(2007/01) Jan

Zenn, actually i think i din really sucessfully wean owen off from pacifier, cos i substitue his pacifier wif the bottle feed of water. so sometime when he wake up in middle of nite, he still request for the bottle but for few mouth sip only.. but good thing is he dun require bottle to fall at sleep..

re: tuas toys sales
was at tuas last fri but not manage to go
, 0 damnage

re: toyrus sales at united square
was here today, not manage to go too
, 0 damage again..

Hi ALL Mummies and Daddies, thank for all your sms and gift.
was really touched when icy told me abt it!

Baby janson is recovering well, thou abit slow.
More tests will have to be done to ensure every things is doing well.
And i believe he will eventually be able to "win" this battle with all the support from the aunties and uncles here as he is my little fighter!

My advice to all, nowadays the virus are everywhere, try to refrain from bringing your kids out often. Baby Janson only went out once or twice bi-weekly, but he still kena. Even the Doc have no idea how he got it!
He never went to any child care or play ground.
Sighz!

During the period i was at TMC, TMC was "full house"! Full of children admitted due to flu, cough and fever.

Please take good care of your kids!

Gd Morning All!!!

Went to the Toys R Us sale yesterday. Didn't have much things left as most of the "Gd Deal" stuffs had been taken. Damage yesterday was only $25....Phew
1388620.gif
. Bgt the Aqua Doodle set
1388621.gif

1388622.jpg

1388623.jpg

Iceblue,

Glad to hear Janson is doing better. Will continue to pray for him and your family. Please take care! Jason, jia you!

good morning...

went to visit janson last night but as he is in high dependancy ward, can oni see him from outside. beside heartpain i really duno wat else can b used to describe. but at least he still managed to sit up last night.

iceblue, ve faith n i m sure bb janson will b well soon!

tambourina n hui, issit common that bb will have fever up to 2 wks for MMR jab? also can we give bb MMR n flu jab together cos bringing estelle to bkk end may. aiyo stress meh

Zenn,

If taking flu jab remember to take two weeks before your trip coz it needs that time to reach optimal levels of protection.

zenn,
u might have interpret my post wrongly. fever can happen in 3rd day, 5th day or in 2 weeks' time. So if taking MMR jab, gotta monitor till 2 weeks, if no fever, then means no fever le... like sherl said, good to have the 2 weeks gap before u consider going on a trip.

fever will go up n down, i asked PD, he said the liquid paracetamol will suppress the fever, but once it loses effect (ard 4 hrs), fever will come back again till the child's anti-bodies slowly build up... but nothing to worry abt if it does not go higher than 38 degrees. if >38.5 degrees for 2-3 days, then immediately go A&E. think that's what i've been told.

Msn Queen,

Good to hear that darius is discharged. You take good care too.

Iceblue,
Janson can overcome all virus. He will be fine. You & wifey take care.

Tambourina
My gal oso down with cough with phlegm for almost a month too. She is almost vomitting once every day. We seen couple of doctors. But after seeing Dr Terence Tan, he deduce that Eilis could have sensitive air ways. So he wants me to wash all the bed linen with hot water to kill the dust mites. & to keep all soft toy away from her cos he feels that medication is not working too well for her. It could be due to the environment. But he still prescribe zyrtec & dhatifen to build up the lungs. After which, the vomitting stop yesterday. I need to monitor her for another week to see if that helps.

cindy,
i think the message prob meant for me instead of tambourina. coz it's jk who's down with cough n got phlegm. tam's daughter's got fever. hmmm...maybe i should clean the bed linen too jus in case. tks.

iceblue,
really happy to hear the good news abt janson. u & celeste gotta rest more.

HI Aletheat

Yr email account quote overlimit liao. I can reply you. so here to tell u transfer been made.
Sorry for the delay.

To Account DBS Savings Plus
027-2-053196 AletheaT
Amount S$9.25
Transaction Reference 1686508479

HI Iceblue
do take care and wishing janson a speedy recovery!

HI msn
happy to hear dat darius is discharged

Seems like a few bb coming down with flu or cough.. seems like e weather not so good. do take care.

hi hui and cindy,

my girl is also down with phlegmy cough. Until yday, she was still throwing up her milk after each bout of coughing fit.

Went back to see PD yday, he said it's unusual that MMR will cause such a long duration of fever (in her case 1 week). Her fever also went above 38degC.

She has been on Rhinathiol, anti-histamine, Zyrtec for a month now. Still no improvement. PD told us that's the max treatment for cough and cold. Thinks she may have mild sinusitis. Given her fever and long-drawn cough, runny nose, he prescribed antibiotics for her. Hopefully that will work.

She's finished like 2 bottles of Rhinathiol and 1 bottle of anti-histamine. Still don't see any improvement.

How come they are suddenly so sensitive to allergens like dust mites?? These allergens had been there all these while, not like they're brought into a new environment.

I read today's news...there's 2 new flu strains emerging.

zenn,
the response to MMR jab varies in each child. Fever starts usu day 5 and can go up to 10 days.I've heard cases where the child is fine, nothing at all. On the other hand, I was told of children who came down with fever as high as 40degC.
You will have to check with PD re taking MMR with flu jab.
Eunice took the MMR jab together with pneumococcal booster. Wanted her to take the varicella jab but PD said wait till 18 mths.

Yes yes, totally agree with Iceblue. Confine our kiddos at home during this period and wash their hands frequently. Hope things will start picking up for Janson and your family!

tambourina,

maybe u can consider bring ur child to see sinseh? bcos ur child cough is about 1 month (am I rite?)? Sometimes u can try chinese med, at least it wouldn't have any side effect.
From what i know chinese med is very good to cure cough...

no lah. review was done on wednesday. today the surgeons will hold a mtg to discuss abt her case. hp is on 24 hrs standby. haiz..

<font color="ff0000">LUNCH FOR JAN THREAD

Date: 20 May 2008, Tuesday

Time: 12pm

Venue: Raffles City (Either Sushi Tei "Our VI Rm" or Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar)

1. icylemon with lil Rachel
2. Aqua
3. AMM

icy,
u well already, i hope? **praying n keeping my fingers crossed for rachel meimei too.**

cindy,
happy birthday! heehee...i copy icy one.

tambourina,
your gal such poor thing... i can understand when they have cough n phlegm since jk's also having it. I always teared when i have to force him to eat medicine coz he struggles and screams and arched his body back to dodge taking it. so heartpain. but jk's cough seems gone, since wed night onwards din give him any medicine already. Not sure if its becoz we brought him to a good PD n his medicine really effective, but he took 'rhinathiol 2%' for cough n phlegm, and 'chlorpheniramine' for cold n got well after 2 days. **keeping my fingers crossed tt its really gone** phew. really hope your gal will recover soonest!

Icy, Hui,

Tambourina,

My gal oso on Rhinathol for almost a month but no use leh. Just started her on Zyrtec for a week &amp; started cleaning all the sheets, toys &amp; floor with hot water &amp; vinegar. Her vomiting improves but not the cough.
I am monitoring for a while to see if things improve. Otherwise, will really bring her to a chinese doc.

Haven been coming to this tread for a long long time. Have been very tired recently as my little darling also down with flu and have been holding back the jab that is suppose to be done last month.Haiz... Have been spending alot on doctors... Ya, would like to inform you gals that im consolidating datas for Car Insurance Quotations. Understand that most of you driving and do not have the time to go round searching for the cheapest insurance. This company provides a list of Insurance for you to choose on. To save Time and Money so that you have MORE TIME n MONEY on sprees...HEHE... Pls PM me in order to have a FREE quotations... Thanks gal for your Time

hui and cindy,

my girl threw up her milk.... again..last night. I'm getting exasperated. Why is the medication not working? Has she become immune after one month's consumption? It doesnt help that my hubby is going overseas next week for reservist. 3 weeks....seriously dunno how i'll manage if she doesn't get any better.

hui,
somehow my girl likes the sweet raspberry/strawberry/orange flavour of the syrups, I have no prob with feeding her medicine through syringes. JK doesn't like? The PD said rhinathiol and chlorpheniramine are the max treatment for cough and cold. Good that they're effective for JK and he's getting better.

cindy,
pls let me know how your girl is faring. Does she have runny nose?
I'm at my wits' end, will bring my girl to a chinese sinseh if she doesn't get better.

icy,
any updates regarding rachel's surgery?

tam,
your girl's cough how bad is it? when jk's coughing badly, he doesn't really eat except BM. i read tt dun force him to eat if he doesn't want, coz he'll throw out. N he cough till vomit out mucus/phlegm, i think his throat felt better after that. N i also apply 'vicksvapourub' on his feet and let him wear socks to sleep, coz remember it helps to relief coughing discomfort when sleeping. jk din cough when i do so to him at night, so i guess maybe it's effective. u might want to try if your girl coughs n can't sleep at night. when your hubby goes overseas, its really better to ask someone to sleep over with u...coz know its gonna b very tiring handling a sick child alone. hugs.

tam,

You may want to feed her smaller meals but more times each day. She has slight runny nose. But runny nose seems to improve but not the cough. Mayb you wanna try let her sleep elevated with 2 small pillows. it will help them to sleep better.
You can also consider diluting her milk for this period.

Icy, dun worry too much, rachel will be fine.

thank everyone for your support! Good news is janson platlett went up to 89 liao. Doc say if tmr blood test show increase again, he can go hm liao! Hurray!

but, was thinking let him stay one more day, cos his cough still not ok yet. Worried may get worse if bring him hm.
Sighz.

iceblue - happy that BB Janson is making excellent progress! BB Janson, Jia You!

Icylemon - BB Rachel will be ok, don't worry!

iceblue,
happy to knoe tat lil janson is well again. you must have been very tired.
jia you janson

after since darrius discharged, he hasn't been sleeping well. will keep on waking up and cry at night, tossing and screaming. duno wats wrong :s

icy, iceblue, msn_queen,

hope your lil darlings get well soon okie..

the weather haf been sooooo bad dat many kiddos are falling sick...mine is recovering from bad bouts of flu oso...wif greenish phlegm...

my boy's flu cycle machiam menses like dat..once a month..so wan bring him for jab oso difficult..

msn,

maybe darrius is feeling uncomfortable &amp; cranky..give him sometimes or distract him wif toys or ....TV??...

MSN Queen, Ice Blue &amp; Von - Glad that your babies are well now. Guess you guys have not been sleeping and resting well.. Do take good care of yourself as well.

Tam, my 2 kids are always down with cough &amp; flu. Same as your situation, they can finished 2 bottles of each type of medication without completely heal. Took so many types of medication till Malcolm already knew which is for what. They have been like this since few months old...so you can imagine the amount of medication taken so far.

Especially Malcolm, he has taken beyond the no. of anti-biotic he is suppose to take within a yr. According to dr, it is best not to take more than 6 anti-biotic in a yr. (he has taken abt 8 to 9 in a yr)

If any of you knew of any good chinese dr , pls let me know as well.

Bb_milk, you can bring him to serangoon central, if you need contact, i can pass to you thru sms. Now e name card not with me.

or there is one more at chai chee, known as "yu guo". Think icy brough rachel there before.

Today really a up n down day for me!

firstly, e doc came with e blood test result, told us that his platlett went up to 138, which shows good improvement.

then ltr tell me that is white blood cell is over the average. Sighz.

Then as janson having diarrao for 4 days liao, did a stool test, confirm he kana infected with rota-virus. Lagi sianz!

Then e stool went for further test, but result would only be out 3 days ltr. Hopefully nothing else liao. If not sure faint.

sighz.

good morning...

iceblue, pat pat. janson will be well soon. just curious i tot janson had taken rotavirus?

msn, i remember iceblue shared that janson also didnt sleep after discharged the last time. think they couldnt get over the fear n pain they went thro in hospital? hope dar will b fine soon.

iceblue - m glad to hear tat janson is doing so well. great job janson!!

babymilk - long time no "see"! miss u badly.

Hi Zenn,
I hope Darrius will juz recover faster!
It all happened since he discharged on Tues, then KKH gave him anti-biotics to eat at home. Then since thurs night, my MIL decided not to give him the medicine, as he pooed very freq after he came home, and decided to try out by not letting him take the medicine.
On Fri, we realised that there is rash-liked on his groin area, since he is supposed to have his MMR on sat, so we sticked on the appointmet to find the PD to check on his groin instead. Then the PD said his is a fungal infection, which may have caused by the anti-biotics!! Given him fungal cream to apply....
Then today, his whole body and face juz popped out red spot all over... looks like measles kind!! Sigh... brought him to see GP, and said his is allegery to the anti-biotics, ampicillin that KKh has prescribed!! Walau damn suay lor...

Those little red spot jus keep popping out like nobody business, now his whole face is affected. And as of now, it seems to be more &amp; red. His palm and foot oso started to have... Hmmm.... sound like HFMD anot huh? What should we look out for? His red spot doesn't seems to itch leh, but we see like very gek sim lor.... coz is really alot

I suspect when he came home that night, he already not feeling very good, juz that the effect came days later then can be seen from eyes.... sigh!!!

Icy,
I called KM to ask for 3 makeup lesson fo him. I dun think he can go even this coming last lesson liao. The lady said to update them again and maybe they will let him join another sem class for 3 lesson.

LUNCH FOR JAN THREAD

Date: 20 May 2008, Tuesday

Time: 12pm

Venue: Raffles City (Either Sushi Tei "Our VIP Rm" or Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar)

1. icylemon with lil Rachel
2. Aqua
3. AMM

good morning mummies &amp; daddies.

iceblue - update us more of janson boy ok. thanks!

msn queen - i have yet to talk to KM. will call later to arrange for makeup class. maybe will arrange the class together with u.

Iceblue, good to hear that Janson's on the mend. Keep us updated, tho' I think he's ready to go home soon.

MSNQueen, what did the doc say about the red dots? Allergy or false measles? Recently Jayden also came up with a lot of small red dots on his body tho' there were no fever bouts. His groin area also had red patches. The PD was puzzled cos he said heat rashes would usually be contained in a couple of specific areas. Anywayz, he prescrived anti-biotic cream. Dunno if it's due to that or if Jayden was already recovering, but after 1 day, his spots and red patches vanished. Strange....

Mummies, my twins have also been falling sick very frequently. It's like once every month or 2 months. And they've been taking cod liver oil, which I tawt should fortify their immune system?! What is happening? I don't recall having fallen sick so frequently when I was younger. U think kids of this generation have lower immunity? Thank God my company covers PD expenses, cos' I've been taking them to the PD as often as once every 1-1.5 months. Headache....