(2007/02) February

garfield
i think i will be eating n drinking air soon.. whahhaha still in the process of getting items for the house... n still buying from bps..

huskie
my dear huskie.. kekeke so u r getting some bks online frm xxx. do u think i can copy n paste ur order? or can u just order one more set of everything? whahhaha :p lazy to browse thr leh.. wahahah i spent one whole morning browsing websites,.. and still not complete leh..

jas
hahaha can u chase them out? err the housemate is easier right? i keep on telling the hubby n the maid "QY's room will onli have QY's thing".. must reinforce arr.. otherwise become another storeroom or study room. :p

jello, i tell u ya....check out chateau de sable at tanglin mall or paragon. the dresses there very sweet....i will fly to melb early jan...so maybe still got time to shop a little for her birthday dress. But i bought a few backups just in case i can't find any there lah.

which BPs u got dresses from??? nice not?????

aiyoh, only morning then already maxed out 2 sprees. Catz, try to squeeze me in hor!

milkie, i ordered some clothes havent decided which one to let A wear..oh yah, havent bought shoes for A..headache. Where to get nice shoes? btw, anyone bought shoes from this shoe shop at forum, think second floor. The shop looks quite messy but they carry quite a number of brands.

garfield, yah, the catering will kill cos its CNY rates! I told mil that this time round I want to do a small gathering as I had spent thousands on the first month, thanks to my inlaws. Even though after that they gave a chq to A as his present, its as good as using that to pay for all the expenses. But no matter how I cut the number of guests, I still have to cater for at least 50 pax, so if I take $15 per pax, it will cost me $750. heartpain and out of these 50 pax, only 6 couples are my hb and mine friends. Reminds me of wedding, more than half the crowd are inlaws' friends and associates and hb and I didnt have a choice but reduce on the number of friends to invite.

1103241.jpg

Re: buying toys and clothings

i think i am one very lousy and lazy mum. only recently i buy clothes and toys for her. previously, all clothes are hand me downs. And i din buy toys for her cos cherish was not interested in them..Only recently i start to stop ard for her items.like garfield, i also got to screen and think thrice b4 deciding on the purchase.

luckily for me , while i was deciding on getting books, my auntie gave me a big bag full of board books last sat. But to be fair to others, i leave it at my grandma place, so other children can use also.

zz also got toys from hands me down...

some are still rather good.

ya cherry, my hb wans both bbq n buffet n i not sure how much!!! cos he wanna split to 2 days as he expect alot of ple...

but guess we will invite more frens this time as last time our 1st mth we didn't invite many ple as it was a wkday.

Catz,

I would like to join in the leapfrog BP.. let me view what i need tonight, when I'm home, then I'll PM u the details okie..

Many Thanks!

Wah is a spree-crazy week..I abit tight budget cant buy now..anyway, I'm strictly Glenn Doman for Yael for now (cos no time to do so many different programs)..but a bit old-fashioned no gadgets or computer stuff lah, but lots of books..he has alot of toys too..n only plays with them for few days n that's it.

Milkie! U MIA quite some time leh..
SO how u goin to celebrate for YR?

We intend to hav combined house-warming n bday celebration for Yael.

I realise our new place in Pasir Ris is huge..compared to my in-laws 4 room S..lots of space to clean up..my hb n I swept n mopped the whole house ytd..dont know if can cope with the cleaning part..if we can afford, intend to ask hb if I can get a part-time cleaner.

wow planning for BB 1st b-day..

My hub had no idea how to celebrate..

Me still thinking dun want to hold it at home cos will certainly be messy.. Pasir ris Chalet a bit far leh.. I'm at Jurong West...

wow all planning for 1st yr party already.

actually i was not very keen to hold cos my thinking is cherish is still young, dunno how to enjoy yet. BUt hb already plan to get a 2 kg cake, which means he wants to have a party loh.. anyway, we will be doing it on cherish lunar birthday and we will follow alot of traditional stuff like step ang ku kueh and pick items etc

i m holding his bd party on his english date... is it ok?? cos my mil keep sayin why not on his lunar bd but it is on CNY itself? will ple come meh?

but on his lunar bd, we will let him step ang ku keuh and select items.

step ang ku kueh? Pick items?

Hehe wat else ppl do.. i'm just curious.. always heard abt them but never know how its practiced.

hehe i was thinking should celebrate her lunar or ang moh date..
lunar day - ppl still busy with visiting.
ang moh date - is weekday.. on yuan xiao..

hey re the baby's 1st year..

i always tot its quite funky & cool to do a traditional 1 yr bdae..coz i quite "traditional" actually...but hor..i haf no idea wat to do...wakakka...

my kids bdae...er..sumtimes abit no sweat..i oso dunno who to invite...coz invite my own frens like defeat the purpose...n plus i oso dun haf more than a handful of frens wif kids..haiz...end up celebrate wif family lor..coz they haf lotsa kids...keke

smurfy, chase them out??? Cannot lah... The housemate cum tenant is a fren. Actually we are trying to matchmake my sister and my housemate as both of them are single and available and very similar in character. Heihei... But somehow think they are too similar until no spark. Haiz...

Milk milk, i bot a few simple dresses for her normal wear and cny from the biz thread here. Oso love the 2 dresses i bot from old navy. U know i hardly got time to go OUT shopping nowadays lah... Haiz... Wow, u oredi bot dresses for YR's bday plus spare ones somemore. YR will be wearing traditional korean costume also rite? u have got that for her oredi as well?

Cherry!!! A looks so much different now than previous photo posted by u! A still looks babyish lah. Good good!

Charis, yes, if can better get part time cleaner to clean for u! It's really no joke to clean a new house, especially the dust after reno. I have experienced 3 times oredi. And now we "smarter", wld rather pay for someone to clean for us then we scrub ourselves.... Well, we still involved in the cleaning but not as much as if we have to clean EVERYTHING ourselves.

sunsweet

step ang ku kueh is to signify good life onwards i think.. the ang ku kueh is bigger than the normal ones that we eat.

pick item - got alot of items : pen/calculator/$$$/food etc. wat the baby picks determines what his profession - pen = calculator , calculator = accounts etc

jelly,
I hope you like the book... heee, if you don't like it, don't scold me OK?
But seriously, this book has got enough words and pages to keep till kid is 3 yrs old... and it introduces baby to the world of Eskimos!

I think the 4 for price of 3 deal is over already... now they're running a 23% discount.
Some books' list price is slightly higher than the stores, but after 23% off, should be the same or slightly cheaper.
Beats going to a madhouse bookstore where you cannot find the books and have little cavemen tailgating me to snatch my books!

For delivery, yep, unfortunuately only above $80... but that day at Borders itself, I already spent $80+ on 5 books.
Hee, still cannot beat smurfy's record though!

smurfy,
I really pei fu you... such a good mummy... go out so early to market while everyone still sleeping?
And so many books for QY too!

As for books, yep, I was disappointed with the Dollardays books too... only the Spin-A-Song books are quite good. Soph also uses the small chunky books as hammer

Eh, I'm no longer ordering anything from Acma... jelly is! Maybe you can combine order with her?
But if you want my recommendation, these are the other 3 books I got besides the 2 Eric Carle ones (which I guess you've already bought
):
Huskie's Book Review:
1. Mama, Do you love me?
http://www.acmamall.com/rethink.books?id=1f0e3dad99908345f7439f8ffabdffc4&ncache=1ffad52036ae23351912d6a211f39fd2&pid=244261
- see review above

2. My big animal book
http://www.acmamall.com/rethink.books?id=1f0e3dad99908345f7439f8ffabdffc4&ncache=53b6bc74c2a67986b4c1d4ac26e88eb8&pid=613813
- similar to the ones from Dollardays but Dollardays didn't have the animal one
- just pictures of different types of animals and their pictures which I thought can intro to baby before bringing her to see the real thing at the zoo... partly also cos I'm too lazy to find pictures of animals to make my own flashcards

3. Night Night Baby, illustrated by Kate Merritt
- can't find this one on Acma
- but it's a really nice good night book with flaps inside for baby to flip and see a sleepy face behind
- words rhyme too, like " Floppy Bunny Likes to Snuggle, Who is ready for a Cuddle?"
- good for a good night book if you haven't already got one

When I can get hold of some Richard Scarry books or other books that I think is good, then I'll give you my book review OK?

stella,
You're Hokkien? I've heard about the stepping on ang ku kueh and pick items tradition! Sounds like fun... I'm wondering if I wanna do it too

Charis,
It's so nice to have a large place! Remember not to stock it up with too much furniture for the housewarming, else the cleaning up will kill cos have to move so many things... just the basics first.

You're still doing Glenn Doman? The English set? Do you very strictly flash 15 times a day?
I find that I don't have that much time to flash... plus Soph is always crawling away or busy with something else!

cherry,
A's got nicely gel-ed hair! Haha, or did you make him crawl around the whole house till he sweat?
Yep, he's really babyish looking... and still so chubby

You signing up for TLG's next term Sat 510pm class?

catz, think i will get one since it seems rather educational after reading it in website.

however do u knoe wat software does it includes cos I thinking of buying one more software...
does it includes thing like Little Leaps Software: Say It, Baby! / Multilingual ?

garfield, nope, it includes a sample disc of games so you'll prob need to buy 2 more games to make it interesting for baby

milkie, big spender!

ok forgot to add - collection is at my place at AMK st 11.. gotta clear the stock asap 'cos my husband will pop a vein in his head..haha..
my parents are moving house so lots of my junk is also coming over to my house so my house is macham warehouse already.

managed to find a courier but he can only take a certain amt.. 'cos he's on a motorcycle. anyway, looks like confirmed hv to open spree 3. :p shack..

sunsweet
i oso dunno where to celebrate.. most probably in my home.. (housewarming oso.. kill 2 birds in one stone.. but poor timing.. CNY week hahaha)
mine most likely just a small get-together lor.. will try to find friends who have young bbs at QY's age grp lor?

charis.
yah mine is housewarming cum QY's birthday celebration

stella
me wanna do somethingg coz QY DUN have 1st mth celebration at all..

jas
sometimes close proximity kills..kicks one out... maybe they will paktor.. then hopefully they get married and u chase both out.. whahaha :D

catz
u wait for the payment hor..

huskie
can dun keep on reminding everyone of the purchase? :x whahaha eeeks.. going kino is messy.. like a library like that.. but i oso went crazy there the other time..remember me when u getting richard scurry's books hor? no choice.. i dun wanna miss out alot when QY wakes up, then the hb oso needs to rest lor, so best is i go out myself early in the morning (at times i bring the maid along?

cherryale
A looks like one happy boy
dun be too stressed up, k?

huskie

i am hakka but maternal side is hokkien..grew up in hokkien environment and hb is hokkien too..yah i love traditions , perserve our heritage.

smurfy,
u really a very devoted and good mum.

all mummies,

help!!! my little terror is throwing tantrums lately. discipline mistress, pls teach me how to handle this situation:

lately cherish refuse to sit in her stroller. after a while, she will turn her head and stretch her arms and cry..wanting me to carry her. Wat me and hb do is to let her cry until we reached the destination(ie : playground) then carry her. The most problematic is while we are outside eating..last time she can sit inside and wait for us to finish. i even tried to give her toys etc, but no use.

we are trying the cry it out method, hoping that she can revert back.

I suspect becos when i bring her out alone, i use a carrier, thats y she is used to being closed to me

sigh..last time scared she dont like carrier, now the problem is she likes carrier, but dislike her stroller

huskie,
I gelled his hair that day. If its left to nature, it will be sweaty messy hair like those old auntie with messy curls
Actually I think A 'lost' weight. I was doing the photobook last night and he was so much chubbier when he was 4 to 5 months old. Now, he is very lean, no more baby fats, so sad.

jelly/huskie, yah he is the rare ones in feb thread that still look like a baby. maybe he knows he has to retain youthful look before I have time to bring him for studio pics. actually I feel very very guilty that I dun spend enough time with him and to do all these things like bringing for pics etc.

For TLG, it depends, are u confirm already?

Jelly,smurfy, stella, thanks for sharing how you spend time with your babies. like I said, I feel very guilty and upset. Last night before I slept, I told hb that A doesnt know I am his mummy. Instead he called my helper "mamama". I am not a workaholic but just no choice given this job and at my level, I cant just walk away and leave the things undone. But next year may be better cos I will have a new boss
hopefully together we can come up with something to lessen the dept burden.

smurfy, you are really wonderful, can wake up so early to pump milk and go to the market.

Need mummies' advice on how I can squeeze out more time for A. Currently on weekdays, by the time I reach mil's place, its usually 9pm, we will have dinner (A is already sleeping) then drive home. By the time reached home, I will take a bath, then A will continue to sleep. Should I feed A his 10.30pm milk? Then carry him to sleep? Do you think it will make any difference? Cos he will be sleeping right?

then on weekends, i do spend a few hours with him, playing with him, carrying him but I get tired after a while then maid will take over. on sunday, we will go to church etc, so not much time by the time we reach home.

btw, to update on A's social skills. Yesterday he was extremely sociable. We were in the 'cry' room and when he saw the other kids mostly 14months and above, he actually crawled to them and started his baby language
throughout the hour, he was playing alongside them. Thank God, I was beginning to think of him as the most unsociable caveman or worst if he is autistic..thank God that he is picking up now.

now I know why A is in 50th percentile for weight and height. There were two other babies there and they were 6 mths and 4.5mths and they are both 8 and 7 kg respectively. And A is only 8 kg+ although he is almost 10mths. Scary how some babies can be so huge.

huskie, I think i will get the books, but need time to read up first.the mama do you love me sounds good. Thanks for sharing.

catz, I emailed you my order already

Update: Leapfrog orders placed for GOG, milkie, smurfy

cherry, I've got your orders.. pending for spree #3. Prob yours will be with Sunsweet. Waiting for Freya'a mommy to make payment also. Blur already.. did I send you my ac details yet?

catz, hahaha in the end, it seems i order quite a no of items... i more interested in the little touch one... as it is portable and can bring around.... but then i see the other system also rather cheap. jia lat... how to save $?

garfield...hehe.. I just told smurfy that if I give her items to the courier guy, he will fall off his bike! muahahahahahah... Yah Little Touch is portable but er.. seem tia lor, bring outside might get stolen 'cos it's really so pricey. If you wanna be focused, then only Little Leaps and Little Touch are suitable for ZZ at this moment. Later then buy the other systems

OK spree #3 only has $75 slot left unless Freya's mummy backs out.

Wah, need spree to keep this thread alive ah? See how active milkie becomes when got spree..hahaha

dot dot dot..

ehh me not good mummy leh.. my hb keeps on nagging me to bath QY n change his diapers.. but both i never do..
1. coz bathing one boy is like bathing urself oso, u get hot n wet..
2. if i change diapers for him, i sure lose temper one.. coz most of the time, so fidgety.. (but i did that yesterday coz the maid is sent to the new place to clean up n his diaper never change for a few hrs,luckily he in half drowsy stage :p)

and me n hb got super bad time management.. so gotta run errands on our own, leaving QY at home.. and coz of same reason, seldom bring QY out oso.. especially now stuck in the new house thingie..

catz,

i getting both little touch n little leaps plus other software lar... n it cost over sgd100 liao...

how how?? can add me or not?

think if courier guy see mine, will faint instant!

catz, u havent give me your account details. yah man, this thread moves damn fast with spree.

garfield, i have the little touchpad but it serve different purpose from little leap. Think boys may like little leap cos like playing game
Quick put in your order before spree 3 also closed. at least leapfrog is educational toy lah, so dun feel so bad.

die lah, today I have no mood to do work.

cherryale
when both u and the maid are outside, do u or the maid carry A or who pushes the stroller? and when dining outside, if A fusses, who is the one who tends to him? when we have meals outside, if this lil boy fusses in his high-chair right? me n hb will tend to him lor.. ends up both of us have had to eat quickly.. entertains him.. distract him.. wheras the maid can enjoy a slow meal looking ard.. not the best scenerio for most ppl who have maids to help out.. but me n hb still wants to do it this way

smurfy, when we are out, its the maid who will have to eat fast then tend to A as both hb and I eat damn slow. If walking around, typically I will be the one carrying A or if stroller then hb will be the one pushing. Maid will carry shopping bags. But if its time to feed milk when outside, usually maid will feed.

cherry
me oso no mood to work.. kekeke tomorow must work n dun surf net liao.. luckily boss out of town tis weej again, can own time own target :p

actually having a maid got its pros and cons..whenever i am alone with cherish or out with her (esp when she is fussing) i wished i got one extra pair of hands.

huskie, i have added the animal book to my shopping cart.
U dun have links for the other two??? Too many titles, quite difficult to determine which are the good books to buy and the website does not indicate the books are for which age group. Think S$80 not difficult to achieve if i partner wif smurfy. haha...

smurfy, cannot kick them out yet as i need them to help me to play wif YX when i busy wif housework!!! Wahaha...

cherry, why dun u feed A instead of ur maid. I think it is a good bonding time! Though YX has started holding her milk bottle and drink herself since 3 months old, i like to sit beside her and see her drinking milk.

stella, YX is exactly like cherish now!!! Even change diaper she wants to stick tight tight to me. Like that how to change? So that day i hit her bare buttock hard hard a few times when she refused to let me change diaper for her and end up crying loud loud. I thot she will hate me but poor little one a minute later forgot i beat her just now and smile widely at me. These few nites she does not want to take her naps and wake up many times at nite crying for mama. Haiz...

With our dear smurfy's order in, we finally can close bday direct spree. YAY!!!

questions..

I'm keen to have little leappad.. but there's limited books.. should i get the leappad instead?

mummies whats your advice?

Jelly

huh i thot YX is a angel baby all the while. but she is still ok when u put her in car seat or high chair right? cherish hor... even sit in car also want me to hug her face to face.

last sat she cried all the way from market to home in her stroller. On the way back, i feel so useless and helpless..she cried i also cried, when i reached home, i also out of control, use my hands and bit her buttocks repeatedly. Then she cried to sleep , and i feel so guilty

sunsweet, leappad is too advanced for little J. Little Touch has quite a number of books, just perhaps not all of them on sale lor. Get 2-3 books already can.

stella, yah I know how you feel. I've spanked Timo out of anger before and I feel like s*** after that. I will say sorry to him.. 'cos it's not right to hit in anger
But we are human.. don't beat yourself up over it yah?

Cherry
Yep, agrees with jas. Needs to find more bonding time for ur case. And I feel that it does makes a difference as in who tends to the bb whenever he/she fusses.

Jas
:p.. I think I better hibernate soon hahaha.. going to live on air n water liao no lar. Me now interested in book stuffs n educational stuffs I did not buy clothes for him for a long long time.. everyday in sexy rompers or sexy lil singlets with holes, all washed until loose and became sexy off-shoulders clothes ..n when he crawls by pushing his hands, he showed his sexy lil nipples liao.. whahaha :p I am soo thankful mine is a boy and I never saw the pooh bear birthday direct items earlier (but the pooh bear theme sooooooo cute!).. otherwise sure spend more.. :x

Stella
Sorry that u have to went through that can understand coz me very impatient n bad tempered type.. went through those moments when QY was a newborn..

sunsweet, leappad is too advanced for little J. Little Touch has quite a number of books, just perhaps not all of them on sale lor. Get 2-3 books already can.

stella, yah I know how you feel. I've spanked Timo out of anger before and I feel like s*** after that. I will say sorry to him.. 'cos it's not right to hit in anger
But we are human.. don't beat yourself up over it yah?

Stella, Jelly,

My J is also sticking to me and my MIL like glue.. not giving us a space to breathe.. and keep whining when we dun carry her.. so sometimes i give her a spank too on her diaper as a form of warning.. but right after give her a hug and tell her its why mummy angry loh..

dun know if she understands or not but at least i tell her why i get angry.. else i think she will also be blur why mummy behave this way..worst still if she finds my rection amusing :p

over the weekend Lil J had runny nose and slight fever.. bad time for both me and her esp at night when she keep whining/ cry out loud in her sleep... i think partially due to teething and partially due to hub having a mild runny nose.. sigh..

but luckily she should be recovering cos things got better last night.. hopefully she's back in good health soon.. cos mummy wants to spend her b-day with her baby this weekend...

humm ok catz.. thanks for your advise.. I'll try to look thru and send in my orders to u asap..

eh u still taking in orders?? keke

smurfy

at least QY turns better each day lor.. cherish haiz..to say it nicely, give me new challenges everytime.

cherry,

agree with jelly and smurfy..cos to babies quantity time is more crucial than quality time.
Babies tend to form a close relationship to the person who tends to them most.

cherry,

think i worse than u... i wan to fight over w maid then can carry my zz.

if outside, for his lunch, dinner, the maid always feed him while we have dinner. but we r still sitting in 1 table and still got see him so i guess it alrite if u wan to take yr time eating.

i just make sure that everyday i interact w him can liao so that he not so sticky to maid.

but at times like we having dinner, i would prefer to eat first. as long as zz is in our sight and then if i finish my food, i can take over too. rather tahn every1 gathering around him watching him eat. n i think he eat better when we having dinner like him. just my thots.

hello gals
long long time nvr post here liao...hehehe..
our xmas gathering still on boh??
shld be able to join...
ok, my boy napping now..i going to shower... keke

cherry,
yep, I'm confirmed for the TLG Sat 510pm class. Signed up for only 7 classes, in case there are some Saturdays that I cannot make it and lazy to go for makeup class.
Actually, A looks heavier than 8kg. My hubby also commented that he's quite chubby looking.

smurfy,
OK, OK, no more reminders on your splurge

I'll give you book review on and off... cos the Bishan library has a good children's section, just that it's school holidays now, and alot of the books are out. Can you believe I cannot even find a single Richard Scarry book on the shelf?!

jelly,
The other 2 books you're talking about are the Eric Carle ones that I bought?
The links are here:

Mixed Up Chameleon (Acma price of $15.01 is cheaper than Borders $15.55, so with 23% off, good deal!)
http://www.acmamall.com/rethink.books?id=1f0e3dad99908345f7439f8ffabdffc4&ncache=e9b4c7b4487e020b6dc37c5b4f6302c4&pid=199477

The Very Hungry Caterpillar (dunno why Acma retails at $21.75 when Borders only sells it for $15.55)
http://www.acmamall.com/rethink.books?id=1f0e3dad99908345f7439f8ffabdffc4&ncache=bf1da27fe7c2675ee37d3f39ee5b790f&pid=105006

As for the Night Night Baby book that Acma does not have, it's this one on Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Night-Baby-Touch-Feel/dp/0721481353/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1196671148&sr=8-5
If you really want it, you can email Acma to source for you. I paid only $8.05 for it at Borders.