(2007/01) Jan

faeriekim:
wow! you're alredy 2cm dilated and going to deliver soon! all the best, and have a speedy delivery!

iceblue:
yes! i must agree that janson has a very good appetite!

zenn:
when u leaving for japan? the weather will be very nice now, i'm sure...
have a good trip!

hi zhuzhu, charmaine,
yes, excited... it's the process all over again.

zenn,
i booked 4-bedded cos i wanna have the upgrade to 2-bedded. tis time round hb not staying, so 2- or 4- doesn't matter. juz hope my snoring doesn't affect the other mommies. heee.. was really tinking of getting the single, but wonder if really necessary or not.

Fae, no probs! I can assure you one thing is Dr Wong's stitches are really good and she is very encouraging through out the delivery process. You are in good hands. kekeke

If hubby not staying I think go for 4 bedded then get the free upgrade to 2 bedded. Shouldnt have a problem de.
At least 2 bedded got one room mate with you if you are staying alone.

faeriekim,
all the best for your delivery. must b so excited now that baby will b here anytime. mi hor still got 3 months but i already very excited n thinking everyday. wakakakka.....

zenn,
i brought charlene to disneyland when she is 11 months old, she is happy to c mickey mouse n all the parades. she also enjoyed those more subtle rides like little world n all those boat rides. i think estelle will enjoy even more now that she is older. its a pity to miss it leh.

mild, aiyo sound like i must go disney too! how many days did u spend in tokyo? do u remember where did u go?

charm, leaving 30 aug. so excited now kekekeke

fae, not sure abt now but last yr its almost confirm for upgrade to 2beded

sherl,
but there is 4 months ma. wakakkakaka....
we shall know in 3 hours and 15 mins. wakakkaka...

aqua,
*tao yan*

wakkak....

aqu,
good, as long as her stitches are good, i pang sim. cos i've been wondering whether my 'uncomfortableness' is cos of lousy stitches previously.....

mildy,
really ah??? 4 mos? but sherl say oni kick in jan.... sianz..... hope they 'bu' back to us.

zenn,
actually my gynae oso said they renovating a lot of the 4-bedders, so mostly likely will get 2 bedder. but i juz hope tat there's someone staying wif me. watever it is, now is 7th mth...

faeriekim,
i got a few sources say wef from sept leh. wakakka... must c how. today we will know. if not we lugi big time. must wait no 3 then got chance to claim 4 months liaos. kekekek....

but then again hor sherl's news may b quite zhun leh..........hai.... keeping my fingers cross. wakkaka...

Zenn,
ermm.. not sure if your gal enjoy.. that time i go w my hb only leh... but cfm your gal will like Disneyland/sea... hehehehe

mildy, dun worry, sherl's news from unreliable source. wakakakka

Fae, ya I think our previous gynae the stitches horrigible. You give me feedback after delivery. For me dun even need painkiller.

Hi all, happen to pop in and so happy to read that everything is well now and our thread is going to have another birth soon! Fae, all the very best for a smooth and easy delivery!! Mus remember update us and send pix of bb k?

Re: TMC - I can only sing praises for the labour ward! Everyone there is FABULOUS!!! They really make u feel at east and so at home and they are super nice! Cant say much about my ward nurses though.. But overall, I had a very nice stay at TMC and the food is v yummy too! Reminensces!

Iceblue - happy to hear tt Janson is eating n thriving!

<font color="ff0000">Re : Pull-up pants</font> (I will rate absorbancy on scale of 5 below).

I've tried all the brands in the mkt and here's my take on them :-

<font color="ff0000">1) Drypantz</font> - FORGET ABT THEM unless u want to put bb in plastic pants! They are so hard and unbreathable that I din even bother abt absorbancy! <1/5>

<font color="ff0000">2) Nepia</font> - Comfy but not very absorbant, tend to leak. But like the fact that it has a disposal tape at the back so you can use it to tape down the soiled rolled up diaper. Boxy cut. <2/5>

<font color="ff0000">3) Mamy Poko</font> - Comfy and absorbant but no disposal tape. Like that it has boy or girl differentiation. For boys the concentration is at the front so it catches all the urine nicely. But don like the bulkiness of this diaper. Boxy cut. <4/5>

<font color="ff0000">4) Pampers Easy Up Pants</font> - Love the slimness of the diaper and its disposal tape! Very comfy but less absorbant than Mamy Poko. High leg, flexi sides cut. <3/5>

<font color="ff0000">5) Huggies Pull Ups</font> - Slim and the most absorbant of the lot. Cutting is quite small though as it is those high leg flexi cut type. <4/5>

<font color="ff0000">6) Sweety Pull-up</font> - CRAP! Leaks most time. Forget abt it! <1/5>

<font color="ff0000">7) NTUC Pull up pants</font> - Not bad as value for money but don like it as no front or back. Surprisingly, it is relatively quite absorbant but is still below Huggies &amp; Mamy Poko. Almost on par with Pampers. <3/5>

For myself, I alternate between Huggies, Pampers &amp; Mamy Poko. Only thing is that I dislike Mamy Poko's bulkiness s takes up too much space when I go out. 1 MP = 2 Huggies/Pampers. My all time fave is still Huggies but cant steer away from Pampers' soft feel and disposal tape. Sigh, m such a sucker for gadgets hor? Wuhaha! So each time, I will have at least 3 brands of pull ups at home to choose which to use and bring for where I go.. Hb say he so confused and headache! haha!

mymelody n sugar,
thanks for the well wishes! as u can see, i'm still hanging on tightly!!! juz to listen to the incentives for child bearing and whether i qualify for them or not. too bad the details will oni be out later tis wk, delivered by population policies PIC, Mr. WKS.

hope i get to enjoy the 4th wk of flexible maternity leave...
def dun qualify for the higher bonus for 1st child.
n the next income tax assessment is still far away.
unpaid childcare leave of 1 wk, well, not TAT fantastic.
additional 4 days of paid childcare leave by either parents, not TAT fantastic either.
am i juz asking for too much?
mildy n other mommies waiting to pop, *cross fingers*!

sugar,
thx for the pull-up pants analysis. haha.. i've tried almost all the brands cept for Sweety (never heard of it) n NTUC. no guts to waste my money on the latter. agree tat pampers is by far the most 'luxurious' of them all, wif MP being a little too bulky for comfort. i oso rotate these 3 brands. dpding on the price, availability, etc.

Fae - Have a smooth delivery

Aqua - Is the announcement last night enough incentives for you to try for #3?
Sigh.. miss out on the 4mth ML

ANOTHER $700 million will be spent on new ways to encourage Singaporeans to marry and to have babies. In all, the Government will spend $1.6 billion a year, announced Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong.

These include:

1) Government matchmaking agencies SDU and SDS will be merged. They now cater to graduates and non-graduates respectively.

By joining forces, they can offer members more activities and choices, and hopefully more pairing-ups, marriages and children.

2) SDU will certify private dating agencies that meet its quality standards. These will be given an 'SDU Trust' mark.

This will give the 'best of both worlds' for those who 'don't want the government to know that they're dating but also want quality assurance', said Mr Lee.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">3) Childcare leave, introduced in 2004, will be extended from two to six days a year. It can be claimed by either parent.

4) Parents will get one week of unpaid infant-care leave a year, until the child turns two. It can be claimed by either parent.
</font></font>

5) Family-friendly companies will be recognised and thanked publicly. The 'special effort' will be led by the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports and the Manpower Ministry.

Mr Lee applauded those employers that make flexible arrangements for mothers and have positive attitudes.

'When you go, they don't make a sour face and they don't make you feel that a little black mark willl be recorded in your annual confidential report,' he said. 'It makes a big difference. And with a bit of effort and imagination, you can do a lot.'

6) Maternity leave will be extended by another month, giving mothers a total of four months leave.

Like with the third month leave, the Government will pay for the new extra month. It can be taken any time in the first year of the child's birth.

7) Baby Bonus will be increased for first-time parents. Details will be given later.

Financial considerations cannot be the motive for having children, stressed Mr Lee. 'I think if you suggest to a couple that you know I give you a bit of discount, how about having more kids, I think many will be very indignant at this, and rightly so.

'But it's right for us to help women to lighten the burden of having children.'

8) Tax incentives will be improved to encourage mothers to work.

9) Childcare sector to get a big boost.

More centres will be built to give quick access to one.

They will be more affordable because the subsidy for a child will be increased.

Their standards will be raised.

Said Mr Lee: 'Before they reach school, the first six years, those are critical and you want to have the peace of mind that they are being looked after well.'

10) The Government will 'substantially' give support to kindergartens that meet the Education Ministry's criteria.

Besides better-trained teachers, they will get better syllabuses, a higher-quality environment and be better run, so that kids grow up much more confident, said Mr Lee.

This is particularly for those whose backgrounds aren't so ideal at home. 'They will be able to make it in kindergarten and start from a more equal starting point when they go to school.'

11) Financial aid will be given to couples seeking in-vitro fertilisation treatment to fulfill their desire to have a baby.

12) Couples with many children will get more support.

Incentives such as tax relief and childcare subsidy will be extended to the fifth child onwards. Now, they stop at the fourth child.

Said Mr Lee: 'There are not many of them but I hope the incentives will encourage those who can afford it to have more.'

Hmmm... don't think the boy/girl differentiation thing will work for the Clairester... I dunnoe why she pees in front! Sheesh!

I'm using Nepia pullups because Claire's been using Nepia diapers for the longest time. But I seldom use pullups because she's still ok with diapering and the pullup absorbency is only about half as good. Maybe I should try huggies... hmmm...

<font color="ff0000">sherl</font> u have been using nepia for quite long liao hor...

do u call &amp; ask them to deliver to ur place or u buy off the rack?

Icy,

I dun call anymore because I realised that the NTUC offer is the cheapest. Wait until they have the 2 for 26.95 or something offer, then stock up. They have it every few months. Been doing that since Claire was 4 months old I think.

But NTUC only got stock from M size onwards. If you getting S or newborn you still need to call Nepia to order.

Sherl,
my gal also pees in front leh~!

I actually have 2 packs of 54 XL Huggies Dry Comfort.. want to sell at $10/pack cos my gal's skin sensitive to it.. free delivery to Jan mummies only.. hahaha..

Or is it 2 for 27.95? Can't remember clearly... heehee. But is around that kind of price la. Works out to be cheaper than if order from Nepia coz now Nepia is I think $16 one pack.

janey,

Alyssa also??!! Wakakkakakakkakakakkaka... I was wondering for the longest time whether Claire was normal. Now I know she not the only one. LOL. Dunnoe why they so "special" hor.

<font color="ff0000">sherl</font> rachel tried nepia before when she was 2 mths old. i like the material.

<font color="aa00aa">sherl &amp; janey</font> wat do u gals mean pee infront??

icy,

means their pee gathers in front... so for them the boy-girl differentiation diapers no good, because usually this kind of diapers for girl will have absorbency concentrated at the back, for boys absorbency concentrated in front.

Good Morning!!!

I am a mamy poko fan! kekke.....

my dreams came true. really got 4 months maternity. only thing now is whether i am entitled to it. *pray*

dunno y they cannot say wef when yesterday. make mi wait n wait n wait. almost like giraffe le....

morning

i think y e urine r concentrated in front cos, when they sit down, generally isn't e urine will 'flow' toward e front cos the back is 'block' by e skin (get my meaning)?

furthermore, how can gal pee, urine will go to e back? is impossible mah cos our body 'structure' also near e front mah.. isn't it?

think gal's diaper r in e middle, dun think is at e back n boy's r at e front.. sounds more logical. :p

<font color="ff0000">sherl &amp; janey</font> OIC. for rachel is front &amp; back all wet. *piangz*

<font color="aa00aa">milderina</font> i m praying hard tat will take effect from 1 aug.

Jen,

Dunnoe la, not very sure because I also never go and check out very closely that kind of diaper... now that you mention it I think it's probably that gal's diaper is concentrated in middle. But whatever it is I know that her urine always concentrate in front, even overnight diapers also concentrate wetness in front. hahaha...

zhuzhu,
okie! deal! will sms you later tonight.. hehe.

Mildy,
congrats to your dream come true..

JEN,
hmm.. my gal sleeping the pee also concentrated at the front part.. hehe.. want to ask u if u got bring stroller to your jap tour?

my gal sleeping e pee also concentrated in front cos she sleeping on e tummy most time mah.. hehehe

janey - as for e stroller, we got bring a very simple stroller (locking device area crack on e 2nd day, 1st day is on e plane :S) but most time she preferred walking then sitting in it. so stroller is in storage of the coach most timing.