(2007/01) Jan

icylemon,
u are making mi drool.............

icy,
according to some books hor, 1st baby ussually will be born 2 weeks before EDD then following ones will be nearer n nearer to the EDD. Dunno how true though.

yah yah, i have cramps off and on. On my 5th week, I have intermittent cramps for consecutive of 3 days and was a bit scared. My fren who is a mother now told me its normal cos the uterus is stretching.

icylemon, where you get the pig trotters vinegar from? I love that too :p

Am in 8th week and my skirts as well as pants are getting tight!! So fast meh?

bluegrapes,
yeaps its so fast. cos i am experiencing the same things. now my skirts i wore quite high up, so orh biang. hahaha....

milderina... kekeke... the pig trotters vinegar very shiok wor... hmm....

tat time hor.. when i 1st see GP, she told me my edd mite be feb based on my last menses. after seeing gynae by did all the neccessary scan cfm is jan. gynae told me seeing the growth of the baby is the most accurate wor...

bluegrapes,

recently my colleague doing confinement mah... so she invited me to her hse to eat. then last week a male colleague knows i love to eat so he cooked 1 pot for me. kekeke....

icylemon, the ones I got can be used for cooking, but they can also be used for direct application cos the texture is light and easily absorbed. There are some that are used for cooking, the texture is v heavy and it will not be absorbed by the skin.

Mine is not cramping, mine is more like the mucles pulling...

Milderina, I like mango, apples, peach, prunes, apricots...You can see what they have and you buy what you like

I still use vinegar in my salads and cooking. My mum says a little is alright, it's not like you are drinking vinegar by the bottle...

I still drink my daily apple cidar vinegar with honey

My couz say it depends on individuals...some pple their first child all come early, then subsequently will be nearer to EDD...

But for my mum and all my other couz, all delivered late...for me and my siblings, we were delivered 10 days after EDD, and it is induced...
For my couz's kids, all were induced 5 days after EDD...

Icy, my gynae got ask my how long is my cycle, then he told me should be late jan, early feb...the date can only confirm later when he see the rate baby is growing at...

Icylemon, Pig trotters vinegar is ok la...dun eat everyday can le...

icylemon,
wow your colleagues so nice.
ya, the size of the baby is the most accurate. but hor knowing your ovulation day also very accurate. hahaha........cos i know the exact date i ovulated so i know when i conceive. in the beginning my gynae gave mi an earlier date then i still tell her its not but she say she calculate from day 1 of my last menses de not my ovulation day. then during my week 7 check up she re-confirmed my EDD which is the one i calculated online earlier. kekekek......

Btw, for those giving birth mid Jan till end jan, full month will be during CNY...
I just spoke to my caterer, she says that it will be hard to get catering at tt time, so once you give birth and confirm the date you want to have the full month celebration, quickly book the catering and cakes...

mrs wong

noted.. no la.. i dun eat it everyday.. cannot la.. too much liao.. hahaha..

i have a colleague who drinks apple cider with honey everyday too. but drink that for wat purpose?

milderina

he is a very good cook leh. i told him to cook for me during my confinement. hahaha...

i cannot recalled when is my ovalation le.. used to do urine test few mths back to see when is my ovalation period. now the record dun know dump to where liao.

Mrs Wong,
wow u really fast in gathering information. but i wondering hor if CNY will ppl come to yr baby full mth celebration? if my baby zhun zhun 16.01.2007 born, then full mth is 1st day of CNY.

Icylemon, it is for building up immune system and clearing your intestines. We eat alot of junk everyday. Some if this junk we eat will actually line the intestines and prevent nutrients from being absorbed. ACV will help clear the intestines
Plus alot of pple drink this to lose weight (worked for my mum)...

Milderina, I was asking my caterer if she can extend my vouchers I got from my wedding ma...extend so that I can use during baby's full month celebration...so she told me usually CNY their chefs go back to Msia or on leave, so if wanna order, have to do it early...

CNY I'm sure my frens and relatives will still come
They love any celebration and gathering...even we hold durian party for no reason also got full attendence

But anyway, I'm sure they will come visit during CNY even if no full month celebration

I also use ovulation test strips...I'm v sure of the ovulation date and when we concieved

Cos we planned for our honeymoon to be during that time...heehee...

mrs wong

beside drinking ACV can we replaced some other drinks? i scared i dare not take the vinegar smell. your ACV oso organic de??

my baby full mth oso will be ard CNY. dun know whether to do or not...

talking abt ovalation test, i think i can recalled abit.. mine is ard day 10-13 then ovalute.

Icylemon, ya the ACV is organic...the non organic ones dun taste as nice...The brand is Braggs, can get easily at supermarkets...

My mum wants a full month celebration...her first grandchild lei...she wants to invite all her frens...she told me the catering we can order for 150pax *FAINTZ*...plus at tt time my parent's private property will be ready so I tink they will have housewarming at the same time...

milderina and doggiebebe, very obiang hor? wear high high up to the waist...i thinking of getting maternity pants soon else pants/skirt too tight not good for bb i think...

icylemon, u very lucky leh, u colleague bring for you..yum..i miss that...:p Think we can't take pig trotters vinegar during confinement if we are breast feeding? Issit ah?

HAIZ!!! Full month during CNY period so troublesome..confinement more ex...even catering and cakes difficult to book....ARGH!!
So many things to look into..remind me of wedding preparation!!

milderina, ur EDD at least is same as wat u calculated online. Mine b4 check doc, i calculated online is 15 jan, then doc first time said is 15 jan. Later as i told u all b4, changed to 20 jan. But then this is impossible leh, cos i remembered my first day of menstrual and my average cycle too. So i use the online calculator to calculate backwards for 20 jan, in order to obtain my actual first day menstrual, my average cycle has to increase few more days, n i said it is impossible bcos those fertile days i didnt do it leh, so how to become pregnant.

bluegrapes,
yeah lor, i was looking at myself in the mirror just now. n i saw a "Ah Fook". haahhahahaa....no choice leh, another 3 weeks and i will go shop for maternity. kekekek.......

doggiebebe,
your hubby's sperms can stay in your body for at least 72 hrs. therefore maybe u ovulated late but your hubby sperms is still active so you strike.

Bluegrapes, pig trotters is one of the confinement foods lei...y cannot eat? My frens and couz also eat and breastfeed lei...nothing wrong ma...

I agree the catering and cakes v troublesome during CNY period..cos alot of businesses close! or the chef on leave! But my caterer promise she will handle for me, buffet and cakes, just need to let her know once I give birth...

Confinement nanny I'm not getting le...my mum will help me with our 2 maids...

But my mum already start sourcing for good wine and vinegar to cook for me...cos she know I v greedy and v fussy about food...haha...I heard got pple specially go Msia to buy home made wine to cook confinement foods, anyone knows?

mrs wong
ok thanks.. i will look out fo it.
wah this spore motherhood forum very informative leh. good!!

wah.. buffet for 150 pax!! tats alot. CNY period muz be very ex leh.

milderina
kekeke....

bluegrapes,
think we can take the pig trotter vinegar during confinement if we are breast feeding. my colleague oso eat when she BF leh..

i was thinking hor... buy the cake vouchers from bengawasolo wor...

btw, mummies... do u intend to buy the manual breast pump or the electric/batteries pump?? and which brand are you looking at?

and oso.. is the sterliser a muz to buy?? old method is to boil hot water & soak them in a pot mah..

icylemon,
i wan the advent electric breast pump. wakakaka....lazy ppl like mi cannot use manual one. i think i will buy the sterliser also ba, cos lazy to keep boiling water to soak them. but actually hor i also dunno how they work. hahah....haven go explore this kind of things yet.

milderina ic. but the no of cycles not based on average cycle ka? meaning say almost every mth my cycle is 30 days then suddenly the conceived month my cycle is 35days, then the EDD will based on 35days?

oic oic.think i must have mistaken...maybe its chicken wine (Ji Jiu) that we cannot eat cos it contains wine. My sis in law told me woman who are breastfeeding shouldn't take pears cos it will result in air and her bb kept crying cos her milk has air.

Doggiebebe,
that means your conceive day is day (35 - 14 =) 21. Which means instead of the usual day (30 - 14 =) 16 that you ovulate, u actually ovulated on day 21 due to late ovulation. i hope this is wat you meant or u may like to elaborate more.

Icylemon, my caterer promised she will charge me normal rates, no increase in price during CNY

My parents dun want Bengawan Solo vouchers. They say not sincere, must buy cakes with eggs and ang gu kueh and deliver from family to family. They will be in charge of doing that, I just need to order the cakes.

Breast pump my fren is giving me hers. Don't buy yet, cos not everyone will have enough milk to pump out. Plus when you annouce your pregnancy, alot of pple will pass you their stuff or buy for you...
I will only buy when confirm I got enough milk to continue expressin when go back to work. And I will get those that are easy to bring out...

Steriliser I'm going to use the traditional method, unless someone gets it as a gift. I find it a waste of space...

Doggiebebe, your mum knows how to make the wine? Can share how to make? My mum v interested in the wine cos she say 2nd tri must start eating some confinement foods which she will cook for me...so she wants to get the wine fast...

Bluegrapes, my mum also breastfeeding cannot take pear...but during pregnancy, my mum tell me to buy big yellow pear, remove the skin and seeds, put into slow cooker with red dates, longan and rock sugar...then drink it every week...she says it is good for baby...

The buffet is meant for full month onli...my mum is social butterfly..she got alot of frens tt need to invite...plus my relatives alone will need 50pax for buffet le...then still got me and my hubby's frens??

The caterer promised to give me a special menu...dunno what she will give me though..hehee..maybe same menu as my wedding

Aquarius...ya...ur oil still with me...my hubby this few weeks v busy lei..GSS now...I tink this Sat can pass to you...will ask him to contact you to arrange timing

Aquarius, my mum thinks so too...she even ask my aunt for her big pot back....

My mum used that same pot 13 years ago to sterilise my sister's milk bottles...heehee...

i oso agree using the tradtional way to sterlise the btls. but colleagues told me tat i wont have the time to do the boiling one leh...

anyway i was hinking of buying the manual breast pump. no one want to give me theirs... coz they still need to use. plus manual one cheaper wor.

nowdays, i walked past kiddy palace saw those cute cute baby clothes, wanted to buy... but now like too early.

Icylemon, that's what the confinement nanny is for! heehee...

It's too early for pple to buy anything for you...when you are in late 2nd tri or 3rd tri, the presents will start coming in...

My couz onli needed to buy extra milk bottles to store her EBM cos baby was taken care by me...the rest of the things like cot, stroller, etc etc etc all given by frens and relatives...

mrs wong
oh... i dun intend to get confinement lady leh...

intend to order confinement food then baby ownself take care.

milderina, i will double check again b4 i elaborate more ok.

mrs wong, ok i try to get the method of making the wine from my mum when i go back to my mum hse next tues.

Hello IcyLemon,

i am also thinking abt ordering the confinement meals.. but my mum says it will be very tiring to take care of bb by ownself in first mth... best that someone can help so that u can actually rest well. headache..

milderina,
yes, I heard abt that, but so far quite I see quite a few first mummy deliver after EDD. I think all depends on bb development.

actually i got record the BD date, wonder it the conception date?

And like what u mentioned if first mth would be cny, wonder would people be free to come or not.

mrs wong,
yah, i think everything is more clear after a scan to see the size of the bb

hi janey,

ya lor.. but my colleague oso did the same. she said quite ok. but changing of pampers & bathing the baby mite hurt our spine wor...

i m still thinking leh..

milderina, my cycles based on the two years records were 27-31days, so average is 29days lor. From the online calculator, when i put my first day of menstrual n cycle of 29days, i got 15 jan. to get the EDD on 20 jan, my cycle has to change to 35days which never have been such late b4 as max is ard 31days. So, wat is the conclusion? soli very confuse hor

doggiebebe,
it might have been u ovulated late this mth. Not to worry, the EDD will get more n more accurate as your getting nearer to your delivery date and then you will c the changes. the most impt thing now is that you have strike and is expecting a baby. or if u really like to know then maybe u can find another gynae to get 2nd opinion.

Icylemon,

yalor... maybe can ask those who have kids b4 ones.. but i think it is very challenging lor.. cos we cant touch "tap water" cannot this cannot that, dunno how to take care of bb like tt.. somemore i first time.. no experience at all.. later i 7 hands 8 legs..

Icylemon, take care of baby on your own v tiring. My couz could not cope that's why I look after her babies for her.

I alone already want to die looking after the baby. Imagine if you just gave birth, it will be so tiring! Esp you don't know if it will be natural or C section..if natural birth, it will not be that bad...but C section you will be v tired and really need the rest lor...

Plus I asked about the confinement food catering, it costs S$1.5k+++!!

Janey, your mum is right. it is very tiring, plus you need to rest well to recover well...

I think if not getting confinement nanny, must at least have someone at home to help out...I remember one of my fren want to save $$, her hubby took 2 weeks leave to help her out when they bring baby home...then he learnt how to cook confinement foods from getting recipes online...then housework they got PT maid to come 4 times a week cos got alot of washing up to do...

Doggiebebe, thanks

Janey, still need to boil red date water and drink, cannot drink plain water hor...then still got so many rules, I think it will be quite hard to cope alone during the first month...