(2007/01) Jan

icy - mine is

12mths - Premoccual 1st jab(optional)
13 mths - MMR
14 mths - Premoccual 2nd jab(optional)
18 mths - Polio & DTPa/HiB (1st booster)
24 mths - 1st Hep A
30 mths - 2nd Hep A

As for chickenpox, I dun tink i will let kerryn have it.

sherl:
okies.. will pick my stuff up from you tomorrow if you go Hong Lim.
you sms me and let me know if your'e confirmed going there, ok?
thankies!

icy - premoccual is optional... my GP ask me want to take anot, i juz say yes that time and she juz record down the date for me... but till now, im still deciding whether to take the jabs anot.

icy,

different docs may have slightly different guidelines. Remember last time when we were preggy, we also heard different things from different gynaes?
(e.g. some of our gynaes said to stay off raw food like sashimi, others said everything also can eat).

I would think that we can follow the doc's advice, peppered with a bit of common sense and our understanding of our babies' personal health conditions.

MMR - Most docs say take at 15mth. From what has been shared here I think the normal timing of 15mth is due to the fact that MMR contains egg protein, which younger babies may have allergic reactions to. But if your baby has been taking egg for quite some time already, just double check with your doc first, think should be safe to take earlier. For Claire I'm leaving this strictly to 15mth because of her egg allergy (gotta start preparing her by trying egg again at 1 yr).

Chickenpox: Most docs place this at 12mth to 14mth? If your baby is in infant care / exposed to germs often, then the need for this is more urgent.

Pneumoccocal: Most docs advise to take after 1 yr (2 jabs). The last time I asked my GP told me to let Claire take after 2 years coz she's considered low-risk (stays at home most of the time, doesn't go overseas often).

i tot of going to polyclinic for the MMR jab at 15 mths.

but like wat the polyclinic nurse told me. she asked me to stick to my GP. if not very messy.

but polyclcinic MMR is giving free leh.

icy,

messy in what sense? I thought they will sign on the same immunisation record (the one at the back of the health booklet) anyway??? *scratch head* I don't think it should be much of a problem?

yeah, heard polyclinic will give free jabs for all compulsory jabs. But gotta take separate jabs (no 5-in-1, 6-in-1).

agreed with sherl.. how come messy leh? dun tink will be messy as GP or polyclinic will sign on the same immunisation record. funny...

din know polyclinics give free jabs leh... now then i know... too late liao.

JEN - last time police wear shorts leh... kekke just kidding..
actually chicken pox is highly contagious and very easily be transmitted. The possible complications are skin bacterial infection, Pneumonia, Shingles. When primary infection is delayed until adult life, the illness can be severe resulting in pneumonia and etc... and can be quite serious. which i read from a pamplet.

bluesky - thks for the info, din know so serious leh. think my GP only said, if bb get chicken pox now, they will scratch them so later not nice.. she din tell me all these..

also r u the mommy, who's bb boy is born on the 12th?

char, i called up to make appt with Dr Chan. Shayna took her premoccual and chicken pox jab after 1 year old.

icy, rachel is so cute. she knows how to pluck her eyelashes.

JEN - actually i also dun know till i read the pamplet. next time if u pass by any clinic, just drop in to pick some pamplets to read abt it. I kanna chicken pox before, mine i think quite mild type already quite uncomfortable liao, i cannot imagine people with big big ugly chicken pox on whole body. must be very gan kor.
yup, Lucas's bd is on 12 Jan..

bluegrapes dropping by to say 'hi' to everybody

SHerl, dun feel guilty. I have started replacing one feed a day with formula and thought that it serves as a good iron supplement. Important thing is you are still feeding Claire with antibodies at least once a day. You have done an excellent job to full breastfeed Claire which many of us could not!

kate, oh dear, I still owe u $$ for the i-play. It slipped my mind even though I have pm u once to check ur bank account and outstanding amount. Sorry for the delay.

wat i mean by messy.

hmm... ok.. the polyclinic nurse suggest i stick to 1 place for all jabs.

if from the start i let rachel jab at GP or PD then dun go to polyclinic.

coz certain jab tat GP & PD gives will be different from polyclinic.

for example, the nurse told me at 18 mths there is supposed to have a booster 5 in 1 tat polyclinic offers. but in GP & PD their 6 in 1 package mite contains this jab too. but some mite not have.

so she suggested i stick to my PD for all the jabs. coz the PD will have a better understand wat jab has rachel took before.

actually i wanted to take the free MMR jab tat polyclinic offers FREE. but i hate the waiting time leh.

looking at rachel's health book now

her PD written on page 57, immunisation record.

her next jab for MMR is during april 2008. by then rachel is abt 16 mths.

another jab is 1st booster DPT/DT vaccine will be july 2008.

wah lao... alot of jabs description. see until i blur.

like wat JEN said is true. during our days dun have so many jabs.

read alot of u r discussing all these jabs.. jus wanna share something which my fren told me.

Think I've said this b4.. sori i so cheong hey, but will say again... the importance of Pneumoccocal. Don mistaken hor, i don work for them or got commission! Keke!

Pls do give your bb pneumoccal asap. Doesn mean if bb always stay at home means low risk and wont get.

My fren's fren oso takes care of her bb herself. But he contracted the disease jus by going to the playground! (and they seldom visit the playground some more!) It is tt scary. BB was seriously ill and warded. Wasted quite alot of money and poor thing bb suffered so much but thank god, nothing happened to him. Cos it is life threatening.

So, for that couple of hundred bucks, it's beta to ensure tt bb is protected agst tis as soon as possible. Don't jus wanna save a few bucks and wait for only 1 jab, we never know and it's always beta to be safe than sorry.

Jus wanna share tis only..

good evening...

bluesky, thanks for sharing. didn't know so serious too but i will definately give estelle cos edmond cannot afford to kena chicken pox so ve to prevent estelle fm getting too.

i second wat sugarbean has shared. in fact my gf's bb kena some lung infection when she was new born - n the bb actually got it fm a friend who visited them.

zenn - oh ya, i remembered you telling me tt! She was in the same ante-natal class as us right? Poor thing hor? Goodness!! How time flies!! Our bb coming 1 yr old oradi!

Ya, its jus like insurance.. anything happens then we say, Damn! Y din I do it? Mayb cos I have weak lungs and a bad asthma and have been thru bronchitis & pneumonia tt I am so fearful? Cos it's really very very scary when the harder u try, the lesser u get any air in. So, I wanna make sure tt whatever that is within my control, I would want to protect Kimi and ensure he doesn need to go thru what I have went thru.

Jus thinking of it, makes me shiver.

Sugarbeanie, that sounds scary.... I was still thinking to let Matt take Pneumoccocal after 2 yrs old.
Think I must quickly book for appt for him, especially he is weak in his lungs.

Thanks for the wakening call.

Sugar - me also wan to let belle take e jab but i looking at 3 'walking' example of the jab..
eg. 1 - my hubby's nephew
eg. 2 - my mum's baby sitting this boy
eg. 3 - my friend's son

1 & 2 took e jab (not talking much yet, now already 2.5yrs old)
eg 3 already talking b4 2yr old...
all 3 boys r of the same age, think 3rd boy slightly younger...
dat's my concern on delaying the jab. i also dun wan anything to happen to belle leh, heard from e GP this virus very common now n anyone can be a carrier to transmit the virus ard.
really in a dilemma..

Hi Jen,

I believe the jab doesn't have any effect on language development.

My girl had the pneumococcal jabs at 2, 3 and 4 months old. She's developing fine in the language dept.

good morning!

Comin in for a sneak since kimi jus slept..

Jen - To what I know, pneumoccocal jab has no effect at all on any of bb's development, be it speech, cognitive, motor, etc. Frankly the only 1 am worried abt is MMR cos the incidence of autism during the period when this jab was introduced showed an uncanny sharp rise. But again, it may be coincidental as many PDs & GP have assured otherwise.

Boys generally are slower in speech & motor skills development. My fren's son did not take pneumoccocal but up to date, almost 2yrs can only say papa & mama.

Being able to speak depends on many factors like the maturing of the vocal cords, the constant speaking and encouragment of the bb's minders to bb, exposure to music, etc, etc.

I think more importantly, rather than worrying when BB will speak, we should be more concerned abt bb's ability to think cognitively and understand what we are saying.

Let's look at it this way, would you rather not protect Belle from this life threatening disease than the assumed notion that she will speak at 2 or 3? For me, health is no. 1, Kimi has a whole life ahead of him to speak and perhaps even argue with me so to me, it is not impt whether he speaks at 1 or 4 even.

Kimi took his jab at 7 months & so far I don see any delay in any of his developmental skills. He is able to walk on his own now and can even do a little problem solving. Eg, he will use a another toy to reach for a toy that is beyond his reach, prodding and poking altho he may not have the skills to hook it towards him.

Kimi can also name body parts and can point to specific objects, person, etc when prompted. He can also sign to me when he wants to sleep or have his milk. To me, such is good enough for him. I don;t expect him to be flying. After all, Jen, they are just babies only! Some of us takes months to learn something, they are only 11+, 12 mths and they have to learn to walk, balance, chew, speak, etc, etc. Don think we can even compare with them the rate they have to pick up things!

Jus sharing my point of view... believe you can be a better judge for Belle than any of us.

BBmilk - wah!! Matt looks so handsome and big now! So macho look leh, so diff from gor gor hor?

Regarding speech....

I only started talking when I was 3 yrs old. My family memebers still thought that I was a mute. I don't even know how to say papa mama... and my very first speech was Teng Li jun's song _ Ni zhe me shuo.

Like what sugar said, the most impt are still bb's ability to think cognitively and understand what we are saying.

Hi Tam, icy & sugar - thks for all your inputs. I also am concern that i will be putting her at risk if she din take the jab.

frankily, i'm very happy with her development but am concern when i saw e other boys.. i also ve read abt e MMR thingy.. very concern on dat too. :p

i ve 2 parties of 'should take jab' n 'not to take jab'.. hear until i blur too.. think i will discuss with my GP (my GP very pro of this jab) & hubby..

regarding pneumo job, i came across a news article that M O H is still deciding whether to make it compulsory for babies to be vaccinated. Up till now, still no conclusion.

In some countries, it's a compulsory immunization.

tam - cos this virus can be very deadly specially on toddlers.. adult r known to get it too but not so deadly compared to toddlers.. they can get death or brain damage... if got e jab if kena will not get so serious till death or brain damage...

well, think i just 'untied' my dilemma liao..
thks mommies!!!

jen - Go for the jab! Prevention is always better than cure.

The vaccine is actually against bacteria (Streptococcus pneumoniae).

As a parent, I would like to know the stand of the ministry. If you consult GP or PD, they won't give a definite yes or no. To be on the safe side, they'll advise us to go for the pneumo jab. So......as a kiasu or kiasee parent, my girl was vaccinated at 2 mths old. Altogether 4 doses which don't come cheap.

Understood from Zenn that there r currently 2 empty slots for 20 Jan. I need 2 slots for 27th Jan. Does anyone want to switch with me??

Afternoon All Mummies,

me too a bit worried about the MMR injection. Just went to my girl's PD this morning, and was asking him is it possible to delay that injection but he mentioned that the cause of autism is not proven. The nurse there mentioned that mumps are very common, so it's best to take that early.

Hi Zenn,

the GUG class will still be on this Sun, right? even though have 2 slots??

Mummies, i remember few days back some of u were discussing abt changing milk powder. Some mentioned that they are not changing cos bringing bb for jab? Just curious what issit going to do with jab? Also, if estelle is willing to drink stage 3, does it mean it's ok for me to change?

mummies..

kekek..few days nvr chat...anyway juz to share my point of view on the jabs too..

i am delaying MMR coz of the thing about them cozing autism...i am suspecting son of autism becoz he show alot of signs...think can delay MMR till about 2yo.l.which was wat i did for my daughter too..hee..

did some reserach about autism..there is no explained reasons why are so many children all over the world affected by this "syndrome"..but according to research, its due to the increasing immunisation, vaccines that the kids haf to take nowadaes, some oso said dat its due to the diet of city people...even perhaps the kids are invitro, diet of the mummy...

most kids dun get autism from MMR oso..but there muz be a reason for govt to wan it compulsory..so i will let son take the jabs all the same.

pnuemoccocul...apparently no heard effects about the side effects except for fever after jab..thinking of letting tyler take it soon...since he had a bronchitis few months bk...its dreadful...although i am not sure if the pnuemo jab can oso prevent bronchitis...wakkaka..their symptoms sound rather similar to me..

fat babe, what r the sign that your son is showing that led u to think of possible autism?

My PD had also ever mentioned about the link between MMR and autism but he said till date, there hasn't been conclusive studies supporting the correlation.