(2007/02) February

paisei i post so many times for smurfy...cos each time i thought it didn't go thru...sorry sorry....

anywayz will see u girls later....
hee hee

ladies..

later go to the cheesecake place...dun order the pasta le..not nice...their bake rice, fish & chips are GREAT!!...then got asian cuisine also..keke...so far the few i tried...

smurfy the dentinox is for teething babies?? then i should get one to stand by. A was so noisy last night! He was whah whah whah-ing away but eyes were closed, I ignored him for a while and when I couldnt take it anymore, I carried him craddle way and pat him to 'sleep'. that silent him till this morning 7am.

hi gals me comfirm coming leh.. arranged with my mil that i'l reach home abt 1.30 to pick bb out.. hehe she's planing to go out too.. i'm think she's happy i've relieving her from the baby..

i'll probably reach abt 2.30 - 3pm.. depending how soon i can get lil J ready and leave home

packed her outing bag this monrning .. so just need to pack her milk and dinner .. cos after meeting u gals i'll hang out till evening when i pop by my hub office and have dinner with him friday night mah.. our nights out day

hehe waiting for 12.30 to come then i can call it a day at office

tq fatbabe....

nowadays as i say zz v bad temper... he bite his towels aggressively, then most times if u lie him down, he scream and cries until tears fell down.

need to keep pacify him... hope he will enjoy being alone in the back seat while I drive later...

garfield
since u lobang soo many... u wana lobang me????????????????? kekekee
tuas!!!

cherryale
yep yep.. that's what huskie mentioned.. will buy and try later..

Garfield,

me also going to settle lunch at GWC.. keke we makan together and let our babies entertain themselves..

please dun get spidey boy shoot out all his web while playing ok?

as for teething gel i think i need to get too.. cos lil J seems to be a littl uncomfortable with her sprouting teeth.. (i suspect 2 teeth are sprouting together)

Garfield,

eh i sms u b4 i leave home.. then i can est the time i can reach tiong barhu..

at the moment i estimate 2.15pm the earliest..

SUSU, ur gym stuff only left the cardigan! The dress OOS liao... So sad... I wanna order the same dress also...
Managed to get my coupon. U let me know other alternatives k? Want to place order asap as stocks go oos really fast...

i wld be having lunch also.. hiak hiak...let us just eat & leave the babies to fuss...wahahaha...
bad bad nana...

garfield
ai yah... so disappointing
anyway kidding lar.. tuas is one farrrrr end of the island
.. me calling cab to go down.

smurfy,
icic..thanks!
if u go to the Ergo website, it can even carry an adult!
me oso 1 2 get but will wait c got any BP..may wait & wait den no need to buy liao cuz bb grow up already! hahaa..save $$ keke

mummies, i need help. A is cutting back on his milk pretty drastically. He has is dinner at around 5.30pm, milk at 7pm. Usually he takes about 200ml but now he can only finish 125ml. Should I give him lesser food for dinner?? Mil said even after finishing all the food he will still open his mouth wide waiting for more food?? how?? which is more impt solids at dinner or milk?

Hi cherry, i think it is normal for babies to reduce their milk intake once they start taking solid. However, read from Super Baby Food milk is still most important to baby b4 8 months old. So u may want to cut down on solid now for A. But as long as he is growing well then no need to worry lah.

cherry
yah, u may wan to cut down on solids or add milk to his cereals, that's what i am doing now...

teething gel
that works wonder. QY slept thr last nite... or either that he is too tired from the last 3 nites of very poor sleep (the poor boy got panda eyes)

meetup.

pvl
keke ben is a handsome boy.. and a very vocal one as well, making alot of sounds

charis
ehhh yael looks so different frm the last time u post his pics.. grown quite alot

sunsweet
lil j is one baby who seems to be enjoying herself alot

garfield
kekeke zz is very active boy hor???? ohhh u must be rest assured now for zz only got eyes for girls... err on lil j hahahahahaa

me2baby
jade has alot of hair... so pretty for a girl

nana
ryan must be verrry happy for mummy finally got the courage to bring him out alone.... and yah my QY will be that cranky in a table with sooo many unknowns oso

milkie
YR is very well behaved and gentle leh,, not like what u described... err or at least the sounds she makes is very soft :p

JAs
YX got a cute blur look. but the most well behaved ond on that day..

cherry
think both of us r too used to lifes with the maid.. haiz.... dunno when we will have the same courae as nana

It was a nice meeting wif so many mummies and babies yesterday!
Too bad i forgot to bring the camera.

Hope we will have more outings like this in the future. Next time, all wif babies k? Smurfy and cherry, dun worry, we all can take turn to take care of each baby for next outing. Guess next time they won't want to sit obediently on the high chair oredi.

sob..

miss the outing...so near & yet so far..all babies grown up liao!

jello,
thanks for ordering the items!! lucky i still in time for it man..kekek

Am really disappointed that I couldnt join you all yesterday. Was all ready on Thursday after smsing nana... Who knows, julian came down with a real bad flu and cough at night! So monitored on Friday morning... Still sneezing non-stop with a nose dripping continuously
so I had no choice but to stay home with him... I wish all of us would have more outings too

jelly, my A officially 8 mths already
anyone knows how much milk they should be taking now? thnk A is having about 600ml now compared to 800ml previously.

smurfy, i have already added milk to his cereal and cut down his dinner cubes to about 11to12cubes of purees+2tablespoons of brownrice.

I weighed A just now, +/- some inaccuracy, he is around 8.4kg. he put on about 1 kg in 6 weeks after starting solids. I am happy with his weight considering he is super active and until now, he still vomit out his milk though its not as much as before.

Jas, Sunsweet,Milkshake, I think Garfield and I both agree that baby gals are generally more kwai than boys. Our boys simply cant stop fidgeting
I had a hard time taking care of him today as maid has to pack her clothes to prepare to go back, so I kind of took over the main caregiver role...damn tired, luckily at 3pm today, he was quite cooperative, I was sleepy, so I on my room aircon, drew the curtains and brought him in to sleep with me. Thank God, he slept till 5pm with me

smurfy, erhh, if I want to be SAHM, then I better pluck up the courage. I will have 'practical' exam very soon...tremble...

milkshake, what is the brand of the baby carrier that you used the other day? Where can I get it? Got more 'boyish' material?? Smurfy, maybe first step to bringing baby out is to get a nice,chio baby carrier
I am too lazy to bring stroller out and fil dun wan to return me my baby bjorn, so i think I should get a new baby carrier, hopefully one that can accomodate heavier weight.

GOG, is Julian better now??

garfield, zz's cough better already? seems like many people are ill, we better take good care of ourselves. I just got a flu jab, hopefully, will be stronger.

jelly, can u share your secrets to slimming?? all the fats go to YX right? what did your aunt feed her?? She is so solid!! btw, i am going to start my gym session on monday..look forward to a brand new figure!!!

m2bb, jade has really nice jet black hair
next time we catch up over lunch again!

mummies, any reason why people participate in sprees rather than order on their own? Is it cheaper or just for convenience? I am going to order from babymallonline on my own, was surprised that there was 30% discount given when I put the items in the cart.

cherryale,
HAppy Birthday to ur boy

wow! 11 - 12 dinner cubes + 2 tablespoons of brown rice??
that's a lot! ur baby can finish??
Wat type of dinner cubes u give him?
so far the most my son's only taking abt 2 dinner cubes + 1 tablespoon of brown rice & still got some leftover, most times...

seems like everyone enjoyed themselves during the gatherings

Grace, hope julian is getting better now. Join us for the next gathering with Julian ya...

Cherry, 600ml should be ok for A since he is 8 months old now! And judging from his increase in weight since start solid, he shd be doing fine. Dun worry too much.
Yunxi is 7 months old and she is taking abt 720ml of milk per day, but she only take 1 solid per day in the morning - 3 tsp of rice cereal + 2 cubes of fruit/vege cereals.

Dun have any secret to slim down lah. I basically lost all my fat gained after my appendicitis. Not a good way to lose weight.
Hei, u are not fat, ok? U look great!

cherry, we normally join spree to share the shipping cost or becos the merchandise does not accept international credit card and we do not have vpost or comgeway account. Can we order from babymallonline ourselves? They accept international cc? So far i have only ordered gymboree stuff myself as they use international shipping and shipping charge is quite reasonable.

Hi Jelly and Cherry!

Thanks for your concern. Julian is better today, at least no more runny nose but he still breathe real heavier...

Yup, would very much like to join you mummies

I just started julian with porridge, veg and fish today cos he just turned 8 months
However, I faced some problems preparing his porridge and if you can, pls advise.

I boiled about 3 tablespoon of rice but it took so long on the stove. Threw in the fish and veg to boil for a while. When everything is cooked, I tried to mash the fish and veg but I couldnt. As my boy is not able to chew food using his gums yet, I decided to blend the whole thing! Am I doing it right?
Also, how many times a day do you gals feed your babies with boiled porridge?
Would like to try the slow cooker method. can anyone advise please?

Thanks a million!

wow .. so envy u all mummies and babies enjoying yrselves on the gathering, too bad, i'm working .. can't join u ppl
maybe next time u all org some gathering on weekends bah :p

graceofgod,
i'm using a slow cooker to cook porridge for my boy. I used abt 3 tablespoons for 2 meals, usually 10am & 5pm. Just need to put the fish and vege into the cooker with the rice. I used the munchkin (forgot the spelling) grinder to grind everything.

hi Longan!

Thanks for the advice. Can I ask if you grind the mixture (porridge, veg and fish) or take out the veg and fish to grind separately? Thanks.

cherryale
hohoho, then u got to practice more often :p i will go crazy if 24/7 with such a fidgetive boy

gak,/cherryale.milkie
i received my ergocarrier on friday evening and tried it oredi and i love it alot. it is much more simpler to wear... for front carry position, just click on the strap atthe waist area, then put the bb in, then finally click on the strap nera the neck area and it is alll done... i carry it only for short trip on sat... so is not able to comment on the weight distribution and whether it will cause aches or not.. milkie...kekeke actually ur kangarose very pretty leh, i like whahahaha.. i guess the cross at the back will distribute the bb's weight better

gak, yes my boy can finish about 12cubes of purees at each meal. But I think I will cut to 10 cubes gradually so that he can continue to drink milk. Typically, i will give about 3 cubes of sweet potatoes, 2-3 cubes yellow veg (carrots/pumpkin), 6cubes of green veg (broccoli, caixin or other leafy veg, zucchini etc).

This weekend again made 10 different types of purees but this time I split into 2 days and my maid did 80% of the job
after observing me for close to 2 months, she has mastered the art of pureeing
good life for me now

jelly, i suspect my boy is rejecting milk, he simply doesnt want to drink milk...the naughty boi!!! Now I am forced to read the thick Super Baby food book to understand why????

jelly, i see, but I think not much savings from sharing shipping leh. babymallonline accepts international shipping, payment can be via credit card or paypal. But I saw from the spree, the gals use comgateway. Anyway I have vpost account so even if they dun ship to singapore, i can use that. Think i will go ahead and place my order myself cos dun know when the next spree will start.

smurfy, this weekend is mini practice for me.. I basically try to do most things on my own, change diaper, feed baby, put him to sleep etc, now backache and hb not around to massage

the ergocarrier looks quite good, where did u get it?? and how much? How long can u use this carrier? I just went to check the website of the kangarose..I like the black and white one!!! Super cool, just right for my A and his Mummy
It said 'sold' dun know if it means soldout?? anyway, the website looks kind of strange, but accepts paypal I think. Hb has paypal, so I guess, he will be my paypal then, hahhaha
he needs to buy baby and I presents since he has been MIA for 2 weeks!!!

graceofgod,
depends, if i steam the fish and vege separately, then i'll grind the porridge first follow by the 2 ..
if cook together in the slow cooker, then everything can grind in 1 go ... faster also :p
but i heard steaming will retain the most nutrients lor, sometimes being lazy, i juz dump everything into the slow cooker .. kekekekeke ...

smurfy
wah! got new carrier liao!

sounds really simple to use!
keep us updated on the pros & cons of this ergo carrier k?
actually the downside of this carrier is the design doesn't look that appealing..not so nice
but u can't have the best of both worlds rite?

cherryale
wow! ur boy got a very good appetite!
when did u start him on semi-solid? he's on FM or BM?
hmmm..u mean u add so many types of veggies into his dinner? or a few cubes for each type?
wat other type of Green Leafy Veg u give him? I can't think of anymore besides Chye Sim, Chinese Spinach & Broccoli..
wat do u give him for breakfast & lunch??
for the past 2 days, i added 3 veggie cubes for his dinner
but always got left over *haiz* he got a very tiny tummy..usually when he's full, he'll burp or hv e vomit action.
however if i give him his milk like maybe half an hr later he still can drink le..so dunno he acting or wat keke..
sorry ya so many qns :p

mommies
after u give ur babies a full meal, do they still want their milk 1-2hrs after??
mine will...

gak

my gal also want milk 1 hr after her solid food.. partly is becos she needs milk b4 taking her nap. or she is real hungry.

i just give her...or else she will cry and cry

Cherry, after hearing u want to order direct from babymallonline, i also tempted...
especially they have 30% till this friday. But how much is the shipping? Or it depends on the actual weight of purchase? For gymboree, it has fix US$20 shipping for <US$100 purchase, and US$40 for purchase between S$100-US$200. So to minimise the shipping cost, the best is to purchase as close to US$100 or US$200 as possible. So if u do not intend to buy so many from gym, the best is asking around who is interested so can share the shipping cost.

Wow, seems like you girls really had a good time... hope I can join next time!

milkie,
Show me the pic of your stylo-milo carrier!!!

smurfy,
Good that Dentinox works for QY! Teething is such a painful process!
I heard Ergo is really good... heee, been eyeing it for some time, but then I think better don't spend more morny, just stick to my Lucky Baby hip sling.

stella,
I saw Soph's 2 bottom teeth liao

My baby can also drink milk 1 hour after solids... my mum says she's addicted to milk... these little milkaholics!

GOG,
I tried blending the porridge after it's cooked, but my baby doesn't like it, maybe cos it's too smooth and watery.
So now I just use fork to mash it up. Same for fish, I just steam it and mash up. Cos I read that learning to eat more grainy foods will help babies in their speech development.
I prefer to steam the fish separately cos it only takes 5-8 mins for such a small piece to cook, and the "juice" that comes out from the steamed fish is very sweet, so I add that into my baby's porridge for a nice sweet taste, so I don't need to use any other meat for porridge stock.
Sometimes I'll make a poached fish with "spinach sauce" - the spinach sauce is also very sweet thanks to the fish.

hey everyone, been very very busy.. no time to scroll through all the postings so if anyone needs any response from me, pls pm me k? i can actually check my email from my phone whereas surfing forum i hv to switch on the laptop which is just not possible 'cos both kids are attracted to the laptop :p

hmmm... my daughter ah.. doesn't want her milk after a meal. i feed her dinner at 4.30pm so that she will take her milk at 6.30pm :p but sometimes she doesn't even want 2oz of milk!! sian...

ergo carrier - i love the back carry option. if we didn't hv the ergo, we wouldn't hv been able to make it down the caves in Perth with my son. haha.. but you all know i'm the carrier collector..

ok gotta go.. this week i'm flying solo. hb back at work and sis and parents away on holiday. sigghhhh..

huskie,

sophie first tooth has emerged... very cute right?

cherish two bottom teeth have grown to full length already. her top front tooth is coming out. and last saturday she was so grouchy and feverish. and the best thing is we were at changi airport, and i dont have any teething gel with me. so she was screaming from changi to woodlands.

hi mummies, hope u girls had a good good weekend.
I know i did. hee hee

anywayz, i only have time to glimpse thru some of the posts.

Cherry, the carrier is by kangarose, and yes the black/white design is very cool and easy to match.
A's appetite is very very good and he's grown so much.

Smurfette, wah..that's fast. I thought your carrier would take a bit longer to come but hey, good to hear it's good so far. I've seen a lot of pple using it though, so i believe it's also good.

my mil used my carrier and piggy backed YR yday...but i still don't think i will dare to put her on my back. I'll wait till she can stand up properly before I attempt such a feat on my own. I also don' tknow how she did it.....

catty, i'm sure u'll be Fine fine fine. how long will parents be away for???

huskieeeee, i didn't take a pic of my carrier but if u go to the kangarose webbie, mine is the green/pink carrier. very girly............

jello, u organizing spree again??? :p :p :p

my parents in law just went off but will be back again in a mth's time. And this week, my parents will back so i think i might be a little busy entertaining them.

Eh, i got question to ask chocbabe or anyone who knows...

do u know how sq charges for a baby to travel by biz/first class? ddoes the baby get the entire seat for herself or does the baby have to sit on my lap???? will the airline provide a little cot for the baby???? can the stewardess help to look after the baby????????

huskie
ai yohh, i got a scolding frm hb on the teething gel. he read the ingredients and say one of the ingredients is those used in op. theatres for numbing patients.. got me to taste the gel.. and really my tongue is numbed.. hai... i think i got to stop using it.. unless QY's too cranky in the middle of the nite.

i had a good wkend. this QY finally wants me kekeke.. whenever i am by his side, playing with him.. the moment i stand up and walk off.. he makes noises... then when he is on the ground e oso crawls towards me instead of maid.. and at inlaws place... he keep stretching his hands towards me when mil carried him.. whahahahahaa sooo happy.. the efforts of a lifeless lifestyle is finally worth it.

yoohoooo... milkie, so happening ah? if my awful memory serves me right, you'll have to pay half fare for a full seat on sq/biz if you want a seat for baby BUT if you carry infant in arms, you don't have to pay for the seat. you can request for infant bassinet, subject to availability and erm, stewardesses can sometimes help with baby if they don't have other duties

smurfy, i don't use teething gel unless i really really need
qy so cute. beth will scold if i make her crawl. teehee..

Hi Grace,
Too bad we didn't get to meet you on Fri.
I use the crock pot to cook Ben's porridge. So far he's been on porridge for lunch and dinner since Friday. I'm still not sure how much he can actually take cos he's still getting used to the taste and texture. I simply wash the rice in the crock pot and put in water to about the same height as the rice. Cook for at least 2 hours. When most of the water is absorbed and the rice is mushy, stir vigorously so that the grains break up. Check the water content after about 1 1/2 hours in case it's too little Add more water if necessary. It's a bit of trial and error for the amounts. I'm still experimenting myself. I add the veges and stock/meats at about 1 1/2 hours into the cooking but you can actually add them at any time, even at the beginning. Yesterday morning I put on the crock pot at about 6.15, I think I added too much water, and then my hb wanted to leave for church at 8.15, so the porridge was not quite ready to be put into the flask. But then we had no choice. So Ben had rice 'soup' for lunch. So hard to feed him, dripping everywhere. Poor fellow.
Oh yes, if you use minced meat, ask the butcher to mince it 2x. Makes it finer.

milkshake,
WAHHH!! You travel 1st class??? Such luxury! I dunno if they allow babies in first class or not. You'll have to ask. In economy, they provide a bassinet if you reserve one in advance because it's the seat just behind the wall. If you need help the stewardesses will definitely help you. But hor, YR is soooo heavy and big, dunno if the bassinet can take her wt or not. Wahahaha! And everytime there is turbulence you have to take YR out of the bassinet and hold her on your lap. SQ is quite strict about this. Last time we travelled JAL with Sarah at 7 wks, they were not so strict. I just pretended I didn't know the rules, and strapped her in the bassinet.

Catz,
Take care of yourself. I too am mentally preparing myself to go absolutely solo cos in 2 wks time my hb has to do a business trip. Only 4 days, but it will still mean nights by myself.