(2007/01) Jan

Hi Girls, morning!

Glad to hear that all had fun at the outing. Too bad that I couldn't join this time round but when's the next? Can't wait to meet all of you.

Went to view the fireworks on Fri. Spent half 15 minutes walking from Suntec to Espanade to catch a 15-miin display, and took more than 1 hour just to get get back to Suntec, get the car, and leave the carpark!! And the crowds were horrendous! Every second I was protecting my tummy and using my bag to whack those pple who tried to push and shove. Thank goodness my bag is the hard-hard type! *hee*

Aqua, Avent's electric is $799?! Is it the dual one? I'm planning to get the Mendela electric dual one, but I heard it's also not cheap. But no choice cos' when back in the office, need to pump chop-chop, else, a lot of productive time will be wasted, then cannot knock off earlier.

Bluegrapes, what's colic? Thought only babies get colic? Sincerely hope you're much better now and that BB is fine. Sometimes, when I experience the little tugs and pulls in my abdomen, I also panic.
Btw, just changed my MAH tour to 2 Sep cos the 26 Aug one clashes with my antenatal class at KKH, so can't see u. Nvm lah, maybe next time we could meet at Dr Chan's clinic or at the next outing

Good morning everybody

Me, hubby & son had a great time meeting up the mummies...... too bad, hubby is tasked to look after my son, so didn't have a chnace to talk to you all. He can be very chatty one, alot of things to share regarding his Fatherhood.

Must arrange for another meeting soon.

Gd morning all

Wow... seems like u all r hving a great time during the outing.

My gynae had confirmed me hving a princess during the routine scan on last sat. Now can start buying little dress for the ger ger liao.

today seem to be a slow day inside forums...
all having monday blues???
kekekek...

pinky, congrat! seem like u having the first princess in this forum!

bluegrapes...ya lor...so far only zenn and me...most likely princess...I should be able to know this friday.

Alethea, yeap the dual one and it cost $799! Think same price as Mendela. Ya, am also looking forward to the next gathering.

Hi all!!

Really nice meeting all of you~! n my hb also learn a lot during the gathering.. hiak hiak..
eating my bft n reading.. hope to see u all again.. hehe..

Pinky,
congrats!! can go shopping lo!!

hmm... avent dual de $799 ah.. then if is same price as medela is better to get medela de. heard alot of comments on medela dual eletric de is good wor...

sherl can update the list liao.. we have 3 princess le.. great!!

congrats pink...can join me and zenn in the princess group.

btw mummies, I keep having this fear about birth defects...until I even dream of it...think is becos I have come in contact with inhaling bleach...root canal treatment etc...

Really praying hard that my baby will be born safe and healthy.

aquarius,

yalor.. but i am still hoping that she will change into "him" wahahahaha...

anyway, healthy bb n smooth delivery will be first priority..

hahahah...healthy more important lah...see I keep worrying whether baby developing well or not...until cannot sleep well too. I think I put on about 2kg+ this month...must wait till friday then will know.

hi girls,
morning...

Last week went for my rountine check up. Gynae oso confirmed that bb is BOI.... so hopefully it dun turn out to be like the 9pm show....
Went to the taka fair already, saw alot of things but really duno where to start leh.... everything like need to get leh. But MIL said dun need too much thing.... Hmm... confused

So everything turns out well for the meeting? every1 had fun ya? I was still sleeping during that time when u all having lunch :p

kc,
thinking of getting the medela electric pump.. din know medela got 2 types of electric pump. thanks for the info. Seems like the motor will spolt after 3 mths usage. Another one got experience abt the motor thingy?

zenn,
are u going to sign up for the FBI?
if i pay using my citibank card at $98, still think not really worth it. My gynae is not in this program also..

msn_queen,
congrats!! boy boy.. hehehe... what happen to the 9pm show?? i din watch.... can someone explain to me.. hehehe...

aquarius,
ya.. i know i also keep worrying le.. dunno why..

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ginger</TD><TD>1/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginsengmum</TD><TD>2/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aquarius_888</TD><TD>3/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky</TD><TD>4/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Msn_queen</TD><TD>5/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearlein</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tan KT</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>KC</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Katherine Tang</TD><TD>9/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jas</TD><TD>10/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD>11/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>janey</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mabel</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>berrymum</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinoopy</TD><TD>14/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A (TBC) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkie</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>AletheaT</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluesky</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milderina</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yen</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leeann</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>rin</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doggiebebe</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr CK Chow</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>firstbaby</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zenn</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>iceblue</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>22/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HY Ang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sugarbean</TD><TD>23/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan WT</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluegrapes</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yingzi</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherl</TD><TD>26/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>dressaholic</TD><TD>27/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_milk</TD><TD>28/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>End Jan 2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Wong</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Total expected bundles of joy:

Princes: 8
Princesses: 1 (with 3 more to be confirmed!)

bluesky, I have low placenta. Gynae saw it from the ultrasound scan. U can check wif your gynae if you are concern.

WAH!!! Finally we have princess in the list!!

msn_queen, I share the same worries as you. People around me keep asking me not to be pessimistic and over-worry but only we ourselves know cos our bao bei is juz too precious to us!!

Sherl,
ic ic... think i heard true story abt scan bb boy all the way then come out gal.. faint rite?

aquarius,
yalor.. so stressed abt the detail scan le~! mine on 29th Aug

Thanks all for the wishes.

actually i oso wish to hv a boy first... but after going thru the pregnancy, esp experiencing MS, i feel tt so long the baby is healthy... boy or ger doesnt matter liao.

Sharing this info: Sleep on your left side.

Question: What's the best sleep position during pregnancy?

Answer: Although there's no real harm in sleeping on your right side, lying on your left side is actually good for you and your baby: It improves the flow of blood and nutrients to the placenta and it helps your kidneys efficiently eliminate waste products and fluids from your body. That, in turn, reduces swelling in your ankles, feet, and hands. If you train yourself to sleep on your left side early on, you'll have an easier time falling asleep when your belly is bulging later.

During the second half of pregnancy, avoid sleeping on your back, a position that puts the full weight of your uterus on your spine, back muscles, intestines, and the inferior vena cava (the vein that transports blood from your lower body to the heart). Back-sleeping can also put you at risk for backaches and hemorrhoids, inefficient digestion, and impaired breathing and circulation. Lying on your back in the second and third trimester can also cause changes in blood pressure. For some women, it can cause a drop in blood pressure that can make them feel dizzy; for others, it can cause an unwanted increase in blood pressure.

Just some update on our research on prams/strollers.

Over the weekend went all over Singapore to look at the different brands and models available. From popular brand names to brandless ones.

Conclusion: Capella S217 S$159 @ Toys R Us(can use from new born till 3-4 yrs old, depending on weight)

Light weight, very sturdy. We brought my niece and 2 nephews (varying age and weight) to try out.

Good points:
Can tahan my 20kg nephew and easy to manovuere with tt heavy pig inside. Good on escalators.
Cover can close all the way.
Seat can lay flat for newborn.
Cushion covers are removable for washing.
Light weight (I can carry it alone with my 6 mth old niece inside).
Sturdy (I can hang my niece's diaper bag and some of my shopping on it and it never topple).
Reasonably priced.
Friends using this brand give good comments and they have been using theirs for very long already

Not so good points:
colour not v nice
looks v plain and normal
i find the cushion given abit too soft, but can buy and add one.

we did take a look at other popular brands like maclaren and quinny. So heavy!!!! and very bulky. Unless you drive van or got big boot space, it is quite hard to bring out. and the way it folds is not v convenient to carry baby and fold or unfold on your own. Price scared my hubby also, haha...
oh ya, they use the 5 pt harness, so no bar in front. which means no place to hook toys to.
it's good if you have big sized kids cos can tahan alot of weight (i can sit inside and my hubby push me ard!!)

Then there are the brandless. Some are not too bad, but my hubby say the plastic is not as good? price wise comparable with combi and capella.

Then there is Aprica, which is the branded stroller when I was a kid. My parents insist on getting Aprica. It is good, but the price is too high. Very similar to Capella and Combi.

baby milk, speaking of sleep position, I made myself a support pillow for sleeping on the side for preggies.

It's a large L shape pillow. One side tuck under your belly so it won't be sagging to the side, the other side put in between your legs for comfort. If you like, can add one more L to the end to lift your feet up.

Erm, dunno if you get wot I mean, but online got sell those pregnancy support pillows that are L shaped. I sewed one similar to those but customised the length to my body

Bluegrapes, I also had colic. Pain until cry, so scared is something wrong with baby. But my GP immediately know it's colic so he gave me some medication for it and it was better after a nap and medication

Now he advise that I take fruits at regular intervals and burp as often as possible to prevent colic. He say preggies are prone to it cos our stomach always bloated with gas. And he say wanna burp, just burp, wanna fart, just fart. You are human, every human need to do those.

Icic, Mrs Wong

Cos I only experience abdominal pain and there was no gas or bloatedness. Nor stomach pain. Strange...that's why my gynae couldn't detect anything. Glad its gone cos really very painful initially.

re-hi all,

just out from a 1h30mins meeting.. sit until backache.. heng i get to sit.. a lot other ppl standing for 1h30mins.. faint..

wats colic btw?

going lunch soon... hehe

janey, colic is something related to kidney stones ...my gynae mentioned something like that but she says my case might or might not be colic..she suspecting. Anyway, the pain has gone away

Btw, mummies, I juz went to the taka baby fair. Saw this sterilizer set + baby food and bottle warmer + starter kit + free gift = $125 (original price = $215). Wonder whether to get..uhm...

bluegrapes, Mmmm... if i'm not wrong, it their newly launched product, rite?
it launched with their manual pump...

feel free to correct...

just mine 2cents worth!

I saw their manual pump on the display desk but it was not packaged together with the sterilizer.
Very exciting leh...feel like buying something from the baby fair but scare too early.

bluegrapes, i oso saw their manual pump on the display desk...
but i search ard... cannot even find any other sample other than the display set at the desk...
can't even compare the price...
sighz..
(or izzit i overlook?)

thanks iceblue for the link
very useful....after reading the feedback, think I am the kind who prefer a big one so that I can dump everything inside other than milk bottles..haha

i waiting to see other MTB comment on the pigeon sterilizer...
if worth it... then i would get it before the baby fair ended...

just mine 2cents worth!

My friend lend me the pigeon sterilizer but in the end I never use it...maybe becos I am using Avent's bottles and it's much bigger than Pigeon's bottles. Also I still prefer the old method of using boiling water to sterilize bottles.

iceblue, issit? Ok, let me help you check cos am going to the fair again after work. I work at taka towers so can go down anytime :p Anyway, share listen to you and listen to more comments first

Mummies, can let me know if you want me to help check anything at the fair!

oh yeah...
just happened to saw LUCKY BABY stroller at OG Bugis...
come with baby car seat...
3 in 1-stroller wif attached car seat and carrier...
selling @ $170...

just mine 3cents worth!

hey aquarius, can share with me how you go about sterilizing the bottles using boiling water? Do you need to add sterilizing tablets? So juz get a big pot, throw everything inside and boil?