(2007/02) February

Sap,

Can toast the grains and keep in fridge and use when necessary?

I tot of adding a tspn of millet to the normal rice porridge as to slowly intro it to Lil J.

just like making brown and white rice porridge.

is it ok?

Cherryale,

me too scare if i take leave this friday then boss will also think i up to funny business.. sigh.. the temptation of the meet-up is there loh..

aiyoh.. how how..

cherryale, garfield
kekeke that's the reaosn why i dun wanna get the photobook.. not creative and no patience :p

milkie.
i settled on this oredi , getting the cranberry one...

http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/gallery/2/

Most new moms and dads can't wait to offer their baby a teething cookie. There's just something magical about watching your little one "gumming" a teething biscuit, discovering that there's more to life than just liquid and pureed foods.

But at what age can a parent offer their baby a teething cookie? "Teething biscuits probably should not be given to babies until they really can chew them," says Sanna James Delmonico, a dietitian from Napa, Calif. She says that while most store-bought brands are crumbly enough that a 7-month-old baby could "gum" off a piece, this could be a choking hazard.

Because every baby develops differently and is ready for new challenges at different times, the best advice is to discuss it with your pediatrician. "When she is ready for teething biscuits, make sure you are there and watching her to minimize the risk of choking," says Delmonico.

Here are some easy recipes for homemade teething biscuits to try on your baby once she is ready to use those gums and newly emerging teeth!

Teether Cookies
2 cups milk
1/2 cup lukewarm water
1/2 cup butter
2 egg yolks, beaten
1 tablespoon salt
8 cups (approximately) unbleached flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons active dry yeast

Warm butter, milk, salt and 2 tablespoons of the sugar over low heat. Remove from heat and cool to lukewarm. In a separate bowl, dissolve yeast and the other 2 tablespoons sugar in the lukewarm water. Cover yeast bowl and let set until bubbles appear on the surface.

Combine milk and yeast mixtures and stir. Beat egg yolks, then add to mixture. Slowly add 3 cups of the flour. Mix dough well, then add the remaining flour 1 cup at a time to make a soft dough. If it gets too stiff, stop adding flour. Turn dough onto a floured board and knead until dough is smooth and elastic.

Place in greased bowl, rolling dough so it is covered with grease. Cover bowl and let dough rise until double in size. Roll dough into small balls. Place balls on a greased baking sheet 2 inches apart. Let the dough rise until double in size. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Makes about 2 dozen.

Vanilla Teething Biscuits
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
2 to 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Combine the eggs, sugar, vanilla and flour in a large bowl. Mix well. Form into a ball and place on a floured surface. Roll out to about 1/4-inch thickness. Cut into fun shapes with cookie cutters or into "sticks" that are easy for Baby to hold. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet and allow to sit at least 10 hours. Bake at 325 degrees F for 17 to 20 minutes.

Wheat Teething Biscuits
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup wheat germ
2/3 cup milk
4 tablespoons margarine, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoon vanilla, optional
1 tablespoon brown sugar

Combine the milk, margarine, brown sugar and vanilla. Add the wheat germ and then enough of the flour to make a dough. Knead until it becomes smooth, about 10 minutes. Form 1/2-inch- by 4-inch-long "sticks" and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 40 minutes or until they are brown and have a hard texture.

Cereal Cookies
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dry infant cereal such as rice with bananas or oatmeal and apples
3 tablespoons canola oil
Cold water

In a large bowl, combine the flour and baby cereal. Add the oil and cold water until you form a dough. Roll out on a floured surface and cut into shapes. Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 425 degrees F for 10 to 11 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool

http://www.recipestoday.com/articles/4182.php

Most new moms and dads can't wait to offer their baby a teething cookie. There's just something magical about watching your little one "gumming" a teething biscuit, discovering that there's more to life than just liquid and pureed foods.

But at what age can a parent offer their baby a teething cookie? "Teething biscuits probably should not be given to babies until they really can chew them," says Sanna James Delmonico, a dietitian from Napa, Calif. She says that while most store-bought brands are crumbly enough that a 7-month-old baby could "gum" off a piece, this could be a choking hazard.

Because every baby develops differently and is ready for new challenges at different times, the best advice is to discuss it with your pediatrician. "When she is ready for teething biscuits, make sure you are there and watching her to minimize the risk of choking," says Delmonico.

Here are some easy recipes for homemade teething biscuits to try on your baby once she is ready to use those gums and newly emerging teeth!

Teether Cookies
2 cups milk
1/2 cup lukewarm water
1/2 cup butter
2 egg yolks, beaten
1 tablespoon salt
8 cups (approximately) unbleached flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons active dry yeast

Warm butter, milk, salt and 2 tablespoons of the sugar over low heat. Remove from heat and cool to lukewarm. In a separate bowl, dissolve yeast and the other 2 tablespoons sugar in the lukewarm water. Cover yeast bowl and let set until bubbles appear on the surface.

Combine milk and yeast mixtures and stir. Beat egg yolks, then add to mixture. Slowly add 3 cups of the flour. Mix dough well, then add the remaining flour 1 cup at a time to make a soft dough. If it gets too stiff, stop adding flour. Turn dough onto a floured board and knead until dough is smooth and elastic.

Place in greased bowl, rolling dough so it is covered with grease. Cover bowl and let dough rise until double in size. Roll dough into small balls. Place balls on a greased baking sheet 2 inches apart. Let the dough rise until double in size. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 to 15 minutes or until golden brown. Makes about 2 dozen.

Vanilla Teething Biscuits
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
2 to 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Combine the eggs, sugar, vanilla and flour in a large bowl. Mix well. Form into a ball and place on a floured surface. Roll out to about 1/4-inch thickness. Cut into fun shapes with cookie cutters or into "sticks" that are easy for Baby to hold. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet and allow to sit at least 10 hours. Bake at 325 degrees F for 17 to 20 minutes.

Wheat Teething Biscuits
1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup wheat germ
2/3 cup milk
4 tablespoons margarine, melted and cooled
1/2 teaspoon vanilla, optional
1 tablespoon brown sugar

Combine the milk, margarine, brown sugar and vanilla. Add the wheat germ and then enough of the flour to make a dough. Knead until it becomes smooth, about 10 minutes. Form 1/2-inch- by 4-inch-long "sticks" and place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 40 minutes or until they are brown and have a hard texture.

Cereal Cookies
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup dry infant cereal such as rice with bananas or oatmeal and apples
3 tablespoons canola oil
Cold water

In a large bowl, combine the flour and baby cereal. Add the oil and cold water until you form a dough. Roll out on a floured surface and cut into shapes. Place on a cookie sheet and bake at 425 degrees F for 10 to 11 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool

http://www.recipestoday.com/articles/4182.php

this teething biscuits hor.. that QY very fussy eater leh.. like his daddy..
give him

1. Babybites -> he eats and giggles at the same time
2. Healthy Times -> his face turn totally ugly again.

3. Bellancy (cannot remember spelling) - maid trying out this brand today.

me dunno how to cook arr.. home got no baking oven oso :p can onli rely on the quick methods of store-brought brands

Hey ladies..

Oh no..dont think I can come this fri. Cos got church service at 3pm..although my church is quite near GWC.

I think shouldnt give the teether biscuits so soon..Yael almost choked on some of this biscuits..cos they come become quite crumbly..even the hard ones like Rusks gets into tiny soft but crumb like tat can choke.

Sunsweet,
Thanks for the recipes!
Last night i was just thinking about baking my own teething biscuits, but I was thinking of baking wheat-free, egg-free type, so will be looking around for such recipes

Mummies, very sad... just found out that my plan to stay at home by early nov might have to be postponed AGAIN. Very long story so I shalln't go into it. Praying very hard that everything will go smoothly after all and I can take care of Ethan myself by next month * sob sob*

re teething biscuits - Ethan always makes such a mess whenever I give him one. Would usually strip him to his diapers before I throw him one. Eh, like not so good for his pride hor? Wahaha... But really, he'll gum gum it until it's a soft and cereal-like and then he'll smear it all over. His face, his clothes, his hair, my furniture. Then when he is completely covered with the cereal-like stuff, he'll start crying very loudly for a cuddle. Aiyo, I think it's all in his plan to sabo me. If I cave in and carry him, he'll rub his face on my chest (and clothes!!!) repeatedly.

garfield,
with me ard... we wont get lost lar...i think... from my place to GWC very near only... think u wont be as gan jeong also mah...since got me to accompany u... kekekee.. *thick skinned*
u know how to come my place rite?? i email u my addy...
thanks thanks!! u the best!! like that hor..even is raining i also can go liao!! yipee.. yeah, remind me to bring the milk powder hor... i super forgetful nowadays..

winnie,
thanks so much for dropping by my place to pass me the boardbks....
hope u can become SAHM soon!
my ryan also makes a mess when i give him his teething biscuits...sama sama... haha... after that, sometimes i wld even need to change shirt for him, even with a bib on... his shirt also can kena...haiz...

Has been a looooooonnnggg time since I last posted. Norelle is recovering from her (almost 1-month)sicknesses. First, fever, then baby measles, followed by running and cough. *sigh* Her running nose is drying up but the cough still persist lor. Brought her to PD today.

She's 7.9kg @ 8 months 3 days. Another light baby in the forum. Since the fever, she developed some rashes on her back. On and off. Looks like those heat rashes. Today, the PD said that it's eczema. May I ask, what's the difference between eczema and heat rashes????

And I remember someone sharing about some cream/body lotion for eczema but couldn't recall the brand. And I would also like to change her bathing gel. I am currently using J&J lor. Any recommendations for the bathing gel???

Despite all the sickness, Norelle is still as active as ever. I really cannot keep up with her now. She can crawl pretty fast now. She actually skip the crawling as advanced from the sitting unassisted to standing up then only the crawling. Now she can even climbs stairs very well - unassisted!!! So it's very dangerous to leave her alone not even for a mere 5 secs. Her latest stunt now is she tends to hold on to the staircase rail and climbs up the stairs sideway (while standing)....i think i have to basically 'glue' to her liao.

Anyway, enough of my babbling....here are some pictures of Norelle taken @ 8 months.

999762.jpg

the shy look (for 0.05 milisec)

999763.jpg

Smiley Norelle

mummyzeen

norelle looks like a big girl and so sweet!!!

she looks bigger than 7.9 kg.

i want to kiss kiss her...keke

mummy zeen, norelle's top is from zara right?????????heheheheheee YR's got the same top. heehehehehe

AND Norelle looks very healthy and all...doesn't look like she just got well from a bad bout of sickness. she's sooooo sweet, she looks so feminine too.
But yet again, u say she's active like a monster...so looks are deceiving. hee hee

hey, u coming to gwc tomorrow???

i got assaulted by YR. She used a wooden plank to hit me when i was lying down. Then i used a hammer and hit her head with it.

Now both of us have to go to mend our respective heads.

susu,

u r so funny.. exciting cat fight between mummy and daughter...haha

last sunday,cherish grab hold of my hp and let it free fall on my forehead while i was lying down.. i was giddy the whole morning .

susu,

u r so funny.. exciting cat fight between mummy and daughter...haha

last sunday,cherish grab hold of my hp and let it free fall on my forehead while i was lying down.. i was giddy the whole morning .

milkshake, you are the best man! Can fight with your daughter
My A is also another rough baby, he sleeps with me on my bed and he loves to use his hands or legs to hit or kick me real hard!! But I usually dun take revenge unless he caught me in a foul mood, then I will smack him buttock real hard to let him have an experience of what pain is..hahah I am evil ;)

i applied half day already on fri but not sure if really can go cos too much work!! btw, what time are we supposed to meet?? And, can some PM me your hp number so that i can call for help if I get lost??? Thanks so much!!

mummy zeen, norelle is so pretty and sweet and she doesnt look her weight at all. And she is so advanced in her motor skills..wow climb stairs unassisted..think she is the only baby to do it in feb thread right? My A is slow in everything maybe except for eating

charis, yah, my A almost choke once on teething rusks.

Susu,

hehe luckily i only lightly hit lil J on head with her bolster.. so i think at most she will use her bolster to hit me.. haha

humm tomorrow friday liao..

cook up some excuse.. humm....

i wonder my MIL happy that i bring lil J or not.. sigh..

cherry,

i m going this fri too u have my contact?... zz also v violent, also like to kick and beat we adults! yesterday i saw him clapping his hands together?? do they know this yet? anyway, his kicks and beatings are v painful 1... dunno y

dun ever let him grab any hard paper... he use tat weapon n beat yr face!

zz last nite cough even more badly liao
... i think i had to bring him to PD liao... thinkin of goin this fri evenin lor... after meetin u gals...

mum_zeen, norelle v pretty n lady like. she looks tall. i also let zz sit on trolley once, he also v happy... prob first time lor

nana... hehe no prob... me also near to u mah n on the way to gwc. i haven't receive yr email ley? is yrs nxt to TBP? but bear with me blur queen ok? hopefully can rem the milk tin too... hahaha

I need some help here. For the last 2 nites, QY has been waking up very very frequently, like every half hour, or one hr.... he will give a scream, then start crying alil... we tried giving him pacificer, it works for a while, then he either spits it out and fall asleep or spits it out and continue his scream/cry and we will try stuffing him the pacificer.i tried breastfeeding him, but it is just comfort sucking and he is able to sleep for about 2hrs plus with no sounds.

what is wrong with this boy? he is still active in the daytime. teething will cause so much problem ar? this is draining me out.. felt soooo fustrated but oso feel so sorry for him coz he is not able to sleep well oso.

pls advise.. will come in later, busy at work now.

sunsweet, go w little J .... dun let mil rule u la... it yr own child mah...

like me first time bringing him out alone but i try lor... sure got 1st time 1 mah. guess won't be so jia lat, find it a challenge hahha

btw, cherry, bringin A go??

abt teething biscuits, zz also eat v v messy... n then if the biscuits become v soft n still can't bite ( cos he no teeth), he will get v angry... then we will tell him "quick la grow yr teeth" hahahha

smurfy, last nite zz also keep waking up... some more he doesn't like pacifier... his reaon was his cough lor... think he keep coughing till it woke him up....

when he wake up, quickly pat him or sing him some lallaby.

could he be overly stimulated in the day time? he might be having bad nitemares.

he could also be due to teething. i read tat they can be v temperental until their teeth starts growing... zz also temper no good these few wks... hiaz. see him also poor thing. so keep reasurring him lor.

Garfield,
Not that my MIL rules.. but then these few days i stay out quite late afte work.. so thinking mil like not very happy loh..

but come to thinking maybe she'll be so glad that i take Lil J out instead.. keke so she can take some rest..

Hi all..

Me now in JB. This morning dropped YX at my aunt's house in Pasir Ris, then drove to JB myself alone FIRST TIME!!! I really glad i make it man... almost lost my way. Hubby did not know my plan to drive in so very surprised when seeing me outside the house. My house is in pre-reno state now. Workers still hacking the tiles. All furnitures being wrapped wif plastic. We are left wif our guest room which has not yet been hacked, sitting on the floor and using computers. Luckily got broadband... Haiz... Still got one more week to go before the changing of tiles can be completed. Really lucky we did not do much fit-in stuff during renovation. Easy to move here and there. Else cannot imagine...

Susu and Skinny_babe, i left one of the gymbuck coupon in my office. Can only order next Monday when i back to office. Hope our stuff will still be available next monday when i place order... So sorry...

Mummy_zeen, Norelle is soooo pretty!!! And so girl girl unlike my YX! Ya, agree she very advance in motor skill.

susu, aiyoh, u so big girl liao wanna fight wif a bb girl. Mummy_zeen from KL lah, and not possible to fly down to meet u gals tomorrow.

I on leave today and tomorrow yet I can't go meet u gals tomorrow. *sob sob*

hee I've applied 1/2 day..
humm but will be late to reach GWC.. cos reach home already 1.30pm.. then come out again.. probably would take 1 hr.. will reach GWC btw 2.30 - 3pm??

me no car to drive tomorrow..

smurfy

it could be teething.. cherish was like that when her first two bottom tooth was abt to come out. when the tooth erupt , she was better.

now its her top front coming, so the process repeats itself.

no choice, teething is indeed painful for some babies.

I still remember when my wisdom tooth cannot erupt, alittle touch on the gums can set me in great pain. So for babies, if we keep pushing in pacifier, the more pain they feel.

i use the teething cream "dentinox" if she is grunchy

stella, smurfy,

i also try teething cream but not much. most of the times he chews on his towel or hands... v poor thing. sometimes i give him abit of time chewing cos i knoe he also havin diff time.

sunsweet!!! good for u! see u there... I also think might reach bet 2 and 2.30 p.m as i fetching nana n my son too...

<font color="D16587">Fri 5 Oct Lunch gathering
2pm at Great World City
Venue - "Say Cheesecake"

1. milkshake
2. nana
3. sunsweet
4. garfield
5. metobaby
6. pvl
7. cherryale
8. graceofgod
9. smurfy (TBC)
10. rachel</font>

smurfy, r u joining us??

gals on the list, i wld email u all the contact no. of all those going.... so if u reach already can call any of us to see who has reached... then go in to sit down first lar... no need to stand & wait...

garfield,
i sms u faster...keekkeek...
we remind each other to bring the milk powder...

maybe when u pick me up that time...i go dump the milk powder inside my house first... then no need lug along.. hehe..

nana, u forgot to put how many pple bringing babies????

Fri 5 Oct Lunch gathering
2pm at Great World City
Venue - "Say Cheesecake"

1. milkshake + evil baby
2. nana
3. sunsweet
4. garfield
5. metobaby
6. pvl
7. cherryale
8. graceofgod
9. smurfy (TBC)
10. rachel

cherryyyyyyyy, will u be bringin A along or u coming straight from work??????????? bring A lah............the last time round, u also left him at home...just now he called me n he said he wants to go out gai gai. :p

eh, YR kanna her head again just now. She was sitting playing with her toy then don't knowwhy she suddenly decided to topple backwards....she ended up flat on the floor. Of all places to land lor....her mat was just a few cm away...*sigh* she really damn suay.

then earlier on she also hit the side of her head on my wooden ledge behind my bed. she havoc lah, turned so fast for what...then her head hit the ledge......:p :p

she's out to get me i think. Tomorrow my inlaws coming already...then if they see her with little bruises then they will think i can't look after her right....grrrrrrr

Cherry the evil mum....hit A's backside...tsk tsk tsk....hee hee But i tell u what to do next time, before hitting his backside, take out his diapers first...hee hee then it will really sting!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Jello, i think i'm the one who is being abused by her u know. eh, why did u go JOHORRRRR??? U shoot aeroplane...i thought i could finally see u....*sigh* U ah..... let me knwo how much to give u leh....otherwise send me email and then give me your full name? i wil bank in the cheque for u...u using POSB/dbs right??? i think the last time i transferred i probably clicked the wrong bank or what...i don know...very silly.

lala, u realize that babies love love love our handphones, remotes and all things that are so gadgety??? so weird right??? got cute little toys they don't wanna meddle with them, aim our stuff instead. Poor u....ur head must have hurt a lot man. hee hee

nanaaaa, i don wanan check email don want don wantttttttt

:p :p :p

and hor...u very cute u know. Did u make reservation not???????

<font color="D16587">Fri 5 Oct Lunch gathering
2pm at Great World City
Venue - "Say Cheesecake"

1. milkshake + evil baby
2. nana + ryan
3. sunsweet + lil j
4. garfield + zz
5. metobaby + jade
6. pvl + sarah + ben
7. cherryale
8. graceofgod + helper + julian
9. smurfy (TBC)
10. rachel (not sure if she going leh)</font>

milkmilk,
think almost all bringing baby leh....coool!! keke

nana, i do u a favour ok?? hee hee i help u compile the list a bit

Fri 5 Oct Lunch gathering
2pm at Great World City
Venue - "Say Cheesecake"

1. milkshake + baluku baby
2. nana + ryan the lion
3. sunsweet + Lil Not so Lil J
4. garfield + zz the bad tempered baby
5. metobaby + (sorry....forgot your baby's name....) Sorry sorry sorry
6. pvl + sarah the bogeh + sharp nose ben
7. cherryale + A the abused baby
8. graceofgod + Julian
9. smurfy (TBC)+ little smurfling
10. rachel + unborn little baby + ????????? (skinnybabe, rachel bringing baby????)

nana, why u so happy pple all bringing their babies???

Pssst...tell u something. Why don't u kidnap all their babies and then u ask for ransom from them???? I'll keep watch for u lah...then u give me 20% of the ransom monies. Onz?

smurfyyyy, eh, just scrolled thru the previous post and saw you decided on the ergo carrier. My gf also using that carrier..so far she's been using it and no complains i think.
how u gonna get it????

hhahaha milk milk,

can i change tat to 4. garfield + zz the spidey boi

hehe he ah bad temper plus itchy hands plus yan or... hope he dun embarrass me...

u wan to kidnap? by all means... think within 10 min, u pass back to me! tat what my hb fren did .... hahahaha

susu,

jelly got reno works in johor these 2 days tat y she took leave... think at first she can come but hb last min cannot go n see the reno works rgt?