(2007/02) February

fat_babe, u mean u can be fined for lateness? mine must pay back 1. but is pay back time

sunsweet, i c. i saw zz doctor have many young kids like zz age or smaller. they look sick so shouldn't be goin for vaccine lor. actually there are two clinics there and both have young kids goin there. Somemore got subsized rate as my hb is civil servant.

Gak,

The organic drink i took is this one: http://www.melilea.com/product_organic.php

Recommended by my confinement lady and my brother. They said babies will be more fair if mummy takes this organic drink. It's quite true for my case as YX is very fair even though hubby and I not very fair kind considering i did not take much tonic or bird nest during pregnancy.

babe... I am interested, but the timing is afternoon ha? Might have problem coming back sg from jb...

Catz!!! I have ordered a pair of pediped flex from the BP liao.
The price i think is not bad loh.

Re: c-sect. I gave birth natural without epi of YX. Next time if got 2nd one i also want natural as after experiencing the pain under the knife (I had my operation on appendicitis when YX was 3 months old), natural is so much less pain!!!

garfield,

yah abit childish hor...but its like a department "strategy" to prevent people to be late la...coz we all haf habit of being late 5-10 mins...so to prevent dat...we started this fine system this year..this is the 3rd time i payin fine lor...my boss..paid about 4 times...hee..wah piang eh...we alot of times oso got OT ma...and the OT oso got half hour 1 hour..but no OT pay...its juz the way lor..

jelly,

no other time slots le..i nego wif them for mornng..but their mornings all filled liao...they cannot come up wif another class for us...so now this class oredi got 2 sign ups...so they say if can...we fill it up..and she will juz close the trial..

catz,

your are darn farnee lor...but since its a EMERGENCY..i think you are not prepared...should be quite scary...btw...you dun wan #3 liao ar??...why so early wan to ligate..keke...super cute le...but your hb shocked or not?? seeing the opened tummy??....

catz, u make this scary...

I had natural w/o epi for zz... was v painful at the instant but i must agree w jelly tat we can recover v fast. in fact rgt after i was wheeled back to the ward, i still can ask for lunch ;p

gak,

I agak agak one, based on my current pair of soft sole size L which is US size 5.5-6 and still quite big for her. So i order the 6-6.5 which is a bit bigger than the soft sole one. As long as it is not smaller, sure got chance to let ur A wear one. I want to let YX wear maybe 18 mths or 2 years old, so not getting very big size.

garfield... Ya, natural recover faster. I can get down of my bed almost rite after delivery. But after my op for the appendixitis, it was so painful just to shift my body i wanted to die man...

garfield,

i would prefer if i can pay back time...very stupid to late for 5 mins...pay $2..dun you think...if i late half hour..juz stay bk for another half hour..quite good wat..kekeke..

yup year end go eat lor...department oredi say me & my HOD will contribute the most....its very silly when people see my depratment people rushing for the lift or go up by firemen lift at 9am...keke...we literally run..

garf, jelly..

i think you gals are sooooo brave lor...seldom hear any mums who go without epi..its so scary!!..even rachel oso..without epi...i think its the VERY pain for dat 1 day...

babe... just too bad loh, timing no good for me as we will be in JB.

My hubby's ex-company has quarterly incentive of 1/4 of monthly salary for those never late for work during that quarter. So sometimes if due to traffic jam then late for work, the staff will just take 1 day leave, at least not considered as late for work since the company gives many days of AL.

fat_babe, but we only given for first 15 min late. thereafter, u need to submit auto form liao. but i must say better than fine lar.

agh... until now, i also find hard to believe i go w/o epi... actually i also wan to give in liao cos i feel my back breakin. then i realise it abt 7 cm open liao so no pt. so I endure further lor.

i will always rem the birth details hahahah so painful!

I gave birth to LilJ natural with Epi.. i was gald that can go thru natural cos the recovery part is certainly much faster.. cos 2nd day of my delievery i was walking abt in the ward.. while my 3 roomates are all still ouching over the wound.

I couldnt go with out epi.. but luckily so far no back problem *touchwood*

babe/garfield,

I feel the most painful part is not pushing out the baby, but it's the urge to push but not allowed to as not dilate enuf.

garfield, yaloh, so if the staff never late for work for the whole year, he/she got additional 1 month bonus. Very good, i think!

jelly,

hehe same same for me, i always thot tat it must be really painful for a bb this size to come out of our "there" hahahaa....

but it actually worse... the first part of labour is the worse so pain at the end n the nurse still ask me see tv..... once they ask me to push, i so happy n push abt 3 times come out liao...

had to wait for gynae then can push...

Question:

my gal having watery stools.. other than changing to soy base milk, i'm feeding her lactose'forte.. anything else i could do to stop the watery stools

sunsweet, she has watery stools now? hmm
i not sure if it due to the fever? zz only have one time abit watery during the fever then thereafter the stools are ok liao.

i not sure of this hmmm... any expert mummies?

Hey Huskie,
Saw your post about shoes. My kids have never 'enjoyed' specialised children's shoes. Ben's first proper shoes are bubblegummers. So were Sarah's. We poor lah, and I cannot justify to myself the expenditure on more expensive shoes. I saw such lovely children's shoes at Clarks, but the price.....

Ben went to the PD and had his last Pneumococcal jab today. He's 10kg! No wonder my arms ache whenever I carry him.

welcome bbmouse!

gak,
Uhhhhhh, I think your post of 2.07 pm was meant for someone else??? I have not commented on brufen or paracetamol leh...

Wishing all the feverish babies speedy recoveries.

sunsweet,
Was lil J on any medication that might cause the watery stools? Sarah used to be allergic to the liquid paracetamol. Everytime she had fever, she had watery, greenish stools. Finally, when she could chew, I switched her to chewable paracetamol and she no longer had watery stools when she had a fever. Apparently she was allergic to the solvent in the medicine.

Whoa! So many babies are falling sick. Norelle too. Last week on Monday night, I developed hives all over my body and on Tue nite, Norelle started vomiting and diarhoea. She was the 5th person in the family that got the stomach flu bug.

My MIL, both my hb's nephews and my 2nd SIL also got the same bug. And the worse thing, my hb was outstation which left me taking care of Norelle on my own. On tht nite itself, I've changed the bedsheet for 3x, her clothes about 5-6x and my own clothes for 3x...on top of tht I have wiped the floors for the umpteeth time.

Then at about 3+am..I couldnt take it anymore and called my ILs and they came to my rescue (they live one street away) and helped me feeding Norelle with Smecta and ORS.

I was so shacked that I only slept 1 hr and the next day I still have to work until 10pm at nite. Luckily Norelle was willing to take gallons of ORS which helped to keep the purging at bay. Her condition lasted about few days and now her purging has finally stop.

BUT as when I thought I could let the whole 'sickness' thingy pass...she's down with slight fever again this morning. But this time we highly suspected she's teething. Her temp is always around 37.5-.8 degrees, so we are giving her paracetamol and contiue to monitor her.

Sorry mummies for the long post..just tht I need to 'breathe' for a while

garfield,
Argh! You caught me in my spree act!

Heee, cos spree need to be more than 1 yr old for usernames mah... so I was checking my spree status... eh, but this was BEFORE the books hooha... so I have kept my word on "NO BPs/PUBLIC SPREE"

bbmouse,
Yep, Firststeps spree was so good... I opted for registered and only paid $2.24 for it only.
And she was sooooo prompt. After she sent out email informing us that she mailed out the shoes, I got them the next day! It was a real pleasant surprise

Sunsweet,
Wow, KK doc says Brufen can give 2 hrs after panadol?
My PD more kiasu - says to give 3 hrs after panadol. And like garfield's doc, Brufen is also to be given when temp is 38.5 and above.

Don't worry about her not eating. When we're sick, we need to shut down our digestive system so we can focus our resources on fighting the virus. Just make sure she has enough fluids.
When she recovers, you'll be surprised how much she'll eat

Sunsweet,
The last time I brought Soph to Mt. A A&E in the night, total inclu of medicine, attendance fee, blood test was about $80+. And this includes the $20 surcharge for lab fee cos it's after office hours.
Would KKH be cheaper?

As for walking barefooted, yes, my baby also the same... can grip and feel ground better without shoes lah

skinny babe,
I didn't know you did C-sect?!
It's elective since Tyra's time?
How come Tyra's is so painful?

gak,
Yes, I'm pretty sure gaoli is korean ginseng, cos gaoli is the olden/ancient name for Korea

And yeah, after viral attack, body immune system is always lower, that's why will fall prey to infection easily. Load him with up antioxidants!

Catzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
You tempting me to go back on my word!!!!
Hee, but if I don't post in the BP thread itself, that means I'm not going back on my word :p

PVL,
How much are Bubblegummers roughly?
And other than Taka (parking there can kill!), where else can I get Bubblegummers?

Heee, yes, gak must have been zombified from all the looking after of Adriel, that's why put your name wrongly!

Catz ah Catz,
Lemme see how much the difference is between Bubblegummers and Pediped Flex .... the pair I like is $58.90.

huskie, you gooood.. go and post under your old nick
WIN LIAO! Hehehehe.. Let me know lah..

mummyzeen, awww.. poor Norelle and poor you. So shack, can imagine how tiring that night was for you.. and can still go to work after just 1 hour sleep?! Wahh.. Hope NOrelle gets well soon and that you can catch up with your sleep too.

fatbabe ah, emergency c-sect darn scary lor. From my gynae's clinic, I was whisked into delivery suite and shaved.. my parents rushed down with Timothy just before I was wheeled in. Hubby just finished paperwork, scrubbed in and saw me slit open already. He kept knocking my head with his knuckles - he claims to distract me from the huge blobs of blood spattering on the sheet but aiyoh, I think he also *gulp* So traumatic lor.. actually I was asking for ligation since my 2nd trimester when my gynae said might hv to deliver by c-sect. Heh. But I confirmed don't want 3 kids lor.

PVL, I bought Timothy a pair of Bubblegummers for school but noticed that he was walking really funny with them so had no choice but to buy Clarks and his weird walking gait corrected itself. I think Bubblegummers are just too hard-soled for young kids.. but that's just my opinion. I really got scared when I saw Timo starting to walk really weird.

mummy zeen,
You poor things!
Luckily your ILs live just nearby and are so nice to come over and help out!

Stomach flu is so contagious, esp. through oral fluids and faecal contact, so doc says have to wash hands every time you touch baby, and have to try not to kiss her and exchange fluids.... take care and get well soon!

Catz: Your experience sounds scary. Mine was not so bad. I had some pains, called my gynae clinic, they asked me to go down. Went down, strapped me on the machine, confirmed it's labour pain, asked me to check into the delivery suite for a more detailed check with graph. Gynae came after 15mins, looked at the chart and said baby could be in distress, asked hubby to do admission and suggested we go for c-section immediately. I was adamant I wanted a natural delivery, suggested we go for induction first, we debated for a while, I called a few friends for opinion, prayed, then I gave in. We went for c-section. I asked if we're going for GA or epi, my gynae said only GA for him. *faints* Another round of debate cos hubby couldn't be with me if I go under GA. I trusted the gynae and gave in in the end.
In the operating theatre, I was asked by the anaesthetician my weight and height, my name etc. He asked me to think of happy thoughts and breathed normally. My gynae and the baby's PD arrived. I KO! I woke up to a voice calling my name. Found myself lying at the waiting bay, felt the pain and called out. Nurse said the painkiller is kicking in. I looked at the clock, barely an hour has passed. I started asking how was my baby and to see her.

So mine was an emerg c-section cos it wasn't pre-scheduled. I didn't even try for natural.

Catz,
You remember how much Bubblegummers cost?
If not much diff, I may just go for Pediped Flex lah... hubby is very flat-footed, so he is very kiasu when it comes to Soph's precious little feet.
Plus Soph's hip is still under review, so I don't want any additional headache of feet affecting her gait, and then not knowing if it's the shoes or her hips.

bbmouse, Catz,
Eh, all you guys' experience sounds scary.
Catz, I remmeber you had some fainting spell too?

I'll like to try for natural next round lah, but the image of my previous wound rupturing if trial labour don't go well keep flashing in my head... haha, that's why till not still don't dare to try for #2.

skinny babe,
You better eat more during the year-end dinner then, since you contributed so much!

bbmouse, for me it was ultra emergency 'cos Beth's heartrate was already elevated from the stress of me being in premature labour for one day(thought it was lau sai)

huskie, bubblegummers are like hmm.. $20? Quite a huge diff lah but yah I hv ultra high arch and hubby has prolapsed flat feet so when it comes to their tootsies, gotta spend, no choice

Yah I had fainting spells when I under epidural for both deliveries. Somehow my blood pressure goes extremely low under epidural so I black out when I'm on my back. I delivered Timo sideways. Haha..

Huskie: Why is Soph's hip under review? It's prob been asked and explained many times here.
My experience was ok in the end. The pain was bearable. I could walk with support the very next morning. Even the nurses were surprised.

Catz: Same as me. I thot I was having stomach upset when I felt pain. It didn't go away after a few toilet visits so I called the gynae clinic in the afternoon. Good thing I did.

Speaking of it now, I remember the last person I spoke to on the phone was my boss! Cos I had scheduled a conc call in the afternoon but I couldn't chair the meeting anymore (obviously). He thought I had gone for a regular check-up and wanted to go off early to rest. He went "don't worry, have a good rest, I'll handle the meeting". I told him "I'm going to deliver now!" He went "oh now?" Hahaha...

bbmouse, I started lau sai on Friday but I was already being monitored on CTG every 3 days so Saturday morning I went in for my CTG and when the nurse came in, her eyebrows shot up and she told me NO FOOD NO WATER.. I thought LIAAAAOOOOOOOOO!!!

Catz,
Eh, I'm the same as you - ultra high arch too.
Hmm... when are you placing the Pedi order?

Yikes, blood pressure going too low is so dangerous! Eh, sideways can deliver huh? heee... how come you don't go into squatting position with hubby's help? Will squatting make you faint too?

bbmouse,
Soph had an unstable hip at birth... what they call "clunking". I think medical term is DDH, but hers is not that serious cos no need to wear brace. But need to keep monitoring. Ortho-paedic doc says we have time till she's 2 yrs old, then see what to do... by 2 yrs old, dunno if still can wear brace to correct it or need surgery. He didn't wanna tell us cos I think he wants us to keep positive. That's why we want her to be as physically active as possible

huskie, don't think you've mentioned Soph's hip problem before or maybe I missed it. Awww... yah I think the ortho probably doesn't think you can do anything by worrying anyway and besides, Soph is such an active little girl. Worse case - orthopaedic shoes lor. My BIL has awful gait and he was on ortho shoes for a looong time and now he flies Apaches

Pedipeds - let me know? 'Cos it's $8 for delivery but I'm also OK with postage.

Sideways was suuuuuper unglam lah. Plus my pushing was totally ineffectual 'cos I was so exhausted after more than 24 hours of labour AND couldn't feel anything even though they stopped my epidural 2 hours back. No squatting mah.. epidural how to squat? After the catheter is removed for epidural, you gotta lie down for at least 6 hours if not might hv leakage of spinal fluid. Scarrrreeeee....

bbmouse,
No known cause, but the chances of baby having this increases with baby being a firstborn, a girl and in breech position (Soph satisfied all 3 conditions).

I read that high oestrogen level during pregnancy can cause it, and asked my orthopaedic doc about it, but he says this is not proven. Plus even if it is, there's nothing I can do now cos even if I can prove that oestrogen level is high, it's only academic.
So just pray for her to be healthy and look forward to the day when doc says all is OK

Huskie: I would love to meet you and Soph one day. Besides our similar opinions to right brain training, my girl is super active too. She started crawling at 5mths and taking her first steps at 9mths!
When I'm well, we can plan to meet at the gymboree playgym.
Onz?

Huskie: Be positive. Babies are highly adaptable. With proper medical guidance, I believe the condition can reverse itself.

Catz,
Yeah, heee... I forgot on epi cannot feel anything, not to mention squat!
Guess I was visualising my grandma giving birth!

Eh, no, orthopaedic shoes won't help cos this is a hip socket being "loose", so have to correct the root problem, that's why need brace or surgery in worst case.

OK OK, I don't mind delivery since 3 boxes plus reg mail will prob be about $8 too.
Let me think think think if I like that Janine or Isabella **dilemma**

huskie, I was sooo upset 'cos I went through a whole series of natural childbirthing classes with a doula when I was pregnant in US lor. When we toured the hospital, they had squat bars that fit onto the hospital bed! My gynae's eyebrows shot right into her hair when I mentioned squatting. Heh. So idealistic. End up induced from zero dilation, kena cut twice (huuuge episiotomy) and vacuum.. sian. Then emergency c-sect for second one. God certainly has a wry sense of humour. HEee

Hopefully Sophie's condition just self corrects 'cos braces and surgery sound OUCH.

bbmouse,
Yep, I agree babies are very adaptable.
I read in Uncle Doman's book (my hubby's affectionate term for Glen Doman) that crawling and slings may help the hip socket to grow in properly, so now everywhere I go, I put Soph in the hip sling... hee, I even made a hip sling for my hubby!
Initially Soph hated the sling, but I explained it to her then she seemed to accept and even grew to like the hip sling... amazing huh?

Hee, Soph only took her first steps a few days after her first birthday!
Now she is walking a few metres from furniture to furniture, but she still needs to learn how to get up from the floor herself.

And yes, I'll like to meet you too - Gymboree playgym will be a good venue!

Catz,
Yeah, in the US, doulas and natural birthing are very common and popular!
Heee, but not in Singapore! You're lucky your gynae only raised her eyebrows. My gynae would have given me a long lecture.

And my MIL even warned me when I was pregnant not to do waterbirthing cos it's "disgusting", and not to try squatting cos to have the doc kneel down and hold/pick up the baby is "sickening"... what funny terms she used. In the end, just kenna cut up!

Eh, how come you needed to be induced for Timo?

catz
yup..no choice cuz bacteria infection

hey i got my maidenform bra from GOG!
so nice
lucky can fit nicely!
hehe..thanks so much for organising ya!

PVL
hehe..huskie's rite i'm still in zombie state now
my boy's so cranky that he refused his morning & afternoon milk!
phobia from all the medi feeding

fat_babe
lucky ur company nv fine $1/min..u'll be broke!
& think no one dares to be late anymore!

jelly thanks so much!

i bought a pair of shoos shoos for him, think XL for 18-24mths?
it almost fit him juz nice liao..
he's wearing Clark size 5, izit same as US size??

hello hello....hey i just went to the pediped webbie to take a look at the flex shoes. The designs quite limited ya? Not gonna get any this time though. NO MORE $$$$$ LAHhhhhhh. I am gonna live on the streets if i buy anymore things.

Oh ya, i ask u guys hor....I fed YR jap curry rice yday dinner and for today's lunch. She loves it a lot. It's ok right??? I know a bit too late to ask lah...but if u tell me ok, i will start freezing food that is mixed with jap curry sauce. hahahahaha

And today for tea break, i was having the lobster laksa with extra chicken at chatterbox then YR kept wanting to eat it. SOOOOooooo I relented, and gave her some of my chicken that was in the laksa broth. SHE LOVES IT...so i gave her some of my laksa noodles as well..Does this mean she can eat anything now??? ??

Sunsweet, I hope J gets well really soon. And do rest well too.

re: bubblegummers
i remember seeing it at BATA..
think abt $20 too not v expensive

catz
wah ur emergency c-sect sounds so scary..
u must had been terrified!

re: normal delivery
mommies wanna check with u, if ur gynae had done a good job of stitching u up..
u shldn't be feeling much pain rite??