(2007/02) February

hehe I have not let smiley J tried yogurt cos her grandma will freak out if i do that..

as for huai shan, I chk with EYS ppl during lunch that the si sen powder have 4 kinds of herb including huai shan .. so that means that i've been giving my gal huai shan loh.. if anyone just want huai shan.. can get those dired ones, soak for 30 mins b4 boiling with porridge.

As for other chi herb bb can take is gou qi zhi.. good for kidney and eyes.. can soak a coupl and add it in the stock / as u make your porridge.

For those giving lotus root soup.. ita consider cooling thus give only like once/twice a month.. must add red dates to reduce the coolness. lotus root is good to clear toxin in blood thus gives good complextion..

well this was what i gather from my chat loh keke

anyone tried endives?
"""""Endive
They look similar to Lettuce but the edges of their leaves are very wavy. Best eaten raw. Taste slightly bitter. Good addition to your mix salad.
It is good for your eyesight and some people buy them to cure cataract...""""
1027892.jpg

me tempted to try that n watercess kekeke :p

errr of coz by steaming n blending first.. :p

smurfy,

Slightly bitter leh.. humm nice?

hehe i still give my gal the safe veg.. spinach.. haha boring hor.. cos i remember my bro only take spinach till he's toddler.. haha

:p i was thinking can mixed with porridge? kekekeke seems that it is good for eyesight leh... dun wanan my boy to be myopia like me and the daddy leh.. ehh the "feeding ur baby right", that local book got say watercess high in calcium?? <- if i remember correctly or was it iron again?

i think i always got funny ideas on QY hahhaah..i pity the boy :x yesterday i keep staring at his jaws, then i was thinking, if i keep pushing holding the jaw, will it help in preventing a long jawline... ai yohhh i really pity my boy whahahhhaaa :p

smurfy

the book that u mentioned "feeding ur baby right" ..where u get it from?

i wanted to get a recipe book with ingredients not so ang mor one..so that i can easily get it from market

Stella,

I got the book "feeding your baby right" from Popular book store (UE Square)

U can call other branches and check with them. MPH also carry this book too.

hi mummies, I am back! My maid came back today and guess she is tired so she is sleeping now. Never mind lah, let her rest then she can take care of A. A is also sleeping. Finally, I can go out and play!!

Ah Ger, your A looks so big now!! wow, really like a toddler.

seems like my A eats a lot when compared to the other babies. He has at least 8-10 tablespoons of veg plus 3 tablespoons of cereal and he has 3 meals a day plus 4 milk feeds. I will type his food intake later when I have more time..going to take a nap now

garfield
how did u train zz to sleep in his play pen?
i find it very difficult to put him into the playpen if he's asleep le cuz gotta bend down so low!

milkshake
ur gal dun like milk?
u BF or FM?

smurfy
wahaha..my boy oso like ur boy during meal times!
he'll grab the spoon, spit out food, rub his nose then grab his hair & ears, move his arms up & down then all the food will splatter everywhere (more clean ups for me!) & if food happens to drip on his tray table he'll play with it, "cleaning" his tray table with it!

wonder did they do it on purpose hor??

Been out all day so I just scanned the posts. Thankfully, not so many, huh?

gak,
Don't worry lah. If your child is going to be fussy, then i don't think it is the porridge that is the cause lah.

Ben's upper 2 are also sprouting together. A little white can be seen. But still slow in piercing through the gums. He still wakes up at night to cry. Last night, about 20 mins. Previous night, just 1 minute. But I still ignore him. Hehehehe
OK. gotta go.

hihi cherry,
You survived SAHM-hood!

PVL, Ben is fast! Beth still hasn't sprouted her pearlies.

susu, fatty milk - I heard Friso.. plus it's quite sweet too. I like NAN since it worked well for Timothy.. but for step 3 milk, I like Gain IQ and Pediasure for the FOS and Probiotics content.

Beth is constipated. She did one little pebble today.. 3 days worth of poo poo inside her.. tomorrow gotta do glycerine suppository again if it doesn't come out :p Sighhhhh

Smurfy, endives are really bitter leh. I cannot tahan it in my salad. I will pick it all out.

catz,stella, wow, the life of a SAHM without maid is super pitiful. That's why the moment maid came back, I went shopping

I finally can understand what susu meant when she said she rather go to work. I mean its really nice to bond with A but if my life revolves around just playing and feeding him then I really cant take it. Really salutes to PVL, catz and all SAHM who can take care of more than 1 kiddo, plus cook for the family..I cant even settle my own lunch..I think macs became my best friend during the time I was at home.

Just now when A saw maid, he cried!! He couldnt recognize maid anymore..luckily after a while he warmed up to her and also after she changed into her normal home clothes.Thank God, if not I will die!!!

I was trying to read the posts, why is there a big gap between the days??? Ok, this is the portions that A eats in a typical day.

7am - 200ml FM

8am - Breakfast 3 tablespoon of oats cereal with 3 tablespoons of fruits (apple/banana/pear), mixed with 30ml FM

11.30am - Lunch: Brown Rice Porridge + sweet potatoes, Carrots, Green beans etc (not sure actual volume, but its 1 full baby bowl

OR Lunch: 3 tablespoons mixed grains cereal + 30ml FM, + 4-5 tablespoons of green veg (can be caixin, kailan, brocolli, green beans) + 1.5-2 tablespoons of sweet potatoes + 2 tablespoons of carrots+ 1tablespoon of zucchini or corn

2pm - 150ml to 200ml FM

5.00pm - Dinner: 3 tablespoons mixed grains cereal + 30ml FM, + 4-5 tablespoons of green veg (can be caixin, kailan, brocolli, green beans) + 1.5-2 tablespoons of sweet potatoes + 2 tablespoons of carrots+ 1tablespoon of zucchini or corn

7pm - 150ml FM
10.00pm - 125ml FM

I have reduced his food portion from 16tablespoons per meal to about 9or10 tablespoons. Think should be ok already??

I am also trying to remove the 10pm feed. Susu, how should I remove this feed??

lala & skinny babe, I think bigger sized babies look less vulnerable as compared to small skinny babies, for me lah. I dare to be more rough with YR cos she's quite chubby but say ask me to be so rough to my friend's babythat is more skinny and older, I still a bit scared and i tend to just play more gently with the baby. :p

So S26 and Nan are fatty milk milk. ok, noted. thankxxxxxx

smurfling, eh u still using bottle on QY? Maybe he doesn't want to use bottle leh? Maybe he wants to upgrade to a straw cup or something to drink his milk? But it seems quite a chore giving him milk.....:p I have never tried to 'force' YR in that manner.Whenever I offer her milk, I just put the cup near her, and if she wants it, she'll drink it. Cos she gets very aggitated when I keep pushing the cup to her and when she doesn't want it so i'll probably just leave her drinking less milk for now.....

orange cat, ya i agree the vivo sushi tei very nice...
went there once with YR but then, she was still very young...so maybe next time have to go there again with her. Nice view and quite spacious too.

jellooooo, i have to do opposite of what u do to YX's hair. YR got very fine hair and her hair has a natural parting to the right. SO sometimes if i want her to have a different look, i will have to mess up her hair after her bath and just let it dry messily without brushing it...then she will have slightly diff look. but it doesnt' last too long lah...cos after a while, it will just go back to normal. :p :p

smurfy, thanks for showing us the Yoplait recall thingy....btw, my yoplait also expires on 27/10/07. I was so cha dio when i first saw your msg on the forum.....then when i checked the yoplait pack...i was so relieved.hahahahaha

skinnybabe, i am ok with both slim and chubby babies....but not too fat until looks like got lots of problems type lah. I think those type of fat is unhealthy type of fat. ANd if skinny, not too skinny until the baby is always falling sick lah.

sunsweet, ok lah oklah, if u insist, then we shall start calling not so lil J, Smiley J. hahaha eh, btw what's up with the granny not being happy if u give smiley J yogurt? Yogurt has good bacteria!!! good for digestion...hee hee hee

smurfling, endives never hear before....maldives hear before..hahahahahaha joking lah...but endives is bitter leh...i also don like it....:p

gakkkk, my baby has been weaned off my boobies for more than a mth i think... she's drinking formula now...i tried promil gold, similac, enfalac, nan and she dint like them much...so i just heck it and went for similac lah.

catty, u really very very very very very very into beth's output hor?? hahahahaha did doc say why she so constipated??? eh, u try to drink more papaya juice or prune juice, see if it helps her to ease her constip problem since she is still b-feeding.

cherry, see lah ...now u know SAHMs life not so rosy as it seems. so u still wanna quit and be SAHM???? hahahaha but the very big advantage of being a SAHM is that your baby really learns your quirks and behaviour (instead of your maid's) and i think they tend to be better behaved (if you are strict about disciplining them lah). Just look at PVL and Catz babies and toddlers....all of them pretty well behaved.

hmmmm i think regardin how to wean the baby off night feed, i wrote before to huskie leh. since A is taking quite a fair chunk of solids and milk during the day, he probably doesn't need 10pm feed anymore. so u can just give him water then if u prefer, or else u do it the hard way and just do the cold turkey on him lor..hahahahahaha else i think u also can just dilute out the 10pm milk feed slowly until he is practically taking water. that's a v slow process lah if u don mind doing it that way....

cherry, actually your 1 TB is roughly about my 1/3 cube....so if u go by that way...you r basically feeding A with 3TB cereal + 5 cubes for dinner. i think it's ok lah..as long as A doesn't feel hungry after that lah... plus his milk intake is very good too......think u can increase his dinner as long as he still taking his milk feed at 7pm...then u can be sure 10pm milk feed is redundant.

milkie milkie... My Beth is really very cham leh. you know I give her more milk than solids and she's still constipated. Once I increase solids slightly, she gets super bad constipation again. Today is day 4 and I've already given her 4 doses of the lactus (anti-constipation drug from PD) but no sign of poo poo.. die lah. She's got lazy bowels.. I give her prunes A LOT leh.. You know thanks to the constipation, I have resumed her night feeds with extra water added into the breastmilk leh.

eh, actually CHERRY, want to clarify with u. When u say 3TB of cereal + 30ml formula. It means u mix 3TB of dry cereal with 30ml of formula milk solution is it??? Isn't it kinda super dry??????

I mix about 6TB of dry cereal with about 120ml of diluted formula milk solution and it's just about ok.

cherryale
so i guess SAHM not in ur agenda now? kekeke though i think i am obessed with QY, i will die if i 24/7 with him alone :p

milkie
:p yah, it's a chore. but i just let the maid feed him milk .. *whisper* nowadays if QY fussy abt his food, i feed halfway and let the maid takeover :p

stella.garfield
nice meeting u all ;) told u before QY cranky at new places.. needs alot of space... :p

garfield
sorry that QY pulls zz's hair.. :p.. ehh ur zz very easy to fall asleep leh?? not like what u describe.. and ur house really a nursery ... so many things..

stella..
u r doing a very good job liao lar... at least u have the courage to bring Cherish out on ur own.. i stll dun dare.. must bring a maid along.. :p

milkie,
me too think skinny babies abit more fragile n delicate..chubby babies...if fall down got flesh to cushion them...wakkaka...btw think friso n nan are quite rich in "fats n sugar"..

catz,
wat did PD say about beth's constipation?? any call for concern not?? coz you oredi feeding her wif quite abit of fibre...tried glucose water?? some say it ease constipation le..

jello,
recieve the gym items liao..thanks!! the socks i like le...but its big!!...like my size like dat!...tot it meant for kids wearing size 8 shoes..but apparently not..i guess its for kids 8 yrs n above..hahaha...shall see how to "sew" it up abit so dat tyra can wear..

wakakka..applied leave for dec...will be off from 20th to 26th...so happy!!...wakkaka..but dunno wat to do..keke everyday go shopping also sian..

cherry, smurfy
haha..when my maid 1 day off hor..i will call whole village to come help me wif the kids...either i go to hubby's aunties place wif all his kid cousins..or i will call my MIL and SIL...if not i will go crazy...kekekek

kudos to all SAHM!!...wakakka i no guts..although it shounds great to haf all the time wif the kids...kekeke

smurfy & garfield ..

nice to meet both of u + qy and jasper.

smurfy,

QY is quite ok lah..just need a while to warm up..after that he can play and smile. cherish face black black all the way.

u noe when cherish goes to my in law or grandma hse..she is really screaming loh.. maybe today she is distracted by babies and the wide variety of toys.

I also very nervous before bringing her out today. glad it goes well.

Catty, try FYBOGEL on Beth lah..hahahahahaha joking lah. My husband says maybe she not eating enuff that's why no poo to poo poo out???? He says maybe u made the wrong assumption. Instead of lazy bowels, maybe she has hungry bowels. U try to up her vege and fruit intake instead of cereal?

My husband says YR shits a lot cos she eats like a pig. Today her tummy was very very very very big after dinner, and it looks like it was gonna explode. She did 5 big poops today.

smurfyyyyy, hahaha as long as your maid really feeds him the milk and never secretly drink it then i guess it's ok lah..hahahahaha u got see if she really feeding QY the milk not?? eh, i wanted to ask u but keep forgetting. That time u mentioned u give cheese wedge to QY right?? U using which brand and what type of cheese??? I want to find more variety of cheese to give YR leh....everyday give her laughing cow and the bega cheddar until I also wanna die of boredom.

skinnybabe, correct correct i also think chubbier babies got a bit of layer to protect them from falls. hahahaha but hor..sad thing abt YR is that she's chubby only on her tum tum and her thighs...her thighs are humongous now. BUT she's got a flat ass....kakaakkakakakaaa

eh, u don pretend pretend lah...i know u wanted to buy the gymboree socks for yourself okieeee hahahahahahaa

yo, u on leave for so many ah!!! Coolness. Maybe can meet up one of the days lah...then u can bring tyra and tyler along (BUT cannot bring whole village with u) hahahahahahaha

hahaha...

eh on la...i will bring tyler to go date yoori...wakakakkak..nearer to the date then we arrange..

no le..i realise babies butt all flat one..then slowly will grow perky...kekeke...yoori wearing size L diapers oredi?? tyler still on M...he's ave size...stagnant at 9.5kg...

today hor..my maid took initiative to cook tyler porridge wif vege n chicken wor..minced very well...wakkaka..tot she dun care about him..first time see him cook for him..she use to cook for tyra since she was 4 months..but lazy to cook for tyler

milkshake
how did u wean ur gal off BM??
my boy keeps pushing away the bottle..at most will only drink 10ml *haiz*
will fuss when he sees the bottle coming..
HOW???

Just come in to say hello and post some pics of Jerlene. She's still very light at 7.3kg. She can now stand quite steadily and with support she can take a few steps liao.
1030631.jpg

Jelly, my hb oso just bought a Pooh foam playmat from minitoon last week. Did YX enjoy it?
1030632.jpg

More update on Jerlene's blog:
http://jerlene.blogspot.com

milkie
yucks... u r making me wonder abt what she do to my BM.. hahaha.. no lar... MOST of the time, she works under supervision
daytime my mum with her. nite time she is feeding QY while i in the room pumping, can hear the whines, n screams n sudden moments of queitness (Drinking)..err the cheese i got is Kraft cheesewedges.. very milky, i like
.. i tried kraft cheesesticks... more salty.. (both read good for growing teeth).. ehh now with the yoplait recall.. wat other yohgurts can i give QY?? WHERE to find? sianz.. otherwise everytday the same old cheese, more boring.. :p

stella
ehh u really soft mummy leh.. noticed cherish will come to u for help n u do help her :p.. just ignore her pleas, n let her do things on her own :p u saw this QY basically happily playing on his own... like dun need me at all, quite independent.. haiz.. dunno good or bad.. but i do envy u gers whose bbs r sticky.. *whispers" i was secretly pleased the moment he cried and look for me when i put him down garfield's playmat..

skinnybabe, I ONZ u lah...we let tyler and yoori go paT TUO in december. hahahaha then we ask tyra to be chaperone then we go out and gai gai okie?? hahahahahaha

yo, yoori now on size L nepia and size XL mamypoko. but your tyler definitely heavier than ah yoori. maybe cos that time tyler was sick, that's why his weight seems stagnant cos he might have lost some then, and now regaining mah..hahahahaha

gak, i weaned her off via the COLD turkey method.

My husband just gave her formula from a bottle on the 1st day....and she refused, kept fidgeting about on his lap...but she gave up after a few mins since my husband didn't let her get out of his lap. So she just lied on his lap and wailed and wailed and refused to drink her bedtime milk. Then put her in to bed after half an hour of crying on lap....which is her bedtime lah. So she went to bed with no milk at all. 10pm tried to give her somemore milk, but she didn't want it...so plonk her to bed again till 7am next morning.

hmmmm the following morning just offer her formula milk again from bottle...if she doesnt' drink it after 15 mins (time u can set), take it away again....

hmmm u can ask the other mummies how they did it...but we did it the hard way lah...but its effect is pretty immediate. She never once sought my boobies for milk ever since we weaned her off.

smurfffyyy, hahahaa scare u didn't i!!!!! hahahaha but anywayz, i think your maid is quite onz about looking abt QY so it's good lah. U are lucky. Some maids just totally bochup the babies one.

Btw, kraft cheese wedges ah?? okie..i'll go get her some to try later since i going town shopping.

oh u can try another brand of yogurt, horizon organics or barumba (if u into organic yogurt lah) Don't give the Fernleaf brand yogurt for babies...heard from a brand that it's hyper sweet.

Oh btw, i've started giving yoori yogurt by farm union. it's just plain yogurt...and it comes in a small tub of 200gm or a bigger tub of donno how many grams...but yoori ok with it, so i'll give her that in the meantime. Not sure if it's for babies...but u know me lah...but her stomach can take it so i guess i'll just use it in the meantime.

milkie..
where to find? besides GWC? i thinking of the japanese brand meiji... seems common to find in cold storages.. yah lar yah lar, the maid is good, but sometimes.. most of the times... i jealous :p

hohoho.. the hb not ard recently n i managed to do alot of things.. friday i brought QY out for dinner at compasspoint .. yesterday i brought him to garfields place,. then vivocity for dinner n later on to the inlaws place.. later i going bring him to taka and have my dinner there
.. cannot doooooo so much if hb is ard.. he, too slow :pPpP n he dun like to eat dinner outside coz he afraid QY cranky at rest .. :/ bottleneck.. bottleneck...

smurfy, i think it's good for babies to learn how to be independent sometimes cos they will learn how to explore and do things on their own in future. I'm very pro letting babies play on their own with very little supervision at times.

YR is quite ok with self play but there are times when she will keep crawling to me and pulling up to stand and tugging my dress or pants when i'm home, then I will play with her for a while....and then let leave her alone again when she seems happy on her own.

I think i'm getting softer on her now....hahahahaha maybe now i realize that she's really growing big really fast. So scary when u think abt it.

Yday YR knocked her head on a wooden ledge behind our bed and started crying....that wooden ledge quite sharp so i know it's painful lah (i've hit myself there before too) hahahaha My husband just told her quite sternly "yoori, don't cry". but i just carried her and kissed her forehead and hit the wooden ledge. Then she calmed down and then she went to the ledge again and beat the ledge with her hands before she went back to me to play........

funny right how the little minds work....

xiao jie smurlfing....i think any cold storage has Farmer's Union yogurt...it's a white little tub with green letterings....very very plain looking one. Also hor...I don think meiji is good to buy for babies leh...I always find meiji stuff very sweet....so try not to give QY meiji first lah???? or u can try the meiji yogurt...if u think it's ok ..then u go ahead lah. I love meiji products but a bit the sweet for babies i feel.

your hubby just afraid of QY being fussy lah...but then it's really bobian lor...babies at this age are so unpredictable. If u bring your maid along for dinner leh???? at least your maid can play with QY if he gets fussy and u two can enjoy dinner?????

WHAHHAAH YR sooo cute.. cannot imagine how she go and beat the ledge n went back to u.. u must be laffing all the way right??

QY is independent but he still wants someone nearby... yah they are growing very very fast... so i think it is really good for us to slow down our pace n enjoy the time with them now.... this period of time is never coming back again. i regret not going for studio photoshoot with QY when he is much more "baby-ish".

milkie!!!!
this morning till now, QY onli takes 40ml of EBM. sleep oso cannot force him any EBM.. then i tried FM.. whahahah he turned angry.. kick n kick his legs n cried loudly in his drowsy state... (in the past. he onli cry.. but never kick the legs :p)

smurfffy, why not ask the maid to help u tend to QY while u having meals????

eh, still not too late to go for one photoshoot with him before he turns 1 year old. later the longer u drag, the more he will turn older...then u will regret more hahhahaha

i was very amused lor when i saw YR beat the ledge...hahahaa

smurffyyyy, i just bought the kraft cheese wedge....but haven given it to her to try yet. Maybe tomoro then let her try for brunch.

eh, maybe QY also doesn't want milk anymore lah....come come join me..hahahahaaha I was also so concerned about her milk intake but nowadays i kinda just relak a little cos also can't force her to take if she really doesnt want it.

Come lah...don't force QY to take milk anymore....:p:p :p don't make him get aggro by making him drink milk.

milkie, your YR is really amazing.. she doesn't drink much liquids and yet can poop 5x!! *faint* I've tried ALL methods to help my girl poop - no solids, all veg/fruit, no cereal.. sighhhhh.. it's her lousy lazy bowels man..

aiyah gotta run.. busy again.. busy until I totally forgot about my good friend's wedding last night! DIE LAH... dunno how to make it up to her since I am her jiemei and didn't show up for the wedding!! :p

catty, u jialat.......you are so dead lor....u better promise your good friend that u will nazi train her baby in future. hahahahahaha then maybe she will forgive your big boo boo.

I also don know why she doing so much poo poo. I don't really give her much fruits too. kekekekeke guess YR is just naturally FIBROUS. I'm not gonna be mean and say she FUll of S*&( ...:p :p

smurfy i just tried the cheese wedge myself....quite yummy. how do u give it to QY?? 1 wedge per serving ah???? do u cut it into smaller pieces and feed it to him or how???

MUMMIes, got question to ask.....

I saw one of my friend giving her 1 year old cheese cake....can give 1 year old cheese cake meh????????????????????????? I was super shocked when i saw it...but i can't say anything lah..not my kid mah. But is cheesecake ok to be given to babies/toddlers???

hey gals,
I'm soooooo tired too... Soph came down with super high fever at 39.5 degrees C, then hubby was sick at the same time too, so was busy looking after 2 sick cats at home!
She had the same watery poop symptom like Lil J before she developed her fever... doc says it's a virus *sigh*

Catz,
Woah, you forgot your good friend's wedding?! You must be pretty concussed huh?
No solids for Beth and she still doesn't poop? Amazing! cos normally if no solids, they'll give the same watery bm poop again.

milkshake,
My sis lor!!! She gives her baby everything under the sun ever since he started eating solids... cheesecake, half-boiled egg... you name it!

Heee, cannot take video of Soph tearing her clothes lah... RA!!!

Yesterday I tried feeding her on her highchair, she seemed OK, but preoccupied with banging on the tray, stretching out to reach for things... is this normal? Should I expect a baby to sit there guai guai and eat her food?

smurfy,
Eh, I find Meiji yoghurt quite sweet.

huskie, oh no poor Soph.. where did she get the virus from??? Hope she gets better ASAP! Poor you.. it's just awful when the big baby gets sick too, huh? I know.. my husband is a walking germ

Yah die lah.. my good friend's wedding... I feel so bladdy bad now.. dunno how I'll ever make it up to her.

milkie, I still remember my mom secretly gave Timo a bite of her birthday cheesecake when he was 18 months and he MERLIONED everything out. Haha.. after that, she dare not anyhow feed him. He's still off limits for chocolates, peanuts and shellfish.

Thinking of organising a babymallonline spree.. anyone interested? Collection at my place at AMK, possibly Bishan J8 one afternoon and postage lor.

Swinging by again to say hello!

Talking about yoghurt, no one here has tried making their own? Now they have these yoghurt making machines that totally take the guess work out of making yoghurt so you get fresh, 'pure' yoghurt everytime! I'm lucky, my mum makes yoghurt from scratch every weekend for the Son...no machines for her, she does the whole she-bang from scratch. Obviously it does not taste as great as those from the supermarkets, it's rather sour really, but the Son has taken to its taste and I'm happy knowing that he is not ingesting extra sugar that ALL baby yoghurt have. I've checked through the ingredients list for ALL known baby yoghurt from the supermarkets and they all have sugar/fructose/glucouse what-ever-tose in there.

However, with what-ever-tose mentioned, I might add that Farmer's Union has no added sugar inside. I'm talking about the one Milkie mentioned, the green and white container. Now, that is what real yoghurt should really taste like with nothing added.

Milkie, have you tried it? Digusting right? I can never eat it straight, MUST add something to it or I will gag.

Smurfy,
Looks like I need to go and find the Kraft cheese wedges too, sounds good! I'm using Bega Stringers now and even I'm getting bored of eating his leftovers.

This weekend, I tried cooking short-grained brown rice and green split peas for the Son. According to SBF, this combi of grains plus legumes is a Super Duper porridge combo that has protein equivalent to that in meat and eggs! I'm honestly very surprised that the Son liked it, lol. I was all prepared to throw away the whole batch after his first spoonful. But good lah, he likes it, so I'm going to venture into trying out different combos of grains and legumes.

Catz,
Spree from babymallonline!!! Wheee!!! Can I go take a look and join in if I see anything that I like?

Huskie,
Hope your Sop gets better soon! It's very tiring to look after a sick baby...

hihi JS, I'm thinking really hard if I should do the spree 'cos Babymallonline is a very tiring spree.. can hit over 100 items :p I'll let you know.. you PM me your orders first..

Yoghurt - Beth is lactose intolerant. I just bought some soy yoghurt but hv not fed her yet. Self-made yoghurt - I don't dare! What if I accidentally poison my kids! Hee... kudos to anyone who does their own yoghurt. I'm a buy ready-made kinda girl..haha..

huskie....oh no..sounds like u got a horrid weekend already - having to look after soph and hubby. Poor you. Hope soph gets well really soon.

eh, ummmmm huskie..regarding babies who sit there guai guai to eat....YR quite guai when it comes to sitting on highchair to eat. Also my highchair's tray is removable, so i don't have the tray on it...so she can't bang the tray. No toys, no tray..she can only concentrate on eating!!!! hahahahahahaha The most she does is actually to look around if for eg, she hears something going on etc...other than that, she's really quite easy to feed.

How come your sis so happening let the baby eat anything??? hahaha she's not afraid of food allergies or baby getting too much processed foods ah???

catty, eh, i saw Heinz bottled foods they do sell chocolate mousse or don know what for 6 mths and above leh...chocs actually off limits for babies or not???? I'm sometimes very confused with what's what man.....

but i probably won give yoori seafood at all until she's very very old i think...as in when she is old enuff to buy seafood herself. Cos i myself allergic to seafood....so i'm very afraid she is allergic to it lor. My husband allergic to citrus and pollens!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But I've tried orange juice in her foods before and she seems ok, no reaction whatsoever....

JS...Your mum is damn good man, can make yogurt somemore. I am like catz lah...if can find easy alternative, I'm in for it. hahahaha Life's tough enuff as it is....can't make it any tougher.

Oh i've tried the farmer's union yogurt...it tastes like the baby barumba yogurt, very strong taste. But i'm ok with it lah....pretty used to such foods cos my husband loves such disgusting foods.

U know i bought the super baby foods book, but i have NEVER made any of the porridges recipe there...:p

Thanks for the well-wishes for Soph... she's better today. Fever has subsided... hope it stays that way.

Heee, had a quarrel with hubby about this - accused him of bringing home virus, then felt bad cos Soph might have been the one who passed it to him

Catz,
If Beth is lactose-intolerant, do you take dairy products in your own diet (since you are bf-g)?
Cos Soph used to be lactose intolerant, but I suspected that was a temporary situation cos her system was probably damaged by a FM that she couldn't tolerate.
Today it's the first time I've taken dairy in a long while... ate some yogurt this afetrnoon... wanna observe and see if it has any effect on her before I start eating milk and cheese and then later on intro dairy to her.

JS, milkie,
Wow, you girls are so lucky, your kids are so easy-going when it comes to food!

milkie,
You're allergic to seafood? Does that include fish or just the crustaceans?

Catz,
Where do you buy the soy-based yoghurt?

Sunsweet,
I just bought the EYS Si Shen Brown Rice Powder - is that the same one you give Smiley J?
How often do you give her that?
Is it "heaty"?

huskie, the soy based yoghurt is from your fave shop - Organic4Less at Thomson
Quite exp.. a little tub for $4 plus.. but worth a try. Yah I think Beth's insides were damaged by the FM she took when I was hospitalised. 'Cos prev she never had constipation problems until after she went on FM. :p She's OK with dairy coming through me lei.. no eczema..

She did a MEGA poo.. I kinda OD'ed her on flaxseed oil accidentally yesterday 'cos I poured out too much. turns out it's actually 4x the proper dosage..haha

milkie, u are lucky that YR is so easy lor..

high chair - beth is OK to sit there 'cos we make her sit in there quite a fair bit..hehe.. but if she's had enough, she'll push her butt upwards. Generally she's pretty well behaved in the highchair unless she's extremely tired.

Huskieeee, I'm allergic to the crustaceans type....fishes are ok. if i wanna take seafood, i have to take medication beforehand. I LOVE crabs though so sometimes I will just heck it and wack black pepper crab with husband...:p

My husband is also the type who falls sick really easily. U know i used to get irritated by his coughing or sneezing even when we were just dating and I used to just glare at him and ask him to STOP it. But he will then tell me that he can't help it and that he is sick.....

I really got problem when he coughs and sneezes. I just hate the sound of it lor....i think i got something wrong in my head hor? hahahahaha

milkie, SAME!!!! My hubby is a sinus sufferer so every morning he is like blowing trumpet and sniffling away.. i tak boleh.. I HATE the sound of sniffling, sneezing and anything to do with his irritating nose :p

Huskie,
Is the EYS Si Shen brow rice powder supposed to be heaty? The Son takes this mixture on weekdays when he is in my mum's care. He is not constipated, but I do find that he passes soft pebble-like poo during the weekdays and mushier poo during the weekends when I'm the one feeding him. I always thought it's because of all my food experimentation on him during the weekends. Hmm, maybe I should ask my mum to stop the EYS for a while and monitor his poo...

I'm also allergic to crustaceans, but not as severe as Milkie's where she has to take meds beforehand. I just break out in a wonderful array of eczema bubbles. I'm probably sadistic, but I actually like bursting those bubbles and squeezing out the fluid. Okay, I'm also quite disgusting on top of sadistic, I suppose. Also, if I take too much eggs or milk, the bubbles will also come to pay me a nice long visit. It's quite a PITA with food allergies, but I've since learned to live with it.

Catz,
I'm only eyeing 2 bodysuits from babymallonline, so I post here lah, okay? Smaaaaaaall order only.

http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28_55/products_id/610/osCsid/a24f49010cf84f24898092a97dfb9b74
Mommy's Bad Day Baby Bodysuit, $3.99
Royal blue, 18 months

http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/28_55/products_id/668/osCsid/a24f49010cf84f24898092a97dfb9b74
Milk Junkie Baby Bodysuit, $2.99
Grey, 9 - 12 months

If you decide not to organise a spree afterall, no worries, I'll be fine with it! If you do decide to go ahead, do let me know how much I should pay you!