(2007/02) February

I'm back!
Soph's fever under control and I just finished sewing a sling pouch for my hubby... haha, he chose a batik print,.. although quite nice, but he'll still look like my new Indo maid when he slings her

jelly,
Foto-U Biz thread is here:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1204292864
I PM-ed Benjamin to put my name down on waitlist for the next BP.
Seems like David just quoted the price of $258 for David/Benjamin session.

Camera: You getting a DSLR? Saph's pics so nice hor? Makes me feel like getting a DSLR too!

gak,
How much did you pay during the BP?

huskie
hey GREAT that soph's fever's down

my BP was 10% off & further deduct $30 cuz no make up artiste..
total paid abt $200+
think $202 or $207..

huskie, you are into photography? hb is crazy over it, when in HK, we spent most time going to camera shops then shopping for clothes. He is getting canon 40D and selling his current 20D.

on taking pics, whenever i take pics of hb with A, A is always smiley but when hb takes pics of me and A, he is either looking elsewhere or no expression
Cos A is only smiley when u make him smile, so I usually will entertain him and make him smile, laugh when I snapped. hb doesnt know how to do that, so in future, others will think that A doesnt love his mummy cos he never smiles when taking pic with me

smurfy, i still buy whatever i can get in organic form - brown rice, raisin, sweet potatoes, green leafy veg, carrots, asparagus, corn, pumpkin, tofu etc etc. Hence his main food except fish and chicken are organic. We do give non-organic stuff when i feed a bit of our food to him eg. bread, pancake,cheese. Oh, but I have switched to non-organic yoghurt.

rachel, my hb is watching golf tomorrow -womens'champions..sianz, told him i will bring A out on my own. I bought the beach toys for A at toys R us today, so am prepared for beach

gak,
I glanced through David's and Benjamin's samples.
I think David's style is more artistic and abstract, but for family-style pics, there's not much difference between the 2.
Maybe if I'm gonna be taking maternity shots next time, I may use David

Hmm.. now feel so tempted to take up the package of $258!

cherry,
Eh, I'm not really into photography... I'm a total amateur cos I don't really know how to use an SLR camera!
I just happen to like certain styles of photography, and happen to have quite a few good fluke shots, so much so that my friend's friends thought they engaged a freelance photographer when they saw the pics I took for her ROM.

PVL,
Thanks for the info on playgroup.
Hmm.. the mummies just sit around, eat and chat? Jialat, that's a sure recipe to put on weight!
I was thinking along the line of having a different host mommy do some different activity each week!

gmorning ladies.. my hubby woke up super early to do the safra biathlon.. i cannot go back to sleep

gak, jelly, the cheap stuff is here:-
for girls:
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/mpp.do?promoid=45484&promorefid=45484&promotype=mup
for boys:
http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/category.do?cid=37195

not much for boys this time round but the swimwear is nice

huskie, har? SO ON ONE AH? My idea was more like PVL's...haha.. free and easy type. Keke..oh yah rgd Marymount, yes, N1 for 2006 babes have.. Timo is 2005 and in this year's N1. Er.. registration is today leh.. and there might be no more vacancies.. I would recommend your friend calls up asap and be put on waitlist since she's missed today's registration. Fees are about $900+ per term all in (with misc items).

milkie, for the swimsuit, 18-24 mo confirmed too small 'cos Beth is fitting into 2t just nice already.. I order 2t for you ok?

catz,

paiseh paiseh..

i almost forgot about the shipping...after offsetting from maidenform..$3.37..

To Account POSB Savings
124-73767-2 catz
Amount S$3.37
Transaction Reference 1595440877

let me know if you available for collection tonight yah..hehehe

i was reminded when i SAW YOU SPREEING again!!..kekek..but okie la...i "chop" my finger liao...

broke again...juz increased insurance for both me & hubby again..i am going to slaved again for the premiums...arggghhh

cherry,

tyler & myself down wif flu le...dun think can make it to east coast this sunday..

gak,

kekeke...you saw charis from my list of frens and added har??...keke...dat one not our charis here la..hehe,...but its ok..think i added someone wrongly before oso..

babe, tonight shouldn't be a prob but has to be before 9pm can? Gonna zzzzz early tonight... darn tired! Hehe.. I also wanna chop finger but Beth not enough everyday wear.

jelly,
You got all your books from Bummy Bee already?
I haven't gotten mine yet! It's been 2 months *sigh*
Dunno if she is genuinely blur or just acting blur.

milkie!
You quietly spree-ing away but never talk here huh? ;)

Catz,
Thanks for Marymount info - every year registration is on 1 March?
Next year I better get hubby to take the day off and go queue up!

As for playgroup, heee, I was thinking along the lind of simple activities like crayon coloring, cornflour dough play, water play that's all. Don't be frightened off!

I'll transfer the money to you later when hubby comes home and takes over a feverish Soph.... she's super cranky cos hot and uncomfortable. Gotta go tend to her now!

huskie, poor Soph lah.. dear me.. as for Marymount registration, I'll keep you posted cos Beth will be entering the same year as Soph. Beth will be going for siblings' registration which is earlier.. but whatever it is, registration is always on a Saturday morning lah, no need to take leave. Hope Soph gets better soon!

huskie,
Too organised is too difficult for many mums lah. That's because a lot of us now have 2 kids, so it's hard trying to organise things. Also, even just getting the house tidied up and laying out the snacks is quite difficult already. So we leave it free and easy. Most of the time, the mums sit around, near their kids, and chit chat. Food is finger food or snacks. Simple stuff.

ehh mummies ask u hor. for the past 1.5 days i have not pumped milk oredi.. now my breasts super hard and full.. shld i just let it be.. and it will be okie the next day.. or do i need to pump out some milk to relieve the tension? will i get lumps in future if i just let it be now? or mastitis?

rachel, think tomorrow beach is off since babe and tyler down. I also got a tight schedule, so we will go church, then to bambini for lunch and for ashton to play. will be there around 1 plus. its at dempsey road. You want to bring josh there?

After that hb will have to go to sim lim with my youngest bil to buy computer then we going to have dinner with inlaws.

strange i posted something earlier but didnt appear.

smurfy,
The last time you unsuccessfully ordered and paid for the flashcards from HepYouTTC - did you guys make the police report and waht was the outcome?
Did you get back your money and is the organiser blacklisted by the police in any way?

PVL,
Yeah, if the mommy has more than 1 kid, then it's a bit difficult.

Catz,
Thanks in advance for keeping me updated on Marymount registration!

CATZ....

SORRRRRYYYY...juz finish "swimming"...didn't manage to go over.....paiseh paiseh...tml tml..i sms you okie..very sorry.,.

cayz ah catz
haiz no time to go into ON to look at the cheap deals

my boy came down with flu after attending the Terrific Tikes Kindermusik..
dunno cuz of rain or wat

huskie
hehe..initially when i was choosing the photographers, i oso can't see wat's the diff
so i asked fat_babe for advice

hope soph's fever gone by now!

gak,

hope adriel recover fast...

me juz followed your advice..keke...went to join a lucky vitamin spree to buy colostrum powder...hopefully it will help...but it seemed like a popular item now le..keke...or maybe coz i nvr notice previously...

now his flu & phlegm, i giving him the chinese hou zao san mix into his night feed..according the medical hall auntie...seems to improve abit..hee..

fat_babe
his nose so RUNNY!!
& got a bit of fever 37.4..hehe
i consider fever cuz his norm highest 37.2
& after i gave him paraceltamol, his temp goes down to 36.6
after 4hrs, back to 37.4

so tiring that they always falling sick hor!

keke..how much u paid for the colostrum??
yup 1 mommy said she gave colostrum as maintainance & Sambucol when got signs of falling sick!

sometimes got mommy spot some website with v good discounts for all these supplements!
Better than LuckyVitamin & can't remember wat's the other website..
so keep a look out ya!
if i spot will let u noe

but where's ur preferred place of collection?

HOU ZAO SAN huh?
kk will check with my mom if she noes wat izit

babe, this weekend is really rainy, pouring in the east on both days.

btw, i met a friend at church today and was shocked by what she told me...her son is 5mths younger than A and she has been put on wait list for Pre nursery at a kindergarten for 3YO..jialat, didnt know parents are kiasu breed. I better start looking for schools for A. How can schools take wait list so early??? I hope i dun get bigger shocks anymore..how come how come this world is so competitive??

babe, why must u buy colostrum powder? what does it do? i saw in vitakids before, but didnt bother to understand more.

huskie,

I might choose Benjamin too as David is tooo popular. Heihei... My biggest concern is my hubby's timing. He is forever busy even weekends.

DSLR??? Me techno idiot lei. But think must be a really good camera, just look at the shots Sap took for Xinfaye. Must be expensive ya... Sekali i bot then dunno how to make full use of it then wasted???

huskie!!! Bummy Bee still owes me 1 book which she claimed has posted to me but I NEVER RECEIVE!!! Then no more email from her liao.

gak,

keke..the weather now..is easy to fall sick...at night..i can even go without aircon!!..too cold le...

btw..how long it takes for you to finish 1 bottle of the colostrum ar?? if got good deals round the north area is GOOD for me..keeke

cherry,

i cut & paste ar...

ChildLife’s Colostrum with Probiotics provides Nature’s ultimate formula for enhancing your child’s health, vitality, immune and digestive strength.

Features & Benefits:
Supports healthy digestion & the immune system. Colostrum is nature’s first food for the immune system. ChildLife uses the finest bovine Colostrum that has been naturally harvested and especially prepared with Probiotics to enhance the health and vitality of your child’s immune and digestive system.

Today’s children face unprecedented challenges from two very important areas. On one hand, the nutritional value of the food we eat decreases as the nutritional content of the soil is depleted through time and modern farming methods. On the other hand, the rapid increase in environmental pollution and toxic burden creates an increased need for these nutrients, the vitamins and minerals that protect, nourish and sustain a child's natural, healthy development. Eat right and support your child’s development with ChildLife formulas._____

muahaha...welcome to singapore man!!...land of kiasuism!!...aiyah..but there are oso "heck care" parents like me...yes...if they can get nto great kindergartens..good la...if cannot then take it as i am giving them more time to play n be happy before joining the rat race lor..
i mean really..i wan them to be happy..kekeke

yesssss i cannot go anywhere coz of the freaking rain..

jelly,
Bummy Bee said she posted out the registered mail this week Wed (my whole bunch of books that I paid $112 for), but till now I haven't received them.
I asked her for Registered Article Number and a scanned copy of receipt to see if address is correct, then she also disappeared.
Now hubby is angry - he thinks she's pulling a fast one, cos registered mail will not get lost... that's why we pay extra right?
He said wants to lodge a police report since I still have all the SMS history plus bank transcaction, so when I SMS her this, she asked me not to cos she is a single mommy blah blah blah.
The she said she'll give me a refund and then please mail her back the books when I receive them.
Which is rubbish, cos I never receive any books and no RA article receipt, how to mail her back the books?
Anyway, I gave her my bank account number liao... see if she refunds.
If she doesn't refund in next 2 days, I'll lodge a police report... it's a matter of principles.

Just think about it - if she "misses" 1 book per person or every 2 persons, and hopefully that mommy forgot and will nto "chase" her for it, she can reap a few hundred bucks!

Hee, a friend told me Benjamin is very very patient, so I think I'll feel safer choosing him, cos eh,.... I've never done a photoshoot before!

I think Saph's camera is the Canon EOS300 or something.... during IT shows, you can get very good deals on it. I think my friend mentioned it's a very good beginner camera for DSLR range.

gak,
Poor Adriel - hope he gets well soon!
Soph also feverish cos of the pneumococcal jab!
Now busy sponging and pacifying her.

Let me know if the colostrum powder works OK? I may try it too

babe, i damn sian at home. hb went to buy pc for brother, until now still not bad.. he supposed to get dinner for us somemore.think by the time he come back, just nice for supper
like that how to lose weight. actually i am split here, sometimes i am heck care, sometimes i do bother but I guess i am not at the stage where i can be labelled kiasu cos I can never be fast like them.

i am researching on enrichment program, pre-nursery now. any recommendations..stella, babe, smurfy, catz, gak,huskie...pls advise. i know u all talk about this some time back, lazy to scroll back.

huskie, is soph still at TLG?
anyone going for aqua ducks?

is there any cheap and good prenursery that goes all the way to kindergarten?? prefer these so i dun have to wreck my brain each time he goes to the next stage.

cherry, you so poor thing!!! Stuck at home... I will go siao if you ask me to stay home or hv no option of going out! As for kindies, yah the hot ones get booked up very early. In fact, to get Timo into Marymount, my hubby went and Q'ed at 7am in the morning..heh.. For me, I'm not so keen on enrichments at this stage 'cos Beth comes to Sunday school toddler's class with me now and she's too blur to comprehend.
Will wait till she's about 18-20 months before I enrol her in Pat's Schoolhouse D'storey club on Saturdays like I did for Timothy.. and she will start with swimming lessons once she drops her morning naps. As for pre-nursery, well, choose something near to your home but you gotta do your research. Most kindies accept kiddos acc to year of birth so like for Beth, she will only begin in 2010 but registration will be in 2009 March. That's for N1 and it will be all the way until K2.

gak, poor Adriel, I hate it when the kids are non-stop sick.. very shack for them and very shack for us.

huskie, alamak, that woman really conned your money ah? If I were you, I will go ahead to lodge the police report in 2 days' time since it's obvious she did not mail it out via registered post. Tell her lah, if she can produce the RA number and copy of the chit, then why is she so scared? Poor poor Soph.. the pneumococcal jab really took such a toll on her. Has she gone for her MMR yet? I know I need to bring Beth for her jabs soon.. eeekk..

fat_babe
yup i think it's the weather too!
nowadays the weather so hot & den suddenly rained for 2 days!

when i'm at home fan is sufficient for me
but when at my mom's no matter wat's the weather, i need to switch on air-con for him!
if not he sure wake up!
but cuz of his flu, i only switch on to make the room cool then switch off & use fan..

eh..the colostrum i oso juz started but i think this website got provide some info on how long can last
http://www.vitacost.com/Childlife-Colostrum
this website oso sell v cheap stuff!
erm..the website stated a quarter teaspoon but for 1yo is actually half teaspoon so 25 servings?

huskie
aiyo!
must blacklist this organiser!
the other time i oso order from this organiser who disappeared with our books, kept giving fast information..
but luckily i managed to get my books in the end!
she got 2 SMH nicks that she uses to organise different BPs & Sprees..
one of her nick's stressie, i can't remember the other
i noticed she got 2 nicks cuz she still not pai seh dare to put her name card into the plastic bag with my books!

ur $112 is not a small sum!
furthermore u're not working ya..
she thinks other mommies $$ dropped from sky to con like that??

how come soph's fever still not down yet?
usually vaccines fever dun last so long 1..half to 1 day shld go off liao
think u better bring her back to the Dr/PD!

huskie
the colostrum i juz started only..
dunno cuz i didn;t use the full dosage so not effective or wat
cuz he still fall sick

suppose to give half teaspoon as instructed on the bottle but i only gave a quarter teaspoon...
think i'll split the half teaspoon to twice a day

hb finally back with boon tong kee chicken rice. but i too sian to eat...have been munching on rubbish.

catz, not really stuck at home the entire day, went to church, then dempsey for lunch, then forum to get something from guess kids. back at home around 4plus then hb went simlim while A and I zzzz. we only woke up at 6pm then feed him dinner. Just sianz cos I am supposed to buy inlaws chilli crab dinner tonight, so I already mentally prepared that I will have crabs to eat mah, then who knows hb got stuck at simlim

pats huh, then maybe beth and A will be classmates cos the lim ah pin one is nearest to inlaws house. unless u are sending her to another pats sch hse?

anyone thinking of julia gabriel? their playclub at 18mths looks promising but i think it will be pricey
how do people part with thousands of dollars everymonth for their kids to play??

cherry, heh.. yah I'll likely send Beth to Lim Ah Pin Pat's as well. I cannot afford JG lah.. too broke already.. we are single income only

BTK chicken rice - my fave! My hubby calls it my opium chicken rice 'cos I used to crave it all the time and eat it more than once a week! Heh. And that wasn't when I was pregnant! Crabs.. another one of my faves. Hv you tried the crabs at Mellben, very near my place at Blk 231? their beehoon crab is phenomenal but the queues are correspondingly phenomenal. Say, when you swinging by to get the ON stuff har?
Thought you'd be quite kan cheong to see..hehe..

i kan cheong but my hb is not leh...i hope tomorrow can loh, i cant wait to have the sandals and swim shorts for A leh. thats his beach attire. what to do, i rely on my driver..have been hinting to hb that i want my own car. anyway, by the time A turns 3, i definitely need a set of wheels to ferry him around.

i think even with my double income also cannot afford JG. my aim is to buy landed home in 2 to 3 yrs time, so i must cut expenses in order to achieve that goal.

catz
yup very tiring for both of us!
last nite he cldn't sleep at all
kept waking up cuz of his blocked nose

today became RUNNY nose so he started to develope a cough..
this flu's making him even more whiney!
even when he high fever oso not so whiney..
& he's oso perspiring a lot!
i changed abt 3-4sets of PJ last nite!
really not easy being a mom..

urrgh!
my boy had been "sucking" on my mouse..
made it dripping wet with his saliva!
now it's faulty liao..
can't scroll properly with the rollers!

Girls,
Yeah, I just SMS-ed Bummy Bee that I will lodge the police report if I still do not see my $112 in my bank account by tomorrow.
NPP next block only... just have to walk over!
Really not nice of her to do this... nowadays BP so many "bad eggs", I stopped buying anything liao. Only spree from pple I know... like our dear Catz

As for stressie, I bought books from her before... didn't know she also have such a bad record? Elite-baby.com right?

gak, Catz,
Soph didn't have much fever on Fri after her jab, then fever only started on Sat and today, hee, maybe delayed reaction!
Now not that high anymore... about 37.6.

Eh, Catz, for MMR, you doing it at 15mths issit?
I cham siong with PD to drag until 24months, cos at 15 and 18M, still got her Hep A booster, chickenpox and some DPT booster right?

gak,
I think the colostrum need more time to see effect? Nothing can be so immediate!

cherry,
I'm gonna stop Soph on TLG, cos now that she's walking a bit more, we can take her to Botanic Gardens or Gymboree playgym for her required exercise

Plus hubby wants to give Shichida a try, so we enrolled her into Shichida starting from April, so too broke to do TLG at the same time!

As for good nursery/playgroup to kindie, yes, JG is ver good... their kindie is Chiltern if I'm not wrong. But super super exp... single income we also cannot afford to even think about it!
And yes, there is waiting list, cos my neigbour's 17M old dd has been on waiting list for JG (Forum) for the last 3 months already.
And my friend's 4 yr old has been on Chiltern's waiting list for 6 months too!

Crabs at Mellben!!!! My Fav **drool drool**

huskie, really??? I hope she is not out to cheat anyone! True lah, if RA sure can trace one, and she now said will refund u after u mentioned will file police report. Kinda fishy here... I have received my 8 books b4 xmas, then she said last book will only receive after xmas. I almost forgot abt it until u mentioned... But wow, ur lost is huge if she is really a cheat!!!

RE: camera. Think if we gonna get a new one will get from Sim Lim or airport duty free. But i guess sim lim shd be cheaper bah... Really prefer to use my hp to take her pic than using camera. But i afraid next time if i want to print out the photos, those shots taken using hp might not be clear.

My gal did not poo yday. Then this morning i saw she like kek sai, quickly brought her to toilet. I can see the shit but it just won't come out! And my poor gal was crying in pain. So i wipe her and didn't force her to poo. That happened again so i let her eat some baby yoghurt in the afternoon. Finally she managed to poo out and it is HUGE!!! Must be hard on her lah as she cried so loud after she poo out the shit! But was very happy after i bathed her. Sorry, a bit gross here. Heihei...

kekek gak..

thanks for concern...he scratch off all the scabs liao...still alittle red..
but i think still OK..kekeke

huskie
yup the other time when she organised this brainy baby books..
she suddenly MIA, nv reply to post, sms, PM, anything..
when she finally reappeared claiming the items had arrived after more than a mth since BP ended..& can be collected
but she nv showed up!
then she claimed that she received the wrong items from Vpost a week lata..that she received a DBL delivery
haiz..long story
so when one mommy was able to collect from her, i rushed to her place right away to collect my books!
didn't wanna wait for a no turn up meeting arrangement!
better to collect from her void deck!
YUP! the other SMH nick she uses is Elite Baby..
if i'm not wrong that's her biz name

if soph's fever still dun go down by 2molo morn,
u better bring her to c doctor ya

haha..think i was hoping the colostrum's a wonder supplement that works instantly like BM?
keke..come to think of it even BM babies oso fall sick easily hor!

i read somewhere in those baby mag Q & A that once stop BF, the baby's not protected by the goodness of BM anymore
no matter how long we'd BF them..
hmm think that's y ur PD said to BF till soph's 2-3yo??
that made me wonder Y did i go thru all the trouble to BF my boy in the 1st place..
& need to wean him too!

jelly
ouch! must be v painful!
reminds me of the time when i was constipated after delivery..
can cry when forcing my poo out too!
cuz so so painful!!!

oops! a bit gross here too ;P keke

catz,

melben crabs are duperlicious!!....muahahha..but only managed to go there twice..the queue puts me off...got once...we went to melben's opposite coz the queue was way toooo long...i like their crab bee hoon & butter crab..very sinful...

jelly,

tyra was in tears everyday for almost 1 year due to her constipation...but i brought her to doc..ask if she haf piles...coz she seem to haf this lil piece of flesh sticking out of her butt..and her faeces will haf some blood stains..the doc juz say..let her eat more prunes & fruits...fibre..blah blah...well doesn't work..her stools are forever hard...coz she hates fruits & vege...but after attending CC..think they make her eat fruits & vege..coz dats the only food they serve for lunch...her condition is much better...at least she dun haf the wirey constipated expression..hahah

gak,

yah the kids heal fast!!...the colostrum..hmm i only ordered 1 bottle le...25 servings like less than 1 month lor...this one he probably will eat coz can mix in milk ma..

any mummies here wan order not?? we can do bulk purchase together le..hee...

cherry,

you very bad le..hb bought chicken rice bk for you...u still here chatting..muahahaha..

julia gabriels..hmmm i think its a lil over rated le...but heard from my fren the chinese classes are quite good...you may wan go take a look...tad too pricey for me..hee..

huskie,

my colleague had to go "parents interview" to get into chiltern house...my gosh!!...its so HONG KONG style...when entering good schools..parents haf to go for interview..to see if the "background" suits the school..

well...sets me thinking..when you can afford to send your child to a branded kindergarten...you kid gets to mix wif all the well mannered kids from good family..who speaks immaculate english. they copy their frens behaviour & most behaviour..which at their age = IQ (or so we tot)..so you will get a well behave totful child..however granting dat these kids...are carefully selected to be in the school as well..
to me its early childhood networking...keke...

tyra attends a mid range CC..comes home...speaks like a typical singapore ah lian..with all the "hor, har, lor, le" coz she oso copy her frens in dat..keke...the greatful thing is..she learn how to speak chinese..

so really depends on wat type of education you wan your kid to haf, and in view of monetary ability..keke

huskie
my order with bummybee was smooth. that helputtc i made a police report but no use one lar.. i did not pay him extra but he did not refund me oso.he had sent the cards to my home without my knowledge. tat stressie spree i had joined and had no issue as well though the books is of inferior quality.

i wanna go studio photos!

gak
as newborn, our child does not have any forms of immunity.. so BM is the best for them.. as they grow (from 6 or 9mths onwards), they will start to build their own immunity as well..

ai yo.. me now suffering frm engorgement.. last time i pump out milk was thursday.. now sunday/monday liao.. :/luckily got one course of anitbiotics as standby.. super bored now. internet still got charge money here..saw some child beggers begging for money.. felt soo bad
.. and i go visualize QY begging for money in the street.... whahahaa nearly cried then