(2007/02) February

on throwing tantrums
disciplinary mistresses... am i right just to move him out of the env. everytime he throws a tantrum? main reason is to get him out of the env. that could be causing him to behave this way.. secondary is cause i cannot stand the noise and dun wanna him to cause me any embarasssment

smurfy

the problem lies with she is at my mum plc most of the time. my parents just simply give in to her to avoid noise pollution. I told my mum that she is cultivating bad habits on cherish, but but but she dont think so...haiz.

smurfy

haha..i got the same qns as u! normally i use distraction method. but dun noe right or not. esp when we are outside, cos i dun want to make a scene and spoil everyone mood

stella, smurfy,

i think distraction is one of the methods to calm the bb... dunno where i read in a book. but not always lor... me also lazy to read bk now la ;p

stella, i understand yr frustration to tell yr mum not to pamper cherish... think grandma tends to do this all the time.... luckily zz dun stay w her... hehe so I can discipline him! hahahahha

last wkend, my fren also try to take away something that zz is holding onto, zz immed scream and she was taken aback... hahah then she try to replace the item, this time zz also know and scream! hahhahaa

this morn, he also seem to have sep anxiety, he keep opening his arms for me to hug when i going for work, wan to escape from my maid hands as he knows maid is not going out mah.

garfield

cherish also like that..keep wanting to follow me. yesterday when i leave home, she was frowning. Then evening time while i was walking along the corridor, i saw her sitting at the door waiting for us to come back, look so pitiful.

smurfy, forward our order for ur reference liao. The website is quite easy to search things lah. Won't take u long one. ;P

garfield, we also dun let YX watch dvd yet (though i have a set of leapfrog dvds) and avoid to let her watch tv as afraid will spoil her eyes. but i feel like to let her join those gym too to mix wif other kids. Just that timing is always bad for me.

stella, YX was very cranky last nite when sleeping at nite also. Woke up a few times at 1.30am, 4am and 5.15am. I thot cld be due to another tooth coming out. But daytime and b4 her bedtime she was as active and happy ever. So i really dunno...

chocbabe, i am jas loh...

talking about playyard, my playyard still inside the box lei.
Reason being my aunt think it is too bulky and bet YX won't want to be kept inside.
And my uncle ever asked me to buy walker for YX since now she is more mobile but i still resist the idea of letting her use walker. How how? So fan...

Catzzzz... Told u Beth got character liao. Haha...
I also want to bring YX to swim, but everytime she got slight flu when i want to bring her. Haiz...

Yaya, i am facing the same problem: Should we give in to our babies to avoid "noise pollution"???

hahaha jelly,

i try not to give in from the start... but got certain times, i will give in when i couldn't tolerate the noise level liao... but got some times i just let him be or distract him. if not, get another person to handle so at least he knows I m a tough person wun give in so easily ;p

alemak, yr play yard is still not open! u know under supervision, it can be used for walking and standing too? zz likes to stand and hold the panel.

I never let him use walker, guess it is not so impt and furthermore it quite dangerous if he move too fast n out of control.

Jelly

the walker u mentioned is those traditional ones? if it is , i feel it is a waste to buy now. i have two, and cherish dont like ever since she knows how to crawl. she rather crawl to the destination than using the walker. luckily one of the walker can be converted to those push walker. So now i use it as a device to teach her standing.

recently this naughty gal also wake up a few times at night..sometimes wake up and play. i also dunno wats happening.

intially wanted to bring cherish to baby gym.but due to timing and cost. we decided neighbourhood playground is good enuff

a) Jas arr.
b) Me now camping at my mums place leh.. I brought the playyard over as well a little cramp for a 4rm HDb flat,,, but still manageable if u put one side by the wall. Yah can be used as a walking device for them to gain strength on their legs as what Garfield says.. but then oso, milkie used to share that YR walked sideways like a crab then, ai yoh, u spent so much on the playyard, must ultiilize it leh? U were not in for walker.. so dun need now lor, especially when they would have take their first few steps soon.

garfield, stella and smurfy, thank u so much for inputs on the walker! I won't want to buy walker loh even though my uncle asked me a few times. I guess his intention is if we put YX inside the walker, at least my aunty can have some free time to do other things instead of keeping watch of YX all the time. Initially i thot of bringing that playyard to put at my jb house and get another "not so bulky" like milk milk type for my aunt, but i afraid it will be white elephant in the end. Haiz...

smurfy, thot u move in to ur new house? Maybe I shd try to put the playyard at my crampy 4-room flat too... How big is ur mum's 4-room flat? Mine is only 90 sqm...

i was almost blowing my top yesterday as i was feeding Lil J her dinner at the dinning table.. of cos when she sees my MIL she'll scream/ cry for her attention and get her to carry out of her chair..

so i ask my MIL nicely maybe she could be out of J's sight so she can quitely finish her dinner.. also MIL had finished her dinner..

so MIL "slip" to the living room, out of J's sight.. J was eating her dinner happily.. then suddenly MIL tot she heard that J did her big business and she rushed in.. at once J's looked at MIL and began to cry for her attention.. I told MIL nope.. J did not poop.. and I'm feeding her 1/2 way.. thinking she will "slip" away again..

However, sad to say, she came towards J and sayang my gal.. immediately J cry even louder screaming for her to carry her and MIL released J from her high chair and started to carry her..

I was so pissed and told her I'm already feeding her 1/2 way.. now how? my Hub who was also having dinner also told her to let J finish her dinner here....MIL just say she will carry her outside the house to eat.. but i replied..its not good habit.. let me feed her here..

sigh she just walked off with J and the bowl of porridge.. I was like *&^%$#..

I there, trying to make life easier for her so in future J will remain seated for her dinner....and MIL can take a break .. I'm also trying to cultivate good habit for my child where I can and is available.... but then she insist of taking away my time with J, introducing her bad habits.. I was pissed.. too angry to have my dinner..

** sorry just venting my anger here **
I know its no choice cos she is the main caregiver.. she got her way to bring up children.. but I think I'll slowly put my feet down on certain "rules" for my child.. I dun want to have a spoilt brat as my child..

sunsweet,

tat the problem w grandma lor... they dun know it bad for the child...

like my mil, when zz just whine abit in the car seat, she will say "shld we take him out?" I also tell her no way.

jelly!!! i know some places that sell helium gas... so maybe i will add some foil balloons then but can i let u know tomolo cos i on aftn leave. thxs

Yup thanks ladies for the congrats..looking fwd to finally moving into our new home quite soon..hopefully the reno goes well.

Sunsweet..I understand how u feel..my FIL like that also sometimes..but I dont dare "correct" him cos dont want to hurt his feelings..but thankfully my gungho and also smart aleck lil' SIL dare to tell her father off nicely but firmly..haha.
Its not easy with in laws at home cos they do interfere with our kids' upbringing..so for u like u told me before u cant "chase yr MIL out" or move out somewhere since its yr home..haha..so u have to be very firm with her.

I went for the casting ytd..we were the only one there..so 10-15min n we were done..the lady doing the audition isnt very pro with babies..cos she told him things to do as though he was a boy like tat..he's only 9 months leh..but Yael enjoyed checking out all the studio "mess" and knick knacks..anyway, like someone mentioned here earlier..i think baby or kids modelling quite stressful for the parents also..I more stressed than Yael ytd..hahaha.

charis, wat time u go for casting? i also hope it a fast one so that zz can go home for dinner...

now this boy got mini baluku... yucks

smurfy,
Aiyoh, poor thing. So crowded. When is your new place going to be ready? So you 're no more in Punggol?
Yes, moving QY out of the env is good, if it helps.

huskie,
Wah, 2000mg is a lot of Vit C!! I've been dosing Sarah & myself on Delrosa. The cold is much better now. Thanks.

Concerning use of stock, actually, I'm very chin chye. I just dollop the stock into the porridge, like you did, and then add whatever I want into the porridge as usual. I usually add 3-4 types of veges and one meat. I might still add the silverfish powder, or the porridge might be cooked with lean pork as well. So my porridge does not have a consistent taste. Some days fishy, some days porky, some days bland.

garfield,
Aiyoh, poor zz. Hope he's better today. No bruises... 2 nights ago, Ben did a gymnastics hands-free cartwheel from the bed to the floor!!! But surprisingly, he broke his fall with his hands and did not sustain any noticeable injury, except that one of his nostrils was a little grazed. Observed him the next day. No problems. *heng*

sunsweet

fully understand how u r feeling cos i am also facing it everyday. cherish is a baby full of bad habits.

hi, would like to find out from mummies here anyone has brought babies to the Gymboree Class? Any feedback?
Or any other trial classes you been to that can share with me?

my boy's finishing his 10 lessons at the Baby Gym soon and was thinking whether to continue or switch to other classes.

chocbabe,

jas is jelly lor..keke...eh teck piaw is the first person who taught me how to use the washing machine..i mountain tortoise..

re: baby classess

lurve to see babies play...but like all of you said..i know that they wun actually play alongside...wif other babies..so tumtimes i tend to think its a "waste" le..its good though to know dat we "done" something for the babies..wakkaka..my personal opinion la..

re playing wif other children: tyler dunno how to play wif them...but only thing is he adores his sister..so he will be very very happy..and crawl after his sister to "catch" her...but not wif other kids..

charis, i was there at 5.45pm but the lady who met us doesn't really know how to handle babies.
She is quite patient though.

i think Timothy is a little stressed with the unfamiliar surrounding but lucky, he didn't cry :) I am not stressed with bringing him for the casting coz it doesn't really matter to me. My 'evil' plan was to give T some stress as his life is too cushy *wink*

i suddenly felt my bb very low lehz.. maybe is bb moved dwn..indication tat i likely to give birth early?
ohh...really dunno when i'll give birth..
heard ppl said that if #2 is v close to DOB of #1 then most likely will have early delivery..

charis n jazzcy,
I went for the casting at about 4pm today... yah totally agree that the lady was not very good with babies.... and charis i agree with wat u said abt expecting them to do what big boys do...

sunsweet,
If i were u, i'll carry J back to sit on the high chair.. i also always insist that ryan sit on the high chair for food... luckily my MIL knows that...

Rachel..if yr 2nd comes in Dec..means they'll be same school year! But I think Jan or Feb lah..hehe.

Jazz, chocbabe..The lady told Yael that he crawled the wrong way..haha..n I thought he quite guai already, crawling n smiling..Only a mother with telekinesthetic powers (aka "Heroes"on Channel 5) can make a baby crawl in a straight line..wahahaha!
Its ok if she's not good with babies..but it seems she didnt know how to take pics of babies..with babies u cant ask then to pose..no way..u must use a multi-shot mode, n later select the better or clearer pics.

huskie babe
i'll be over at my mom's during the weekend..
how? how? ur MIL replies u liao? keke

Charis, Chocbabe, Jazz, garfield
i'm bringing my boy for casting tomorrow

wat must the babies do uh?
think this's a Talent Scouting Agency, that's Y the lady not good with babies uh.. ;)
think we're better photographers hor!

gak,
the lady will ask ur boy to crawl... she will take video from both front and side view. Then, she will ask u to make baby laugh so she can take another video. After that, expect the baby to take the bottle and drink while sitting up.

The room is quite messy, like a store room. The baby will tend to crawl here and there exploring...

charis,

alamak...sounds like a tall order to ask babies to pose lor..HOW THEY KNOW?!?!!

gak,
good good...you managed to go casting..

chocbabe,

although the casting sounds very ridiculous..but it seems like a good experience...

eh they got return the video's they take or not?? or at least the photos?? i mean since you all haf to bring baby there without getting a fee??

i absolutely agree with all your comments about the casting. nope, i did not request any pics from them coz seriously Timothy looks much better when i take my own pics of him. anyway, i am just glad that the lady is patient with T as my boy just lie there and drink his bottle of milk ;-)

bbs who went for casting..
think the best outcome is for mummies n babies who r there just to experience n feel how it is like in front of others, cameras and stuffs..

rachel
u r supposed to be due when? must take care of urself, k? i cannot imagine how u cope now..

charis,
Heee, that's quite funny... what does the lady mean by "crawling the wrong way"? There's no such thing as a correct or wrong way to crawl leh! She probably doesn't have any kids herself!

PVL,
Thanks for info on the soup stock... ok, today adding my fish jelly into my garlic chicken soup for Soph

Hee, 2,000mg of Vit C is only when I'm coming down with a cold, and it normally helps to keep it at bay!

gak gak,
MY hubby called my MIL liao - at first she said OK, then she called me and asked me what's the special occasion... I told her no occasion, just go and see her and FIL... then she hinted saying she is busy, got appointment but can cancel her appointment for us etc... so I just told her no need lah, won't go lor.
But hubby says can still go West area to pick up items from you and makan lunch. Any good and baby friendly place to eat at? I'm thinking of either the Italian place at Railway Mall or the HongKong Wanchai Cafe at IMM, then can shop at Daiso too.

rachel

peifu u, heavily pregnant but u are still so active. can go for trial classes and bring ur boy for swimming etc.

i feel so burnt out even though i am doing all the minimal.

mummies who have gone for the casting:

i find it so funny that they expect bb to do so much. but anyway , good experience.

i oso felt tired..but bo bianz lehz coz i dun spend much time with him due to work.. so gt make time to ensure his development & well being is taken care of..
somemore nw #2 coming, dun wanna neglect him oso.. hee..
been having backaches.. arghh

huskie,

IMM have various new eateries.. Like Cartel/ Fish and Co/ Swensens

Many choices..

NTUC having baby items sale..
Time to stock up my Mamil... and diapers.. :p

rachel

u are such a good mummy.

in a few yrs time, u can enjoy good life liao..while maybe some of us got to go thr the infant stage again.

gals

gossip gossip abit. my bro -in law will be getting married after like few mths of knowing his gf. and his gf is younger than him >10 yrs and from C country. can help but got the ??? on my head

stella..haha all of us are gd mummies la..
few yrs? i think still long way sia..especially 2 boys can be a handful..when they teenage yrs i lagi stress coz scare they bcome pai kia..
ok la next time i can help babysit when u gals give birth again..haha...

hee..ya considering..maybe i quit my job n be babysitter..then at e same time can spend time wif my kids oso.. will inform you when i become one.. =p

Hello!!!

I went for casting yesterday at abt 5 p.m... got a few mummies there but guess chocbabe left already?

actually i was blur when i inside cos no one receive us and we do not know what to do....

the lady is ok but i agree she doesn't really know to take photos... she wasn't very quick cos zz likes to move alot and she like cannot catch up. she ask us each time whether zz can do this or that lo. luckily zz not scare n did perform wat he is supposed to do. but got 1 time also he didn't crawl across la... he was distracted halfway to look at the mat hahaha

it actually quite funny and interesting. me know i wouldn't pose hahaha but let my son pose... me v bad hor.

Sunsweet,
Thanks for info... hee, cos I don't really go to IMM so much, but I love the Daiso there!

gak,
I think I may not go on Sunday morning, but Sat late afternoon can?
Was thinking of going after Soph's gym class ends at 4+, so may reach your mum's place around 5 to 5+?
Need to save on petrol so trying not to make so many separate trips!

Rachel & fat_babe,

we will not be able to attend the gathering too as we will be away on a cruise. Thanks for organizing! hope to be able to attend the next gathering. have fun!

UPDATED LIST here...

GATHERING : PLEASE CONFIRM ATTENDENCE

venue: anchorage function room (opposite IKEA alexandra)
time: TBA..should be noon (est 1-5pm)
food: international catering..anymore suggestions welcome!! est cost for int'l caterg is $25/ head

thursdae 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY
1)Rachel + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)smurfy + QY (HB TBA)
6)pekochan + Yunzhi (hb TBA)
7) milkshake + YR + HB (TBA)
8) garfield07 + zz (HB TBA)
9) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
10) longan + Shaun + HB
11) Sunsweet + Smiley J (HB TBA)
12) nana + hb + ryan (TBA)
13) cherryale +hb +Ashton
14) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
15) Priviledged + Sarah + Ben (Hb TBC)
16) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

activities:

1) kiddy splash- free to bring water gear for kids n adults alike..
2) gifts exchange..not firm up how to do..
3) suggestions welcome!

Jelly,
when is the closing date for the ordering of Birthday Direct items? not sure if i am getting anything, but will pop by the website and have a look later.

Rachel,
wow! really take my hat off to you! gonna give birth soon and still got so much energy to take care of your bb, bringing him for activities and organise the gathering. i one bb also cannot gao2 tim3. take good care of yourself ok, you really have my respect.

Stella,
these few days chloe, like cherish, has also not been taking alot of solid. now that i read the posts here, i m wondering if she is teething. currently she only has 2 lower teeth. still cannot see any teeth coming out from the upper gum. but the upper gum is pretty swollen and she has been drooling quite a bit too.....

Longan,
i have brought chloe for both kindermusik and gymboree, basically for her to interact with other babies, coz day in day out she only gets to face us adults at home, so i find that she is getting a wee bit bored.

i prefer kindermusik, as i find that they have different themes for their lessons and so far there is no repetition of one full lesson. songs, dances and some activities get repeated, but not lock-stock-and-barrel for one FULL lesson, like what we encountered for gymbree.

and at kindermusik, i get to work out , coz i need to carry chloe to do the dances

as for gymboree, so far we have only attended 2 sessions and for both the sessions, the activities conducted by the facilitator are exactly the same. so we were not very impressed. but then may be it is because we did not go for the sessions weekly (coz we only go for the gymboree session when my hubby is back in Singapore) and when we went for our 2nd session, the cycle of lesson might have been repeated.

but after saying all these, what is more important is that chloe enjoys herself at these play sessions.

pumpkini

i am actually vexed over cherish eating habits..cos her solid intake is real pathetic (even during her normal days).

breakfast - two scoops of dry cereal
lunch - two tablespoon of porridge
evening - two tablespoon of porridge-Sometimes lesser.

i see all feb bbs like already eating alot.

actually i kinda know the reason but the frustating part is i noe the solution but cant implement!!!arggghh

my mum feed her milk b4 her cereal..so of cos cereal intake is low.

dinner - the food is same as lunch, so she dun like. my mum got no time to cook two types of food for her.

my mum rationale is so long as she takes milk, then its ok. But i read that at this age, they shld increase solid intake and decrease milk intake.

pumpkini

i am actually vexed over cherish eating habits..cos her solid intake is real pathetic (even during her normal days).

breakfast - two scoops of dry cereal
lunch - two tablespoon of porridge
evening - two tablespoon of porridge-Sometimes lesser.

i see all feb bbs like already eating alot.

actually i kinda know the reason but the frustating part is i noe the solution but cant implement!!!arggghh

my mum feed her milk b4 her cereal..so of cos cereal intake is low.

dinner - the food is same as lunch, so she dun like. my mum got no time to cook two types of food for her.

my mum rationale is so long as she takes milk, then its ok. But i read that at this age, they shld increase solid intake and decrease milk intake.

Stella
u r right. now solids is more impt than milk. milk is for calcium intake now wheras solids will provide the main and different kinds of nutrients for our fast developing bbs now.
my PD told me off when i asked whether i shld reduce solids so as to increase QY's milk intake (remember tat time QY having milk strike?)
he even told me 140ml of milk for 2 or 3x per day is suffice

nowadays i just sneak cheese into his porridge.. :p

lala,

think you should try to give milk after her solids if not enough... if give b4, they will eat lesser solids.

This is ryan's typical meals in a day...
breakfast - 1 bowl of cereal, fruit and 80ml of fresh milk
lunch - I full bowl of porridge
teatime - biscuits and formula milk
Dinner - 1 full bowl of porridge and yoghurt
Before bed - 150ml of formula milk

how ur bro know his gf?? what does she do?

fatbabe,
I dun think i want the photos also... I think I take better pics of him...

hello stella,
chloe is oso a super duper small eater. my mom said i used to be a small eater when i was a bb...so maybe chloe takes after me?!?!

recently her diet is not much diff from cherish.

breakfast - 3 TEAspoon of dry cereal (normally she oni takes half of what we prepare. today even worse!!! ONLY 3 babyspoon of the end product!!! aarrrggghhhhh)
lunch - half bowl of what we prepare (those small rice bowl)
dinner - same as lunch

hope this phase will pass soon...

maybe u can tell your mom to feed her cereal first then milk?

actually, whenever our bb dun eat, we as mommies will definitely fret. but i guess as long as they are gaining weight (and not losing) and actively playing, then it should be ok. but still cannot help but to worry...aiyoh, must constantly remind myself of that.

chocbabe,
what yogurt do you feed ryan? i tried this brand - peitie something - in tiny tubs, but chloe does not take to it coz it is sour. she does not like sour stuff, like me...hehee...i m not a big fan of yogurt too.

hi smurfy/chocbabe/pumpkini

i was also a very very small eater when i was young. But my mum and grandma was not bothered. My grandma mentality is not enuff solid, then feed FM. So now my mum sort of follow this rule.

Dont noe why they insist FM is a wholesome food and insist FM is sooooo good. Brainwashed by FM company

i did ask my mum to feed cereals b4 milk as i tried out during weekends and indeed cherish eats more. But she insist cherish wont eat so much at her place ...so to avoid conflicts, i keep quiet lor..if not star wars start.

can u imagine, cherish is still on FM 2.5 hr / 3 hr interval???? haiz.. i told my mum, she not enuff solid, thats y hungry so fast. So my mum says "hungry , then feed more milk"...argghh

chocbabe, i like ryan diet.. exactly wat i wish for cherish.

pumpkini, i tried to close one eye and self console so long as she is healthy, i should not impose so much "ruling" but the agony is i noe the proper diet but got to follow the wrong way.

actually cherish did lose weight recently. Dunno it is due to teething , being more active or not enuff nutrients