(2007/01) Jan

ladies, juz check wif u all, does all of u gain weight aft u realised u r preggie?
cos since wifey noe she preggie, she didnt gain any weight, in fact she lose ard 1-2kg.
izzit normal?

iceblue, based on last check up i gain 1kg+ but its norm to lose weight during first trimester esp ur wife not been good appetiti rite.

hey so should i add tomota last? or leave out tomato??

Hi Zenn,

Add tomatoes!!! i normally add it when the water boils... so when the soup is done, i can "drink" the tomatoes also.. it will have a little tomatoes sour taste that i like..

Zenn,

i think up to individual ba.. the longer u boil/simmer the more tasty the soup.. n the more soft the potatoes/carrots/onions etc.. so i like to boil for 1-1.30hrs until all mix into the soup..

Pearlein, excess Vit A will lead to toxicity which results in tetrogenic effects (birth defects).

If taken from fruits and veges, it is alright. However, too much liver or supplements can lead to toxicity. Best to check with gynae whatever supps you are taking or intending to take.

pearlein,

We are advised not to "overdose" on carrots coz they contain high levels of vitamin A, which is not good for bb. So just take in moderation.

iceblue, I gained slightly less than 1 kg at last checkup, but it's normal to lose weight during 1st tri esp if you have bad MS. Note that bb is only a few grams at this stage so actually what we gain/lose is not reflective of whether bb is growing.

Zenn,

yalor.. tomato become puree in the soup... thats y i say i can drink the tomatoes.. hahaha..

but like i say.. see how u like your tomotoes to be lor..

janey, oh dan i better dun put too early. actually i dun really like tomotes but since its healthy so decided to add hee

Zenn, I'm using thermal cooker. V good if you intend to cook soup everyday.

Usually I prepare the ingredients the night before, morning wake up throw the ingredients in, add water, bring to boil then put in the thermal pot. Evening time come home to drink the soup, v yummy!!

My mum also using this to cook soup for me everyday. Makes v nice herbal soups!! The meat will be soft and nice, the soup will be v sweet

zenn,
wats a thermal cooker? i never hear before.

doggiebabe,
i like to use slow cooker cos ussually before i go out for work i will put everything inside to cook ma, then i come back can drink le, very convenient and the meat very soft, if i cook over the fire i dun have that much time n i think the taste not so strong or sweet leh.

milderina, thermal cooker is similar to cooker cooker. heard we oni need to boil the stuff and put inside this thermal cooker, it will cook itself. best part is no need electricity.

Zenn, I dunno how much cos ours are gifts from my mum's frens
I can't seem to find the brand on the thermal pot...

My recipes v simple. Depending on what I feel like eating that day we will either get herbs from medical hall and just add chicken/pork/beef and veges or just add whatever we have at home.

My hubby's fave is chicken ginseng soup. Ginseng, red dates, white fungus, chicken, wolfberries.

I prefer beef stew or mutton soup. Beef stew just put cubed beef, carrots, potato, celery, long beans. Mutton soup we put black pepper, white pepper, mutton cubes, some herbs we get from medical hall to get rid of the mutton smell.

Milderina, slow cooker if on whole day waste alot of electricity. Our electricity went down by S$40/month after we started using thermal pot instead of slow cooker.

Thermal pot has 2 pots. 1 is the steel pot like our normal cooking pot. Another is an insulated plastic pot which keeps the heat in and cooks the food with its own heat. I usually place my ingredients in the steel pot, then bring it to boil then put it into the plastic thermal pot to cook for the whole day

U can go see demo at CK Tang basement when you got time

thanks mrs wong!

milderina, i ever saw in carrfour selling less than $100 but taka selling $2-300! i checked ck tang b4 but dun remember seeing it leh. perhaps i ve missed out...

Zenn, I read in other threads that Tiger brand selling S$45.90 for the small pot and S$59.90 for big pot at Isetan. Maybe you wanna go take a look?

Mine was on my wedding wish list
So my mum's fren bought it for us and bought 1 set for my mum also

BTW, Zenn, I think the one you saw at Taka is the Japanese brand, Z something...The logo is an elephant...That brand super expensive, but my parents swear by it...our family got the thermal flask which we use daily for the past 10 years. Still clean and nice and excellent condition!

Zenn, u ask me v cheem question lei...I just went to inspect the pot hor, got no brand or no wordings lei...so I also dunno how many L it is...

But, it can cook enough soup for family of 6 people
and we can have second helping if we want
My mum says it is the medium pot. Got 1 size smaller and 1 size bigger...she saw at CK Tang (actually, she bio this pot v long le, but nvr buy...haha...)

Mrs wong, oops hahaha the other time I saw at carefour got few sides wif diff L so wondering which is good heee

Btw, would the soup get lesser if we use thermal cooker (like cooking using fire?)

Zenn, the water level will still be the same. That's why must put the exact amount of water. Too little water and the soup too thick. Too much water and the soup v diluted.

Zenn, I think my mum referring to the traditional chinese bowl size.

My mum use double boiler for birdnest, she nvr use thermal pot for bird nest b4 lei...

Hello all, I take MC today. Rested whole day. Drop by to see how u gals.

I also using thermal cooker
Biggest is 1.8 litres. Tiger brand is the best but most ex. I using Toshiba currently. Can use it to cook soup, porridge, rice, dessert and even bake cake. Multi-purpose!!!

Have a nice weekend!!

Zenn, my mum bought those traditional pot tt pple use to make tonics then use a bigger pot to double boil. Never buy a special double boiler cos not everyday cook birdnest ma..only on weekends

thank all. glad to noe that lose of weight is normal during first tri.
think tmr going CK tang and Isetan see see look look liao...
since now GSS, hopefully there is discount for the thermal cooker.

iceblue... oops! *blur* I'll correct it on my next update ok... paisei...

Ok, I've given up the battle, today hubby is going tob bring me to buy maternity wear... coz yesterday I got a scare when I noticed my tummy was all bruised... form jean being too tight... reach home kena from my mum and hubby. Hope I can find nice things....

Sherl,
Go Spring Maternity, they have quite nice stuff there. Go to Suntec lvl 3 Tower 1 & 2, all matenity clothes. Went there last week to get 4 bottoms. I also cant fit le. Wear all my skirts until very xin ku. Also no good. Actually hor we all shouldnt be wearing jeans at this time le. No good. Since day 1 i know i preggy i never wear jeans le.

Pearlein, I think somewhere in this forum they are having a BP for the double boiler. You might want to check out, cos the prices are much cheaper than outside, but I dunno if good or not.

My mum bought those traditional white pot with cover, then got blue colour painting of sparrow on the side of the pot. S$10 only. Then she put it in a pot of boiling water and let it boil

Cos only make bird nest on weekends so it's not v troublesome. My mum find the electric double boiler a waste of space (it is v bulky!!!).

hi ladies, jz went to Tang, brought a 2.5L thermal cooker, brand is GOURMET for $59.90.. those who interested can go there see see look look... salesperson say usual price like $100plus..
this morning oso cooked some ABC soup for wifey, she like it beri much... kekekek...