(2007/01) Jan

hi need advice from mummy,
i just let WH go to 1.5hr playgroup this wk. he is adapt well and like to go there. cry for 2 days only. Actually WH is already toilet train n he know how to go to pee n poo for himself at home. I dun know should i dun let him wear pamper to playgrp? but i let him try 2 days n he pee on pants due to he din tell teacher.
haiz... n today he cry bcos he pee on pants. i know he scare me will scold him. so he cry. when with us or with family outing, he will tell us he want to pee, but dun know y at playgrp he din say leh... maybe bcos group too big teacher cannot attend (2teacher:16 student)?? or new environment he dare not to say? but i very stingy leh, if everyday put on pampers very costly leh... how leh? nowsaday must save $$ for 2 leh and economy not gd. and WH cannot wear NTUC XL size pamper bcos he is too big. or any1 got lobang which brand pamper is cheap n big? WH is 15kg.

hi karen,
in jk's playgroup, there's another girl i know, she's also toilet train, but in the playgroup, same as WH, she will also pee n din tell teacher. her mummy has been telling her to tell teacher when she wants to go toilet, but she still pee in her pants. till now 3 months already, she still need to wear diapers when she go playgroup.

i want to ask if anyone of u ever uses no-rinse shampoo or dry confinement powder during your confinement? Where u get them and any feedback? i remember my last confinement hair can't wash too many times, very uncomfortable.... need to know what product can use without touching water. Thanks!

hi karen
like what you said, maybe let WH try going to playgroup with diapers...?
what is your budget for diapers? i'm not sure what price range NTUC diapers are.. but i'm using Sealy, and i think the price is not too bad. it's about $14 for a pack of L diapers (48 pcs). think WH will wear XL? another brand you can consider is Pet Pet? think it's quite cheap.. or there's another brand - Cold Storage First Choice diapers (think it's their inhouse brand). hope this helps. am thinking that since WH will only be wearing diapers during playgroup, you don't have to get good quality/very absorbent diapers since he's wearing for such a short while only. of course, make sure that he's not sensitive to any of the brands.
hope this helps..

Thanks hui and char. WH now is running high fever since yesterday afternoon. Last mid nite even high till 40 degree. Just brought to see PD. Wish him get well soon. To be a mother really not easy... now handle 2 really not easy. I really salute the mother with > 2 kids.

These few days alot of 'feeling' come to my mind. Don't know it is due to hormone, I am quite depress and feel helpless. Maybe bcos WH go to playgrp and WC start his semi solid and teething. Life bcome more bz and sometimes really dun have time to sleep n rest. but when kids give us the smile and a hug, it really lesser my stress of life. ** sorry to listen my lao sao here**

hui,

I din use the shampoo. I heard my frenz said it is more uncomfortable when u appply it. just bear for the 1st 12days no wash lor and then u can wash alternate day le.

i see, tks karen,
**HUGS** u have been doing well so far. hang on there. think wh fever that's y u feel more helpless. hope weekends with hubby ard better. ask your hubby to take leave 1 day to help u on monday. i did that n 1 day really meant alot for me to rest for a while.

firstbaby,
is it? i'll have a look sometime when i'm there. tks! haven't seen u appearing in this thread. hope u r adjusting well, n the 2 gals are getting along fine...cheers.

Hi Karen,

When I first sent my daughter to day care, I also worry that she will pee in her pants. I discuss with her teachers, they all agree that I should not let her wear diapers since she is already toilet training. Cos by letting her wear the diaper, it is actually backward development. If your son wet his pants is ok, don't scold him, just constantly remind him that he needs to tell the teacher that he wants to pee. Or you can discuss with the teacher that they can check with him during the day if he wants to go pee. But I guess it will be difficult during the initial phase especially the teacher to child ratio is quite big.

Just bear with it... good luck..

I remembered one of the mum's daugther has very serious eczema, is it Estell?

I am staying in Sydney, just saw the news that featured last friday that this old uncle initially develop this cream in his backyard kitchen. And it is so good that he is now moving to a bigger factory and going to list on Australian stock exchange.
The brand is call: The Invisible Glove, all made up of natural ingredients. I have checked you can't buy in Singapore, can only buy through the australian website.

here's a link: http://www.organicsaustraliaonline.com.au/prod3041.htm

If you need my help to buy it, I can help you.

Soo

Hi soo,

I also have same thiking as u. but i found that the teacher not free to check with him or just bring him to toilet. like today, i let him wear n ask teacher bring him to toilet. end up the teacher i said i thought u let him wear diaper so no need bring him there....
haiz... i worry he will get it as an habit. at home he very good can go to toilet himself. really cannot depend outsider help. i dun know should i cont' let him wear or next week try again??

Hi Karen,

ya.. one of my girlfriend took her daughter for a tour.. as they have to travel long distance on the tour bus, she gave her the diapers, and it ended up she depends on it even after the tour.. eventhough she was originally toilet trained...

With the teacher so busy, and you let your son wear diaper, I don't think the teacher is going to go through the trouble to bring him to toilet. I think you might need to just let him wet his pants for the inital period.. and hopefully by then he is able to tell the teacher he needs to go pee...

well sometimes my daughter still have small accidents... she is so into playing that she forgot about it.. by the time she realised... she pee in her pants.. but is still ok...

good luck...

hi karen
hope you're feeling less stressed now.

don't worry about sharing about how you're feeling as a SAHM in the forum. i'm sure all of the mummies are happy to lend you a listening ear. i wish i could be a SAHM too.. but that's not very possible right now... and i'm sure that it's not easy.

i'm sure that you're doing a great job with WH and ur baby!

re. letting ur boy wear diapers to school:
yah, think Soo is right. maybe try letting WH just wear pants. and let him wet it if he doesn't get to go to the toilet... and hope that he will learn how to tell the teacher.

btw, is WH fully toilet-trained? my boy is toilet trained for daytime. but at nite, not yet. i'm still letting him wear his diapers.

if WH is toilet trained at night, how did you train him for nite?

Soo:
if you have any experience that you can share about my above question to karen, pls share also? thanks!

hui:
hahha.. you're so observant. yeah, changed my nick to maine lobster. hahaha. cause decided that i don't want to use my real name for my nick...

nite time he still wear it just incase accident. i din train him at nite. just make sure he pee b4 sleep n go to pee once wake up.

Hi Maine Lobster,

A long of story here....
Since birth my daugther is wearing the cloth diapers, as she gets older think was about 15 mths she refused to have cloth diapers. So we bought the under pants for her, and she like it. Before sleep we will ask her to go pee, and in the middle of the night (she was still sleeping in the same room with my hubby and I) if she wriggle.. I will bring her to pee.
Mid of last yr we moved to Sydney... she started day care, initially was ok, then she start to pee when she take her nap eventhough the teacher bring her to pee before she sleep. Same time at home. So have to let her wear the training pants. And is kind of strange if she wear the training pants, most of the time she will not wet the bed and some nights she will shout for me that she needs to pee. If she have the cloth under pants on, she will wet the bed. And strange she does not wet the bed during her afternoon nap...

So now I will have her wear the training pants before she sleep, normal underpants for day time.

I guess if the adjustment phase for her.. cos there was so many changes in her life...

I will tell my daughter that during the night if she needs to pee just shout for me (she sleep in her own room) and ask her to pee first thing in the morning.

Hope it helps..
soo

soo, ur girl also Jan 2007 rite? u give ur girl day care means what time to what time? actually i am thiking to let him go to half day CC. at least let him learn more things. I feel that I dun know what to teach him. I am a laosy mum. plus want to give attention to baby, huh, sometimes feel you xin wu li.
really want to say sorry to my boys....

hi Karen,

yes my girl is also jan 07 baby...
when we were in singapore, she is being taken care by my mum during the day. Since mid of last year we have moved to Sydney Australia, and none of our parents came with us, and both of us are working, so we put her in full day care centre. Good thing in Australia they have laws stating the teacher and child ratio, so the teachers does able to give the kids good level of individual attention. Sorry I can't really comment about day care in Singapore.. but my impression is that the teachers usually needs to handle big groups of children.

the teachers have been really good and they are all certify which is a must under the australian laws. during the day, the teachers plan various activities for them, painting, outdoor play, reading... role playing (like going to supermarket etc..) doing puzzles.. singing..

when she first started day care my girl (she was then just 17 months old) is no good with english compare to chinese... but now she is very good...( we started her with more chinese since birth) in fact now I am a bit worry that she does not like chinese.... so been reading a lot of chinese stories to her and teaching her the han-yu pin-yin. I bought a lot of chinese story books when I moved to Sydney and my mum will also send me new chinese story and activities books for her...

been MIA for long time...

Just to check if any mummies here got any confinement lady to recommend?

I going be Daddy once again during Oct!
kekeke!

iceblue,

Congrats!! i couldn't get a highly recommended one, so end up use PEM confinement agency. jus to share info abt market rate. i took family package which includes taking care of toddler. $1900.

iceblue,
Congrats!!!
i use bliss confinement. Take care baby, mum and toddler. Wash all family cloth. http://www.blissconfinement.page.tl/Home.htm
Overall quite ok, at least CL help to take care tod. For me most of the time i take care bb at nite bcos i bf and I dun believe to let outsider take care bb (bcos bad impression on my #1 CL)...

Really happy for u!!!

iceblue,
forgot to tell u price, $1900 for Oct 08. But think they have increase the $. just share my experience with u. I will ask the agent write down all the things I want in the contract eg. price include cook n taking care toddler. the person incharge is Doreen 81863338. quite nice person. During I stay at MAH, the other mummy also engage her.
anyway, gd thing to engage agent is u no need to worry abt CL last mins disappear like my CL for my elder son. also u can change the CL if u feel uncomfortable or dun like her during 1st wk.

Hi to all BTB,

sorry to interrupt your thread. I have got a 2nd hand Brandt front load washing machine to let go @ $350 (negotiable). Details of the machine as follows:

Model: Brandt WFF0812A
Max Load: 6kg
Max Speed: 800rmp
Unit Price: $800+

Please kindly PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

Been MIA for long.. Hows everyone??

I have miss the recently taka BB fair, i heard that pigeon has this promo where we can use the old bottles to trade in for the new one, my boy is using the pigeon brand, wonder will taka has this kind of BB fair more than once in a year?? Or I need to wait till next year Mar??

Jen, Hui, Iceblue, Congra for your 2nd one..

hi cashewnut,
thanks. really been a long time since saw ur post. where have u been to? any updates from u? last time heard u r trying for twins...

hihi!

i remember karen n mummies were talking abt gg w/o diaper to sch? last wk i started estelle to go w/o. so far she has yet to tell teacher when she wants to urine but today i just understand fm the teacher that they actually bring her n those toilet trained to toilet or almost every 15mins. i m pretty surprised cos for last 1 wk i tot they had been bringin her oni during break.

karen, perhaps u might wanna talk to the teacher n see how it can b work out since he is already toilet train at home?

hi zenn,

so glad that estelle can go to school w/o it. I think for my case quite difficult bcos mine only 1.5hr. I had chat with other mum or caregiver, they also let the kids wear unless kid know to tell teacher and can hold the urine. 1.5hr is too short for teacher always bring them to toilet. From what i know they only bring the kid they know how to inform teacher 1 and they only bring them to toilet once b4 they eat biskuit.

So I think now it is my responsible to teach WH must tell teacher if he want to pee. At home he can go to toilet or potty himself, so he no need hold the urine too long. haiz... Now, I have a lot of thing need to redo/ retrain WH after gave birth.
Esp nite time toilet train.

Hi Hui, been busy with my boy lately, he is too sticky to me, needs me to attend to him for every single thing, may be bcos didi coming soon in mid May..

I really got no luck on twins thot my husb is one of twin.. but will close factory for 2..

cashewnut,
u delivering in may? that's fast! very soon lor... u really kept your secret well! CONGRATS! may- same month as jen_bibi. same as me, 2 boys. but good lah, the boys can share toys n play together. jk also stick to me like glue too.

Hui, yes, like Jen.. she is a wk earlier than me..

Not keep secret lar, is dunno how to annouce here lar.. 2 boys is good companion but my boy only likes to play with "jie jie" &amp; gor gor" only, those who can walk n tok like him only.. he totally got no interest at this didi..

cashewnut,
dun worry, think after didi come out he will slowly love his didi.
like my elder son now he like to play with didi although didi dun know how to play with him. but gorgor will dance and make funny face to make didi laugh.

me also close factory at 2. Unless accident lor.... hohoho...

hui/cashewnut,
3 of us got 2 sons ard same age... hehehe... maybe we can meetup for 6 of them one day???

karen, estelle in playgroup of 2hrs oni. i m suprised myself that the teacher bothers to take the effort to bring her to toilet every 15mins for the beginning. according to the teacher, even tho kids r train at home but she dun expect the kids to know how to tell the teacher for the start as its a new environment or unless they r bigger. so they will start wif 15mins n lengthen to 30min and encourage the kid to tell them whenever they need to go toilet.

HI All

log time no log in..

cashewnut - congrat to u too, 1 wk after me?? now getting nervous liao.. hehehe

aiya, if want twin, can always try again.. :p

Karen, must meet sometime, must get Owen to learn from ur boy to luv didi..

Jen, not really nervous lar but still got lots of things have not packed or prepared.. close shop liao, so nomore chance for twins..

Zenn, your playgroup indeed quite good ler, although Owen is toilet trained at home (but still got accident lar), but when i sent him to childcare, they insisted him to wear diaper at beginning stage, now 3 wks liao, he still wearing diaper to school..

karen &amp; cashewnut, actually i tot i started estelle w/o diaper at wrong time cos at the same day (1 apr) 3 new students joined n now the class is full - 2 teachers (actually 1 is consider asst) to 16 kids. must admit this teacher quite good.

cashewnut, is owen gettin used to cc?

zenn, hahahaa.. owen is opposite from other kids, he is getting not used to cc, for the 1st 2 wks, he keep telling us that he wan to go school, then suddenly on the 3rd wk, he told us that he dun wan to go school liao.. i think he is getting bored at cc now.. I put him at ntuc cc, but do not found their programme interesting or attrative, so might withdraw him to playgroup instead.. still searching around..

mummies, I have toilet trained owen and he is doing it quite well but not for poo poo, he refuse to poo poo in the potty or toilet except the diaper. Now without the diaper he can dun go poo poo until 2nd day. I am quite worry that this will become his habit which he poo only once every 2 days. any mummies has encoutered this before?? Can advise??

hey where is everyone? so quiet?

cashewnut, owen has this issue all the while or oni after toilet train? is his poo still as normal even tho she poo every 2 day? estelle been havin hard stool lately n poo every 2 days. there was a stage when she also refused to poo in toilet but later i realised cos its too hard n she finds it hard to poo when sitting down. lately she is back to poo in toilet again.

zenn, owen's stool still looks normal, he used to poo everyday b4 toilet trained, so after i remove his diaper, i realise that he only poo when the diaper is on like b4 or after his nap time or nite sleep. these few days he kept telling me "ng ng" and "wear diaper", so after i put his diaper on and he really ng in the diaper and i realise that his pattern go like every 2 days now..