(2007/01) Jan

Zenn... I have check with some friends who stayed in TMC 1 bedded. They paid $1000 to $2000 in cash.

Icylemon, I just took some cockles last Sunday...very nice leh, cannot resists.

Preg4, ya if C-Section, will be good if hubby around...mine is normal delivery so during breastfeeding, hubby cannot really help. He is there more like to keep me accompany.

preg, bb milk and aquarius, ok noted.

bb milk, u v daring ya! so far i took 1-2 slices of sashimi but dare not eat cockles since pregnant

Zenn,

4k should be enough. For me, my cost is based on emer c-section.

For my first delivery, i even went to normal delivery suite to sit around for two times cos mine was induction birth. but lucky gynae only record as emer c-section. otherwise, it will burn a big hole in my pocket. cos they never charge me for the use of the normal delivery suite.

But my fren who deliver in NUH with the same scenario, they charge her 2 times the normal delivery and 1 time c-section. But lucky her time she stay 4 bedded and most of it claimable from CPF then. Otherwise, she will also faint.

Aqua:

oh i see. true.

BB milk, gung ho mummy. my gynae not to eat raw food. so my hubby banned me from eating my fav sashimi.
but i still eating lala only. i also stay away from cockles from a while liao.

preg & aquarius seperate bills for mummy & bb. then CPF deduction on the spot izzit?? so the day we discharged hor.. the amt we paid is already deducted from medisave liao la. correct?

bb milk u took cockles ah.. better not la.. play safe leh..

actually me thinking of staying in 1 bedded this time round.... to pamper myslef, and also this might be the 'last' time I give birth.

still considering....hope got extra bonus this yr.

Ok Ok... I slap myslef for being so greedy.

I was very careful of what I eat during my first pregnancy. But 2nd one, keep 'stealing' those unhealthy food fm the table...haha.

yup correct, icylemon. The amount you pay upon discharge is after deducting medisave claim. But do remember got to pay deposit during admission...think TMC is $600 for 4 bedded, $800 for 2 bedded and $1K for single bedded.

gals, u ve frien attended pre natal class in tmc n not conducted by mrs wong? i guess all are equally good rite?

icylemon: Yes that's right.

bb milk, if financially can make it, go for it. i find that preg is tough so we should pamper ourself. MIL want me to stay in 4 bedded for my 1st preg. then i ask hubby tell her if she is not paying for it, no comments pls.
As for hubby, he got no choice cos he know i very xiao jie. what's more is he is the one who want kid more than i do. so i told him, i sacrifice my body and he sacrifice his pocket lor.

Zenn, so nice to see u y'day.. sorry had to cabut b4 u s I haven had lunch n was rushing to meet someone at 4 so had to make a dash.

Birdnest
Mayb i can share some personal experience and knowledge abt BN since it was e topic just. I personally have been taking BN for the last 6-7 years and I take it twice a week. Stress period or bz period, I up it to 3 or 5 times a week.

I normally get my Brands BN from Bangkok as it is chockful of birdnest and easy to consume. I u purchase good quality, u shouldn worry abt feathers as they are cleaned very well, just need to soak and pop in slow cooker. I develop asthma only in adulthood n was very bad, takin BN helped to soothe, moisturise and build up my lungs. On e contrary it doesn bring abt asthma except that a low quality one that is full of feathers may just do that. I personally have no prob. The LHK one is good, if scared of sugar, opt for the sugar-free but it is really no taste lah.. I jus finished 1 bottle of LHK sugar free, 2 tbsp a day lasted me 3 weeks. It costs $138/bot. I feel it reasonable as quality is good n no preservative. Now m back to Brands and m taking 5 days a week. Brands oso have sugar-free but not sure if Spore carries.
this.

Hashima
Hashima have very similar properties as BN but pple prefer e former as the latter if not well prepared can have a fishy/strong smell/taste. Hashima is not very cooling but 'zi-ren'. So if want can still take mayb once a week or once a fortnight.

Of course there is another way of of 'zi-ren'.. a cheaper alternative oso very good esp for chronic coughs and asthma. You can buy the 'xue-er' and double boil e same way as BN. But u need to get those that will melt. There are 2 kinds, one that retains the shape and the other that melts. The medicinal hall will know. Rinse the snow-ear and prop into slow cooker at 10pm, let it simmer till next morning, add some rock sugar b4 consuming. Eat it 1st thing on empty stomach and it is as good as BN. In fact, BN oso good to take first thing on empty stomach or b4 sleep at least 1-2 hours aft meal. This will ensure max efficacy.

Hope this will shed some light.

Zenn, my previous class was contacted by Sister Lim.....not by Mrs Wong.

I find her good also.... all these ppl are 'old bird' liao. They will impart whatever skills & knowledges to us.

baby_milk that time you stay single or 2 bedded?

Ya hope got fat bonus this year but still the extra can buy baby's items...actually first delivery I stayed in single bedded becos of the free upgrade...else would have chosen 2 bedded too. kekeke

Hi sugar,

Ya nice and surprise seeing you yest.

Thanks for sharing on BN. Where and how much did you get your BN in BKK? I am thinking of getting from Nan Sing.

Sugarbean.... thanks for the great info.

But I can't take BN.... will develop asthma attack. Tried BN during my first pregnancy, was admitted to hospital for this.

Preg 4 a 2nd one,
I also deliver in Glen E. Our charges abt the same just that mine is more ex cos I stayed an extra nite cos supposedly to induce my bb. Ended up unsuccessful i had to go thru emergy c-section. So my total bill amt to $7.8k. I think our gynae fees quite ex also as compared to the rest lah.. Did u engage Dicky Tay as your anaesthetist as well??

sorry i mean most pple prefer BN instead of Hashima as BN not so fishy..i siao liao..

Zenn, how decided which hospital oradi? My hb say since I comfortable with TMC, jus book as he kiasu later no space as the lady say mus book 5 mths b4..But I still 1 2 take a look at MA..he very kan cheong one lair.. I thot I would decide n book aft I come bk from Milan at the end of the mth so still within 4-5 mths lead time.. wat abt u? Now I worry whether still got vacancy for ante-natal class shld i decide to go to TMC... aiyo, decisions, decisions... I will be taking the standard single bedder as got maternity package as deluxe no diff, only slightly bigger and have to pay so much more!!

serrich,
so so qiao. are you planning to deliver there this time? i forget who is my anaesth liao. only remember it is a nice but not very young man. take me like xiao mei mei. keep telling me not pain one hor. but actually the empi kills me. so damn painful and i weep while he inject me.

Zenn, I buy my lot from Chinatown, a teochew lady.. I only know how to go to her shop but don know the name! Jialat right? hahah! Jus like I only know how to go to my sis' pl but don ask me addy! hahah! I normally pay $27-28 per box of 6 normal size. There is oso the smaller sized bottle which is cheaper but the larger one more worth it. I get it from BKK as e quality is v diff from spore. Spore ones very liquidy, this very thick like LHK's.

Babymilk, pls don go near the birds then! Mayb u try snow ear, as it is almost as good.

Preg4, I did not really feel pain when injecting the epidural.

Btw, I think if I finally choose single bedded, I will go to Eastshore for delivery. About $300 cheaper than TMC if I am not wrong.

Preg, wah u scare me! I very coward one and scared of needles altho not scared of 'bigger' pain.. u know wat I mean? Small small sharp sharp, I so scared!

Aqua:
my tolerance for pain is really low. i scare of needles. during my first del, i find that the empi and the drip is the killer. other than that, every thing is ok.

Hi sugar, TMC lor. Tho abit more X and cramp (as compared to Mt A delivery area) but I feel more comfortable. Mt A like too quiet till abit scare haha

Wow you really win liao. Think will take a look at Nan Sing but $27-28 is really cheap!

Sugarbean:
Ya, i also very scare of sharp things. till now, when gynae draw my blood, i dare not see. it is the sight of it that scare me.

Aqua, mayb that time the cold cold thing seep into your skin so mayb you dun feel it. i feel cold but i still feel the sharp pain into my spine. till now still can remember the pain.

Zenn, ok, will go n check it out.. i oso scared but hb will be w me all the way so not scared. Eh, MA very old liao lair... I was born there so imagine how old oradi! What is Nan Sing? Actually it was my bro-in-law who told us that e quality beta.

Preg4 , YES! YES! my last blood test i oso kay kay joke, laugh n tease the aunty as I was so scared!!! when over then i told her I was so scared n a coward, they all laughed at me!

do u think we can tahan e pain and skip epidural?? u think possible or not? My fren jus told me ever since she had epi (for 2 births) she developed backache whenever her menses were coming.. she never had this b4 birth. Scary! Wa, jialat... i so fat can they even find the right place to poke or not? I cant even feel my spine lair! M getting worried..

sugar, nan sing is the name of the shop cum rest. they serves sharkfin n birdnest too. well, since u like tmc dan stick to it lor. i m sure icy will strongly encourage u to do so *looking for icy now* haha

oh i v scare of needle too! when taking blood test i dare not see and keep holding my hb hand.

sugar, if u can tahan pain lor. my sis and 2 gfs go w/o epidural. both my gfs wif dr lawrence ang. think he will encourage to go w/o but i v scare of pain one leh. my hb expecting me to ve epidural liao.

zenn, oic. I don know leh.. I normally don look at their names. I only like the corner seafood pl. I don particularly like sharksfin so I never take that in BKK.

How come icy will strongly recommend lair? Eh, when u EDD? scarly we neighbours too! kekek! that will be nice! r u taking their ante-natal class? how abt u icy? when u girls starting? Mayb we can go together?

Preg 4 a 2nd one,
I dun remember feeling much pain when he administered the epidural lor. He also talked to me like a little kid.. Asked me to take in deep breathe, imagine myself as a balloon taking in as much air as i could.. then ask me to hold my breathe and then let go of the air, etc.. Come to think of it, its quite funny lor.. I was damn scared of the pain so i followed his instructions closely.. Kekeke..

aquarius,
Strange ley.. My bb nt very active today.. only managed to feel bb turning earlier and it was rather painful ley..

sugar, mine is 20 jan. u? yalor i was like HUH w/o epidural! i ve book 11 oct (wed) since my gf going on wed too.

fyi, icy is TMC supporter hee

zenn, me 23/1! hey, got chance, got chance! Icy when due ah? I oso prefer weekdays.. if only they oso have day class... When did u book? Y'day? Any more vacancy when u booked? Icy, u booked ur ante-natal oradi?

Icy, where are u?
*Sugarbean looking high n low for icy*

Zenn

Your fren really brave.

serrich:
Ya, i remember the instructions and i follow exactly. but i still feel pain......but after than i went for full ga too cos too scare of pain. cos i heard from fren if c-section, you go for half ga, you will feel the effect of cutting. how scary...

Sherl,

Oh ya, forgot to let u know u can gargle with salt water to relive your sore throat. I oso was down with flu the week b4 we met n relied on salt-water and pi-pa-gao (mixed w water) for comfort.. Hope you get well soon! Eat more kiwis too!

aquarius oh ya lor.. my friend paid deposit $600 for 4 bedded, dr lawrence ang upgrade for her to 2 bedded FOC. since she paid $600 in advance. the day she discharged she paid $90.