(2007/02) February

Hows everyone? Tried logging in the whole day of yesterday and wanted to post but cannot leh. So frustrated. Anyway, glad that everything is in order again.

Milkie, you MIA for a while ya. Busy with shopping for ah YR leh. Talking about baby 1st birthday, we are planning a party for Norelle too. So far, Ive booked a place an Italian restaurant with balloon making and sand art. Some activities for the children. I have yet to finalized the design of the cake, invitation cards and the goodie bags. And Im so busy this few weeks. And I have not started looking for The dress for Norelle yet. More things for me to do.

Norelle can stand unsupported now and starting making her first little steps. But shes a bit kiasi lahdont really dare to walk on her own but she can walk very well with the aid of the walker. So I just let her roams everywhere in the living room with the walker.

milkie!!

i agree dat yoori is getting prettier n prettier...!! esp in the first 2 pics...very demure...eh you cek ark le...brought YR go pierce or sticker???

wah you suppose to be "designated baby cook"...now cannot come outing...BLEH!!

i agree dat singaporeans equates price to quality...but i think different people different perception la...i mean like some say TV no good...some say its educational...i think babies muz be exposed early to certain "risk"...then they will develope the immunity for it...

jelly,

think YX looks very much like you yah!..i lurve her cheeks..this one face strawberry shape..kekeke..

garfield,

congrats for half being "xing ma"..hope ZZ can be our thread's star!!...

Smurfy,
As stella said, not all baby girls are demure and ladylike and Norelle is one of them too. Shes nowhere near demure and ladylike. Shes a feisty cilipadi. Now she has already started fighting with my HBs nephew who is 3yo. Imagine that. And she wil NEVER EVER sit still. Not even one second leh. Now she has gained confident and stability in her standing, she wants to stand everytime and EVERYWHERE in her stroller, high chair, bath tub, bed etc...

jelly,

they r going to pick 2 out of these 3 lor. 2 will be final. one is main and the other backup. cos as u knoe, bb can be cranky so guess they dun wan to take chances during the shoot.

stella, thxs. wow... cherish eaten the cakes???? luckily she is alrite.

zz these days also been mistaken as a gal though he wear boy shorts...

he also likes to stand now but always need to hold something... more kiasi.

mummyzeen.
u just reminded me on this.. yesterday that cheeky boy tried standing up on the highchair in the midst of his feed. and when he did that successfully, he gave my mum a wide grin -_-'

thursdae 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY
1)Rachel + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)pekochan + Yunzhi (hb TBA)
6) garfield07 + zz (HB TBA)
7) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
8) longan + Shaun + HB
9) Sunsweet + Smiley J (HB TBA)
10) nana + hb + ryan (TBA)
11) pumpkinni + hb + chloe
12) cherryale +hb +Ashton
13) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
14) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

UPZ...

fatbabe, thxs... didn't expect to be shortlisted too. my mum say zz looks v cute tat day but i told her, everyone sure say their own cute mah... hehe

mummy_zeen, yes now tat he can stand v well w support, he likes to stand everywhere, i.e play yard, play pen, in his buggy. i see if i can download one pic. but he v kiasi cannot let go . only can let go one hand.

fatbabe,

i think can take out pumpkinni cos i think i saw her post cannot make it. hmmm so still on? i hope so lor... mummies, come on join ley...

smurfy, still not sure lar. even go into final 2 doesn't mean he be on tv. cos it depends whether he is the main or backup. if he is the main, he also got to behave tat day. if not, will go to back-up vice versa.

hey show u all zz standing on buggy. he likes to do it even when traveling. v noti boy lar
1107410.jpg

YX also kiasi. She will only let go while standing if she knows someone beside her. But my aunty said recently she will try to let go even though nobody around, so really gotta watch her very closely now.

smurfy, YX exactly like QY want to stand from her high chair. Dangerous man...

skinny_babe, I am always very happy when someone comments YX looks like me! I really want her to look more like me lei.
Her face always red red like apple after playing. My sis always comments she wants to bite her cheeks. keke...

garfield
oic...
hmmm, still can work when sick?
even though they're the carriers but didn't show any symptoms?

really sway lo the Co.!
somemore they manufactured so many types of products beside bakery..

stella,
Haha, tell those pple that you're smart, don't wanna let FM companies make so much money when you can the similar stuff elsewhere.

Gak,
I'm not sure if the skin of beans contains any vits?
But you can peel off skin of dried beans? Isn't it very tough?
I only peel off skin of fresh beans.

milkie,
Woah, you just eat the powder?! Hee, my grandma wouldn't allow me to do that... too expensive!

I was just reading a Baby Care book by Dr Miriam Stoppard... she says after 6 mths, can drink fresh milk liao.

garfield,
Congrats on zz's entry into finals! Good luck!!!

gak,
Yeah, the list is very long, but you know the Americans lah... quite kiasu when it comes to allergies, so they like to play safe lah.

Not sure about the nutrition in fresh milk, but ai rememebr smurfy mentioning that her PD says babies only need milk for the calcium?
Fresh milk or FM both definitely has lots of calcium!

huskie/gak
yah yah.. i had wanted to post this... yes, QY's PD told me that it is not right to reduce solids so as to increase milk feeds (coz that time QY having milk strike) and said that as they grow older, they shldn't be drinking milk whole day long.. if milk is really nutritious, they can just drink milk and forget abt solids, told me he saw some bbs who have a phobia towards milk bottles n milk coz the mummies always try to force the bb to drink milk, causing unneccesaary stress on the bb.. (dunno whether coz he was too tired that day after seeing so many ppl, but his tone to me was kinda harsh when i asked shld i reduce solids to increase his milk).. to him, drinking milk 2 - 3times per day is enough (each time ard 140ml) Mrs. Wong frm TMC oso told me not to worry so much abt the milk intake..so long as we can sneak milk into his food or give him alternative calcium source.. she's another one into fresh milk, say her son never drink FM after graduating frm breastmilk,.

anyway, different people different opinions.. so long as u feel that it is the best for ur kiddo..

jas
yes, they r always up to dangerous stints these days.. but... but.. they just give u the very proud look whenever they did something, right? like they had just achieved something? haiz... the highchair n the bed.. both QY and YX same..

kekeke all mummies hoping for their bbs to take their first step without support soon ar? me opposite, i just want QY to crawl for as long as possible..i mean they can walk for the rest of their lives right? (n once they learnt walking, i dun think they want to be down on all 4s again right?) heard that crawling's very good for coordination skills... me crawling with him these days kekeke..

my mum told me i drank FM till pri sch.. i remember i still take nespray even in pri6 , only sec sch then i drink low fat milk..no wonder my baby fats is still around

stella,
Haha, you're so cute... blame your mum for your baby fats huh?

But I agree that FM is so full of fats!
You know, I love those Nespray advertisement when I was younger, and wished my mum would buy that for me. But she gave me Dumex, which I hate, so in the end, I cut out FM early.
Then again, if she had given me Nespray, I'd probably have gagged!

smurfy,
I agree with your PD that babies can get their nutrients from their daily food other than milk... look at a cow - afetr it weans itself off as a calf, it only eats greens, and it still grows so big... i'm sure it got its calcium from the greens!

I think I will try rice milk on Soph next
since I've got a few cartons at home!
Today she slurped 50ml of my oat milk for breakfast... and so quickly too!

HUSKIE
keke...after the beans are soaked, the skins very easy to peel off le ;)

yup! saw her post abt her PD saying babies no need so much milk now!
hmmm...so they only need calcium uh?
wah like very easy lo

SMURFY
Thanks so much!
2-3times of 140ml/feed?

aiyo the baby so poor thing hor..got phobia towards milk bottles & milk!
how to get calcium? from veggies uh?

how's ur hse reno coming along?

my dear gak
QY got serious phobia on milk bottles arr.. the moment we put the hankie on him, he whines.. coz he know milk comes next.. so now we gotta spoonfeed him milk.. coz spoons r used during his mealtimes n the strange thing is he is really okie with spoon n not milk bottles... :/

house reno in a mess. reno guy cannot complete the work.. told us one batch of carpenters went on strike after scolding them off for sneaking off halfway doing our job on sat.. now camping at mum's place

re: ikan bilis/silver fish powder
any mommies know how to make this?

can share receipe pls?
after wash ikan bilis/silver fish,
how to dry?
or no need dry can straight away put into wok to
stir fry it?
without oil?
Can keep for how long? in fridge?

THANKS!!!

STELLA
hehe..that's a good one!
erm, so u got big boobs too? ;P keke..
my poly gf told me she drank lots of milk & eat lots of cheese that's y her boobs so big..
TRUE???

SMURFY yo!
u ever tot of giving QY milk in sippy cups??
either straw or sprout?

my boy loves finger food!
think he finds finger food more delicious...
cuz when i spoon feed him eg banana, he won't eat
but when i use my fingers to feed him, he wld eat!
weird boy! think he's a CAVE-man! wahahahaa!

he very happy when he sees me munching food using my hands,
wld come looking for me to give him some *faint*
didn't know he so greedy!
kekeke..

re: FM
erm, till now i still will drink Nespray occasionally lo ;P
i love to add milo to FM!
taste like HOT CHOCOLATE! ;)
very rich, creamy & FATTENING!!! keke

Juz LOVES it!

gak, i also never do it b4... interested to knoe too...

only recently then he started cod fish... rem he cough for more than 1 mth!!!

we discover once we stop feeding cereal, he seem to stop... hmmm.....

gak, for the white bait, this is what I do:
Wash, dry in the sun, grind into powder. If it's a cloudy day, dry fry it in a wok (with no oil) over small fire before ginding. I make like 100gms each time and I keep it in the fridge in a tuperware. I'll add half teaspoon to his porridge sometimes for taste. So far ok... any mummies care to share if this is correct?

garfield, my boy loves codfish! But i can't tahan the strong fishy smell. Even if I bathe him after his meal, I seem to be able to smell a bit of the fish afterwards. yucks. Doesn't help that he rubs it into his hair during meals i guess :p Ask you ah, does your cod fish smells REALLY fishy? Am wondering if it's because I get it from cold storage instead of the wet market that's why the smell is so strong...

gak,
I made silverfish powder for Soph last week... used PVL's method... here's what she wrote (hee, I saved it into my file called "Tips from PVL"):

"Yes, I bought the dried version, the most expensive variety (from Japan, apparently). Not so salty, and not so dirty. I don't remove the heads or anything. Too small mah. I wash, drain, dry fry til nearly all crispy, then bake in the oven to crisp everything evenly. Grind in dry grinder til powder. I do the same with ikan bilis, but I haven't let Ben try ikan bilis yet. "

Oh, Soph also eats more when I use my hands to feed her, e.g. with bread. So when she's real fussy and don't wanna eat her porridge, I feed her bread.

What dried beans have u been feeding your boy?
I've only fed lentils, which doens't have much skin so no need to peel.

winnie, wet market fish is super fresh.. that's why usually no fishy smell
if you freeze the fish when it's fresh, thre won't be fishy smell later also.

garfield, i really hope zz gets the deal!!! should be quite lucrative and you can jumpstart his education savings!
i did a johnson's baby ad when i was a baby and i made A LOT of money..heee..

arrghhh... stupid neighbour reno is driving me mad.. 2 months already.. today is ultra loud drilling and hammering until bethany cannot sleep

double arggghhh.. i got my period! no wonder milk supply so low these days.. wonder how man.. should i go on the pill? :p

catz, gals,

zz is the final 2 but the standby bb. tat means he might not be in the TVC.

anyway, he get paid (not so bad price) to go there so okie lor. treat it as an exp for me n him.

i think not true that fresh milk means cheaper than FM lor. Anywayz, if your baby likes FM then let him/her take FM lor. I dont' think there is a bad or good thing about FM. I think it's ok to expose the babies to different types of milk then when you run out of say FM, you can always give fresh milk or soya milk etc. I always opt for the most convenient way to raise babies...:p no point making my life harder. he he

garfield, congrats on zz being the potential baby star. Gong xi gong xi. Is gong xi the right word to use here?? Hee hee

smurfette, you got something against me is it??
i quote
"milk milk milk
hahaha so i am not the only one who dun take FM? in fact i dun like milkie stuffs, except for ice-cream and ice-blended drinks.. my mum said i wean off FM very early..n that QY follows me, dun like milk"

why u don't like milkie ?????? Whyyyyy?? whyyyy??? heehehehehehehe

u very picky about what milky stuff u take hor?? the sweet and delicious ones that u take lah ie. ice cream and ice blended drinks. Plain milk don't take lah...yogurt don't take lah....cheese don't take lah???? :p

Jello, skinny babe, u two very smart lah...basket. wanna fool u guys also so hard. YA LAh, YR's 'nose stud' is actually a scab. hee hee she scratched herself and that is the remains of the scratch. U girls tai chong ming le.

Mummyzeen, I think Norelle is really very fast in learning how to walk. My YR can stand unsupported for a while..but she has not ventured out to taking little steps by her own yet. Hope she can learn how to walk by the time we come back from melb.
Norelle is so lucky to have such a big party planned out for her. I think you will enjoy shopping for THE DRESS.
Just make sure you don't overbuy too many dresses cos you can't decide.

Skinnybabe, Oyyyyy U don't arrow me for this type of cook job can???? :p Later your kids kanna poisoned then u guys come and find me right?? very smart. hee hee

oh btw, frankly speaking i think my baby food should be not that bad leh. That day one of mymummy friend came over with her 15 mth old son and she was complaining that she prepared 2 lunches for him and he took a bite of each and refused to touch them. Then I offered her some of YR's frozen foods...The bugger ate them all and he kept coming back for more leh. WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA zai not??? I'm a super baby cook. :p :p

Huskie, we were not allowed to eat the Milo powder on its own too but then my bro and i smarter than the adults mah. We had a strategy. One of us go and distract the maid and my aunt, while the other will go to the kitchen to open up the milo tin with a spoon and scoop some out in a bowl. Then we will enjoy it later.

susu, thxs thxs... there will be a TVC and photo shoot on 2 sep days. zz just watch n get $ kekeke thinkin of the worse scenario la but it also a gd thing. at least get paid so dun mind going.

u eat milo like tat? v sweet ley... u must be a noti gal when young. hahaha...

u so gd cook... hehe prepare some for our gathering... haha

WAH! yesterday SMH was down most of the time!

GARFIELD
congrats!!!

even though standby baby but at least still get paid doing nothing huh! ;)

re: cod fish
my mom heard from news that deep sea fish not good for babies cuz of high mercury content...
my mom wld only buy fish that cld be caught with fishing rodes now

HUSKIE
i gave him Kidney Beans yesterday

2day i'm giving him another type but i can't remember wat's the name..after i check let u noe k
but this bean more difficult to peel
kidney beans easier...

i got the red lentils on standby to give him oso!
keke

WINNIE
thanks for the recipe!
takes how many days to sun till completely dry uh?

HUSKIE
wow! u got a PVL file?
must hv many treasures inside!
share share leh!! keke ;)

MILKIE
still say u can't cook!
even ur gf's kiddo loves ur Baby Food!

orange cat, your zz very good leh...so young already can earn money for u guys. He is the youngest earner here. hee hee

I was notti definitely as a child..actually my bros and i all were very mischievous and always rebelled. Husband also not a very good boy. So I hope that YR will be much better.

Eh, i really can't cook lah...u know i've never really tasted YR's foods before. but i never put unnatural things in her food lah. It's all natural flavours from the foods.

gak,
I don 't know why the boy liked my foods though. His mum actually puts salt and don know what other nice yummy stock in his foods....he has even tasted chicken rice lor...pretty adventurous. maybe it's just something new to him that is why he likes it?? hee hee

MILKIE
salt for a 15mth old?
too young a not uh??

that time when my boy was hospitalise hor
the mommy beside us fed put salt in her baby's plain porridge..& he's only 6mths old!

milkie arr..
got nothing against u.. just abt milk in its simplest form.. yah yah think me choosy abt my dairy products :p n i love cheese! i oso dun put seasoning.. only natural flavours.. but i think it tasted yucky bland ... dunno how come the boy can finish everything...

winnie
could it be that u r feeding ur boy fish too often.. got one time when i first intro fish..it's like everyday fish for the 1st week.. he oso got a smelly head even after bath.. think it came out as sweat.

garfield!!!
definitely good exposure for zz... haahah let's hope the other bb is cranky and zz gets to be on tv afterall.. :pPPpP

smurfy, tat v bad thinkin ;p
but u know when i told my mum n maid, tat wat they reply too! evil evil... hahahha... anyway, it still ok whether he gets in or not.

yes, so young can earn $ liao but his $ will put into his bank lor... hehe

i think it intersting to see the TVC b4 it is shown on tv... then get to see zoe too. haha
I think i more excited than him *oops

gak, ya lor. think b4 1 yr, cannot put salt into bb food. i rem my nephew was given condensed milk into his coarse rice cos he eat v little so my mum thot add more taste. in fact, the reason y he doesn't eat is he simply eat the same food everyday! sian rgt?

GARFIELD
yup!
even i eat same food for 2 meals/day i oso xianz lah!

i read somewhere that baby's taste bud's very sensitive so even if we taste the food & find it very bland, the baby wld find it full of taste!

amazing rite!

think cuz we too use to seasoning liao ;P

milkshake,
NOSE STUD!!!!????!!!! *tsk tsk tsk*

stella,
I won't laugh at you... I too don't believe that FM is worth that hype. Sarah was on full cream milk from about 1 yr old til now. We grew up on it, so what's wrong with it?

huskie,
!!!! uhhhhh...... what's this file about? Oh dear. I need to go and hide.

Catz,
guess I should try to drag my butt over to the wet market super early to get Ethan's fish then. Tried marketing at the wet market twice... but they always kotok me one leh. Sianz... how to get into the "regular customer" crowd ah? Hehehe.

Gak, I usually ask my maid to do it on a sunny day. So she starts sunning at 8am and it'll be dry by 4pm. (My wash area got very strong morning sun mah). But pvl's method of baking it to dry evenly seems good leh.

Smurfy, comes out from the sweat?!?! Heng never feed him giam chai man. Hehehe. So the mummies with little princesses should feed their precious rose tea ok? Then can be xiang xiang gong zhus. Wahaha.

Actually, ya, Ethan eats fish everyday. But now that he eats 3 meals a day, and about 5 cubes each time, very difficult not to repeat leh. Example, for today, his menu is like this:

Breakfast - oats, avocado, chicken (which has some carrots), zucchini, apples
Lunch - Brown rice porridge with soup stock, fish , broccoli, kailan, carrots, pear
Dinner - Brown rice porridge, white bait powder, tofu, pork (which contains a little apple and potato), french beans, spinach.

Then everyday it's essentially the same things but in different combinations. Sometimes throw in egg yolks, huai shan, peach etc to replace another item in the same food group. But i pity that boy leh... been eating the same stuff for so long. Yucks. Milky, share your recipes can?

PVL, I know what's in the file! How to spank Ben's thigh and when to introduce the cane! Wahahaha. Next time huskie got excuse mah, can tell sophie it's auntie PVL teach one.

garfield, congrats to zz being the final 2!!! Heihei... If he appears on tv i can proudly tell ppl i met this little boy b4. Hei...

Milk milk!!! I know it!!! U wanna fool us ha? If real nose stud ur PIL sure hammer u one, rite rite???

smurfy and all... I am selling away my playyard and the mummy is coming to collect it to9...