(2007/01) Jan

icylemon.. mayb we can go picnic? open space? jus a thot...cant think of any pl can fit us all leh...hehehe! Cant wait! so fun!

sugarbean, nice talking to you on sat.
Btw one thing I cannot stand about the tablets is, the smell is so strong...even after rinsing.

Sugarbean, my hubby and parents not too keen on chemical sterilisation although it is just pure citric acid. they think tt anything with chemicals, not good to use for baby.

Even the materials of clothes, my mum is starting to ask me to get ORGANIC cotten lor...i tell her i dun print money...when i do, i will buy ORGANIC clothes for the whole family...

My hubby only insist on 100% cotton and must wash the new clothes a few times b4 wearing (erm...we are in the fashion industry also, so we know how dirty new clothes are :p)...

btw, they have bought baby detergent, baby toiletries from US. All ORGANIC...i can't tahan already...everything ORGANIC...but surprisingly, the toiletries are not expensive. price is comparable with pigeon toiletries (based on pricing we saw at the taka fair).

Mrs Wong, I still sterilise my boy's bottle now - he is 15.5 mths. Will continue to do so until he is 2 yrs old.

I read somewhere that it is good to sterilise the bottles till the kids are 18mths. (Can't remember where I read the article.)

Sugarbean, picnic good suggestion. Must go somewhere my hubby won't feel so intimidated then he will mingle with the other daddies. If not he v shy la...

Picnic can try going to marina south or esplanade there...

baby_milk...I too sterilise my boy's bottle till about 2 yrs old...even now I try to sterilise everyday when he comes home from childcare cos I never trust the CC to clean the bottles properly.

mrs wong - hey mayb u can start business.. dealing all things organic for babies, etc. Sporeans are more open to using such stuff nowadays.

I enjoy eating organic fruits n veg but m not into them as it is way over-priced in spore and sometimes i feel way over-hyped... sorry jus my personal feelin lah but i love the fruits lah n wouldn mind payin for tt.

Good Afternoon Girls!

Hope everyone feeling great today.

Does anyone of u had bleeding gums or wat they called the pink toothbrush? Mi every day brush teeth, everyday bleed......

aqua - suggested east coast leh.. that's a good choice!

mrs wong - ask your hb dun shy lah, we very friendly and like to joke one.. he sure enjoy himself! (beta u ask the rest of the hb whether they kena scared by us on sat or not.. I shouldn speak for them. haha!

Mild - hey so long no hear from you!! now hardly pink toothbrush as i try to make the process quick lest i throw up...

Babymilk/aqua - since you 2nd time mummies liao.. can share when ur linea nigra starting showing and has any mummy develop this oradi?

hiya sugarbean,
yeah lor, nowadays read more type less. lolx.
i brush quickly also will bleed de wor. sometimes i find it very disgusting, cos if i were to drink water before i brush teeth right, i will puke water as i brush. :p

ya ya.. we potluck! Open space kids, dogs and hubbies can run abt too! I know my doggie will be so happy - he's a social butterfly! A golden who thinks he's a chihuahua (size wise)!

Sugarbean, i hear the word ORGANIC, i wanan run away le...at first my hubby not v anal about it...but after hearing my dad go on and on about the chemicals in our daily lives, he v anal abt all these things le...which can get rather irritating cos i wanna buy new shampoo also not allowed!! must use the shampoo they buy for me!

if u like organic fruits, you should order on regular basis, you can get v cheap prices (almost like normal fruits at market). my parents order vege and fruits from the organic grocer. price wise only more exp by S$10-20 per week (for family of 6 pple).

baby milk and aquarius, you sterilise for so long?? come back from CC I can understand...cos my nephew go half-day CC I also will wash and sterilise his bottles on alternate days, cos dunno what soap they use to wash la...paranoid tt they nvr wash his bottle properly...urgh...

anyway, the books I read, they say sterilise until 3 mths. And i did tt for all my nephews lei...and my mum say she onli sterilise me and my siblings bottles for the first month...all of us still grow up healthy

my niece now 6 mths, we already stopped sterilising her bottles for almost 2.5 mths le...just use the baby bottle cleaner (different from normal dish soap), rinse with hot water and air dry. So far she had nvr fallen sick before lei. She was fed BM for 2 weeks onli, then she was feed formula already. sometimes their maid can even forget to change the water in her water bottle and give her the same water for 2 days, still ok la. won't die
kids grow up too clean will fall sick easily

I flipped thru my notes from my studies, they mentioned tt sterilisation should only be done for newborn-2 mths. Any extension is onli for kids with immune problems.

btw, i just spoke to another experienced mummy, she say tt bottles have a 'shelf-life' in which how many times they can be sterilised. She say on average we should change bottles every 2-3 months. New bottles must be sterilised at least 2 times before starting to use.

sugarbean...mine can see a bit now...not very clear yet...think towards third trimester will be quite clear.

*There is an old wives' tale associated with linea nigra: if the linea nigra runs to the navel, it's a girl, and if it goes all the way up to the xiphoid, it's a boy.*

Hi milderina...my gum also...but sometimes dun have and I try not to brush too hard.

mild, hope your k-po colleagues are off your back now.. and the office front is more bearable.. next outing u mus come ah.. heard u very chio..Type more lah.. we miss your talking leh..

sugarbean good idea hor...

i wont bring my dog la... he is very unfriendly. chihuahua X cocker spaniel & always think he is a big dog. who ever fought with husky, golden retriever & labrador b4.

Sugarbean, my doggie will be super happie also!!! tt day brought her to the national dog walk, fwah...she play with other dogs like mad...run and run...
my hubby will be happy too...cos can fly his remote control airplane which we bought so long ago but no chance to fly it...

Milderina, my gums stopped bleeding after I went to my dentist to get my teeth cleaned. Dentist said gums bleed cos teeth not clean, plus now preggie, got more blod circulation, so sure bleed if gums not healthy...

Mrs Wong, ya...my MIL looked after my son till he is 2 yrs old and all the time she sterilise his bottles...then he started attending CC...so in between I think I never stop sterilising. I read from forum that most moms sterilise the bottles till at least one year old. I think it's individual preference...if want to stop earlier also can.

aquarius,
wow seems like a few all got bleeding gums. actually sometimes quite scare, dunno the tooth will drop out or not. btw, wats xiphoid?

Sugarbean,
alamak........no chio no chio. i will definitely try to go during the next gathering. k-po colleagues say till sianz liaos la. lolz

Icylemon, your dog sounds like a fighter!! Mine v timid, like mouse...heehee...only play with dogs tt are nice to her...

but she v frenly with kids..will run up to kids to play with them...tt day at the dog run, she ran up to 3 kids (ard 6-8 yo) and started to chase the ball they were throwing to each other...scared me!! cos my dog v strong, if she run at full speed, she can easily knock over my hubby! much less little kids....but she was so gentle with them...my hubby kindaf shocked also...she went up and play with them...then catch the ball and give back to them...

aquarius wat is "There is an old wives' tale associated with linea nigra: if the linea nigra runs to the navel, it's a girl, and if it goes all the way up to the xiphoid, it's a boy.* wats that???

aquarius, i just read overseas forums. many of them stopped sterilising at 3-6mths. just wash with warm water and soap and rinse with hot water before use.

i tink i will stop at 3mths. i dun want too clean kids. anyway my house got dog, dun tink my kdi will be v clean also...haha...

mrs wong if stop sterlise at 3 mths. then mite as well dun sterliser at all in the 1st place. coz no diff leh... juz a few mths only.

mrs wong - no choice lah... jus bear w it as they concern abt u n baby.. nvm mind, they pay, u jus enjoy n use lor! kekek! I oso think sometimes kids mus have a bit of 'dirt' lah as too clean that's y always sick..

But agree CC can be quite teruk one.. there was once when I brought my doggie for walk and we passed by this CC (voide deck kind at rivervale) when I stopped for a while to look at the kids. I saw a dummy fell on the floor and the auntie jus pick it up nonchantly and gave it to the kid! I was shocked!! Goodness!

Aqua - ya lor that's what i wanted to know leh but if only show obviously by 3rd trimester then no use as we would know oradi.. so tis method still cannot use.. No choice have to wait patiently for BB to co-operate..

aquarius,
haha.......ok must check dictionary liaos. chimgelogy term.

sugarbean,
yeah lor, i agree with u. kids must be like the old saying "la sab chia, la sab tua" (Hokkien) lolx

icylemon - hahah!! so funny! Big dogs think they are small, small dogs think they are big..
Mine will plonk himself on you thinking he's a chihuahua.. but ever since i got preggie, he's stopped doing this.. in fact i got a feeling he knew i was pregnant b4 i actually found out. Cos, I like to play dancing with him, I always ask him to jump up and I will 'dance' with him but few days b4 i found out, i asked him, he refused but readily did that to hb.. amamzing right??

mrs wong- my 48kg spoiled brat oso very gentle with kids.. they can do anything to him and he will jus let them.. my nieces, pull his tail, put clips on him, etc he oso ok.. Wah, so fun, he mus meet but I can only bring him if hb in town.

hahah sugarbean, that's what you are trying to find out.
Dun worry lah...when you going for your detailed scan? most likely will know after that.

kekeke.. don tease me lah..
i 1st time mummy lah.. n we really hope to have a little princess.. my detailed scan still long long time leh.. 14/9 but got apptm on 31/8 so m hoping tis time bb will co-operate.. aiyo, u don know me n icylemon oso try ALL the old wives' tales method liao! haahaha! right icylemon? kekek!

kekeke.. don tease me lah.. i 1st time mummy m
lah..n we really hope to have a little princess.. my detailed scan still long long time leh.. 14/9 but got apptm on 31/8 so m hoping tis time bb will co-operate.. aiyo, u don know me n icylemon oso try ALL the old wives' tales method liao! haahaha! right icylemon? kekek!

Sugarbean,

my dog also like tt!! but mine onli 15kg la...if 48kg i will pengz...
before i was preggie, she like to come sit on my lap when i sit down, be it on the floor, on the bed or on the sofa...and she will squeeze btw me and my hubby to sleep every nite...and she will kick my hubby off the bed...hahaha....

she used to dance with me also...but once i came back from honeymoon, she stopped...dogs v amazing...they know when something changes...

mine will let my nephew (the younger one) sit on her and play horse lor..pull tail also...her fave is when my nephews call her meimei....tt's their nickname for her..cos my relatives say my dog is my daughter...even my mum baby talk to her "where is my little baby, got miss AH MA???"

aqua, my feeling is a boy leh.. but ultimately, bb is god's gift and i shall be happy n thankful to have a strong n healthy bb.. of cos can choose gender even beta lah.. pple all greedy one mah..right?

mrs wong, hahah! your hb so cute! can secretly go n buy some more! haha!
actually i think most mummies want princess as daughters are always more closer to mama and very 'tie-xin'. Boys grow up forget abt mummy liao.. only got heart for their wifeys..

sugarbean,
mine also showing clearly liao...

Aquarius,
mine run up to navel then continue to breast area.. but my gynae says i might be having a gal?? hehehehe btw, i also dunno where is xiphoid..

Sugarbean, yes, my toothbrush is always stained with blood. Think I should refrain from using too much strength,

Aqua, I've not developed the linea nigra tho' am already going on my 17th week. Instead of a brown line, i've a line of hair straight down to my navel which has grown super hairy. Normal?

janey/aqua, i oso don know wat is xiphoid but the saying is that if it stops at bellybutton its a girl, if it goes all the way to your solar-plexus or jus under breasts its boy.. but seems like we can write off this old wives tale liao as yours not accurate.. so much so for beliefs.. interesting but how true?

Janey, when did urs start to show?

Could pple tell that you're pregnant by looking at your back profile? If the answer is 'no' i.e. you're considered as looking very 'neat', chances are you're expecting a boy. But if from the back, one glance and u can tell that the MTB is rounded, then most prob it's going to be a girl. Dunno how true....

Alethea, we missed u at the outing.. any updates on your babies? There is oso another mummy with multiple births right? triplets! wow! haven heard from her.. oh dear, i forgot her name liao!