(2007/01) Jan

icylemon,

Heheh, I drink ji jing to combat fatigue actually, nothing to do with being preggie... Been doing it since secondary school lor.... hahahahhahaha...

Told my bosses about my pregnancy liao because quite a number of my colleagues are speculating already, so I thought it's better that I tell mgmt directly first before they hear it thru the grapevine.

sherl

i told my section de colleagues & some other close colleagues only. coz sometimes i m not feeling well, at least they know why. the rest i nvr said. my dept got abt 200+ ppl.

then i cant stand some very kay poh de female colleagues. if they know u preggy, they will sometimes purposely stand behind you la.. compare abt your waistline la.. i hate this kind of ppl...

icylemon,

Hahahaha, my colleagues are observing my eating habits and my complexion and colour in the mornings!

hi gals, i was on leave yesterday n went to see doc at one government medical centre. BB is now 3.17cm at week 10. last week was onli 16mm. I m suffering with bad MS too and i found out that whenever i eat wholemeal bread, mee and mint, i sure will vomit. ya, really hope all of our MS will get better in 2nd trimester.

mrs wong, the recipe for the wine is quite difficult la. my mum said last time she spoilt few times then only success and know how to make the wine now. Sometimes she will make for the pregnant neighbours lor. Here goes the recipe but i m not sure i can remembered it correctly hehe.

Firstly, cook the glutinous rice and let it dry overnight. Please make sure when drying it, not to allow the vapor to wet back the rice lor. If not it will spoilt. After the rice is cooled n dry, then u make the wine biscuit to become powder. 600g of rice needs one wine biscuit. Mix the wine biscuit powder with the rice. While mixing, prepare a small bowl of cooked water to wet our sticky hand on n off during the mixing. Put the mixed rice with biscuit powder inside the big jar. Then pour the remaining small bowl of cooked water into it. For 3kg of rice, needs one bottle of white wine. Pour the white wine into the jar too. Keep the jar from sunlight, cover it n cannot open for 3 days. Then drain out the wine to throw the mixed rice n biscuit powder. This step is tedious as it needs long time to drain. Make sure cannot kena tap water. After that boil the wine, cannot over boiled. After boiled, let it cool down n make sure no vapor too. After cooled, pour into the bottle and tightly seal then keep for 100 days. If got vapor, the wine will spoilt.

doggiebebe

wah!! ur baby grows very fast wor.. mine was 1.3cm when i was in my 7 wks. this thursday seeing my gynae, i 9 wks liao.. wonder how long is my baby... kekeke... very anxious.

btw mummies.. right now we are in our 1st trim, do you gals feel anything?? sometimes i very scared leh.. like cant feel anything. feel more relax when i visit gynae & see the scan.

doggiebebe

i hope to see my baby growing longer this thursday.. kekeke...

no la.. see ha.. now we dun feel anything mah.. esp we wont be able to feel the movement. so sometimes i very scared lor.. so wondering any mummies can feel anything or not...

Good morning ladies,

Sherl and mrs wong, ya better listen lor.

Sherl, we are not allow to take danggui for first trimester or thro out pregnancy?

aquarius, huh ginseng also cannot? jialat think the soup I took contain ginseng!

icelemon, now cannot feel anythin yet thats y keep worrying if bb growning.

i heard quite a few case of bb no heartbeat. scary. any idea wats the caused?

doggiebebe, wah, bb very big already woah!
cannot wait for next week when i get to see bb also....

icylemon, dun worry, dun think we can feel anything now lo. Only feel nauseous!!

icylemon, sure ur bb grown to 2.++cm this week la cos mine too small at week 9. u do not hv MS rite? n tats y u cannot feel anything.

Like me n other mummies who r having MS, can feel something lor n we know that the bb is growing inside the tummy.

zenn,

Read somewhere before that danggui not good for pregnancy... could have been the TTC thread? Hehheh... but then different practitioners will also give you different advice la... But I am trying to keep off herbs in general because I think the effects of many herbs (whether chinese or western) are undocumented, best not to meddle lor...

sometimes the body naturally aborts the baby because the baby already has certain inherent defects, esp during 1st trimester... take it as God's will lo, meant to be... :|

doggie, you mean mummies wif MS will feel bb inside? so cool!

sherl, actually i read abt avoid danggui too but sometimes if we get soup fm outside also dunno wat herb they using. headache...

zenn

i oso dun know leh. for my case. i had 2 sac. now only 1 got heart beat. the other one dun have. gynae told me it mite be empty de.. or maybe not fertiled.

sherl

how i wish we can feel the baby now. kekeke..

btw, wat we said or heard, the baby oso can hear now hor??

doggiebebe

i got MS but not serious de. allergy to mint lor. esp when brushing my teeth. but eating mint sweets seems ok leh. strange,

so no MS izzit good or bad??

zenn, icylemon, no mummies with MS still cant feel the baby inside at this moment. I read somewhere saying that if we are still hving MS everyday, meaning the baby is growing well inside the tummy lor. if no MS, no symptoms, mummy dunno the bb is growing or not ma, so tats y sometimes will feel worry.

icylemon, not to say that no MS is good or bad la. It depends to individual one. No MS, then mummy no need to suffer n the bb still can grows well inside tummy leh. mint toothpaste still ok for me but not the sweets la.

aquarius n sherl, do u know whether the 'pow sum' is good or not for pregnant cos my MIL is boiling it with red dates n kei ji for me every 3-4days leh.

actually from wat i heard. is best to start drinking those herbal soup when we are in 2nd trim.

doggie

"pow sum" is good leh.. but i heard cannot drink too much oso leh.

pow sum is fine if take in moderation...my MIL also make for me last time...only heard dang gui and ginseng not advisable. And also got one shi san tai bao...people also advise not to take even though it's supposed to be good for the mum.

oic icylemon n aquarius. but i think 3-4 days one glass is too much liao hor. i dare not to ask my MIL dun make it too often la cham.

Aiyo I always want to drink soup leh. Hmm...

Actually I heard of 2 version. One is like what doggie mentioned. The other is no MS is good cos our body n bb is absorbin what we in take. Dunno which version is true...

aquarius, i did ask my hb to help me to drink some but he doesnt the taste, same as me too dun like the taste la. so, no choice hv to force myself to drink.

zenn, MS usually caused by increase of hormone in our body, thats y if got MS, meaning our placenta n baby is growing well inside. I guess normal MS is good but terrible MS like wat u eat u puke that is really suffering as no good nutrient can be absorbed by our body lor.

Actually, at this moment, the baby is not absorbing anything from us yet. It is still feeding from the yolk sac.

During your u/s, once you can see the placenta, that is when your baby is actually starting to absorb from us.

Eating good stuff is not only for baby, but also to prepare our body for the pregnancy ahead. Imagine lugging around so much extra weight! Our body really will need the extra nutrients.

My mum has been using the thermal pot to cook soups with different fruits. Papaya soup, pear soup, apple soup, etc. She says during pregnancy, taking fruit soups are good. Anyway, it tastes nice, so no arguements from me

For MS, it is caused by too much hormones. Some people are not affected even if they have alot of hormones. But MS is a sign of strong pregnancy hormones. Trick is to eat small frequent meals and avoid milk in the morning. Different people will have different reaction to different foods. I can't tahan smelling fried foods, will feel nauseous smelling fried foods.

i dunno, i guess some older people advise not to drink herbal stuff at 1st tri... some i heard say was too much for the mother's body.. maybe over heaty, some say becos now too early, anyway tonic is useless.

zenn,
I know danggui is for creating blood or what, so if ur menses coming, cant eat becos generate more blood, but i dunno abt pregnancy can eat or not.

i feel breathless, but i guess cant so anything much cos now blood flow to the bb as well.. so mummy easier tired and no strength.

with regards to bb w/o heartbeat, YES, very common.. *sigh* 1 in every 5 cases, when doc told me this I was real shock. It happens to me on my last m/c and doctor can only say it is becos of bad gene/ or even bad luck as 2 things, either one is not so good, when merge together they lost some impt information which hinder the growth later on.. There is nothing we can do to prevent it.. perhaps just healthy living between the 2 couple before they start TTC.

zenn

you got me with you.. hahaha... i oso sometimes feel breatheless.. kekeke...

abt once a wk, i try to boil ABC soup (contains, potatos, carrots, onions, tomatos & chicken) my mum said eat more potatos then the baby chubby chubby....

aquarius, i think i might get my hb to tell his mum saying that i feel nausea after taking the pow sum lor.. then ask her to reduce and see.

zenn, since you have some contacts of confinement lady in hand. Better start calling them now. Some are reluctant to help during CNY period. Others might already have an assignment then.

icylemon, u can refer to the following threads for some recommendation of CL:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/299479.html?1150515125

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/388887.html?1150172704

Dunno leh, heard that its better to take tonic from 2nd trimester. Not sure how true.

i realised my temperature is higher today.. like heatiness or maybe fever soon. Just wondering if this is normal? My hb is like at least 0.7 degree cooler than me. Can I just consume panadol from off the shelf or I had to see doc?

icy,

preggies tend to have a slightly higher body temp than normal... Best to consult a doctor first before taking any medicine, though pure paracetamol is ok for consumption (do not take anything with muscle relaxant mixed in it).

Yah, my average temp is 37.3 to 37.4 deg instead of 36.9 deg. I also wondering if it is fever cos am having flu at the same time.

haha... bluegrapes, my hubby doesn't really hug me to sleep anymore because he complain I feel very hot.... actually after a while we both cannot tahan the heat, will turn back on each other to sleep!

Hi gals, thanks for your encouragement..I am on MC today..felt so much better..each time I felt like vomiting, I just lie down..it just works..sighz, got to go back work tomorrow again...

Actually quite worried about my baby growth..had been 2 weeks since my last gynae visit...Thursday going appt again..looking forward to it!

I told my hubby to tell me a joke every night before bedtime..so as to make me happier and not cry...it works for me yesterday, even though I was hugging the toilet bowl whole day yesterday.. :D

Just wish that the 2nd Trimester reach faster so that I can enjoy this pregnancy..so envy those who have no MS..