Good morning all!
Eh Char/icy,
I no culinary expert hor, my recipes all cha-pa-lang agar-agar one leh, dun expect gourmet food ok, heeheehee. My hubby begs me not to cook even though I offer to whenever my PILs not around.
tofu egg custard
1 egg yolk (to be safe. But mix in a bit of egg white is ok, I add in some to test. If kid already takes whole egg, even better, dun need to bother separating!)
1/4 or 1/3 box of tofu (I use the organic version because it's not that expensive)
Veggies diced or sliced in small pieces - I've used french beans, tomatoes, mushrooms before. Whatever you have which you think would mix well. Leafy veggies not recommended as you need to steam it, so the leafy veggies tend to turn yellow.
dash of pepper
1 to 2 drops of sesame oil
1 drop of soya sauce to taste if you want
Er... then just mix everything together, tofu I sort of mash into smaller pieces (but not mash mash as they may not like it if it is totally liquid), then steam mixture. I use the AMC pot so basically I steam until near the red point. If not I guess it is steam for about 10min?
Salmon fried rice
Rice (plain or brown both ok)
1 egg yolk (same as above)
salmon 1 piece (steam/grill then after that flake it)
Veggies - whatever is available and takes your fancy. For leafy stuff, dun fry too long. I use kailan before, good.
wang sui
chopped garlic (1/4 to 1/2 clove)
chopped shallots (1/2 to 1 clove)
a little bit of oil or butter. Try to use vegetable based oil like canola, olive or sunflower, healthier.
Brown garlic and shallots in the oil, then add in rice and beaten egg/egg yolk to coat the rice. Next add in the veggies (depending on what veggies you use - if you use stuff like carrots, you may need to add in before the rice so that it cooks more thoroughly first) and lastly the salmon and wang sui.
Disclaimer: Your rice cannot be too dry/wet. I did this with rice that was a bit too wet before - disastrous results.