(2007/02) February

smurfy
ur hubby very generous leh...does he gives so much angbao every year?
the $500 each to ur parent & $8 to the kampong kids, both of u share or juz from him alone???

Just logging in to say 'hello' to all of you... so busy with school eversince I started in a new school. Missed out so much so much and really miss chatting with all of you
Hope I am not forgotten... hahaha!

Quickly skimmed through the earlier posts and really enjoyed looking at the pix of all the litle ones
We have all come a long way... and we must really give a pat on our own shoulders for the job well done!

Just a quick update, Julian celebrated his first birthday yesterday... about 5 days earlier cos his actual day falls on the FIRST day of CNY... Imagine if the party is on that day, who would turn up??? Probably only us, the parents! hahaha! Anyway, we had fun and so did Julian. He was nice to allow the guests to carry him... I thank God that he has more or less overcome his stranger anxiety. We adults were tired out completely

We had casuarina curry 'on the spot prata' instead of the usual chinese buffet. Quite an experience i must say...with a roti prata man making your 'personalised' orders of strawberry, chocolate, banana, onions, cheese, eggs, mushroom pratas!!! Tho I personally dont eat indian cuisine, my guests were thrilled and they enjoyed the pratas, bryani rice, curries and gravies so much so much.

gak and catz, talking about angbao... I thought 4 bucks is enough liao??? not ah? wow then, will really burn a hole in the pocket leh... this month spent so much on CNY stuff and Julian birthday... dont know how to survive man...

Smurfy, giving your maid $20 is quite a lot yah? I gave her an $18 angbao on her birthday liao... Do you think I should still be giving her a big one this time round? First time, first year so no experience. Advice?

Garfield! You are pregnant??? Hope i am not getting it wrong... IF it is, CONGRATS! YOu are fast man, after Rachel
Take care yah?

Rachel, Congrats to you! so sorry i am so late...
Work la, what else???

Catz, so nice to see you in church a few sundays ago... Creche was good and julian enjoyed it
I will now make a point to wake my hubby up for the 9am service so we can bring Julian for creche. Honestly, i was so proud of him after he did his first piece of craftwork!!! HAHAHA!

Sunsweet, thanks for organising the trial class at kndermusik. is my julian in? Let me know via handphone is possible cos i dont log in that often...

Eh, Chocobabe, you have gone back to teaching???and were asking me something about teaching. What is it again huh? Pardon me for not replying you.

Mummies, talking about CNY goodies for parents and PILs, I think as a token, must la! MY hubby every year also buys stuff for my parents and I in turn buy stuff for his parents. Think it will make them happy la
Just something small lor...

Also, have you all heard of Growing Up Gifted programme? Heard that it is good. I have not signed Julian up for any classes at all... Think he lacks exposure and is now very timid... cries at the slightest noise he hears... Am a little concerned and feel that it is probably time to send him for classes. Or should I wait a little longer?

GOG, was looking out for you at church today but didn't get to pop into the toddler's class.
My hubby is the one struggling to get Beth to sleep.. it usually takes half an hour and both of them will be soaked in sweat.. haha.. As for CNY angpows, my hubby told me to pack $20 for his friends' children when we went visiting.. end up all the angpow I got was $4 leh.. so $4 is quite common, no??

gak, I have been very very very generous with my SIL/BIL but never have they said a word of thanks for all the Christmas/birthday/random presents that I have given both of them. Sigh. So this year I match their generosity lor. Kekekeek... anyway, I'm honestly flat broke from all the kiddos' birthday celebrations in Jan. :p

GOG..
hmmm before i got married, i was still receiving $4 angbao but after i got married but before i had Adriel, the $4 angbao increased to $6-$8 liao

both sides of the family dun hv any grandchildren except my boy..so lonely got no cousins to play with

& my cousins all quite grown up, youngest abt 13yo..
so me only give angbaos to my younger cousins so still ok won't burnt such a big hole in our pocket ;)

chocbabe,
Hee, I didn't make the dress for Beth... in fact, I saw the dress from the BP (where Catz must have bought it), but $48 for a dress is a bit steep for my budget... and since I was going to buy a sewing machine, I thought I might as well try my hand on making one for her

Saw Ryan's birthday pics! You hubby is indeed quite hunky

Ryan is so advanced too... can walk and hold the ball at the same time!

fatbabe,
I spent about 2 weeks on the dress, but I didn't work on it everyday. And on those days I worked on it, I only did it in the nights after Soph went to sleep.

btw, forgot to ask you... Tyra has beautiful long hair... you've never trimmed it before? How long did it take for her to grow till at least shoulder length huh?

cherry,
Haha, your MIL so funny lah... expects a 13th month! First time I hear of it!
Hee, you also like sewing? You don't look like the type... looks more career woman type!

gak,
Me not Li hai lah... heee, just simply buy those pattern pack from Spotlight then use it to sew.

Catz,
When do you wanna collect the food? I'll be home next Mon and Wed

smurfy,
Thanks for Bummy Bee's number! She finally replied me

catz ah catz
wah ur hubby so generous? $20 for frenz's kids!
hmmm..dunno $4 still so common tot standard of living went up liao ;P
frenz give $4 andbao i still understand but family???
anyway if i'm ur hubby's fren, & u give my kiddo $20 angbao, in return i give ur kids $4 i wld be very pai seh & try to make up in next CNY's angbao...

haha...so good idea to hv kids birthdays before CNY huh?
like Dec or Jan? hehee..

huskie
well at least u're able to make it into a dress ya

think i wld hv took more than 2 weeks!
cuz need to redo again & again & again..cuz sew wrongly ie. one arm hole bigger than the other or one side shorter than the other! wahaha..

gak,
Haha, that was what my brother said about me when I told him I was going to make it!

Now have to make full use of the sewing machine and all the fabric I bought... gonna start experimenting with more patterns!

huskie, you did sooooooooooooo well leh.
I will swing by on Wednesday yah?

gak, yah my hubby is totally out of it.. guess he's like smurfy's 'gu dong' husband.. kekekekeke... his friends not pai sey also lei.. ah well.. I prefer kiddos' birthdays to be spread out but who knew I was gonna hv 2 Jan babies?!

huskie
hey think u can try to make hair bands for soph?
one of the march mommies posted pis of the head bands she made but it's kinda LOUD..
dunno u like a not

gak,
Thanks, I'm checking out the March thread now.
Hee, the one with the flower is HUGE! But the earlier tiny lacy one is quite nice.
Soph doesn't like anything on her hair leh... sure pull it out, even a small hairclip!
That March baby is so guai... allow her mommy to put hairband on her!

Catz,
OK, SMS me to let me know what time on Wed!

gak,

i love loud stuff!!...wakaka...

updates on rachel's babies:
todae went to rachel's josh n jasp party...so many balloons n many kiddos...jasp is another handsome darling siah....and josh look sooo adorable wif his bdae hat..keke...very fun but didn't manage to stay for the cut cake ceremony coz MIL waiting for us....hee

huskie,

tyra's hair ar...is at her waist liao...shoulder length ar..i think about 18-20 months like dat..keke..when she was 1..her hair was pretty short like sophie also...but end up we always comb always tie..it grow n grow very fast...now want to cut also cannot..

huskie
hehe..same as Adriel

whenever i try to put a cap on him, he wld pull if off right away!
he oso another who dun like to hv anything on his head..keke

hi mummies, busy day for me today esp since I am not feeling v well, sore throat and honestly prefer to be friends with my bed then to go concourse to get balloons. Anyway, A's party was ok. Too many people, not enough place and table to sit. He received so many presents that my living room is full of presents now. Everyone loves the cake and kept saying how beautiful the cake is. They also commented on the decor from birthday direct, how everything was coordinated. Overall, it was a success. Except that A was rather cranky around 7 ish when its time for milk and he was suffering from lack of sleep as he skipped his nap time in the afternoon
All the planning and its over already..hmm, like a small wedding

huskie, cant tell right? actually i v domesticated at heart u know
really no joke, if someone gives me a sewing machine as a present, i will thank the person for life for fulfiling my childhood dream
I was so proud of the dress that I sewn for my home economics class in sec school.

oh, its not my mil who is asking for 13th mth angpow..she asked me to give MY maid an angpow equivalent to 1 month salary cos last time my maid works for her and she got $300 for angpow. Honestly, that is a big sum of money, and I rather spend on A's toys, clothes or books.

gak, u are right about the maid wouldnt say until u spotted it thingi. Today, I wanted to change the cushion cover, then I heard my maid giggled and turned out the cushion cover colour has ran and the black and white cushion cover has some dark stain on it. Its quite a new piece and the maid itchy backside go and wash. Now, got to throw already. Then my hb was angry with her for causing shiny marks on his nike polo t. This is the nth time that she has done this to our clothes. Hb scolded her so loud that i was even scared.

catz, yur inlaws and bil/sil really v kiam. esp bil/sil since they obviously have got good stuff from u, should reciprocate.

every year, i will give my side (not many people) and hb will give his side (entire village - at least 15 angpows of $10 each, and 30 angpows of $6 each). For parents, we usually only give them $50 each since its a token sum. Think this yr I will just give my maid $20 since that seem like a market rate.

updates on my leave on friday...was suppose to be at hubby's uncle funeral...but hb all of sudden say...maybe we should do some spring cleaning first....

my maid heard and started moving out cartons & cartons & cartons from the "ironing room"....filled the living wif loads of them...hubby by the 4th carton gave up..then maid say.." you say take out..wan to throw..so i take out lor.."..hilarious..

this was the state!!

1236221.jpg

cherryale
hey ur MIL think u print money or open bank?
if she wanna give 1 mth salary angbao to ur maid, she still can do it ya cuz her ex-maid's working for someone she know, her DIL! hahahaa

wah my last maid oso burnt our clothes while ironing & spoilt so many things in the house & still can laugh abt it!
think they tot all these stuff no need money?
or maybe cost only 1 rupiah?
dunno wat's inside their brain..maybe they think can get away with anything with juz a laugh?
no apologies watever!

but when something like that happened, i'm the one shouting at the maid cuz i'm the Mu Lau Hu in the hse ;P
& my hubby always thinks that i ill-treat them!

pic of tyra getting ready for jasp & josh bash

1236243.jpg

pic of handsome birthdae boy: Rachel's Joshua

1236244.jpg

pic of silly tyler enjoying the party bag goodies

1236245.jpg

fat_babe
hhehe..my rubbish can last for a good 20yrs!

wow! tyra's HOT & LOUD in that pink dress & boots!
aiyo tyler so cute & guai guai

hey he looks like one the Taiwanese host/actor in this pic but i dunno the name of that host/actor

fatbabe,
OMG, my hubby almost fainted when he saw the picture of your 5 yrs of rubbish!

Hmm... I have not combed or brushed Soph's hair before! I should start doing it!

cherry,
Heee, I thought it was your MIL asking for 13th month!
Hmmm... I think $300 is too much for CNY angbao for maid lah.... $20 is good enough, $50 is more more than enough!
Your MIL is a very generous woman!

gak gak gak....
The video is sooooooooo horrible! **sob sob**
Hubby is so shocked now he doesn't wanna have a maid at all, even if we have a 2nd kid... now need to crack our brains to think how to cope next time. Hee... but luckily not preggers yet!
I hope the lady made a police report!

huskie
u still awake?
so terrible rite!!!

fat_babe pointed out that the video only been put up recently..29Jan2008
i wonder how's the baby liao

i hope the m,aid gets the BIGGEST punishment possible!

hello mummies, long time no post on the thread. I still have not read the previous posts yet and I don't think I will have time to.

Happy Chinese New Year to ALL mummies and babies.

Oh ya, Catty...I know I haven't collected the stuff from you yet. I totally forgot about it cos had friends coming over for visits and all ever since I got back.

I'll come in to the thread again later on. Got to prepare breakfast soon.

BTW, YR is still not walking as yet but we've taken her swimming and she loves it. Also, her morning nap has gone kaput. So now her nap time is from 12pm to 2pm (if I'm lucky). and bedtime is at 645pm to 8am.

GOOD MORNING Mommies!
another gloomy looking day...

hi milkie
where've u been?
my boy oso not yet start walking..
& no words from his mouth excepts yelling

there's alot of beautiful posts.. but let me comment when i am free tonite k? (my boss back in town hahhaha)
just let me complain for a while
yesterday i went for reunion dinner..
the bil ordered the dishes coz we r late.
n he ordered small.. so the quanities not enough..
then when i saw the hb passing the food ard, and not eating himself..
i told the maid to let the family members get the food first before she herself takes
(coz i saw her eating scallops, when my hb did not even take for himself)..
the maid retorted back saying "grandma told her to eat".
i told her it's okay to eat but must see and let others eat first..
theN theN... she refused to eat anything thereafter..
and can see her eyes r red..
wow lao, like i am ill-treating her..

now now, i am very worried with such a emotional person..
she's good lar,, but it's scarly that her mood change..
i am wondering shld i take leave tomorow when my mum's not able to help out

(let me reply all the beautiful posts tonite) :p

Milkie!!!!
We miss you! Where have you been, my GF expert?!
Hee, Soph's naptime is also messed up... and now she sometimes wakes up so early at 5+ that for the last few days, we've been taking her to Botanic Gardens to feed fish, tortoise and birds... she loves it
And it's so therapeutic for me.

gak,
You're so funny about your boy's speech! He's probably saying something but in caveman style (as with all 1 yr olds) and you don't understand lah

smurfy,
Woah, your maid is so emotional... will she not be nice to lil QY in her fits of anger?
Better take leave if you can lah... esp. if you've seen the youtube video that gak posted!

huskie
hehe...hmmm he does seem more like screaming & yelling leh ie ahhhh...
dun think it's speech cuz he calls everyone the same way

do ur babies do the same??
i got feeling he's the late talker kind cuz nv hear 'ba', 'da'...sometimes got 'ma'

smurfy
ya after i seen the video, i think it's better not to leave ur boy alone with the maid cuz dunno wat she'll do to him!
furthermore, i find humans are hard to understand..great pretender
u'll nv know wat's up their sleeves regardless of race, religion

Hi ladies, I'm still working up the courage to view the video :p

smurfy, wah your maid quite immature yah? Guess she knows it's good stuff also lah.. hard to not think of one's stomach.. but yeah not good to leave her alone with QY, esp when she is sulking at you.

milkie, welcome back! how did you figure out the password to unlock your laptop?
come by to collect lah.. u just SMS me first.. your stuff is clogging up my already clogged up house.. haha.. you want my house to be like fatbabe's living room issit? :p

gak,
Maybe you try to talk to him emphasizing single simple words with your mouth?
I've been doing that Soph - recently other than Mama, Dada, Mum Mum... she said "bird", "butt" (for butter while I was spreading it on my own bread), and some other words one-off things like "OK".

Been signing a bit with her too - and sometimes she'll do the milk sign and sleep sign... but depends on her mood lah. If she's happy and wants to, she'll also do the gongxi gongxi sign... hee, but only to pple she likes!

omg just watched the video. I'm horrified.. she could've easily broken the baby's bones! Wonder what kind of damage is done to the baby... she's really crazy!!!! But in the first place hor.. who would leave a 2 month old baby alone with the maid????? I'm sorry but that's soooo wrong.

My sis taught Beth how to 'muak' things and now my daughter is randomly 'muaking' everything - her korkor's backside, the cupboard, my breast, her toys.. haha.. real funny.

Catz,
Beth muaked kor kor's backside?!? haha.... must take a pic of that!

Soph kisses pple in french-kiss style... with tongue sticking out and lots of saliva, so I dont' think I want her muaking anyone's bum

Yeah, it's horrible how the maid yanked the baby from the mattress yeah? Just a 2-month old baby somemore... poor thing!

huskie, yah she goes around muaking EVERYTHING!!! and yeah she does french everything too :p most of the time I have lick marks all over my shirt and arms whenever I carry her :p Silly baby! Wow, it gets worse leh.. the maid like uses the sarong to abuse the kid too.. she swung the sarong really hard. Think she cannot tahan being with the baby whole day long.. but honestly why on earth would any sane parent leave their 2 month old baby with the maid????? it's really just beyond me.

good morning ladies!

cherish is taking her nap..so i steal some time to read and eat my breakfast.

the maid abuse bb video is really too much.

huskie,

sophie is so sweet and her dress is very nice. i am hopeless in needlework..last time home economics i always ask my mum to sew for me.

catz,

that day i caught cherish kissing my dog's thighs area. funny yet disgusting.

me back and boss out ahahhah

catz
yes please post the items for me. will email u the address.. some mummies gotta work and have no family support so gotta depend on maid.. koh is one of them.

cat/huskie
wwhahhahaa.. u girls must enjoy the moments of wet kisses leh.. QY seldom do that to me or the hb.. but always to my mum.. she oso cannot stand wet kisses.. but it's wat we envy having leh

gak
first year giving out ang pows for us. the hb's going give.. i am going to act blur. QY oso cannot stand having something on his hat.. but i keep on putting it.. until he forgets these days.. hahaha gotta keep putting k?

gak/huskie
Y oso cannot stand having something on his hat.. but i keep on putting it.. until he forgets these days.. but the moment he remembers, he will still pull them off hahaha.. hahaha gotta keep putting k?

GOG
me oso first year give ang pow. i think ur $18 or $20 quite good oredi lar

huskie
remember to dress up some of sop's soft toys oso k? i think it is sooo cute..

cherryale
remember to post some birthday pics of A.. feeling better today

fatbabe
whahahhaaha ur house...now everything's gone or cleared up oredi? ehh tyra loves dollin up oso? ekeke i see a real smart tyler in the last pic

gak/cherryale
the thing with maid is that we r at their mercy.. their money is hard earned money, our money falls from sky.
.. my ultities bill is like $200+ per mth leh.. for a 5rm hdb flat and i dun always switch on air-con..

the maid in the youtube
the mummy who posted the video clips, oreomumm(i)y? coincidence or nick or real same person .. i bought things from her in bp before.. met her, young and pretty mum leh

update
QY oso talks in his own languages.. but when he wants to eat.. he goes "eat eat eat eat".. and when it's time to go out.. he goes "gai-gai-gai-gai.." and i tot i hear him making "wu-gui-wu-gui" words when he saw my collection of tortoise figurines. . and yes, he can takes 2 steps unassisted now, before lookin for support and he loves walking with someone guiding one of his hand

Gak, where is this cherie hearts? The fees seem reasonable. Thot of putting YX wif childcare too when she 2 yo but have not done any survey yet. If no subsidy, u know how much will it cost? Dun think PR entitle much subsidy by the time YX goes to childcare.

Smurfy, last Saturday I drove to facial cum shopping myself in Jusco Tebrau JB, leaving my poor hubby wif YX. I was rushing like mad u know as need to buy the drinks, cookies and stuff for cny before and after facial, and managed to reach home by 5.30. The moment I stepped out of car, I heard YX howling inside the house. Obviously this gal refuse to take her nap and wanted to be carried all the time.

Re: FM. I thot I still have a few tins of Nan HA1, but just realized I left with the last tin. Want to let YX try another brand of FM. So bot a box of Enfagrow to let her try yday.

Chery.. I got bitten by YX last Sunday until now the mark is still visible.
So u have finished shopping for ur family?
Re: maidenform spree. U slowly browselah. Hope they will have another sale then we can order. Me also crazy wif ON baby clothes! So nice! U know last sat I went to Jusco at JB kid’s dept for a quick shop, I really can’t bear to buy those clothes as the quality and design of the baby clothes there are really quite lousy compared to those we bot online. Then the price not cheap too! Those more decent ones I saw (Disney brand) cost RM40 over!

KateChow, I have quite a lot of baby gal’s clothes can pass on to ur maid. U can email me at [email protected]. But most likely can only collect after cny. U mind?

Huskie, u are GREAT in sewing!!! Sophie looks so nice on the dress! Not as loose as u describe lei. Really nice dress!!!

Yday afternoon YX fall from our bed. Poor baby and I feel really bad as I was on the bed too... sleeping.
I got blocked the bed wif pillows and bolster. But obviously she pushed thru 1 big pillow and 1 bolster and fall down together wif the pillow and bolster. Luckily seems like no injury on her. But she cried very bitterly loh. Our bed in jb house is quite high, taller than her. Now hubby and I seriously consider getting mattress to put beside the bed and let her sleep on the mattress instead of our bed.

Re: angpow. Will be giving 4 digits to each of our parents. But didn’t tell my hubby how much I am giving as he is more ngiao. Then for YX most likely will give her S$50+RM50. Heihei... I changed new notes for both RM and SGD. Will give RM to kids of my cousins, and SGD to my unmarried cousins. My own nephews/nieces I will give more. Will also give bigger ang pao to my younger sis and hub’s younger sis as both not yet married.

Babe... Tell u frankly. I think tyler gg to grow up to be a handsome man! He has such a charming and innocent smile.

Milk milk... U have been missed!!! Do come in later to update Yoori’s bday bash in Aussie k...

smurfy, can tell that your boss is out.. muahahah.. your postage might add up to a fair bit.. will see how it goes else I suggest you opt for the courier at $7.
Are you in email contact with koh? Poor girl.. she seems so maxed out and she's really a fantastic person.

cherry, you poor girl.. so all in all at least A had a good first birthday yah?

jelly, rgd ON clothes - PRECISELY!!! My silly MIL insist on buying ugly (ok sorry if I've offended anyone) clothes from Cerisi.. alamak, so expensive and the quality is really awful. I find that ON clothes are better and cheaper than Fox too. Maidenform, yah I'm waiting for new promo code.. will update you all again since I know that cherryale is foaming at the mouth already. Teehee... Waaaaah 4 digits angpow.. fwaaaaah... I can only afford 4 digit rupiah angpow.

stella,
Enjoy this week as SAHM!

Yeah, I am soooo afraid Soph will go kiss my cats!

Catz,
I think some pple have no choice but to leave the baby with maid cos maybe no family support?
Yeah, I saw the sarong part... she was kicking the sarong! And the baby seemed to have stopped kicking his legs... I was asking hubby is baby has passed out? But I think probably just stunned and giddy fromt eh hard swinging!

btw, how do you cook chicken for Beth? You cook a piece then shred or ask the grocer to mince for you?

smurfy,
Haha, ok, I'll keep trying to put on hairclips or hairbands on Soph then!
How come your utility bill is sooooo high? My mum's bill was high and later she found the culprit -> the maid was always pretending to wash dishes/baby clothes, but actually just playing with water. Then she also daydreams while ironing clothes, so takes 2 hrs to iron just a few shirts.

Wow, QY can say "eat"? Very impressed! I'm still trying to teach Soph that!

fatbabe
yah yah.. ur tyler is gonna be a girl's killer or auntie's killer with those guai guai but dashing looks. does he follow the daddy..

catz
:p.. yah.. see how it goes for the ON stuffs.. either reg post or courier. whichever one is convenient to u ..

jas
u r another one that money falls from sky kekeke.. my silly hb dun wanna change to ringgit when giving out ang pows to his relatives in malaysia leh
how is poor YX now. i thin it is oso coz that YX sees his daddy as a playmate.. not her caregiver. nowadays QY oso see the daddy as the playmate.. milk, sleep, bath he look for maid or me.

smurfy

i also first year giving angpow..very excited. we have already packed..minnie angpow for girls and mickey for boys.

QY so smart..can talk and walk already. cherish still at babbling stage and learning to stand without support.

huskie and stella dear
the maid did a good job in the "Eat.. eat.. gai..gai part.." but she super emotional type oso.. hb oso told me to be careful with her.. say she is like me, cannot imagine what we will do if we go "crazy".. me scared whahhaa tomorow taking leave oredi... especially now she is sulking hahaha

Eh.... How come u all first year give angpao? For me this is 3rd year liao...

smurfy, me quite broke too recently k, after putting aside the monies for ang pao. I got change some RM new notes to give to younger kids, so oklah...

smurfy, soon QY will be running around the house liao...

Yday we finally went booked YX's bday cake. We booked a 4kg from Lavender bakery in JB. Cannot find something as nice as those from Pinegarden. But hope the cake will at least turn out decent and nice.

huskie
dunno leh..me got try to teach him "YES", "NO", "BYE" with actions but he nv catch it leh...
so envy ur babies can speak liao!

CATZ
i tot maternity leave got 3 mths too..
maybe this mother took her maternity leave earlier?
think this baby wld be better off at an infant care than the maid!
so sad