(2007/01) Jan

Claire's jabs all the way on thigh except for her BCG in the hospital. Now will change to arm ah?
Think I will request to be thigh or butt because her arms very thin leh. I think she like me, bottom heavy. LOL.

melody:
wow.. shayna took two jabs!? brave girl..
there's a second pneumococcal jab is it?
oops.. then it means that this friday, kienan will have to take 2 jabs also?
he took his first pneumococcal jab during his visit after turning 1yr old. so this time must take 2nd pneumococcal jab and MMR jab? aiyohs.. poor boy. my heart pain for him..

dr chan gave shayna two jabs, one on each thigh?

sherl, most of the times is thighs as it's more baba :p

char, when she was 1 year also 2 jabs. pneumococcal 1st jab + chicken pox jab.

Ya Dr chan gave her 2 jabs. 1 on each thigh. so after that there's plaster on each thigh :p

Charm, TalentPlus can be found at most Community Clubs. It's a playgroup (PG) class run by a private organisation. TalentPlus can also be found in some private estates.

I intend to take the kids to polycinic for MMR jab cos it's FOC. DOn't want kinderclinic cos' it will charge an arm and a leg. Even my PD there told me for MMR, let them take the free ones at polyclinic. But chickenpox vaccine and pneumococcal, I let them take at Kinder.

alethea:
i see... okies. thanks for the info! hopefully i can find one near my house...
was looking for a playgroup to put kienan into sometime at next year.

mymelody:
i see.. kienan only took one jab when he was 1 yr old cause i didn't give him chickenpox jab.

mummies:
what's your thoughts on the chickenpox vaccine? any of you not going to give ur babes that jab? cause i'm not sure if i should.. maybe good to just let them have it? cause dunno how "good" the vaccine is for their body.. it's only been ard for a short period of time, compared to how long MMR has been in the market.
any comments/views?

hello mummies!

bought my boy for MMR jab today..juz came back..

icylemon, sorry i din cfm wif u the bed bp..i can't find ur mobile no. and i din log in also..i give it a miss...

talking about jabs...Trisha still has 4 more to go and have to do all in Holland.

1 Pneumoccal, 1 MMR, 1 18mth 6-in-1 booster and the last one is Mengitis C vaccine and is compulsory in Holland but not in SG but I have to follow. =(

can't imagine her being jabbed 4 more times.=(

Icy, so sorry to hear about rach's hfmd. some weeks ago when bianca was downed with fever, the doctor from the clinic told us that we gotta be careful with where we bring the babies, cause hfmd is pretty overwhelming currently. Hope rach gets well soon.

HFMD: Can't be passed to a person from physical contact etc, it's direct interaction with an infected person's feces, saliva, blisters or mucus if i'm not wrong.

Found this article about HFMD in the Mum Centre website, for your reading :-

By Sujatha Rajagopal

Spotting the symptoms? Know what to do.

My son was three when he had hand, foot, mouth disease (HFM). It was a violent wake-up call for me from the “Oh, it won’t happen to us” stage in my parenting life. But it did happen to us. Thankfully, my son recovered quickly as do many children with HFM. However, the episode definitely gave me a scare while it remained and made my family more aware of hand washing and other ways to prevent infections!

What is hand, foot and mouth disease?
HFM sounds like the foot and mouth disease (or hoof and mouth disease) common among farm animals like cows, pigs and sheep. But it isn’t the same illness. Neither do you get HFM from animals. HFM is

A viral infection that usually affects young kids, (below five years old)
Identified by fever and blisters in the patient’s mouth and on his hands and feet
Very common and rarely serious although the infection may still be contagious for a few weeks after recovery.

What are the symptoms?
Common symptoms include:

Fever of 38° Celsius or more (early symptom)
Trouble eating or poor appetite (early symptom)
Sore throat and/ or cough
Blisters inside the mouth and cheeks. Possibly, ulcers on the tongue and palate
Blisters or sores on the palms of hands and soles of feet. Possibly, the buttocks
General fatigue, lethargy and irritability.

Many parents are stunned when their child is diagnosed with HFM because the blisters may not be very obvious to the eyes.

What causes HFM?
The prime culprit is a group of enteroviruses. Of these, the coxsackievirus A16 is one of the most common causes of HFM. HFM may also be caused by enterovirus 71 or other enteroviruses.

Is it contagious?
Most definitely. When your child’s hands are constantly groping and seeking new adventures in new places and then going into his mouth, you shouldn’t be surprised that he is at risk.

Enteroviruses are very common in school, day care and play settings. They sit on books, toys and eating or writing surfaces. They spread easily when a child breathes in what an infected child sneezes or coughs out. Your child may also be in contact with the nasal discharge, saliva, blister fluid or even the stools of an infected child. This is one of the reasons why diaper-changing stations in day care centres need to be sanitized after every change.

Can adult caregivers get it?
Caregivers may catch the infection from their kids if they do not take precautions (see below). However, many adults and even teens are already immune to the virus through a previous childhood infection.

How is HFM treated?
Antibiotics won’t work since HFM is a viral illness. The disease usually resolves by itself within 10 days. Your doctor may prescribe fever and/ or pain relievers and advise giving your child plenty of rest and fluids. If your child isn’t able to chew or swallow due to the sores, try offering him more milk, porridge, soups, fresh juices and soft puddings for a few days.

Sucking on ice chips or eating ice cream may help ease his oral discomfort. If your child knows how to rinse his mouth without swallowing the water, give him a salt-water gargling solution (1/2 teaspoon salt mixed in 1 cup warm water) twice a day. This can reduce the stinging of the mouth sores. Help him to stay away from sour, salty and spicy foods until he is fully recovered.

The sores on his hands and feet may not be itchy. However, do prevent your child from scratching them if he tries to.

Can there be complications?
If your child isn’t able to eat or drink properly, he may get dehydrated. Make sure he is drinking a cup of juice or water, at least once every hour.

In very rare cases, the infection may lead to viral (not bacterial) meningitis or encephalitis. Viral meningitis is a less serious infection of the membranes of the brain and spine. It usually resolves on its own. Encephalitis is a serious and potentially life-threatening brain inflammation.

Weren’t there cases of fatal HFM a few years ago?
A HFM outbreak in Malaysia (1997) and Taiwan (1998) caused complications of encephalitis and death. In 2000, Singapore experienced its largest HFM outbreak to date with over 3,700 infections and five deaths*. These outbreaks have helped the governments of these countries to put in place more effective reporting systems and take appropriate preventive measures.

However, HFM in itself is rarely life-threatening. Complications like the above can be prevented if we remember to respond quickly to symptoms and give unwavering attention to our family’s wellbeing.

How can we prevent HFM?

Teach your child to wash his hands frequently and thoroughly, especially after he has used the toilet and before he eats. Be a positive role model!
Keep a no-rinse cleaning solution or antiseptic wipes with you when you go out with your child.
Disinfect your child’s toys, pacifiers and diaper-changing areas regularly. Speak to your child’s day care coordinator about their disinfecting policies.
If there is a HFM outbreak in his school or if your child has HFM, take precautions to isolate him from the other kids and don’t allow him (if possible) to kiss or hug healthy siblings. Be aware that although your child has recovered, the virus may still be active in his body for a few weeks. This means that he is still contagious despite looking healthy.

Most important, never assume anything. Stay in touch with the doctor if your child’s fever worsens or he is continually irritable despite receiving medical attention.

*Chan KP, Goh KT, Chong CY, Teo ES, Lau G, Ling AE. Epicemic hand, foot and mouth disease caused by human enterovirus 71, Singapore. Emerg Infect Dis [serial online] 2003.
Available from: http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/EID/vol9no1/02-0112.htm

Other sources:
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/infections/bacterial_viral/coxsackie.html
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/hand-foot-and-mouth-disease/DS00599
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvrd/revb/enterovirus/hfhf.htm

This article is for information only and is not intended nor should be used for self-treatment or self-diagnosis. Please consult your doctor for advice and treatment.

ok msnqueen, i agar agar....
btw, i tot u spell wrongly, but it's really LOK yang way and not Loyang way. hee...

alethea,
the babies inc. IS the rundown / mosquito-infested looking one beside the katong student hostel. now i tink abt it, mebbe it was a waste of time for me to have rushed down to take a look at it...

mymelody, alethea,
i oso feel it zek ak to send such a small young thing to school at tis age. but, after the 2nd one comes out, i tink my aged grandmother will have some prob looking after 2 even wif maid doing chores. so tat's y i tot of sending her to school for 3x per wk. hopefully can learn some stuff at the same time lah. heard MMI at Katong Shopping Centre not bad.. gotta check it out soon.

enbi is oso left wif 18 mos dpt booster. same qn as char, juz wondering if everyone took chickenpox? alethea, if u wait till bb is out before taking the chickenpox vaccine, then isn't bb oso susceptible to it? not oni u...

janmum, tks for the article..

snow - sadly to say, this HFMD need not be direct contact. Clinically, yes it spreads by saliva, feaces,mucus... But sadly, kids are constantly playing with their hands and a child that is infected can and will leave these virus on any surfaces they have touched. So, if another child comes along and touches the saliva/mucus and then puts his hands in his mouth. There it goes..

That is why incidence are highest among young children cos they are constantly mouthing everything. Saliva, mucus, faeces are modes where the virus thrives on and am quite sure our babies or those in CC don go around frenching each other or changing each other diapers? Wuahahah! sorry, trying to make this more light-hearted lah cos we are all so scared & paranoid now..

Really, it's all these mouthing and touching that spreads like bushfire. Jus hoping that this unfortunate epidemic will pass soon!

morning mummies!!

very long nvr post here...

icy,
hope rachel is feeling better...its nvr easy to handle HFMD..i think the greatest challenge is when child lost appetite & is itchy + irritable..
but should recover in a week to 10 days..

sugar,
read the swanky kids BP..wanted to get some tees from there...but it seemed dat the stocks are from taiwan..didn't dare to get coz worry will be like those JE551 BP..looks good but turn out no good..realise dat they v disaorganise!!

Good morning all!

Char/faeriekim,
I'm still undecided about chickenpox. Hubby against the idea. Initially I also against it coz I thought just let the kid kena and get it over and done with, but the vaccine is quite attractive to me now coz read that usually vaccinated kids will kena a milder form of the illness if they kena. That is one thing to note about the chickenpox vaccine hor, it is not guaranteed immunity, just increased immunity. Char is right that chickenpox vaccine is still relatively new and the full longterm effects yet to be seen. But what is heard of it sounds good? Haiz, really cannot decide whether to go for it.

sherl & AMM - i heard the chickenpox vaccine is not to prevent but to lessen the pain when chickenpox occur on the kid.

i think i will let rachel jab the vaccine too.

AMM - when can we jab the vaccine?? anytime? or do we need to complete all the necessary jabs 1st?

Sherl, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! But still, you're one of the youngest mummies around here!

Fae, what does MMI stand for? Katong Shopping Centre also near my place. What's the curriculum like? Hours and fees? I tawt u stay in SImei. Isn't it a bit far for u to consider Babies Inc or MMI at Katong? Or does your granny stay ard Katong?

And yah, u're right. Maybe when I'm about to bomb, in my 37th week or so, then let Shannen take her Chickenpox vaccine.

Re. Chickenpox vaccine, think there's an article about it in Mind Your Body today.

Leng Mong, the vaccine can be taken anytime after the 14th or 15th month. And yes, you're right, it won't prevent cos chickenpox can still strike the tot but just that it will usually be a very mild case. And my PD also said, in 10% of the kids, after taking the vaccine, there will be a reaction i.e. a ring of red dots appearing at where the jab was on the thigh. I was told to look out for it within 5 days after Jayden had his jab.

Sherl, Happy Birthday to you! Enjoy your day with your darling Claire. Are you working today?

Aletheat, my friend can't remember the name for the CC at Marine Terrace. she needs to check then get back to me.

Thanks for remembering icy... kekekkekekekekekke

Alethea/Aqua/mymelody,
Thanks for the well wishes. Unfortunately I had to work today coz it's a busy month ahead for me... sigh. Well, today my notti girl greeted me by throwing a tantrum. And didn't want to hug me bye bye when I left for work.

JEN, i m going to. is not too far from my workplace.

wat time will u be there? i will be driving a van there. kekeke...

icy,

Let me know if you pick up any good bargains hor. heehee

mymelody/Icy,
From yesterday she angry with me le leh, dunnoe why also. Must go back and think over what I've done to offend her. LOL. Maybe I forgot to say bye to her yesterday morning? Pattern more than badminton lo.

sherl,
I think the sales are good... got quite a number of items on sales. Only that I duno if you already have lot of toys already not :p

Jen,
I duno if I'll go and see... soo far. But i got in mind wat to get already. So maybe ask some1 to get :p

MSN queen,

Dun have la... Claire's toy collection quite pathetic leh. But FP I'm mainly interested in the Little People collection which they only bring in limited quantities.

Hmmm... how to go. Earliest I can go is Sat lo. Hope they dun OOS the good stuff by then.

I've forwarded it to my Ah Lao. His company's very near Lok Yang. The challenge is how to make sure he moves his butt out of office to drive over....Must make sure he chiongs in at 11am on Friday!

icy - we should be there when they open e door.. hehee hope to get good deals there.
u driving a VAN!!! WOW!! u going to carry e whole warehouse back?

msn q - where u stay, cos i will be driving, if on e way or something, i can go pick u up.

msnqueen,

I think the party is either this Sat or Sun. Tell your hubby dun forget. :p

We definitely not going le because my hubby exam period.

sherl, let me know wat u want to buy bah.. i can keep a look out for u.

JEN, U & kate took leave ah? wah lao.. boh jio. i can only be there ard 11.45am. my van damn obvious de. hahaha... u know wat i m mean??? see how lah... trying to arrange my colleague to drive his honda stream there instead.

Icy,

Main interest is Little People toys, esp the Zoo collection, heehee. The rest of the stuff is er... dunnoe leh. Dunno what they'll have and how much they are. You let me know if you see anything around ok.

How many of you going? If a lot, better take van, toys very bulky leh.. Stream big but not THAT big. heehee

sherl, ok. i will take note. think i saw the zoo collection before at toy r us.

only me & the 2 colleagues. so stream should be quite ok.

Hi MSN Q - thanks for the crazy sales info!

Icy/Jen/MSN - I tot of goin this friday! If driving, can u lompang me if u on the way? Me stayin alexandra area, can meet u gals either at jurong east mrt station or any convenient venue for u...