(2007/01) Jan

iceblue - i had ribena too when i cant drink much plain water when i suffered from MS. Bcos of its sweetness, i will mix it with some plain water. U may wanna try it for ur wife.

After seeing the poor health of her son, my SIL very kwai during her 2nd pregnancy. She avoided cold stuff and took tonic soup and gave birth to a very healthy gal. I hardly hear my niece falls sick leh.

iceblue,
better to give her cold ribena then coke with caffeine. The key word here is "CAFFEINE".

Icylemon,
thanks for the suggestion. I will eat mee soto too. hahahahaha...................

icylemon, that the mindset she having. even before she was preggie!
wahahah!!
she the WCP at hm mah!!
wahahha!!!

Milderina, she say yakult got med smell and taste!
*sighz*

zhen na ta mei you pan fan!
wahahha!!

milderina my gynae told me yakult is sweet too. he recommend yakult the low sugar one. much more ex. think is abt $3.50 per tube.

iceblue make ribena urself la.. dun put too much syrup la..

pinky, will try that..
see if she liked it...
wahahaha!!

Milderina, thank!
let her noe liao..
see whether she listen lor..
kekeke...

icylemon,
ok will take note. the next time i will get that. i must drink yakult everyday leh. cos i got indigestion.

iceblue,
i really cant think of any other drinks le. Vitagen? hahahaha..........eh......glucose drink? hm.............buy some fruit juice let her testing ba, c which flavours she prefers. hee hee.......there is bond to b something else she likes.

milderina... hahahaha.... we got the same taste in food.. hahaha...

zenn is yours & mine favourite but we cant eat. *sob sob*

iceblue try hard to persude your wife la.. really tat.. there are too many examples liao. i can be like your wife, very stuborn. but think for the kid, everything is worth. only suffer for that few months only. must "REN"!! maybe like wat the rest said can drink but a few sip lor.

iceblue,
your wifey really very relax leh, you think of everything for her liaos. you really "24 xiao father to be and hubby" leh.

iceblue, i find packet one v sweet. wat my hb did is mix a tube of ribina at nite so that i or we can drink anytime.

Milderina, how abt vitasoy?
seem that she got craving for that as well...
but most importantly, it must be chill...

icylemon, she can REN i can fly liao..
wahhaha!!
she oso try to cut down, she always boost to me that when she stay over at mine MIL place, she didnt drink any coke.
but the moment she reach hm, she drink coke again..
wahhha..

btw, just to ensure, izzit ok to take the vitamin pill wif coke, vitasoy, ribena??

btw want to share something with all...

i was oso like iceblue's wife like to drink alot of soft drinks. esp coke. tats was b4 i was preggie. i oso like to drink alot of cold iced water. ended up with having PCOs in my ovaries. tat will oso link to difficulties in having babies too.

lucky i saw this chinese sinseh. she gave me alot of chinese meidcation to eat. until i recoved. i m pregnant le. i m very happy lor. tats why this baby is very precious to me. so diffcult then can get preggy.

tats why now.. i got a warmer on my ofc desk to keep my cup warm. i only drink warm water in the ofc & at home. no cold stuff for me. i even try to heat up my fresh milk b4 drinking.

icylemon - u r right. must tink for the kid... tis is wat my husband told me whenever i complained that he is too strict to me... dun even let me hv a sip of cold drinks etc. He oso said its better to suffer for tis few months rather than suffered for years if our kid is not healthy.

Got to log off liao as hubby is picking me up soon.

All mummies - njoy ur dinner.... curry chicken, mee soto or watever!!!

Milderina, i think for her but she dun listen oso no choice..
wahahha!!
just trying to make mine life easier aft baby born since i'm going to be the CG..
wahahha!!

zenn, try that tonite..
see if it works..
wahahha!!

thank ladies!

iceblue i agree with milderina. you are really a very good lao gong. you care for your wife tats why you come into this forum to know more. good!!!

milderina i stayed in jurong east. ;)

zenn ya lor. the pkt one oso very sweet. suggest iceblue to mix more water into it.

iceblue your wife really very stuborn...

iceblue,
i think as long as the drink can vent her off coke is a good drink ba. hahaha......try to slowly divert her taste buds to fruit juice ba. c what are the fruits she likes then you squeeze home made fruit juice for her la. esp now if she is reaching her 2nd trimester she need to have a balance diet. Fruits is 1 very impt serving that she must have.

the best drink to take when taking pills is luke warm water...........

icylemon, wahhaha! since u all mention preggie woman not advised to sit infront PC too long, i logged in then see any thing then read to wifey let her noe...
yeah.. her mum oso say that!
wahhaha!!

zenn,
ok will go check it out. is the food good huh? you try before? i like the indian rojak there. very very nice ah. crispy crispy one, but must eat there nicer.

pinky,
have a nice evening.

icylemon,
yeah its better to suffer a bit now then regret later. we are talking abt the baby's future here.

icylemon,
i think i going to have mee soto and yong tau fo. ho ho ho.................i want food!!!! wakakakak........my hubby so scare of mi now, every few hrs i will say i hungry then i must eat and i will insist he eat with mi. he say he already put on a few KG liaos. he say next time i slim down after i give birth he still fat fat. I say ok ma, by then you become father can also b uncle liaos. wakakkaka......

Milderina, fruit juice?
she liked onli watermelon...
but watermelon MIL say cannot! too liang!
try "forcing" her to eat some fruit, in the end, she take onli 1/4 apple...
then say full liao..
but the moment i finshed the apple, she say she hungry liao...
wahahha!!

iceblue,
wow it seems like our wifey only interested in those "no no" food list........i guess now c your skills le.

iceblue remember to let your wife read our postings. we meant well no harm. ;)

milderina ya lor.. kid's future is more impt. u ha.. dun tell your hubby i was the one mentioned abt mee soto... hahaha... he will be thinking.. this woman always crave this crave tat,,, makes my wife oso wants to eat... hahaha...

ok.. talk tml. i m going to knock off liao. tata..

enjoy your dnr. i m going to tabao mee soto.. hahaha...

Hi everyone!! So busy with new work place cos got so many activities going on!!

I have not told anyone at new workplace about my pregnancy. But one of them guessed it, cos she said I got that 'glow' when she had when she was preggie.

My parents happily went around announcing already. They say it's ok to tell everyone now cos everyone is worried about me. *drips sweat*
But cos they announce, now we got many offers for maternity clothings and baby stuff
I think I dunnid to buy much already. I even got offers to babysit on weekends

Iceblue, I also got craving for COLD VITASOY!!! My hubby went to buy in cartons for me. Our fridge now stocked with vitasoy

My mum say soy milk is good lei, so she never stop me from drinking vitasoy
But my dad make some noise about drinking it realli cold. :p

I like to drink coke now cos the gas helps me burp, helps to relief the bloated feeling la. I take 1-2 sips every hour

For those who need some help on the digestive system, try yoghurt la! Yakult and Vitagen is too sweet la.
Buy plain yoghurt (Paul's is the best), blend up your fave fruits and add in the yoghurt. Yummy!! Fresh fruit yoghurt!

Nutrition wise, you can refer to: www.nutrition.com.sg or www.hpb.gov.sg
They got the healthy diet pyramids to give you a rough guide on what you need to eat.

Mrs Wong,
oh yogurt can help in digestion also? I am actually looking for things which can help in my indigestion. I think i should go buy some soon.

Thanks girl!

Milderina, yoghurt works e same way as Yakult and Vitagen, they got live bacteria which is good for our digestion

I prefer my yoghurt fruit blend cos I can't tahan the yoghurt taste now
There are yoghurt drinks also, but I find them to sweet, so blending the fruits on my own is better.

BTW, anyone starting to realise your food expenditure increase?
I was counting and I realised last month's food expenditure increase by S$200 cos we spend more on fresh fruits and fish now...

Milderina, mine skill?
mine level still not high enough...
sure lose to her "yan oh (dialet)"...
wahahha!!

icylemon, yeah! thank!

mrs wong, Mmmm... if vitasoy can take, then got to make her drink!
whahaha!!! thank!

Ice blue, can take la. My mum just tell me to leave it outside for 5 min before I drink so that not so cold. But sometimes thirsty I just gulp everything down. Esp weather so hot now!!

There is a myth saying that if preggies drink alot of soy milk, their baby will be v fair and plump...dunno how true though

mrs wong, u actually count ar?
cos for me, i dun take note how much i spend on food. everytime go shopping, then see got giant / ntuc, will just go in shop ard...
got thing buy then just buy..
oso quite difficult to note how much spent!
kekekke...

zenn, is soya milk same as those packet vitasoy?
Mmmm...
*wondering*
if the same, then got to go buy carton and stored up liao!
wahhaha!!

Iceblue, every month I will use Excel spreadsheet to tally our spendings so we can observe our own spending pattern. Like that won't overspend on unnecessary items ma. After doing this, we realised our money could have been put to better use, so now it's a habit for us to do it every month end

Plus now must save up for baby's education. Education is expensive lor. If my kid can study until PHD, I will be able to give it to my kid lor. So must work out our money and save save save!!!

Iceblue, Vitasoy is the only brand of soy milk in packet form I find not sweet. Yeo's and others are too sweet already. I usually bring one packet to drink on my way to work
I also stored 1 carton of it at work
heehee...

Zenn, nutrisoy is nice, but hor, i hate having to pour out then need to keep washing the cup cos cannot leave the cup there and reuse later...

heeeheee.....so lazy now...even cups we use disposable ones....cos my maid now send to training
learn how to cook for me and how to look after baby

mrs wong, wow! u so good...
PHD?
wifey and i discussed liao..
we will onli support children till sec...
then they got to self feed liao...
wahahaha!
cos for me i started self feed aft sec times...
wahahha...

Iceblue, based on our current savings and monthly savings, we can only send our kids through overseas uni (full 4 yr course with daily expenses). If want to let them further, we will need to work harder and save more.

If they can get scholarships, bursaries and self-feed, of cos I will be happier la. Means my $$ can use for my own leisure activities

But as parents, I think it is our obligation to at least see them through uni. Cos now, having degree is like the norm, imagine if our kids no degree, how to earn to support us when we grow old?

Cos I have alot of frens, their parents din save up for them to go uni. Instead, every year go on lavish holidays on their own (without the kids), spend alot of 'face items' like reno the house, buy the latest plasma TV, etc etc and they feel that their parents should have saved up for them, let them study then go enjoy themselves. They can make it into local uni, but their parents say they can't afford the 10k/yr fees for local unis. And many of them say that if their parents gave them an opportunity to further their studies, they would work hard and support their parents. Now, they can't even earn enough to support themselves, how to support their parents?

So this has gotten into me and my hubby's mindset, so we want to provide all we can before we enjoy ourselves
My parents also provide all they can before they enjoy themselves, so I will do e same

Iceblue, I also self-feed after sec sch. I got scholarship and work PT to support myself
Even managed to give my parents some pocket money every month. Not alot, but my mum was so proud, going around boasting that her daughter remembers to give her money.

But my parents did have a stash of money for me to further my studies. When I did not use their money, they used to go on their second honeymoon and used some for my wedding expenses

This is the type of family me and my hubby want to have. Enough savings to provide for our kids if they need. If they dunnid, the money is still ours

Zenn, my maid now learning from my neighbour's mum and MIL. Cos my neighbour gave birth 2 weeks ago. My neighbour welcome my maid to learn cos she also needs some extra help cos hers is C section

My maid enjoy looking after the bb and even ask me for pay advance to buy a gift for the bb

My next appt with Dr Woo still got another 3 weeks lei...not so fast...If I got go punggol area I sms you see if we can meet
anyway no hurry

Zenn, my indonesian aunty will be teaching the confinement foods some time in august/september. Will update once she confirm the dates and timings

Mrs wong, haha u so lucky ya. Still got ur neighbour for ur maid to practise. Ok ok just let me know if you in punggol area. I will only be able to get back the veil end of the wk. Thanks ya!