(2007/01) Jan

iceblue,
I just had the sunplaza wanton mee for lunch today. kekeke

Sherl,
huh... how abt Yakult?
Your indigestion is it due to wind? if yes, can take ginger tea. Take 2 slice of ginger with skin, boil it with red dates/dry longan for half an hour. take only one cup. should feel better after tat... warning, you will fart alot after tat.

bluesky,
thanks for the link
473314.gif

janey,
maybe our stomach not obvious enough yet.. people might think we are just fat. Nobody give me seat too, even standing and reading the "prenancy book" leh
Aquarius,
you tummy very obvious is it?

Sherl,
and also almost half hour is up, must add black sugar, when melt, turn off fire. wait for it cool abit and drink but drink while it is hot.

bluesky, red date and dried longan belonging to heaty stuff?
if the MTB already heaty, not advised to drink too much oso...
am i right?

just mine 2cents worth!

Some findings:

GINGKO NUTS & BARLEY SOUP
(A traditional soup for expectant mothers. It is believed to help give baby a fair & glowing complexion. And also for a cute, chubby baby!)
100g shelled gingko nuts
50g pearl barley
50g dried beancurd strips ("fu chok"), broken into 2inch pieces & soaked for 15mins until soft
100g rock sugar, rinsed
4 hard-boiled eggs, shelled

Put in all ingredients into a crockpot . Fill full with HOT water. Boil for 2 hours. Serve with the hard-boiled eggs.

"SHUET-YEE" (SNOW FUNGUS) SOUP
(For expectant mothers who have just gotten over morning sickness, this soup helps restore their appetites & improves general health.)
40g snow fungus ("shuet yee"), soaked in warm water for 1 hr, trimmed stems, & tear into florets
40g Pak-Hup / "bai he" (lilium brownii)
10g "Lam-Hang" & "Pak-Hung" (sweet & bitter almond mixture)
100g rock sugar, rinsed

Put all ingredients in crockpot, fill full with HOT water. Boil for 3 hours. Serve hot/cold (although for expectant mothers, it is advised that they do not eat cold stuff).

GINGKO NUTS & BARLEY SOUP; this can be treated as dessert after meal.. very nice...
easy to cook as well..

but mine way seem different, instead of using hard boiled egg as some ppl dun like hard boiled egg yolk, u can just beat the egg and mix with the soup...

just mine 2cents worth!

icylemon, depend on your body either heaty or "liang"
for heaty body, take barley no pro..
can "cool" down...
for "liang" body, not advised to take much as "liang" plus "liang"..

just mine 2cent worth!

ice blue izzit.. i m not too sure. the auntie told me barley too liang for baby so is better to avoid. infact my granny, MIL & mum oso told me tat.. i have not been drinking barley drink for very long liao... i missed it man...

so how is your wife?? still drinking ribenna??? is she better now?

icylemon, u can check out "fu hua"..
they got different types of barley, some not suitable for preggie, some suitable..

just mine 2cents worth!

bluesky,

Thanks! I'll try that next time.
Just now after taking 15min power nap, I suddenly let out one big BELCH and feel better liao... kekekekekekekekekke.... But think these few days will carry on having indigestion so your recipe will come in useful...

talking about ginko nuts and barley... just now my colleague was trying to get me to eat that instead but i insisted on eating hei nuo mi... kekekekke... But end up throw about 1 quarter bowl away because tummy start aching again...

Aiyoh.....

I share with you my expreience with first baby.

even my tummy wasbig, when ppl see that I am walking to their direction, they will pretend to sleep. Only very few kind soul will give up thier seats.

Do you know Singaporea has been ranked the 5th rudest country in the world? FYI

icylemon, wahaha!
mine MIL n grandmum say can take, BUT in moderate serving!

Thank! wifey doing fine, nv drink ribena liao, now drinking vitasoy. once in a while still sip mouthful of coke..

baby milk,

Last time before I was married I took MRT to work everyday, many times arrived at work in bad temper because was kena shoved on train, or people stepped on my foot, etc. And no one bothers to say sorry one. Not surprised that Singapore has been ranked a rude country, our morning rush hour crowd is horrendous!

zenn, mayb from ur coughing u can tell..
when you coughing, got lots of phlegm, "liang"...
if no phlegm, then heaty..

just mine 2cents worth!

babymilk.. really sporean ranked 5th as the rudest country?? tot we are regnoised as the friendly ppl???

aquarius... strange liao.. version i heard is better not to drink crysanthemum, luo han guo & barley... yang sen can drink, moderate.. i m not sure tats why i went to the medical hall to ask ma.. then even those aunties sat at the medical hall oso tell me cannot drink. so i juz take note lor...

my colleague who is in her 50s told me to boil n drink waterchestnut with barley when i reach 7-8 mth. she said by taking tis, baby wont develop rashes after birth. some said drink fresh coconut juice... so rather confused liao.

iceblue, Sherl,
yes, red date is heaty unless you remove the seeds.
longan optional, u only need to put a few piece only if you like.
That is why I asked Sherl is her indigestion due to wind. If yes, then make and drink this ginger tea. The ginger boil with skin (skin reduce the heatiness, but rem to wash it clean), + red date without seeds and longan optional, will make it not really that heaty. And also, of course you cannot take this every day. only when you feel really bloated with wind and unconfortable. And also don't prepare too much, only one normal cup size will do.

pinky.. the auntie oso told me the same.. said ard 7 - 8 mths can drink some barley coz will get heaty le..

but she mentioned tat now, during 1st & 2nd trimester is better dun drink. too liang. haiz.. i oso dun know wat to do. so now i rather drink water liao.. the safest.

pinky,

My colleague told me to drink coconut juice a few weeks before bb's birth, she says it 'cleans' your baby up, then when baby is born not so bloody. Dunnoe if true or not la, but she said her baby quite clean when born.

icylemon, seem like lots of different version...
for me, i cook barley with gingko nut (dessert), chrysanthemum wif luo han guo (drink)..

i same like u, ask ard.. but all tell me can eat.. but in moderate serving...

auntie still tell me eat barley with gingko, next time baby veri beautiful!

icylemon, now I am confused too...kekeke...cos both my mil and mum let me drink luo han guo, chrysanthemum and barley...cos these are the more mild liang teh. So far I think I drink luo han guo few times, chrysanthemum 2 times and barley once. Hmmm...how to clear all these doubts? at least then we know what can take what cannot.

i also suddenly crave to eat the ginko barley dessert this 2 weeks. mum made for me last weekend.
Barley also liang one. got 2 type, i think must take the chinese one.
The thing here is, whether or not liang or heaty...got to boil down to how often you take them.
By taking one or twice a week, i think it is ok but not everyday and a few bowl at one go lor

bluesky, oic, point noted!
Mmmm, i didnt know seedless red date not so heaty compared to red date with seed...
but i do noe ginger can get rid of wind inside stomache..
cos for confinement meal, all must put ginger to get rid of the wind..
somemore must be "LAO" ginger..

aquarius i oso have the same tots as you... i tot chrysanthemum, luo han guo can drink de... until those aunties told me cannot.. tats why now i heard 2 different versions... seems like forum here everything seems ok. wat i heard from outside said cannot... even my friends who had 1 -2 kids oso asked me to avoid drinking. i very blur liao...

iceblue,
yes, it is said that taking the barley with gingko, the baby skin will be smooth smooth. i also heard that.

and also drink the coconut around ending stage, 7-8mths so that the baby born will not have heaty rashes.

iceblue, ok noted. thanks.

sherl, ya i also heard b4 due drink coconut so that liang n easier to give birth?

icylemon, ya we should drink red dates tea instead of plain water. think help for water retension too.

icylemon, think ok but dun drink too much bah... I also drank a lot of barley during 1st tri in place of my teh peng during lunch, because I didn't know cannot drink...

icylemon, if you r advised not to drink, then dun drink... if not aft drinking, you will feel uncomfortable..

some of us drink cos the advises we get say can.. so even aft we drink, we wouldn feel uncomfortable..

i believe whether can drink or cannot drink really depend on the drinker itself..
if the drinker body tend to be more heaty (like mine wifey), sometimes must drink something "liang" to "cool" down..
if not after drinking all the tonic, she will get nose bleed / fever..

just mine 2cents worth!

something to share

my friend who was craving for durians during her last trimester & she oso drank alot of coconut water.. her baby came out, face full of heat rash.

icylemon,
yes, red dates is 'bu' blood. so during confinement, we can only drink the red date,longan drink. No no for water. But for how long, i need to ask my MIL.

iceblue,
also, when u do the drink hor, 2 slice of the ginger is enough, not too many..
yes, u're right. confinement period use LAO ginger. During the older period, people use the LAO ginger + the chang mao boil to bath during the confinement period.
cos we are not allow to touch unboil or tap water.
And if you notice, most of the confinement food recipe use ginger instead of the garlic to fry the veggie too..

icylemon - har... face full of heat rash!!! i like durian v much leh.... does it mean durian will hv to b in my NO NO list... sigh!

sherl my mum told me even know preggie oso cannot take so much ginger if not baby will turn yellow..

coz sometimes i will fried egg with ginger. is actually cantonese de confinement food.

bluesky, yeah! Thank!

for bathing, i went medical shop ask liao.. they got those herb use for bathing during confinement..

think will use it for wifey... if during confinement dun take well care of her.. next time her back n leg will be more accurate than the weather station...
wahahah!