(2007/01) Jan

Mrs Wong,

Yalor.. i heard a few rules from my MIL.. i wan to faint. she is super strict.. n my hb family rules also super strict.. think if she do confinement for me... i will cry.. imagine i cant wash hair for 1 mth.....

Now i really pray i can get a CL lor..

oh ya got alot of rules de.. wat cannot bathe la.. bathe oso muz bathe with duuno wat herbs la...

ai yo very mah fan leh.. why ang mo like very easy like tat ha...

milderina, yup seen first gynae also said 15 jan. but dun k la.. just few days different hehe.

janey, ya i heard tat b4 too cannot wash hair for 1 mth. siao meh.. the hair will become very smelly leh. i use to wash my hair daily.

1 mth cannot wash hair!! i 1/2 a day the hair already quite oily liao... 1 mth cannot wash.. mite as well kill me ah... i love to shampoo my hair de...

Janey,
Ya, 1 month cannot wash hair cos scared we get cold...

My mum allow wash hair, but must go to the hair salon early in the morning before they on the aircon...cos wash le quickly blow dry, it's ok...

My mum is more modern, so dun tink she will b v strict about the rules...my dad is that one that will be v strict...

hehe.. thats wat i heard... i tell my mil straight tt i cant do it... think her face change a bit.. i wash hair daily.. one mth dun wash i will dieeeeee....

Hey

Then I'm consider lucky.... coz I don follow all the old folks tales that is w/o scentific proves.

Mummies.... bathe lah. Don touture yrself. I bath immediately after I give birth. Whne back home, I bathe 3 times a day to keep myslef clean. Coz after birth, u need to keep yrself very clean. The wounds at the bottom needs to clean few times a day, and if breast feeding, need to keep that area clean as well.

Share with you one sentence to counter them back when they say that if bathe, will get here pian there pain in the future...... tell them straight into their face: then why the old folks now also here pain there pain, they restrict themselve to water during confinement last time too......

Sorry, I don;t mean to be rude.....if yr mother/MIL really don't allow you to do that, just bear with it....

btw can we eat stingray? coz i love to eat bbq sambal stingray. but my colleague told me tat stingray high in mercury.

promfet oso cannot eat much coz very fattening. izzit true?

Baby_milk, my mum say can bath, but must use the herbal water to bath.

My mum last time nvr listen also, just bath, then when she haven even reach 40yo, got alot of problems with her joints already...tt's y my dad insist must follow...but my mum say just use herbal water can le...

Icylemon, my hubby dun allow me to take stingray not cos of the mercury level but he say stingray got no nutrients, might as well eat other types of fish...

In singapore, you shouldn't have much problems with high mercury levels in food.

Steamed promfret is good...the oils are the ones that will make baby smart...fish oils are v healthy...if it will make my baby smart, who cares if I become 100kg...

mrs wong,
my colleague told me promfet de fat not good. i hear liao very sad. coz i love to eat promfet.

maybe i will stop eating stingray. how abt sotong & prawns? ok to eat?

Icylemon, in all my nutrition books, promfret are highly recommended. There is not such thing as the fat not good. I don't listen to those rumours pple say cos there is no scientific proof...

I still eat sotong and prawns, as long as they are well-cooked.

I also got bathe. :D But the water i used is some special herb water that my mil boiled.. cannot dun bathe lah.. fortunately jan/feb not too hot and even maybe rainy..

icylemon,
cannot eat stingray.. special instructed by my mil. i eat the rest of the seafood, except shark/sharkfins, swordfish, tuna. I heard oily fish is good so i ate salmon.

mrs wong, think becos u are skinny lah. my tummy still v small so i keep worrying did bb grow haha btw which caterer u getting?

icelemon, janey and mrs wong, confinement food also cost $1.5k? if so might as well get confinement lady liao?

Zenn, I using Select catering. Used them for my wedding and got v good feedback from all my frens and relatives

Confinement lady is more than 2k during CNY...I think the confinement food catering might also increase price or might not even have during CNY period...

I trying to reach the CL which my sis used b4 but couldnt get her. Anyway called another 2 - one not willing cos of CNY and the other charging $1.8k ($2k if fall on CNY). She sound nice on phone and have temp. engaged her. But I got the contact fm forum so kinda worried. Hopefully the gal who recommended reply to my PM.

Been having this funny sensation on my lower right side for the past two days, like a kind of muscle tweaking like that... (not menstrual-like cramps)... anyone experienced the same before? *getting worried*

bluegrapes, I dunno leh... I also dun dare to call up doctor and ask.... scarlee nurse think I siao liao, everything also get anxious.... next appt in two weeks time. haiz.

when you got headaches do you eat panadol? gynae told me can eat but i dun dare to take leh.. i got a very bad headache past few days... due to not enough sleep (coz i watched WC) kekeke...

mrs wong
ya lor. promfet is good hor.. dunno Y my colleague said is not good. high in fats. anyway i still eat coz is 1 of my fav fish. i oso love threadfin (pretty ex de fish)

icy
i took stingray weeks ago le.. now i dun dare liao.

icylemon, dun eat panadol.. dun tink we can take panodol. heard got preggie women take panadol and it causes miscarriage.

Icylemon, the panadol your gynae gave you is save for pregnancy. It contains only Paracetamol 500mg with no other ingredient added....

Paracetomal can also be taken during breast feeding.

Not to worry.

kate
i dare not take lor..

bab milk,
my gynae didnt gave me any panadol. but hor.. as i grow older, i start to get druy allergy. mths back, i took panadol flu (bought from phamacy), my eye swell ah...

next thursday seeing my gynae, will have a good talk with him liao...

baby milk
ya lor.. but i cannot missed my WC leh.. kekeke...

i m pretty forgetful mummy leh.. this morning raining heavily, i was running for my bus. hope my baby is ok...

Paracetamol is safe to consume...the normal type(not extra)...as advised by my gynae...so far I have taken 2-3 times when the headache is really bad.

bluegrapes and icelemon, u ve any friends which tried the caterer b4?

wow u gals good ya still can stay up to watch WC. i m zzzz by then most of the time. do u gals still get tired easily?

Sherl, the tweaking feeling is it like muscle pulling sort of feeling? It might be your uterus expanding and the intestines are repositioning. If it is not severe pain and no bleeding, can wait till next visit then ask your gynae.

Paracetamol is definitely safe. But must make sure it only contains paracetamol and nothing else. Those that come with muscle relaxtants cannot be taken by preggies.

zenn, me get tired very easily. esp after work, i juz sit down on the sofa n dozed off...

my lower back start to ache liao.. duno why. my bb still so small and i here ache there ache.. when he/she grow bigger, i lagi more aching.. haiz..

kate, i also tired v easily. most of the time i zzz at 10pm. think last sat was the most solid - still can play MJ and go supper till almost 3am hee

icylemon, I am in the same case as you..when I take panadol flu and extra strong panadol, I experience VERY BAD swollen eyes for days. This only occur in recent years..strange hor.

Btw, I juz came back from Mt A. A good fren of mine juz given birth. She went thru 18 hours of delivery (omg!!
) but she looked fine juz now.

Mrs Wong,

Thanks! Yeah, it does feel a bit like muscle tweaking... But I thought the uterus expanding should feel like menstrual cramps? That's why I'm worried, because this is the first time I'm feeling something like this...

Anyway, my colleague dragged me to shop for maternity pants during lunch coz she says my tummy darn obvious liao.... think my office is in the whole speculation thing already. sigh. Dunnoe why but suddenly felt very upset and refused to buy anything.

sherl, i think preggie lady more emotional. this morning i wake up feeling very mun zhang. like everything not right -_-

yeah i know, but I've been better the past two weeks liao leh.... Last time at the beginning also feel'mun zhang', but think this is the first time i suddenly just feel very upset, as in can burst into tears that kind....

haizz.....

Emotional roller coaster can attack any time. Sherl, u feel better now? Guess cos there are dramatic hormoneous changes in your body.

thanks bluegrapes.... feeling better now but still a bit stressed... think I'm going into pregnancy denial! hahahhahahaha.....

izzit true that all MTB will be emotional?
cos mine wifey suffer from MS, now and then she will just break down and cried as she feeling lots of discomfort - headaches, giddy, vomitting etc.
*sighz*
really worried if this continues, she may suffer from depression.
PLEASE HELP!!!

sherl & iceblue,

ya i read fm book n fm my gf its common. best is husband needs to be understand and supportive. pls stay positive and usually better after 2nd trimester.

tell u gals a joke - last wk my hb tabao his own dinner back as i just went hi tea. dan i wanted to eat abit of his share. i did the same thing the same afternoon. so he just 'jokingly' say i very inconsiderate cos that's his dinner and i break down and cry. he was so shocked that i nv 'argue' wif him but cried. i was also shocked by my own reaction hahahhahaa

iceblue, my colleague who is in her third month now used to suffer from MS too but she needs a lot of support and encouragement from her family and friends. She is ok now in her 2nd trimester.
How many weeks is your wifey in now?

Gals, me so happy. I juz found a confinement lady.
Recommended by my friend and she did not charge me extra for CNY. Hope I would not have any problem with her. Read alot of horror stories in other threads!

Bluegrapes, my mum also came into the forum to read about the CLs...she got a shock!!

And the price scared her also. She rather I keep the money for bb to attend enrichment classes. She promised to take leave from work to help me out. I think should not be any problem cos both our maids got experience with newborns and are great cooks

BTW, I found the trainer for water aerobics for preggies already. Now just need to see how many pple interested and find a pool that is quiet

zenn, thank! seem like i'm in the same plight like your husband. wifey alway "steal" mine food. kekeke.

bluegrapes, wifey now in her eight weeks. praying hard that her MS would get better so she wouldnt have to "suffer" anymore

zenn... hahahahahha! Your husband must have been quite traumatised! heeheehee... My hubby got no such patience la... think if I cry too much he'll scold me and say I'm taking advantage of my condition... anyhow feel much better after I had a good day's rest today... maybe later go shopping... heeheheee....

Mrs Wong, any idea how much the class would cost? I'm interested as I'm quite keen to keep fit during my pregnancy....

home PC still @ workshop repairing. HB moved his travelling plan & flying next wk. Now, just using his notebk to catch up everyone updates. next wk can't logged on liao, no PC @ mummy's plc.

Sherl,
can u update my EDD to 8Jan, instead of 12Jan? Just came back from gynae,dated shifted as now can c bb more clearly. 10wks 5 days today. Heard strong heartbeats and c little hand waving in the sac. I'm so touched! 'cos ve bn puking w food for the past wks, very miserable, wanted to cry b'cos of so much discomforts.

Iceblue,
it is nice to c a caring hb. i tin u need to bear for a while w the MS. my MS get worse on wk 9 and 10. now no better.

sometime,i get emotional,a hug by hb can be comforting.

my hb can sometime said tin like control urself & don't puke, watch how much food u eat, etc..but how can 2 control. this kind o comments can be very upsetting. when wifey whine abt discomforts, pls listen, and provide some hugs, remember we can be very sensitive to words & tone. I know we might sound unreasonable & over sensitive , but feeling like this for wks is not easy on us.

if puking get serious, pls talk to gynae to get some pills 2 reduce them. i got them 2day.

it is a very tiring period for the couples, and we need to be there for each other. U take care and also gd care of ur wife.