(2007/01) Jan

To those who had replied to my SMS, you have been included in the gifts to Janson. I'll email you Mummies and Daddies on the payment details and the items I've ordered, once I get home this evening.

CashewNut, how we trained the kids to sleep on their own when they were 8 months old was to do it the heartless way. We placed them in their individual cot/playpen and closed ther door (separate rooms). Initially, they would cry for as long as 30 mins, but as the days passed, the crying bouts gradually lessened to 15 mins, then 5 mins. Even now, they still cry occasionally, for a while, before settling in to sleep. They are both now sleeping in the same room as hubby and me (boy is his playpen, girl on the mattress, on either side of our bed). We usually wait till both are sleep in their respective rooms, then carry my girl from the nursery (maid sleeps there) to our room onto the mattress.

As for A/C temp. I usually set it to 25 degrees. Re. pacifier, I tried it on my boy when he was 3 months old, but he kept spitting it out, so we gave up. My girl had never been on the pacifier.

Hope the above helps.

Hi Alethea, thanks for sharing.. I used your methods once when owen was 8 mths old but ends up he win the battle, and that experience really scare off my boy n make him become very insecure, whenever i leave his eye sight, he sure start crying, n this continue for abt 2 wks, so hubby dun like that idea.. may be wait till we have new member joining in, hubby will change his mind..

Thanks for sharing the aircon temp too, i bring owen to PD today, was advice to set the room temp at 25 - 26 degrees.. if the baby still feel hot, we can even dress him in short sleeve and short pant..

ha.. my boy oso spit out the pacifier at the begining, but mil very persistant, so my boy get hook on pacifier, see.. all the baby can be train one..

Hey mummies, my niece is very picky on food, but she love the creamy salmon ABC pasta very much, she even ask my sis to cook it again.. sugar, ni shi xin de (u are very good)

My heart goes out to all the babies who are not well. May you have a speedy recovery! For mummies & daddies who are looking aft their precious ones, "ni men xin ku le" - pls take care of yourself too. God will bless all your little precious darlings, pls do not worry!

Cash - Tks for your encouragement, no choice, I oso got a picky gourmet at home! Actually was supposed to share how I train Kimi with Lawpei and Mash too but somehow I jus din hv the time to do it (sorry, lawpei & mash). Since, I'm at it now, I shall jus share what I did. Sorry, mummies for the long post!

IMO, since you hv oradi weaned Owen off the paci, then do not re-introduce it again. It;s not the best way to sleep train.

I've always known that I would like Kimi to sleep on his own, hopefully by 2 but I oso know that every bb has their own internal clock and readiness so I thot I'd start conditioning him early so I wont be pressured by a time-frame so as to say.

I started getting him used to :-
1) learning to calm himself and having a quiet time in the cot on his own
2) sleeping in the stroller while out on his own

1) To encourage quiet time, I would not pick him up immediately when he wakes. I would let him play, scream or cry at least for the first 5min (for a start) and slowly increase to 10-15 mins before I attend to him. Of cos, he mus be in a safe place. Even in the middle of night when he wakes and demands attn, I will jus ensure that he is safe, not too cold or hot and will tell him in a low & firm voice to go back to sleep. Cos, I will not give him any feed unless he did not have his last feed at 10.30pm which is unlikely.

Initially will be hard but u mus perservere for results to come.

2) As for sleeping in stroller, the moving action helps to rock them to sleep but don do tis everyday as u don want to associate tis w sleeping but its a good way to get them to sleep on their own w/o carrying or patting. At times like tis, I will jus walk around and give him his blankie and he will fall asleep.

Once a baby is able to do 1 or both of the above, you can try to let them sleep on their own.

The best way to try out is to find 1 sleep slot which they are most sleepy, be it the night sleep or naps. Carry him in your arms and tell him he is going to sleep on his own n aft tt you jus put him in his cot. Then jus do it and leave the room. If it is at night, I have the nightlight on.

He may jus fall asleep or scream. In the instance he screams, ck on him aft 5 mins and tell him he needs to sleep, leave the room and repeat till he falls asleep. As the days passes, increase till 30mins.

I know its very hard to hear you bb cry but sometimes really no choice. That is why I prefer to take the long way of conditioning. I din want to give myself a time frame like need to train within 7 days or so. But, once you set out on the crying out method, you HAVE to stick by it or else the next time when you try to use it, it will be even harder.

It is impt tt they learn to have their own quiet time cos when they are older and do not need naps, tis quiet time is a good way for them to recharge. Once they know how to be on their own, when they wake next time, they will call for you when they are ready,

Another sign that shows tt bb is ready to sleep on his own is when you are carrying & patting him to sleep, he will 'push' you away while almost falling asleep.

Having said all that, I miss cuddling my baby to sleep so some days I still do that. Think we, women are contradictory creatures : we want them to sleep on their own and when they do, we miss carrying them in our arms!

But, recently, Kimi a bit haywired aft I left him with my sis for the night when I went for 500 concert. He don want to sleep on his own and demands to be carried. So for now, I am carrying him again but I will slowly start to leave him in his cot soon.

I do not know whether Owen's sleeping area makes any difference. But I have been letting Kimi sleep in tis cot since few months back. Tis cot can be converted to a bed so that the transition from cot to bed will be a smooth one.

We oso hv to start planning for that cos alot of sleep probs may arise when we trf our bb to a bed. But being in a familiar environm will make it beta.

Phew... so sorry for the long post. Pls feel free to contact me if you need to chat more.

Thanks for all the concern. Really appreciated that. I hope BB Janson will recover soon too, its really making us parent worrying when our child is hospitalised... *sob*

Anyway, hopefully Darrius can be discharge tml morning. He has been on drip since Sunday noon... and was not allowed to have any milk until abt late afternoon, 4+pm on Monday. very excited when he sees that, but only half of his usual amt. 3hrs later, he asked for milk again.... we asked the nurse, and permission granted, another 120ml for him :p

His condition is called Intersussception, whereby his intestines telescoped. Can find some info on net, and some stated that having rota virus vac had linked to this. Anyway, this is very rare happening in singapore, and they had some1 to do research study for bb below 2yr old on these. His case is been requested to include in the study. So far common symptons is been sick, down with flu & cough 2weeks before. Unknown to why it happened but maybe becoz when he is sick, virus attack ba.

So maybe this can take as a precaution to you, and take note of tell tale sign that bb is having tummyache/cramp like when he keep bending down and in pain, wanna vomit. He is almost rolling in the car and wanna only lie on tummy. At a stage, his eyes like very restless and keep dozing off kind.

Ok wanna sleep too... am tired liao. He is extremely grouchy when he see nurses or Drs.... too tramutised liao..... :S

Hi AletheaT,

have transfer. pls chk.

thks for the hardwork in selecting the gifts.

msn_queen & Iceblue - take care of urself.

BB Janson - Please recover soon as everyone is worry for you.

AletheaT - Hav transfered the $ to u. Transaction ref: 1683367627. Thks for the coordination.

Msn_queen - Wishing Darrius speedy recovery. Take care of yrself also. Must be tiring for all of u.

BBJanson - U must be strong to "win" this battle.

Iceblue informed that Janson is still in the high-dependency ward. They're waiting for the blood specialist to visit later.

Good morning...

BB janson & darrius will b well soon! Iceblue & msn, u ve to take good care of urself too

alethea, thanks for arranging the gift!

cashewnut, ya estelle still on pacifier. how did u manage to wean off pacifier? we do not on aircon at night. in the past estelle will sleep back after pattin if she wakes up at night but lately she always demand for pacifier n think its teething so some nights she not been sleeping well

btw any bb experience v bad separation anxiety? estelle lately little thing will cry or 'ng ng ng' sometimes really cannot tahan

alethea,
i've emailed u the details of trf. thanks for co-ordinating and buying the gifts. must say its really a touching gift and good gesture. well done for the Great job!
kao_kiss.gif

msn,
as i read, i am very frightened and scared too. upon hearing janson's condition, i also very worried abt JK. JK's now down with a bad cough and got phlegm n runny nose. he's coughing quite badly ytd, so i decided to bring him to another PD (the 3rd doc seen so far since thurs) this morning. felt much relief aft PD said he's only got some sort of viral infection, forgot the term liao... Am hoping he'll recover from cough very soon.

re: cough
i heard cough sometimes gets quite long to heal... dats wat i afraid of.... n janson's case, anyone knows how come he suddenly got the pneumonia disease?

JK only had 1st injection for pneumococcal, 2nd jab not taken yet.... is he immune if he jus took 1 jab?? nowadays all these things horrify me...

Hui, my twins are only due for their 2nd jab of pneumoccocal in mid-May. I'm also worried. In fact, I don't even know if I should take them to the zoo this weekend. Last weekend we took them swimming at the pool. My mum, upon knowing, said I shouldn't have cos' can get germs from the swimming pool. SIgh....Now don't event know if I shd continue to let them go to their weekly Growing Up Gifted class....

Yos, u still wanna buy, ah? I went down to the Lok Yang sale on Sat and bot stuff again. Total damage, incl. of hubby's was $375. I think I've had quite enuff liao.

hui & alethea, indeed there r alot of virus around. i had quite a few clients (adults & baby) kena hfmd n i was pretty worried too esp i still have to meet them to do claim etc but i guess we still have to live on n be more careful. unless we not going to go out at all but again 24x7 at home doesnt mean we are 100% safe right.

oh ya, avoid bringing kids to hospital for now cos one of my client's daughter was admitted at TMC for lung infection. Shortly after discharge, she kena mild hfmd n client believed that her gal got it fm hospital as she overhead nurse mentioned there were few hfmd patients

alethea, i raised my concern abt gg zoo too last wk. think i will bring estelle to botanic garden or ecp instead.

Dar is discharge already. he look ok to us, normal. juz tat had been long in bed for 2.5 days, when he walk ard more like hunpty dumpty.

still gotta monitor nezt Two weeks as got chances will coming back agin

J&S - haha me also bgt a lot liao....nw my hm look like a mini childcare centre cum Riding centre
1387412.gif
.....juz happen to surf the net & saw the Toys R Us Sale....as wifey will be at Robinson sale 2ngt so me no program so might go & c c lk lk
1387413.gif
Wakakaka.....

Zenn, Hui - Haiz nwaday so scary to bring kids out
1387414.gif
....so many virus around. My Ian is also currently down with cough & flu. Had it for 1 month + liao. Had went to PD & Chinese Sinseh but still not fully recover yet. Haiz....was suppose to go for Op but had to reschedule to next mth

yos, yalor. was at my MIL hse last sat n my hb's nephew was coughin and the kids were playing together. i was so scared n i tried not to let the nephew to carry estelle. my hb gave me a kind of look but i told him i cant afford him or estelle to fall sick :p

JL having sale? btw wat brand of wipes r u guys using now?

msn,
yeah, darrius has been discharge. happy for u. jk also walk like humpty dumpty too, dunno is it becoz of medicine or he really no strength coz poor appetite. hiaz.

btw, anyone knows how's our dear icylemon? she got HFM from rachel is it? sms her but din hear any reply from her. hope she's okay.

Zenn - me mixup...it Robinson Sale nt JL Sale.....JL sale was last week....kekeke went to too many sales liao
1387453.gif
......My nephew also juz got cough & flu....they r both taken care by my mum & cousin....jialak man

hui, icy told me she is ok n rachel the same. didnt ask her further.

yos, stress right. my maid also sick for the last 2wks n i keep tellin her must wash hand b4 attending to estelle
guess u must burned a big hole in ur pocket hehehehe

Zenn - On the wipes....am using a few brands, pigeon, avent, carrefour brand, "the cheap but gd yellow package" brand........haha...sound like supermarket right?
1387466.gif

Hui - Yea me also sms to icy previously but also no reply....hope she is alright

Kate - ok will keep a look out for good deal
1387475.gif
Toy R Us here I COME

Zenn - Yea man really stressup with all the sickness around.....So must spent $$$$ to destress....wakakaka....Me no pocket liao....the hole had burnt thru liao
1387497.gif

kate - their warehse is jus opp the sale tent...so the stk is constantly stkup...so sure got things to buy one
1387549.gif
but got to remember to roughly check the content of the stuff to make sure that they r complete & wking well....had went the next day to exchange for missing/default items.
1387550.gif

I'm still using CArlson Wipes, but upon Hui's recommendation, I bot 6 packs of Sweet Cheeks wipes from NTUC (they were having a 1-for-1 promo last 2 weeks) to try out.

hello all!

want to ask if your toddler developed fever when he/she took the MMR jab? if so, for how long.

Today is the 10th day after my girl had the jab, her temp last taken was 38.4degC. Her fever came on and off since day 5.

hi tambourina,

when jk took MMR tt time, the polyclinic nurse said its quite common for them to develop fever in 3, 5 days or 2 weeks' time. fever comes on and off over a few days quite common, as they are developing anti-bodies to fight the bacteria. BUT if higher than 38.5 degrees for over 3 days, advisable to quickly send child to A&E in case develop any other viruses. hope your kid recovers soon.

I'm back in Holland.

So shocked to read that Darrius and Janson were hospitalised!

Glad to also read that Darrius has been discharged. Take care msn qn and hope Darrius recover 100% very soon.

iceblue - hope that Janson recovers soon too! You and wifey must take care too!

I also fell sick the on the flight back...lucky hubby helped me for one day and I had a good rest and recover more or less liao.

seriously, nowadays so many virus going around...feel like just staying home and be a hermit!

kate,
jus like to share my feedback regarding wet wipes, i've used kodomo's, then angels, then only try carlson's coz angels OOS. carlson's quality n moisture n size abit similar to angels, but i find it more 'slippery' as in quite difficult to 'fold' when cleaning poo. its Zhuzhu who recommended me 'sweet cheeks' from ntuc. its selling at $3.95 for a pack of 90s. quite ex if not on promotion. if on promo buy 1 get 1 free, its price comparable to angels. N its among the best for this price range of wipes i've used. its thickness n bigger per piece compare to angels. i think the buy 1 get 1 free still on till 30 april. u can check it out.

Gd Afternoon Mummies!

MSN - Glad that BB Darrius has discharged.

I went to the toys R us fair this morning, finds the sale pretty good, most of them are 50% off. A lot of bulky toys sets available for grab. Personally find the fair pretty neat/organised and they hv testing counter to ensure that the toys are functioning...but long queue. Heard the DJs saying it's while stock lasts, so a lot of toys are OOS fast, like Thomas the Train, Kitchen set, etc. Personally find the fair worth going. My total damage is $100, a medical trolley play set, kitchen set, disney vacuum cleaner and mini fridge. Oh no, must cut back on my meals...

hi hui,

thanks for replying to my concern.

My girl has been down with cold and cough for the whole mth of April. She has been throwing up her milk and porridge due to phlegm. Hubby and I had been wiping and washing bed linen until we've become numb.

Wonder when we'll see better days.

msn queen, happy to know that darrius can go home.

Iceblue, wish janson a speedy recovery.

aletheat, thks for arranging the gifts. Transferred the $ to you already.

tambourina,
oh no. my jk also cough n got phlegm, change bed sheets once, hopefully our kids get well soon!

lawpei,
good to 'see' u again. was guessing u might have gone back to holland coz din see u ard. glad u've recovered. ya, if sahm sick, hubby also need to take leave...

zenn,
tks for updating on icy.

janjanmum,
ur review on toys also tempt me to go...but now jk's not well, i also dare not bring him out of the house... save money.. heehee..

hui,
agree not to bring JK out too, virus flying around. But I will also advise not to bring kids along too, as the walkway is small and as parents carry the bulky items in the shopping bags provided on their shoulders, pretty dangerous as kids may get hit :)