(2007/01) Jan

bluesky,

My mum used to make tofu beef balls... mash mince beef together with tofu, will have effect of softening also because the meat becomes more dispersed. heehee

good morning...

sugar, well written!!

bbmilk, i think u v nice leh cos i will definately so NO to my mil which I did few times cos she offers to give ice cream n luncheon meat to estelle. my mil loves to let estelle try adult food so usually what i will do is to bring some fruits or biscuit for estelle when goin my mil place or dine out wif her

alethea, i gave estelle beef too but always ve to blend all kinds of meats for her. sun i tried the stew beef (fm sugar's blog) but she dun like it

bluesky, think cos she is teethin so been wakin up at night n zzz after i give her pacifier. so duno how to wean off now -headache-

mummies, when can we start give our bb honey?

sherl, does ur mum steam or fry after mashin beef n tofu together?

thanks sherl! will try tonite since gg to try out udon soup heee this estelle lately really fussy. today i tried egg custard this morn n again she dun like

Zenn,

Dunnoe why Claire loves sesame oil leh, me and my mum discovered this on our own. Add sesame oil into anything and she just laps everything up. If you haven't tried before maybe you can try? Just one or two drops... coz now they dun want plain food so much, so try to flavour with healthier (yeah I know sesame oil not very healthy, but hor, I use organic version, healthier right? healthier right? Wakakakkakakakkakakakakkaka) flavourings, it may increase their appetite.

Now I use pepper, sesame oil, wang sui, basil leaves, garlic, ginger... occasionally one drop of soya sauce. heehee

sherl, wah! in soup is nice. but fried oso nice leh. yummy! i m so hungry now.

sesame oil very xiang leh... i like tat too.

sherl & icy, hmmm good idea. lately estelle always more keen in our food than her own. we let her tried mee hoon n she ate so last sat we tried bb version of fried mee hoon n she like it. btw what is wang sui? basil leave when cookin pasta right? when u add ginger and garlic?

icy,

tell me about it. I tried eating sesame oil on its own when I was younger (I have this thing about sauces leh, I love eating sauces!!! LOL) but i realised that the oil by itself is like tasteless, but when add into food hor, WAH SAY!!! NICE!!!!

Wakakakkakakakakkakakakka

sherl sesame oil is nice lah. i oso love it. i like to add sesame oil in my yong tau foo soup & fishball soup. yummy!!

JEN, you & kate went MIA in forum leh. wat happened??

aqua, Y said sherl give excuses leh??? tell me leh.. tell me leh..

Aqua,

Wakakakkakkakkakakaka... My mother bought the organic sesame oil from some organic shop or other... Expensive wor, 18.90 one bottle?!! But can use very long. This one from my confinement time. LOL.

Zenn,
Wang sui is chinese parsley... I like to add when cooking fried rice. Garlic can add to stirfry or fried rice also. Basil leaves you can add to grill fish actually, is nice. heeheehee. Think is Sugarbabe teach de.

sugarbean,
your poem is a masterpiece!!! really express mother's feelings very well!!

jen,
yalor, also think u & kate MIA very long from here.... pregnant??

icy, becos sherl keep asking "healthier right, healthier?" hahahaha

I want get the organic one too...ex is ok cos sesame oil can use very long.

Oops forgot to praise sugar for the well written poem.
Well done Sugarbeanie! Really fei fu zhi yan.

Btw, I have tried the Sweet Cheeks wipes. Really very good! Going to stock up now. Kiasu-ism at work again! lolx.

aqu, ntuc havin promo for sweet cheeks again. ya think i gg to stock up too but v fast sold out. i oni managed to get the last 2 pkts!

sherl, oh ok. claire likes to eat fried rice? wat do u stir fry for claire? most of the time i steam or soupy for estelle. oni tried fried mee hoon recently

Icy & Hui

very busy, now is peak period on my workload, can drop in see see then out i go...
when i low peak, should be able to come in often... my lobo days r over (for now.. hehehe)

aqua & zenn,

which part of NTUC can i get the sweet cheeky wipes?? coz i was at NTUC yesterday. dun have leh. didnt see any wipes.

sherl, where to get the organic sesame oil??

Icy,

My mum got it from some organic shop, but dunnoe where it is. I gotta ask her... but think most organic shops should have nowadays. I saw one organic shop at Rail Mall selling organic Chinese cooking stuff just a couple of weeks ago.

Zenn,
Depends on what is available. I stirfry chicken and veggies for Claire. Sesame oil can also use in the egg tofu custard, kekekekeke. Oh, Claire loves the fried rice, but I dun do it for her very often coz not very healthy. Usually I will do salmon fried rice in a bid to make it more healthy (just bluffing myself la right. Hahahahahhahaha)

Good morning all!

Eh Char/icy,

I no culinary expert hor, my recipes all cha-pa-lang agar-agar one leh, dun expect gourmet food ok, heeheehee. My hubby begs me not to cook even though I offer to whenever my PILs not around.

tofu egg custard
1 egg yolk (to be safe. But mix in a bit of egg white is ok, I add in some to test. If kid already takes whole egg, even better, dun need to bother separating!)
1/4 or 1/3 box of tofu (I use the organic version because it's not that expensive)
Veggies diced or sliced in small pieces - I've used french beans, tomatoes, mushrooms before. Whatever you have which you think would mix well. Leafy veggies not recommended as you need to steam it, so the leafy veggies tend to turn yellow.
dash of pepper
1 to 2 drops of sesame oil
1 drop of soya sauce to taste if you want

Er... then just mix everything together, tofu I sort of mash into smaller pieces (but not mash mash as they may not like it if it is totally liquid), then steam mixture. I use the AMC pot so basically I steam until near the red point. If not I guess it is steam for about 10min?

Salmon fried rice
Rice (plain or brown both ok)
1 egg yolk (same as above)
salmon 1 piece (steam/grill then after that flake it)
Veggies - whatever is available and takes your fancy. For leafy stuff, dun fry too long. I use kailan before, good.
wang sui
chopped garlic (1/4 to 1/2 clove)
chopped shallots (1/2 to 1 clove)
a little bit of oil or butter. Try to use vegetable based oil like canola, olive or sunflower, healthier.

Brown garlic and shallots in the oil, then add in rice and beaten egg/egg yolk to coat the rice. Next add in the veggies (depending on what veggies you use - if you use stuff like carrots, you may need to add in before the rice so that it cooks more thoroughly first) and lastly the salmon and wang sui.

Disclaimer: Your rice cannot be too dry/wet. I did this with rice that was a bit too wet before - disastrous results.

sherl:
thx! will try it out this weekend perhaps..

does claire like it?
i realise that kienan still doesn't like his food to be too textured. most of his meats are still blended.. how huh?

mummies:
do any of your babies eat minced meats without blending it further?

sherl, thanks for sharing! for fried rice do u cook the rice specially for claire or use our adult rice? btw, how did ur mum keep the beef tofu remain as ball shape? yest i add to my udon, after awhile it breaks into small pc. i dun remember stirrin v hard leh

charm, my egg custard is supposed to b dessert. oni need to add egg york + 100ml of milk n steam for 10mins BUT estelle dun like it.

zenn, i think you have to either add egg or egg white into the beef with toufu or corn starch. so tat the meat will stay in shape.

charm, estelle also. yest i cooked udon soup wif tofu, blended beef n mushroom. she still prefer all the stuff dan beef

zenn:
wah.. where you get the udon recipe from ? does estelle like to eat udon/ you blended the udon or cut into very small pieces?
can share the recipe?

i realise that kienan's not very adventurous with his food.. as long as it looks "suspicious", he won't want to open his mouth to eat it.

Char,

Claire happened to like the tofu egg custard and salmon fried rice.. heehee. Zenn is right, my egg custard and hers very different, mine closer to chawanmushi.

Zenn,
I think Icy is right. I think you need to add a bit of corn flour then can keep together le? Must ask my mum again. heehee.

Fried rice - I use her brown rice, coz she takes brown rice. But from young if I cook white rice for her I've always used our own white rice grains, never buy the xin mi.

sherl & icy, oh i nv add egg or flour! no wonder lah heeee

sherl, i mean when u cook rice for claire, do u cook more soft or u used those cooked rice that we eatin for claire?

charmaine, errr i invented myself hahahha for udon i cooked abit longer so that its soft n i cut into small pc. i used to give estelle mee sua oni but lately i tried like lasa noodle, abc pasta n yest udon. so far she likes it. think i will try out sherl's receipts cos so far oni tried fried mee hoon

Zenn,

I cook separately in a pot, so tends to be a little bit more soft coz can control the texture better. kekekekke

sherl:
so ur egg custard is the chawanmushi type.. nice..
haha. so it's like steamed egg lah.. right?
i realise that kienan doesn't like food that's too mushy.. is it very soft and mushy once it's cooked?
and how long do you take to prepare it?

can everything be done in under half hour?

the veggies when you put in are still raw right?

zenn:
i see... so udon is cut into smaller pieces.. haha not bad wat, invent it yourself.. heh.
good job! think we all learning to cook more creatively for our babies!

maybe one day i'll try out the egg custard dessrt thingy for kienan too..

Char,

Yeah yeah. Can sort of control how soft you want it, dun mash the tofu too much if you dun want it so mashy.
can also add more textured veggies if you want more textured food. Tomatoes for e.g. will make the mixture more mashy. I take prob around 10 min to prepare and another 10min or so to cook it. Yup, veggies are raw. If you using carrots you may want to cook the carrots before hand coz I dunnoe if carrots will cook fully in 10min.

sherl & char, ya i v keen to try sherl's egg custard. sound yummy to me.

btw wat r u gals givin ur bb for bfast or snacks?

zenn,

i m giving Rachel all these for breakfast.

1. bread with cheese spread
2. cornflakes with FM
3. half boiled egg / scramble eggs
4. fried bee hoon (home cooked)
5. plain wheat bread
6. pan cakes
7. chee cheong fan

for snacks will be...

1. cheese cubes
2. yoghurt
3. fruits (strawberry, kiwi, grapes & apple)

zenn,

Secret is in the sesame oil, dun forget! Wakakkakakakakkakakakakaka

Claire eats: baby cereal, cornflakes, rice krispies, bread, yogurt. Most of the time eat bread,coz I realise that yogurt very exp!!!!

charm - Trisha still eating blended stuff but I'm starting to phase in more textured food.

last night tried the abc pasta with tomata base, she didn't seem to like it much but still finished it for me, so I guess she is not disliking it too much. =p

this morning, tried the egg with milk for her breakfast, I think I added too much milk and it's quite watery then creamy, but she managed to almost eat all up too.

I also tried fried rice for her and she likes it. =)

sherl, u & ur sesame oil again. kekeke....

ya.. Rachel can eat half boiled egg since 13 mths old.

we add abit of soya sauce. 1-2 drops only. she can actually eat plain. coz we only started off adding some soya sauce into in recently only.