(2007/02) February

koh,
Glad to hear that placenta went up, then you dun have to worry. so poor thing can't get to see your boy. so far how's things at work? Your boss still making things difficult for you? when are u going to start your course? Cos once u get the qualification, then can get higher pay and when things improve, the whole family can stay together. Look forward to that day ok??

Ah ger, my babysitting arrangement is also still blank. No maid, MIL not keen to look after baby, I cant quit to stay at home etc..but I have decided not to think of a solution cos it will lead to quarrel with hb.

Charis,
sometimes its good to start young. If your hb really dun think that its a good idea to continue in shipyard industry, then better change once his bond is up. My hb made the mistake of staying longer than his bond period, now want to move out also very very difficult.

giggler,

ya loh.. nowadays not easy to have more kids...
last time kids can just eat fish cake lah, watever... nowadays... a fish cake cost 50 cents liao.. haha.. millenium liao.... everything diff liao..haiz..

mumies,
thanx for all the encouragement... i feel better now.. i will work harder and bring my kid back ... though is tough but worth it...

Koh n Jas..

Hehe..bonus from him huh..well maybe this end year can get from him some blessing..cos last year, most of his bonus he settled the wedding, n honeymoon, n he saved for baby..he's using his saved bonus to pay for baby expenses n my delivery fees etc..

JC..

So well..Im trying to get a flat in Bishan too near in laws place..so those of u staying near the area..keep in touch..maybe someday I'll start my family day care..

Cherry, I also dun feel like thinking of a solution bt then days r drawing nearer. Whenever I bring up also will hv arguements. Hw abt ur mum? Too far?

Cherryale..

Yup not easy..actually S'pore very tough place to bring up kids..although govt want more babies, but I also dont know why childcare is so expensive..Not to judge the govt. Jus puzzled why childcare is so ex..Maybe cos pre-school education n care is really not cheap..well fees are so high..but I cant say childcare/kindergarten teachers r paid well..

Yr hb also was under bond..so he still with his co.? If he's still in 20s, its a good time to change career or job, if later on, harder to do that..

AH ger, we are the same type, like to plan then execute. The pity is my hb is not, he is the 'settle when it comes' type. My mum came to look after me when I was resting at home after amnio..only 5 days and I can see she really cannot take it. My dad and brothers dun lift a finger to help her at home so she has to do everything. Last time when I stay at home, I still help her to do some stuff occasionally or at least clean up my own room. There is no way she can look after baby for me unless I get a maid.

charis, my hb is also 31 like me. He has completed his bond long time ago but didnt look out until now which is a bit too late. Hope he finds a job outside soon, if not, very bad for his morale. I feel sad for him too. that's why u should encourage your hb to change when he is still young. How old will he be when he completes his bond?

cherry ^5! my hb also same type as urs. He said chuan dao qiao tou zi ran zhi. bt then once I know/ forsee something will happen or gng to happen, I like to plan to standby 1st if it really happens.

My dad also doesn't help out @ hme, bt nw has a niece tare, he will help look after @ times. Bt hsewk - all still done by mum. Tats y I dun want mum to b so tired. She's in early 50's bt then I hope she can hv a better & relaxed life.

hi PVL, congrats on your boy
Don't worry, since the doctor's not to worried, it should be OK!

koh, my heart aches for you.. yah hope u can get some good fares from the budget airlines so u can see ur son more often.. if not, maybe look for PCF childcare so at least ur son will be with u?

charis, wah cooking for the whole family? i'd be so stressed out. my PIL used to run food stall so lagi stressful 'cos my MIL will complain about EVERYTHING. so i don't cook for them at all. :p

still not showing any tummy lei.. but same thing for my first pregnancy i guess..

cherry,

hihi... my course will stsrt nx yr march.. still thinking cus thought of changing job...
boss ok now... siao siao one... but treat mi better than last time...

Charis, you're trained in this area? You can consider this option after you give birth and have a flat of your own.

cherryale, guess you got to put bb in infant care then.

koh, living standard is so much higher now.... Also our lifestyle is so much diff liao.

Ah ger/cherryale, think most men are like that lah....

Ah ger, it's tough to look after 2 kids and do housework and cook for the family leh. My mom cant manage and my bro got a maid for her in the end.

Koh, if boss treat u better then ask him for more $$. Ha ha ha....... I hv nv considered abt the course as an issue whenever I change job. Cos I still need to travel though. The only thing I did was I was on SDF on a course then I resigned. End up instead of paying Co $200+ (after SDF subsidy), I had to pay the course in full $3k! *heartpain* bt no choice, I din like tat Co.

ah ger,

heehee... i also hope he will give mi rise... but difficult la... i cannot afford to take course without sdf so got to stay on if i wanna take the course...

Gig - I know it's tough + my neice is just slightly over 1yr old, by the time mine is out, she's only 1.5yrs old. Very tough age. Bt I can't b getting her a maid, no space + if I put the maid tare, I might as well put @ my hse.

Koh - hw long is ur course? The for ur course, is there a bond to your Co? Some Co require u to stay for @ least the nx 3 or 6mths & etc.

koh, yah can feel kicks these days but too soft for hubby to feel. quite tiring being SAHM but fun lah.. but end of the day, wipe out unconscious in bed. :p

ah ger, cherryale
my hb oso like that, take things as it comes and dun plan for the future. that's why we ended up in a 3 yrs r/s and still cannot compromise on the types of living conditions. he wanted to live with his family, i insist on not staying with in-laws. in the end, this bb helps us decide and force us to move to the next stage of the r/s.

koh,
are u a malaysian? can consider finding a job back in kuching? life may be harder and simpler, but at least u r with ur kid/s. if u decided to stay in sg. the next few years will be tough on u. But stay strong and finishes ur course. Upgrading urselves is the only way we can get a pay increment.

Cherryale..

OIC..31 still can change job..Hmm..when husband not happy with job, wife also suffer, we cant do much also..jus advise n pray..

My hb's bond end Dec this year..he's 24.

Catz..

Ya cooking for whole family..hb, SIL, MIL. Simple food lah..Im not expert like my mum, cant whip up briyani rice n dishes in 1 hour..at least not yet..hehe. Actually I offer to take turns to cook with her, to ease her burden, but she dont want leh..but sometimes she complain she tired, dont want to cook etc..So now since she hurt her back, I'll cook for this few days..n see how if she still needs my help next wee..I dont mind cooking lah..Im sort of a housewife anyway..hehe..new status.

Giggler..

Ya sort of trained..My classmates n I (during our course) also did a project on family day care..so I got a lot of resource..n their support..cos they gearing on me to start one..to see how successful it can get..Im a guinea pig..hahaha. But u are right..I need a house first..I cant have a mini childcare in my in laws house..my FIL will flip.

Anyway, I've done nanny jobs..at my current house(temp. care) n when to a house to take care of a 3 year old. So its actually not easy to take care of the child in the parent's house, cos only when u have yr own place n have a timetable, rules, etc..then can be more effective.

Time past fast..I gtg do groceries n then come back to cook..I hope I can satisfy their hunger with my simple food today..MIL will eat also leh..scary..must make sure nice.

hi koh,

sorrie to hear tat .. hopefully soon u can bring your son back here again..

the copthorne king's shuttle i think is meant for passenger taking MAS airplane ..
if u were to take air asia ..the best alternative and cheapest is ..
via 170 bus or the yellow bus from kranji mrt.. which cost less than 2 dollars all the way to larkin bus terminal and from there .. the yellow bus will have hourly trip to the senai airport .. i'm not sure on the price though .. but is in RM ..
i think jb is not that bad ..
dun worry ...
during the time before preggy ..
i always go larkin take bus home to kuantan to visit my parents ..
and my bus always depart at like 11pm kind ..
so dun worry ...

Charis, your hb still so young,surely can switch to teaching easily if that is his passion. I think my hb completed his bond when he is about 29 or 30, cant remember. Anyway if we can turn back time, I would have stopped him to take the scholarship or at least get the parents to pay the bond in full (since they also paid for his bro uni edu and they are rich)when he completed his studies. Even breaking bond is a better option thinking back. But too bad, like I said he is not the type to plan ahead, so now he is regreting. He just emailed me that he is going to throw in the letter and hasnt started looking for a job..sigh..luckily I have a job, if not, my baby will be pathetic.

Me interested to chat with all u ladies! Here are my details:

EDD: 7 Feb 2007
Gynae: Dr. Lawrence Ang

I haven decided on which hospital to deliver yet. Can choose between TMC or MAH. U gals got any recommendations?

Hi Koh,

My son also in Kch. We just visited him 2 weeks ago. I know how you feel. Everytime when I left from home (kch), I cried non-stop in the whole journey . One thing good is we got webcam but the feeling is still different. Our financial also quite tight but we still try our best to visit him at least 1-2 mths once. Maybe you can booked from Airasia. You take a cab to SG woodland custom. After the check point take the normal bus to JB custom. When you come out from JB custom you take another JB taxi to Senai airpot. It cost about RM35-40. It is cheaper than from SG direct to Senai Airport. As for shuttle bus from Singapore Copthorne Orchid Hotel to Senai Airport it is provides to MAS passengers only.

In fact, I also pregnant for my 2nd bb now. I will put my son to childcare one mth before I give birth. I have yet to decide 2nd bb care taker. Still got lot of things to consider.

Cheer up. Sometimes, we have to sacrify somethings to give the best to our kids.

smurfy,
I think Singaporean quite hard to find job in M'sia unless you are Musxxx ( hope you know what I mean). In Kch, normal admin clerk/officer can only get around RM700-800 for fresh graduate.(for Pte Ltd). I remember my first job in Kch only got RM460 and that was 6 yrs ago before I came.

Hi mum-to-bes....

I am reading all your lively chit chats every nite when i reached home.... cos me very busy @ work during the day... but was following up very closely on our Feb baby forum everyday.... hee... very interesting.... juz that i seldom participate as i cannot reply during office hour..

Realli like to thank everyone of you for sharing all your ever so useful info... really hope to meet up with all of you soon...

Hi Koh,

thanks for updating the info... can help me update on the following...? me just went for a detailed scan at TMC.. confirmed confirmed liao.... it's a boy... currently at 20 weeks....

Cheerios & me will be silently reading all your loely postings..

Natty

morning to all............ Finally it's Fri!

I dun rem talking to jojo, cmy & natty. Welcome to the Feb thread!

Jojo - I can't advise you which hospital to go, bt I've heard gd feedback frm either one like the nurses & facilities. Then if compared pricing betwn TMC & MAH, I think the latter is slightly more affordable than TMC.

Gals, las night hb saiyang my stomach then he said "aiyah so round, must b a gal liao. Hw?" Then I said round also no choice mah, gal then gal lor. Bt we also realised 1 of his coll's wife who is carrying a boy, her stomach bcame rounder. Dunno y......... Anyway my intuition of having a bb gal is very strong, maybe frm the way I observe my stomach bah.......

Is it really having boys, u r carrying it high & sharp; if u r having gal u r carrying low & round? I dunno........ bt is hw I felt.

ah ger...

join me as mummy to a little princess bah..heehee

my tummy also very very round.

now i noe the sex of bb, i refer her to my daughter instead of bb. hopefully really turn out to be gal gal lah..wait till detail scan than more confirm. hb more funny, already think of next time if our daughter got boyfriend , must bring for him to see.*faint* think until so far.

Stella, I like gals bt I prefer to hv a boy nw for some other reasons. Bt I think I wun b able to fufill tat le........

My tummy is wide then long, bt it's nt exactly round. Then it's nt sharp either. I m nt carrying it very high, maybe shld say ard middle?

Round round, bt do u still c ur waist? Cos they say if u r having a boy, u hv no fats by the side cos all go to the front part only. Ha ha ha......... I dunno mine is considered as wat, cos all along I also dun hv waist. Wahahahahaha.............

I realised RP here - so many expectants! Wah, RP fengshui is gd arh. Ha ha ha.......... So whoever wanna b preggies shld cme to RP.

ah ger,
why u prefer boys? Coz ur inlaws zhong nan qing nu

i think i still got waist lar. but rounded below.

this bb likes to kicks me when i am trying hard to sleep. notti attention seeker.

cherryale,
ur hb 31 oredi? thinking of throwin letter before finding a job? especially when u are now pregnant? win oredi lor, i always thought this kind of reckless decision are made by ppl without a sense of responsibility (did that before, so me included)

Ah ger, 1.5yrs old is the most tiring age cos they just learnt to walk and is more interested in their surrounding liao. Initially my mom also said the same thing, that she'd just tahan and looked after both my gal and my niece. They only 1yr apart also. But after 1-2mths, she surrended and asked us to get a maid. It's really too tiring for her cos she still need to do housework and cook for the family. Not true lah... my tummy is round and I'm having boy leh. Not true abt the waist also leh, lots of pple telling me that I grow sideways this time round which means I cant see my waist liao.

Charis, how's dinner yday? Your mil made any complains?

cherryale, seems like more pple breaking bond hor? Why is it so?

jojo, think both TMC and MAH are not bad. Which one is nearer to your place?

Smurfy - no lah, my PILs like gals cos they lack of gals, only hv 1 granddaughter. Then they hv no daughters also, so took in a god-daughter.

I hope to make my mum happy for tis time cos we hv no guys in the family & my sis had a daughter. Tats y.........

Las night I tried to lie flat on my sofa, then I could feel bb's movements leh, dunno is it just plain moving or kicking me. @ the lower abdomen, I could c my stomach kena pushed out abit, bt it's very slight movement. I told hb, bt I said maybe bcos I hv too much fats inside tats y I can't feel the movements greatly.

When I wanna slp, the bb kicked another few times then stopped le. Luckily thru'out the night no disturbance. Bt again perhaps bcos it's too light to feel.

Hb so silly, put his hands on my stomach then ask "u gal or boy? Kick to give me some response." Ha ha ha, no reaction!

Giggler - tats wat I felt also..... I've voiced out to mum b4. Then she said the most dun cook for the family lor. My sis always dun like to eat (kaoz! Say on diet when she's like a stick), & another one always flying ard. So left w/ my dad. We hv a coffeeshop nearby so very often they buy dwnstairs. Mum said nw tat our dog is nt ard already she can take care. bt then dad drvs taxi @ night so by nighttime she will b left w/ 2 leh. I dun wanna tire her dwn like tat.... very cruel.

I dunno if I shld really look for nanny. SIL said b4 if we really cna't make it to cme back on time she can go help us fetch the bb back 1st then we can drop by @ her plc after tat. Bt then nanny also close to $500 right???

I've thought of maybe just ask SIL for help again, throw the maid & the bb w/ her, then evening time will bring her back. So in the meantime, the maid need nt hv to do cooking cos she wun hv the time. Slowly if she's really gd then we will remain them in our hse.

I wonder if hb wanna ask his youngest aunt for help, who is also staying a few blks away. Bt her kids are already grown ups. Then if we throw the bb @ her plc then she's gng to b restricted in the hse again.

Gig - as for the body changes, I dunno leh, makes me feel lah. My gf once said tat if I know it's gng to b a gal, I would b disappointed. Bt infact, it's ok lah, gals can b dolled up mah, I just hv to push the responsibility/ stress to my sis who wanna try nx yr lor. Ha ha ha....

Cme to think of it, if my sis is really trying nx yr then by 08 she's having another one, then hw can mum cope w/ 3 kids???????????? Really counting dwn to Do Re Mi.

ah ger,

read from the magazine that is bb moving, causing the water in the waterbag to move as well, thus we got those "fluttering" movement.

Stella, really? No wonder I kip feeling my stomach like those blop blop blop feel, as if I got alot of water inside.

I wonder, if my placenta & water bag is gone, & after bb is out, hw much weight will still b left in my body to b shed off?

Tat time I read someware, placenta holds 10% of the wt increase then water bag dunno hw many %. So maybe on the average we shld hv 10kg remaining in our body????????? Wah.......... hw to shed off?

Ah ger, your sis doesnt bring her gal home every nite? Me and my bro brought our gals home everynite one leh but my mom also cant tahan liao. Then newborn sure wake up few times at night for milk lor. Dun tire your mom out this way lah. Ya, mkt rate for nanny also $500. Maid also ard that cost and if you able to get good maid, she can also help out in your housework. Well, if your hb's aunt is those sociable ones then better not lor. She sure feels resticted and wont be happy taking care of your bb. Seems like getting maid and putting her in your sil's place in the day is the best choice to me leh. Abt bb's movements, I still cant feel much leh. Making me worried abt bb liao, hope everything is fine on 2 Oct when I go for detailed scan.

Gig - nope, my sis doesn't bring my niece back. She's w/ my mum since she was born. Then only bring back on Sat evening, then cme back again on Sun evening.

My hb's aunt frequents church, & I dunno hw often her gatherings are. Sometimes I c her early in the morning, saying gng to church to help prepare food for dunno wat event & etc.

Gig - dun worry, it was a sudden feel. Cos I was relaxed on the sofa watching tv, then I just laze on the sofa, then suddenly I felt something thropping. So I lie flat then place my palm on the stomach area then I felt very very slight movement. Bt I assure myself bb is being very guai, dun wanna cause us so much uneasiness by moving ard inside, tats y we dun feel as much as others. Besides, I said I must hv 2 much body fats/ oil in my body so I can't feel bb's movements alot.

Gals - just refresh all ur memory incase you're lost in outer space on ur bb's development. Here is the link http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/

giggler,
yah dun worry too much. most probably urs is a guai bb. Mine's need to move more to reassure me. Detailed scan's tomorow. hopefully everything's alright.

smurfy,
i am a singaporean... so cannot go there work.. cmy are rite, not mus--- so quite diff to get a job there. and i don know how to drive... from house to city area need to drive there.. u know in malaysia, if u don know how to drive.. very difficult to go anywhere...

cmy,
welcome... so both of our kids are at kuching... but i am different form u .. i cannot go visit him so often...i can only visit him the most 2 times per yr.. i don have so much leave to take and i wont wan to spend so much $$ on that.. i would rather save up the $$ then bring him back asap.... so ur son how old? is he a singaporean?

natty, welcome...i will update ur details...

ah ger, don worry la, wait for ur detailed scan.. my tummy so sharp and high , so many oldies say is boy... but scan is gal... unless u saw the gender urself , if not don listen to ur co.... make urself stress...

Ah ger, so you gg to do the same if your mom looking after your bb hor? Then your mom will be very tired cos she doesnt have any day off leh. My mom used to help out in temple too so stimes she got to sacrifice cos she has to take care of our gals. But stimes we got to take leave if she really want to join temple's gatherings lor. Ya... maybe my boi very guai hor? Hehehe

koh,
the next best thing u can do, is furiously upgrade urself while ur kids are in kuching. take some part time jobs as well. so hopefully next few years, there will be a big jump in ur pay when u completed ur studies. and hopefully save more money with ur part time jobs, then u can bring ur kids back to sg. give urself a timeline to complete everything. goal is to reunite with ur kids. btw, what kind of job r u holding now? is it market rate for the job u r doing?

Giggler,

mine bb also dun move much ..only at night lor..

my mum says i was like that too.. very inactive in her tummy, come out also very inactive , can sleep thr the night one. hope my daughter can be like me..haha

smurfy, ya loh.. i also planning now... mine is just normal small co.. admin clerk... we short of a accountant, boss says if i willing to take the course then he will promote mi to accountant...
i was thinking if i take up cpurse then i will not have time to take part time job liao... very stressful leh... maybe find those saturday sunday part time job loh... but not easy to find... have to compete with housewives to get the weekend job...

Koh - those ppl speculating are all the 38s lor......

Gig - no lah, hb said he wanna bring bb back everyday. Bt then tat will b our turn to get siong also.

Yes - dun worry, ur boy is a gd boy. *pat pat* My unknown gender also gd bb, only thing is STUBBORN!

Hmm....... CK also gng for chk up 2mr.......... I still hv to wait till nx Sat. Another wk to go.....

I m so tired 2day.........

anyone doing accounting job here? maybe can advice koh on the progression steps for taking accounting courses, durations, stress-level and costs?

but those part-time job will give u additional income as well, though not alot