(2007/02) February

garfield,
Yeah, I was so super tired from all the night feeds last time that I'm really thinking twice about having another kid if I have to do that all over again!

Here's a recipe on cranberry bean soup that I've been wanting to try!
http://ellenaguan.blogspot.com/2006/06/cranberry-bean-lotus-root-huai-shan.html

chocbabe,
Wow, Ryan can crawl so fast now! The "walker" is very innovative

garfield,
Aiyoh, I don't dare to make my baby "sit there and finish" her food leh... like milkie says, mealtimes is supposed to be lighthearted, not a time to cry.
I'm like that when I was young - takes me 2 hours to finish my meals, even up to 6 yrs old. Cos have to be made to sit there and finish my meals. Believe me, I really hate mealtimes, and was a skinny kid

I hated food till I moved out to stay by myself in my 20s and started cooking and enjoying my food!

huskie, the owner wants to sell now probably cos the market is good. She wants to go to Melbourne to join her family but then she wants to wait till her daughter finishes PSLE 2 years later. That's why she wants to sell now and then rent from me as a tenant!!!!

I guess some babies just are easier to handle. I understand how u felt when Soph was colicky cos YR same problem and we had to incline her cot slightly so that she is not sleeping flat. Arent' u glad that the colicky period is over? hee hee

regarding sign language, I doubt i'll use it lah. but simple commands like "Wait", "No", "hug hug", "kiss kiss", she kinda knows. I don't know how i did it lah..but i think i did it by fluke.

garfield,
The playgroup is interesting, but I wonder how much the fees are?
And whether the environment is conducive - as in, does it have the playgym kind if equipment and space... and for babies our age, is it floor properly cushioned so they can do whatever they like and yet not fall with pain?

I'm currently attending The Little Gym (the one which Charis goes to), and I like it cos their gym is very big, and it's all nicely cushioned with gym mattress so the babies don't hurt themselves when they fall.
If the price of this playgroup is about the same as TLG, then I'll just stick to TLG.

Thinking of trying Gymboree too, cos my friend gave me a voucher. Anyone tried Gymboree before? Any feedback?

huskie,
dun be disheartened... every bb is diff... maybe yr nxt bb will be better to take care? but I agree with susu tat we got to train them from young even if there is a few restless nites. I rather forgo some of my sleep now than to endure nxt few yrs of torture if i dun train him to sleep early... thus now i started n so far so gd.
it not ez lor. first 2 nites he was really cranky and his back arch so much... but i dun xin ruan and go soft on him. but u also need to see if he cranky also other reason lor. anyway, bb can't tok so tat is y we will take longer to understand them but the impt rule is do not let yr child rule u! u must take control of the situation. havin child doesn't take away yr freedom.

susu, nowadays zz eat halfway on high chair can cry n cry n food keep still in his mouth... last time he used to eat until finish then he fuss. now starting, he eat happily then abt halfway, he starts his nonsense again. he either make the food flow out of his mouth or he swallow them n make noise... but I still insist him sitting on high chair. i also dunno how... i know must make him happy then he likes his food but he always have this habit now n i dun wan to take him out of the chair which means he will know nxt time how to get out?? by crying???

huskie, i used to run ard the house or garden with my bros and the maids will be running after us with our food bowls in their hands....hahahaha that's why i never wanted YR to have such a bad habit of treating meal times as playtime etc

my parents also shocked that YR will sit quietly on the highchair to eat but see lah...now they know what they condoned last time was not good.hahahahahahhahhaa

milkie,
Oic, hmm... then the property agent should have asked properly and then no need to waste your time going there to view lah, cos you'd want to move in immediately anyway.
Unless you just wanna kaypoh and see what the estate and house layout is like

But househunting can be a tiring biz!

Oh yes, for simple commands, I think babies are smart enough to understand. Hee, my MIL was surprised that Soph understood "mum mum time" (eating time) at 2 weeks old. Cos she was such an impatient baby... she'd scream at the top of her lungs for her milk, then when I tell her "mum mum time", she'll quieten down and look in my direction.

milkie!
You're one of those who run around eating?! hahahaaha, I'd never imagine that from the way you train YR!

garfield,
Hmm... maybe I shouldn't have taken Soph out of highchair hor? Cos now she'll know that by fussing, she can get out of her chair to eat somewhere else!

Catz!!!
I remember you mentioned Timo was such a fussy eater that you guys had to feed him in front of the TV?
Then as he grows older, how do you reverse this habit?

huskie,

i not sure too... but the playgrp starts nxt yr it seem... n i prob keen to put him into one when he is 18 mths old.

i think i also have the trial voucher for the gymboree... i thinking of trying since it is free.

for food time, i try to give variety so that he will not be bored too but dunno y now he starts this halfway habit... u know starting, he likes u know... he actually eat rather fast... then later he will cry n refuse to eat liao. last time he can finish the same amt so dunno wat wrong.

milkie,
I just checked - Acmamall.com is selling GF Contented Baby Book at $23.16... I think abt the same price cos Kino selling at $25.
Delivery > $80 is free... below this amt is $4.

huskie, true lah..the property agent should clarify properly first...but hor, i donmind lah...i so free anyway..hahahaha :p

I tell u. My parents are the worst parents okie. ANYThing we wanted, we got it. Basically no rules in the house. I could eat anytime i wanted, at any place i like. I could sleep anytime i liked. Things only started changing when my aunt (my mum's younger sis) became our guardian when we came to singapore, then we had a fixed bedtime etc...before that...haha ha ha ha My parents leave everything to the nannies and maids. That's why how to ask them how to look after babies??? their way is any way the baby wants lor.....

that's why i'm very into disciplining YR from young. Don't want her to fall into bad habits lor...hee hee

okie for the GF's books list, what i have is

1. The New CLB Book (blue/white book) (not sure how much it costs cos my SIL gave me this book)

2. The Complete Sleep Guide for contented babies and toddlers (white and pink) (not sure also cos SIL gave it to me)

3. The Contented tODDLER years (white/green book) $29.10 from kino

4. Potty training in one week (white/blue book) $17.44 from Harris

garfield, is QY full already, that's why he fussing or he too tired???

nowadays when YR is full and doesnt' want more, she'll just clamp her mouth and shake her head very vigorously...hahahahaha quite funny looking.

milkie,
Thanks for the books and price info! Good... I'll get Acma to "source" the NEW CLB and Potty Training book for me, cos I don't think I've got the energy to go to a bookstore.
*sigh* I miss browsing in the book store, and esp go to Art Friend near Kino to buy notebooks too.
Maybe this weekend as hubby to take care of Soph then I go gai gai

Wahahahahahaha, your parents are so "doting"! It's really amazing also that you don't turn out to be like them!

garfield

the homebased playgroup sounds interesting.. i am keen also. now that cherish naps less often, i dunno wat to do with her during her waking hours.

Sometimes i just leave her on the playmat while i read papers. Or simply go out and make her tired..haha

gak,
I was just reading that you're trying to wean your baby?
Now you're TBF? When are you going to start weaning?

I'm starting to get a headache on how to wean my baby off in a few months' time too... maybe just got for holiday by myself and ask hubby to take care of baby cold turkey!

like u say huskie, bb r smart so if u keep "saving" her out of high chair by fussing, she know liao... but it still not too late to train her since she still young... needs lots of patience... me grown to be more patience as I rather impatient last time.

garfield,
haha, yeah, babies are smart, but I am more xin ruan... that's why I always end up "rescuing" my baby from anything she is unhappy about.
Hmm.. think I better stop this rescue action!

hehe susu, QY not my boy okie though i post his photo here just now ;p
QY guai guai sit and crawl. zz is jumping jack cum spidey boi.... rem...

got some time i notice he maybe tired. but got soem times he already slept and the food we didn't increase so dunno why he halfway dun eat... sometimes he cry n food still left in mouth... then after a while he might swallow down the food, n he might even finish the food this way. so dunno y he needs to fuss lor... v funny 1 u knoe. so i guess he wans to get out of his high chair so i not letting him get his way!!! hahahahha

stella, u can post yr interest there n then prob they contact us if there is one near our place.

huskie, i got scared off by my parents' method of bringing up kids lor..hahahahhahahahaa plus u forgot the most impt thing. I'm looking after my own baby leh. they got all the help in the world to help them with the kids. Totally diff concept. hee hee

how long has soph undergone the sleep training?
actually u can go out with soph during the 2pm to 5pm period when she is awake right????

nowadays if husband and i go out with YR, it's between 10 to 1230pm and between 2pm to 5pm.

garfield...paisei paisei..sorry sorry...:p :p

shit..i just bit my own tongue and now bleeding...am i gonna die??? pain like hell....

actually i also xin ruan but after reading some books also GF book, i realise i need to be firm at times too so tat bb knows that this has to be followed. or else once one routine miss, they will not follow liao. tat is why i make his sleepin time at 9- 9 plus not exceeding 10. tat means no feeding too after 10. cos i dun wanna make earlier (as sometimes i might be home late) and i dun wan it too late too so i stick to this timing so he knows this mama no play play.

stella
thanks for sharing the website!

huskie
yup!
trying very hard now lo since he was abt 6mths old!
but not very consistent le cuz find it quite tough as no one helping me lo..
today i try out after his breakfast (8.30am) give only FM, no lunch cuz scared if give lunch he won't feel hungry for FM lo..gave him FM @ 10am, 11am, 12pm cuz each time only drink a little 10-20ml
*haiz* finally at abt 1pm he kept looking for me lo even my mom gave him FM he oso dun want le..totally reject liao!
so my mom ask me to let him suckle lo
!!FAILED!!
wanna to switch him to FM so i can go bak work in peace
(no need to worry must pump, store, etc) & can go holiday w/o him ;P
keke..

milkshake
like that can a not uh??
or still 2hrs interval even though he not drinking much lo..?

smurfy
yup!
trying to wean him off BM..
me TBF! nv EBM 1 lo...
u oso still TBF?

huskie
hvn't try out yet le
but my gf told me smell very nice & the shampoo use liao hair very soft

me gg to get during this BP
cuz last BP i try to order OOS lo

milkie,
Haha, yeah, I'm also very surprised that coming from such a family, you chose to look after YR by yourself without any help!

Eh, won't die from tongue-bite lah... blood is not "gushing" out right, and you don't feel faint yeah?
Must be busy munching your fries that's why bit it?!

Soph's sleep training going along OK but disrupted a bit when she falls sick... hmm.. she sometimes still sleeps for 20min at 4pm, else by 630pm, she'll be screaming to be put to bed, then don't want her milkfeed too!

just now PD asked me if Soph can sleep well at night, and I said should be. She looked at me suspiciously and I told her I just go in, checked that she is OK then let her cry to sleep. Then kenna by PD lah... she said sometimes baby is uncomfortable but cannot vocalise, so I must be more considerate... alamak, like I am some Nazi lah!

garfield,
zz can sleep from 9 to 9? I tried Soph to sleep at 9pm before, but she still wakes up at 7pm
, then end up cranky cos not enough sleep!

gak,
You only starting work now? I thought you are a SAHM?
haha, can go holiday without him... he just go cold turkey lor... when hungry, he will drink one lah... that's what my gynae told me.

I also TBF with latching, no EBM. Cos no one at home to help me bottle-feed her, and once she smells me, she refused the bottle vehemently!
Now I'm just hoping she can learn to drink from the cup, then I'll start to give her a bit of FM thru' the cup, then slowly wean off the breast, then finally I go holiday and hubby looks after her during cold turkey period

OK, I'll email you my HT order!

huskie,
Sarah went to Gymboree. I cannot compare it with the other 'gyms, but she enjoyed Gymboree very much. They also have full padded equipment. Lots of singing and activity. As far as I could see, gymboree helped her in her gross motor skills, her communication skills (singing, following instructions), socialisation with other kids, and some concepts like red=stop, green=go, fast slow, high low etc. She went to gymboree from 16 months til 26 months. I stopped because I could no longer take her as I was preg with Ben.
Thanks for the cranberry bean recipe. I buy the beans already peeled, <font color="119911">stella</font>, yes it's called 'zhen zhu' bean.

garfield,
If Ben fusses a lot in the highchair, I take it to mean he's had enough and maybe he's too tired to eat, or he needs to poo or something. I will try to get him to eat some more, but if he persists, then that's the end of the meal. Fortunately, he seldom does this. He almost always finishes his meal, though towards the end, he might get slower and need more coaxing (probably full already). This morning at breakfast, he only finished half. He wouldn't open his mouth anymore, and kept whining 'hmmm, hmmmm, hmmm'. Water didn't help. So after a lot of coaxing, no success, so that was the end of the meal. He was probably a little tired cos he went to sleep not long after that. He must have woken up earlier than I thought this morning.

milkshake,
Occasionally Ben likes to blow raspberries during his meals too. I also just say "stop that, no raspberries" in a firm voice. If he persists, I squeeze his hand and repeat my instruction. Usually he gets it. I think if he were to continue, I would remove him and spank his bottom. That way he knows that if I have to take him out of the chair after so many warnings, he gets a spanking. Of course, I must make sure that he is really just acting up, and not because he has other legitimate issues.

huskie, zz sleep from 9 to 7 a.m sophie same?
i think shld be ok. last time, he wake up at 630 then i feed him milk n he sleep till 730...

but these few nites he wake up later at abt 7 to 7.30.

sophie still cry to sleep?? or middle of nite cry?

huskie,
I hope my PD never asks me that question. I'm worse than you. When Ben cries at night, I don't even go and check on him! Problem is that if I go in, he sees me, he'll stand up and then what can I do right? In the end, I'll still have to leave the room and he'll still cry. In fact, if I go in, it will 'wake' him up even more, and he'll have to cry longer to settle himself. So to save him from that agony, I don't go in!!

Oh yes, today, Ben stood up by himself from a squatting position, without any pulling up with the arms! He did this 3x. He also let go of whatever he was holding and managed to balance for quite some time, and then grabbed the handhold again. didn't fall onto his buttock at all.

I think i sucks in discipling QY.

i mean, the first time they do something strange or in another sense not correct, u think it's funny , so u laff... n he smile. then both of u laff together
the milk issue, he dun wanna drink, i force him, he whine, i forces him somemore, he cries, then i let him stand up, he smiles, i give up.
even in his sleep, i force him, he seals his lip tight tight, i forces him again, he can actually smiles ( 2x i tried, i really dunno whether he is asleep or playing with me)

the food n the high chair issue
sometimes he cannot sit through the whole meal... short attention span arrr. must entertain him with toys n such.. but he sits throughout the high chair lor, unless he fusses for too long (then probably he's full or tired or diaper full of shit)

the sleeping issue
my boy wakes up late n sleeps late.... no schedule... at times he gets too engrossed in playing n forgets he needs to sleep.. but the moment we let him rest/sleep, he fusses for a very short while (coz of resistance to change from earlier activity), he falls asleep very very fast.... no, he doesn't wake up for nite feeds.. but but.. he got dark eye rings n at times eye bags.

pvl,

so fast Ben can stand! yes i agree once bb see u he cry even louder so i try to keep quiet by his side now until he doze off.

starting i still pat him and sing songs, last nite i pat him for a while when he still awake then when i didn't see him fuss, i just let him roll here n there. does any of yr bb do this when they trying to sleep? zz will roll and hit his head and move like a snake then end up sleeping tummy down. no longer the nice sleeping position but as long as he sleeps well ok lor.

yup for feeding, if he still fuss, of cos we stop feeding n then get him off chair.

gak
yah, my boy still on total EBM.. but he hates it.. drinking about 300-400ml per day (in his half drowsy or sleep state onli)
maybe i shld try latching him onz this evening whahhahahaha
thanks for the offer HT sprees, but think collection pt will be a problem.

pvl
ben's really fast.. how do u train him? or u do just leave him there on his own? sarah did the encouragement? which gymobree did sarah went last time? i cannot bear to let QY cry in the middle of the nite... coz it is just too noisy for my ears arr... covering with bloster does not help... n i doubt i feel comfortable with ear plugs in my ears hahahaha (he still sleep in our room)... i

smurfy

QY very guai liao ..no need night feed. last fri,cherish surprised me by sleeping from 7.30 - 4 am..meaning she can sleep thr ard 9 hrs. Then sat night she woke up and cry ard 11 plus, i din feed her and she slept till 4.30 am.

that weekend really lucky..haha

today i bringing her to my colleague hse..wish me luck

smurfy,
For me, wean off means off breasts plus EBM totally, cos I hope to graduate from latching to EBM in cup, but am not looking forward to pumping... too lazy!
Really peifu you girls who got patience to pump!
Plus my PD told me if latch longer than a year, very hard to wean off - this maybe PVL can advise, cos I remember she bf Sarah till 18mths.

garfield,
I thought you said zz sleeps from 9pm to 9am, so meaning he still sleeps 12hours, but everything is pushed downwards. Think I must have misread your posting!

Soph still cries when she resists her naps sometimes... and also in the middle of the night *sigh* but I let her cry once I checked her temperature lah. Just that the phlegm part must be irritating her... poor thing.

PVL,
Wow, Ben can stand so fast! And it's amazing that babies knows how to squat to lower their COG so they won't fall!
Was Sarah like that too? And yeah, how so you train him?

For Gymboree, my friend gave me a $50 voucher. Think I will use it to sign up for the membership which will give me a free trial class. I think the membership will allow us to use the playgym for $8/hr. Which Gymboree did you go to? Is their playgym big?

What is blowing raspberrie? As in "boo-ing" the food out?

milkie,
Sometimes I cannot go out from 2:30pm to 5pm leh, like today, when Soph didn't take her 2 naps well, then now taking a short nap *sigh*

smurfy,
Yeah, QY very guai lah... I remember you said he doesn't even need you to pat him to sleep!

stella/huskie
u know why QY soo guai, dun need to pat to sleep? coz he is tooooo tired out.. play until forget to sleep, that's why he got dark eye rings.

i oso interested in the gymoboree..

huskie, if he can sleep all the way to 9 a.m... he must be really v tired... hahahaa

he will definitely wake up at 7 a.m... think got alarm clock... hahaha think he can sense us waking up for work since he light sleeper.

but after drinkin his milk, he will calm down and smile while we greet him good morn...

just now my mum call n say she concern abt wat i feedin zz... i told her i have check then give. cos she indirectly say some cousin of mine their son have severe allegy, now cannot eat any bread, banana or any yellow stuff. then i knoe wat she is implying so i reassure her.

Hi Mummies..
Xmas is coming soon and fat_babe and I are planning to organise an Xmas gathering in Dec. We can all share the cost and celebrate xmas together! Are you gals keen?

smurfy, huskie,
Never train lah. He is left on his own in the playpen, or his cot quite a bit. I also leave him on the floor to crawl around. So he trains himself. Maybe he sees jie jie walking jumping and running about, so he also wants to do the same. Sarah was much later to do all these things anyway.

Sarah used to go to the Serangoon Garden Village Gymboree, which has since closed down.

Blowing raspberries is like buzzing with the lips and tongue, so that saliva/food etc sprays out.

peko,
Hello! Long time! How are you and the bb doing? Was just thinking about you yesterday when I was clearing my SMSs, saw something about your delivery. (Yes, never clear since Jan!)

Rachel,
Will have to see if the time/day/venue is suitable for us lah. Keep us updated.

garfield n pvl, hi gals...im fine. my gal can sit by herself n can walk with support. Time flies...she's oredi 8mths old. She jus started on porridge last week...i tink most of u started feeding ur bb porridge long ago hehehe... im still bf her but last evening i let her drink formula milk cos im gog to stop bf. This thread is running real fast i cant catch up.

rachel, im keen in the gathering.

Which brand of formula milk are you all feeding ur bb?

hihi girls,

today was Timo's swim lesson.. as usual, I am super tired :p

peko, how are you??? Long time no see... yah time flies! For me, I just started Beth on porridge (she's 9 months) this week and so far so good but I usually use hand blender to blend up the brown rice grains which are harder than white rice. FM - if I need to use FM, I will use Isomil since Beth is allergic to cow's milk.

gak, I'm interested to share in.. need to buy jar food.. when will you order and where do you live?

milkie, my parents are pretty much like yours... me and sis were spoiled ROTTEN.. we got free reign at Toys R Us and had heaps of everything.. even when we both went overseas, we basically had no credit limit. So now, suffer lor.. that's why I am so nazi with my kids. Don't want them to end up spoiled like me!

OK will scroll up to read more posts later on..