knew at tis pt of time is nt possible.

Actually what does CIF means? Y does Vpost impose tis 2% thing on our total amount incl the delivery?

Catz:
Just nw I went to cgw to read up... wah hw cme theirs like so mafan one? Y do we need to indicate items we ordered frm ON or whereever? Meaning itemised???? Imagine I hv 30 items then I need to log them in 1 by 1?

Also, cgw gave us a credit card billing addy, do we hv to follow tat? Cos ON already has my US credit card billing addy, so m I supp to change that?

Ah ger, you ordering alot from ON? My col also siao abt online shopping recently. We just got our stuff from VS, most are very satisfied with their items.

peko, your gal is so cute, knows how to take initiative. Is she in childcare already or are there other kids in your extended families that she usually plays with?

today is going to be a busy day for me. I havent settle the clothes that I am going to bring for A's photoshoot tomorrow. btw, those who have taken pics at foto-U, do you bring your own props like toys, cars etc? David was telling me they have but then I am not so sure leh. Please share!! thanks. And, he said bring 3 sets of clothes, apart from the Man U jersey set that i bought in europe, I dun know what else to dress him in. What did you gals usually bring?

I think i should order some stuff from ON too, so Ger, you are using Vpost is it?

so many things to do -
1)make appt for A's chicken pox vaccination,
2) find him a program to do on weekends - anyone tried learning lab at united sq?
3) buy clothes for A and myself for photoshoot tomorrow if we have nothing to wear
4) buy shoes for A
5) get quotes for window grilles - Winnie, did u say u just did the grilles recently? for all windows in the house? how much is it?

then hb needs to do his car stuff which means half a day is gone..stress stress

Gig

yeah cos I combined w/ my sis &amp; gfs.... Anyway already submitted 2 orders liao.........

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Starlite has popped! Both mum &amp; bb are well. Bb weighs 3.25kg.</font></font>