(2007/01) Jan

milderina actually do 1 mth enough liao. i see some of my friends hor.. 2 weeks of confinement already buay tahan le. the food eat until very sianz... if you want to do 40 days confinement. think the CL will charge extra.

actually i told my mum i know how to cook some simple dishes meant for confinement. for us cantonese very simple one. steamed fish with lots of ginger, ginger fried with egg, ginger with pig liver, ginger with chicken (soup based or dry one oso have) then some very common soup we normally drink lor. i told my mum i want a very simple confinement.

Milderina,

ya malaysian. heard she quite popular.. she alr fully booked all the way till next jan - jan book by me.. hehehe.. she did confinement for my cousin.. they all say she v good.. so i take her lor..

u all know if u b/f n bb got jandice, mum cannot eat ginger hor? ginger is not good for jandice bb..

hmmm... talking about confinement, luckily I getting my mum to do for me tho I'm staying with my in-laws... Hubby already agree that I will go back and stay with my mum during the one month... Reason being that I wanna stay somewhere were I can be comfortable during confinement, which I think will be a difficult period of adjustment. I'm quite emotional, and hubby has a bad temper, so I told him that I wanted my mum with me instead because I dun think he would be able to stand me. He agreed. Kekekeke

janey, when my mum was pregnant with my di di I even went around telling everyone that I'm having a meimei... end up my di di got a lot of pink colour gift sets. LOL.

sherl,
i dunno u pantang or not, but the other day my mum was telling mi hor if daughter give birth cannot go back mother's house to do confinement leh. like dirty or something.

janey,
oh u mean if baby no jaundice mummy can eat ginger and bf eh? i thought mummy cannot eat ginger if breastfeeding. got it confuse.

girls,
i realise that i cannt take vinegar now leh, whenever i take vinegar (which is my fave) i will feel very xin ku. dunno y like tat.

hello gals

Yeah, I have gotten confinement lady as well. She charged me $1700 for one month.

Iceblue, thanks for sharing on the beansprout pillow. I will try.
And happy for you that your wifey is feeling much better!!

Milderina, I have asked gynae whether it is ok for expecting mother to take vinegar, she says ok... what vinegar you 'sensitive' to currently? The black chinese vinegar or apple cider kind?

Yah, I also heard from mum that we cannot take ginger if bf

the CL n my mum also say... ginger is good.. cos can get rid of wind.. but if bb got jandice n u r going to bf, then cannot eat ginger.. but once bb recover, can start to have ginger liao...

bluegrapes/janey,
u girls all confirmed with your confinement lady le ah? mine still not confirm. i better get my mum to go confirm soon.

i think i am sensitive to the black vinegar.

Milderina,

i think vinegar too acidic n sour for ur sensitive stomach now..

or maybe ur bb dun like it..

for me.. i cant live without chilli.. now i start to avoid cos it makes me sick..

janey,
i think so too. i try a couple of time now really dun dare to try again le.

girls,
i heard got 1 papaya soup or something good for women who is breastfeeding, anyone know the recipe?

milderina,
is it? Heheh... think I dun take notice la... coz my mum was the one who suggest that I go back leh... kekekeke

aquarius,
u know how to cook? now can drink? use wat fish?
*gulps* sorry for the many question. suddenly very excited. hee hee....

sherl,

think up to individual la..
a lot of my cousins n fren also go back mum place for confinement.. hahaha

milderina...should be ok to drink now...can cook with pork ribs or slice pork too though fish is probably the best. I only know have to use those papayas which are not ripe...my mum used to cook for me cos I find the soup real nice.
If you want to try the taste...there is this stall in some foodcourts selling soup, rice and steamed egg...cannot remember the name...but it's quite popular. Of course I still like my mum's recipe.

Managed to find this.

PAPAYA SOUP

1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
100g raw peanuts ~ 1 handful?
(I use black beans now because the pediatrician advised me to avoid peanuts due to my baby's mild eczema)
1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
1 piece tangerine peel
4 slices old ginger
1.5litres boiling water
2 Tablespoons oil

Heat oil & fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

Then put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant.

Then enjoy the drink!

Another way that my Mother-in-Law swears by - she says that's what the lactating mothers in her Village (in Guangzhou China) cook, is just to put "Bak Zao Yu" (Dried Octopus?) instead of the fish. Then all you need to do is to rinse all ingredients & put in slow cooker. My MIL also says to use really RAW papaya (when the sap is still "dripping" - now where would I find that, huh?).

Good afternoon ladies,

msnqueen, hows heartburn like?

iceblue, glad to hear that! at least ur wife is taking healthy stuff

milderina & janey, mine also charge 1.8k for 28 days. i called a few all at least 1.8k.

black bean is hei dou...some use it to cook zhu jiao soup...good for legs.

fish, it's mentioned as white fish but I dunno what's that. :p My mum usually cook with pork spare ribs.

Avoiding ginger when baby got juandice is MYTH. Jaundice is caused by immature liver in baby, nothing to do with ginger (old folks tink it is e yellow colour in ginger that causes jaundice).

Milderina, you can find raw papaya in market. Just tell the uncle you want raw ones. They usually keep those behind their stalls
My mum can get it from her place the market.
BTW, when in 3rd tri dun drink too much if not might lead to engorged breasts. Advice given by my couz is to drink during 2nd tri, stop during 3rd tri then start drinking again when you manage to breastfeed well.

Zenn, the fish you can go market and ask the fishmonger. I also dunno the name of the fish, but my hubby just go market and tell uncle he want fish to cook soup for preggy and uncle will rec'd.

Girls, any of your parents/ILs told you not to buy baby stuff until 2-3 tri? Alot of my couz and frens tell me not to buy cos PANTANG.

Anyway my couz told me year end sales for baby stuff is more worth it than the GSS now, so my mum says she will wait till then to buy all the baby stuff. Plus we still need to sort out all the hand-me-downs before we go shopping...

Sometimes I see baby stuff I also tempted to get...But we now still comparing prices and taking note of brands/prices...

Me and my hubby main focus now is on 3 major equipments. So doing our research properly before we decide. Pram/stroller, cot/playpen and breast pump.

So far we found a cot/playpen/toddler bed that costs S$300 (inclusive of mattress, pillows bolster and 1 set of covers, bedsheet, cot bumper).
Here's the webby: http://www.babytown.com.sg/index.cfm?SESSID=59785&ITMID=348&Page=Product%20List&ECatID=1476&SearchText=

Pram/stroller we still looking around. Got cheap ones (S$100++) and got super expensive ones (S$1K+). Still doing research on the different brands and their functions. Seems like in this forum alot of pple using McClarens(sp?). Will share more when we got more info on this.

Breast pump we decided to get mini electric one (batt operated) cos my workplace got no socket for me to use in the nursing room.

BTW, my hubby bought a UK mag on pregnancy and babies. Got photos of the whole childbirth process (natural and C section)!! My hubby and I looked through and now he says he is more mentally prepared to be with me during birth...

Zenn, black bean confirm can get from NTUC. The section where they put the barley, yellow beans and herbs.

Tangerine peel can get from medical hall. Some medical hall got 'home made' ones.

Hi mrs wong, ok thanks! looks like must wake up early to go mkt. me nv been to wet market for long long time :p

I just had some beef taco. Realised that I seem to like chili now cos usually I have my taco without chili, but just now can't stop myself from adding alot of home made chili sauce!!

I just had home cook porridge. for me, i rather eat 'simple' stuff like porridge or soupy food. still dun ve a good appetitie leh.

Girls,
just had kway chap with duck meat. i cant eat a lot nowadays. n dun really like meat. i can eat more vegetables only. dunno y. eat abit already feel indigested but still hungry leh......

aquarius,
wow!!! by the look of it already seems yummilicious. will try it out.

Mrs Wong,
ya i also heard a lot of ppl say only buy baby stuff during 2nd tri or 3rd tri.

Janey, my couz bought that bed for my nephew and it is v versatile. Now my nephew sleep in it as a toddler bed (he is 3 yo already). We looked around and found this one v worth it (compared to those at ikea and robinsons) cos it is v sturdy and versatile.

Milderina, my fren kept telling me v pantang to buy baby things too early in the pregnancy. She told me to start buying only after 24 weeks. Even when I told her I buy maternity wear, she say should not, just buy normal clothes that are 1-2 sizes bigger.
I not pantang but e way she say like v serious like that.

<font color="aa00aa">Re CL:</font>
Wow u all already started sourcing for CL arh.. Since our period quite close to CNY, better to book the CL first hor...

I wont be getting a CL. My hubby already told my MIL to come over to help wf cooking my meals and take care of bb.. My maid will handle rest of the housework and my gal.. So shouldn't be much of a pbm..

<font color="aa00aa">Re baby items:</font>
It's better to start buying bb's stuff from the late 2nd trimester onwards. By then the bb's gender will be confirmed and the bb should be pretty stable.. I started shopping for my gals' stuff when i was abt 7 mths preggie..

<font color="aa00aa">Pram/stroller:</font>
My frens bought a Maclaren Techno XT for my gal. It's very sturdy and easy to manoeuvre.. But i seldom use it after i hired a maid.. Hahaha..

<font color="aa00aa">Breast Pumps:</font>
The more popular electric pumps are Medela and Ameda. If u are looking for a dual electric pump at affordable price, i would recommend Ameda dual electric. It costs abt $300 as compared to Medela which costs abt $499/599... Think we could organise a BP on this?! Kekeke..

<font color="aa00aa">Re Birthstories:</font>
I find this website pretty interesting... But pls be mentally prepared if u wanna look at the birth pictures...
http://www.birthdiaries.com/

<font color="aa00aa">Re Sales:</font>
I know that Taka has BB fair every March and Sept.. So u can prob grab items like strollers/car seat/breast pumps/breast pads/other bb accessories during the fair.. Quite a worth buy..

mrs wong,
actually it depends on the individual ba. i think hor esp when comes to pregnancy got a lot of saying one. thats y sometimes its better not to hear too much. act blur everything dunno is the best. when they say u just smile smile walk away can le, also dun say or ask too much better. but for mi i think i will only starts buying from 4 mth onwards ba.

Mrs Wong,

so pantang until cannot buy M clothings? i am already wearing!! hahaha.. bb stuff i will buy later but 24 mths seems like still got few mths away le..

I had been reading this thread for quite a while. Due to my due date not confirm therefore I was go back and fore from dec06 to jan07.

My EDD is 4th Jan. And this is my 2nd child.

Regarding the papaya soup, I am not sure how true as I did not try it myself. I breastfeed my girl till she is about 10mths old. Maybe I should give it a try.

I also bought the baby cot to convert to a toddler bed later. Kind of a regret as my girl gets to knock on the wood most of the time even though there is cover around it. Quite heartache. But now I think she is use to it... I think those cloth one is better, but cannot last long as your kid will grow up.

Need any list on what to buy? I had it from my previous pregnancy...

Hi Mrs Wong,
I had been using McClarens, yes I felt that it is good. As it is light, especially if you want to bring ur bb out alone or with your mum or mil.

serrich,
the breast pumps is best not to buy so early. cos not everyone of us will have milk after giving birth. so for mi i think i will go shopping with hubby then tell him which brand and pattern i wan then after i give birth got milk then will ask my hubby go buy for mi, cos its not cheap and if buy le no milk wasted wor.

I think during the Taka BB Fair we all can go grab stuff le. hee hee...

bluegrapes.. my favourite leh.. bee hoon soto.. far east plaza got nice soto meh??

zenn me &amp; you the same leh.. lately appetitie oso not so good.

wah milderina.. you had duck kway chap ah.. yummy wor...

Serrich, I cant get electric pump cos no power source in the nursing room! Must get the battery operated ones or the manual ones. Heard from frens that manual ones are better cos they can control the strength/pressure but they say it needs more work.

milderina i oso agreed with you regarding the breast pump. not all of us wil have milk. my poor friend, she bought the batt breast pump ended up pumped out blood. no milk.

milderina when is the TAKA Baby Fair??

yvoyvo,
congrats n welcome!!

Milderina,

yes.. we can go shop at the taka bb fair in Sept.. we will be ard 22wks+

mrs wong ya i oso heard the manual one is better. think i will get the avent manual pump later.

yvoyvo welcome to the thread.

Yvoyvo, I dun have ILs. Erm, long story, maybe next time we got gathering or what then tell you.

I got strength to carry heavy stuff
Currently looking after my 2 nephews and 1 niece. No problems bringing them out with 1 stroller.

I can carry the older one (3yo) and younger one (1.5yo) at the same time and walk from Orchard MRT to Cine
And at the same time still gotta make sure the maid push my niece in the right direction (sometimes she will walk elsewhere)...

So stroller weight dun realli matter to me
Impt is sturdy and easy to push onto escalators. I've seen so many pple get stuck on escalators with the stroller I'm kindaf worried about that.

My hubby is interested in the 3 wheels type cos we saw that can bring to beach and wheels wont get stuck (my niece's combi stroller keeps getting stuck in the sand when we bring them to sentosa).