(2007/01) Jan

zenn, i went to PD yesterday so she said if chicken pox if want to take then can jab now if not 15 mth she needs to have 3 jabs, MMR, peumococal and chicken pox.

same yesterday jab 2 times on both thighs she cried so loud :p

leng mong

the below i extracted from the appt card for compulsory jab..

1 yr - 4th Hep B if mother is Hep carrier
1 yr - Varicella vaccine
15 mths - MMR
18 mths - Polio & DTPa/HiB (1st booster)
24 mths - 1st Hep A
30 mths - 2nd Hep A
6 Yrs - Polio & DT (2nd booster), Hep B Booster
12 Yrs - Polio & DT (3rd booster), MMR Booster

for peumococal jab is optional.. if choose to take after 1 yr old, only need to take 2 jab and the 1st one will be when bb is 1 yr old and 2nd jab is 2 mth after that.

I am thinking of bringing Lucas for the peumococal jab + Varicella vaccine soon. Thats why don't intend to switch the milk powder now..

Morning

Kate - Ash had her MMR at 15th month too. Also brought her for chickenpox jab.

hm.. looks like all say MMR is taken at 15 mths... then why my doc put feb 08 in kerryn's health booklet which is onli 13th mth...

will call up n chk with my doc.

btw...i think i opened up one mail dats sent by my fren...end up it tagged onto my contacts and send out itself...if you guys recieve that email...re: please take alook at our website..

please kindly delete it....i didn't know till yesterdae..when i got many "failed delivery notices"

if not it will ride on your contacts n send out to your frens oso..

sorry!!..

good morning mummies & daddies!!

question! question!!

do u let ur baby sleeping on pillow??

currently, rachel is sleeping on the babysafe pillow. is something flat & in rectangle shape.

i have intend to change it to those normal pillow. tot she is big enough to sleep on such normal pillow.

seeking u mummies for advice.

can i still continue letting sleeping on tat flat flat pillow?

morning all!!

icy.. i let my girl sleep on normal soft pillow that we are sleeping n she likes it... duno if there any effect on her anot... but after a when she is deep in sleep... she will flip n turn so the pillow is of no use liao....

Leng mong, actually, even tho' my babies have those flat flat and not so flat flat pillows, they toss and turn so much at night, that they're usually just sleeping on the mattress, with their pillows at the other end of the mattress. Thus, I don't think the pillows matter that much.

Hello mummies...
J&S Mum saw ur blog...wow ur two so cute ha...so fast our babies 1yrs le....
Mind to share ur cake from where hehe...they are nice

JJ

Icy,

Claire got pillows but she dun like to sleep on them. She ends up on the mattress, like Jayden and Shannen...

Zenn, Sherl - yes, varicella is chickenpox vacine

kate - i saw in another pamplet about Baby Immunisation chart says that the Singapore Healthcare Guide states the MMR is to be given between 12 to 18 mths. maybe that is why your pd do that...

Icy - i also thinking abt this question... till now never let lucas sleep on pillow yet. let him try once, end up the pillow fly elsewhere. maybe too thick they feel uncomfortable. Still using folded nappy liner as pillow. kekeke but now i fold a thin towel/cloth with the nappy liner to make it thicker. At least this way, it stay at it place long time.

Just called kinderclinic. The followin are the rates and schedules:

Pneumoccocal - $170/jab (2 jabs between 1-2 yrs old, 2 months apart OR 1 jab after 2 yrs old)

MMR - $55/jab (15th month) (mandatory)

Hep A - $80/jab (2 jabs, with the 1st after 1 yr and the 2nd, 6 months later)

Chickenpox vaccine - $90/jab (after 14 months, can take tog. with MMR)

There's also a mandatory booster jab in the 18th month but forgot to ask abt the rate.

Only the Hep A jabs are safe, while the rest have side-effects. For the MMR jab, fever may set in 5-7 days later.

Does anyone know if the polyclinics offer any of the above jabs?

saw bluesky's post

wat is varicella vaccine???

think i will give rachel pneumoccocal jab after CNY.

1 yr - 4th Hep B if mother is Hep carrier
1 yr - Varicella vaccine
15 mths - MMR
18 mths - Polio & DTPa/HiB (1st booster)
24 mths - 1st Hep A
30 mths - 2nd Hep A
6 Yrs - Polio & DT (2nd booster), Hep B Booster
12 Yrs - Polio & DT (3rd booster), MMR Booster

good afternoon...

bluesky, sherl, J&S, icy & kate, i realised diff pd has some diff schedule for chicken pox. mine also mentioned to be given after 14mths.

icy, like most of the bbs, estelle will turn n toss so end up i keep the pillow hee

mummies, now that our bb is turning 1 can we still give them cereal or brown rice powder form as meal?

also, how often do you change the pacifier & teats?

zenn,

Claire is taking barley cereal for breakfast. I think nutritionally speaking it is ok bah, but you may want to start giving more solid grains (maybe can start off with porridge, pasta) instead of powder form stuff coz it's good for them to start eating textured food. But of course this is dependant on every baby's individual development path. Think some of the babes here, like Rachel, have started on rice?

Pacifier and teats - I have no fixed scedule for changing. But when I see the teats becoming yellow I will change.

bluesky - i also used the nappy cloth as pillow leh, but also no used after she falls asleep cos she will toss n turn..
furthermore, she sleeping with e dreqam bag leh.

Icy - i dun change so often leh.. think more than 6mths liao, i also ve not change leh
but i rotating ard with 6bottles at home.

thanks sherl! i already started porridge for estelle but not everyday as she seems to get bored so i m rotating btw cereal, brown rice, oat & porrige. am thinking since angmo bb also dun take porridge rite heeee btw how did u cook pasta for claire?

how abt the rest of the mummies? wats are u givin ur bb for lunch & dinner?

zenn - my belle very sui bian.
she eats e same fish porridge twice a meal n every day for wkdays n once a day for wkend. Maybe e vege is different but e fish used is e same...

zenn & AMM - belle ve not touch meat yet but she did try her dad's paste (which he cooks it). seems she is e only one who likes it cos e other person (which is me.. dun :p)

hi zenn

I'm in angmo country now and can tell you what the babies here eat...haahh...

bread with this thing call roompate...think it's meat paste/pureed meat. spread on bread and eat like sandwich. that's what my landlord told me. they also eat yogurt and fruits as snacks. think not a lot of variety for them....heehe...

Trisha also eating porridge everyday but now I try to give pasta at least once a week and also going to start changing the texture of the food soon. last night, tried giving her rice with the potato gratin that Sugarbean posted on her blog and she seems to like it.

zenn,

I tried pasta once for Claire, but she didn't seem to take very well to it.
That was a couple of months ago. I think I will try again this week. For the sauce, I used formula milk (if you want I think you can use a bit of fresh cream to thicken the sauce). Ingredients: salmon (grilled beforehand - don't cook it in the sauce because if you do that the sauce may become too fishy), capsicums (all 3 colours). I think that was all I put inside.

Claire is taking porridge twice a day too. Same as AMM, we rotate the veges and alternate between fish and meat. For fish I have let Claire try quite a number. From what I know, she has tried salmon (loves it), ngor he (loves it), red grouper, snapper, garoupa, pomfret, batang, codfish. Meat she has only taken beef and pork so far. Chicken, she will only start after one year old.

Oh, and last week I tried cooking the potato lasagne (gratin) for Claire using Sugarbeanie's recipe (with a bit of improvision from me). It ended up too dry actually, but to my surprise she loved it! So will try to make for her again when I have time.

Sherl,

I tried the gratin last night and I put formula milk to the mashed up potatoes and after baking, it's not very dry like the first time I did, so maybe you want to try that?

Icy

thanks for the message in my blog! I miss you all too, really wish I'm back in Singapore. but then again, if I'm back in Singapore, I probably will be working and missing out all the time spent with Trisha.

I do come in and read very often but didn't really post much cos time difference lah. you all continue chatting lots here hor, provide entertainment for me....ehhehe

AMM - you MIA quite some time right?

how's baby doing? do you already know if it's boy or girl?

so exciting, you are the only one in Jan thread preggie again...who else is preggie must own up so we all can congratulate you! =)

so long never post liao! Our thread really so quiet now.. tinge of sadness leh... guess everyone is busy with work, bb, etc, etc.

Think I read earlier abt some constipation? Actually apples when taken in raw form AIDS constipation & a form or laxative while apples cooked makes you constipated. Bananas are oso a no no for bb & young children as too starchy thus adding more fuel to fire.

Some goodies to help constipation are :
1) apples (raw pureed or juiced)
2) broccoli
3) Heng cai
4) papaya
5) lentils

You can oso up bb's fibre by giving them some high fibre food like Cheerios, Weetabix &/or Nestum. I add full cream milk & fruit puree for a yummy meal.

Actually many others are good too but the above are probably what most of your bb are eating or come in touch with so you can use those.

Drinking barley is good but it is a temporary measure. What's most impt is enough fruit, veg & fibre & of cos water.

Potato Gratin - Tks for trying out my recipe. Glad that most of your bb take to it well. If you can, use a good potato cos the one i made was not dry. But if u feel texture too dry, you can, after peeling/dry heating the potato, add some butter and milk to the potato and mash it and then use tis combo to layer.

However, it is impt to add the butter & milk when the potato is hot or the texture will be v lumpy. You can use a fork to mash. Personally, I prefer to use full cream milk rather than formula as formula hasn't got the richness and fragrance of milk. Maybe you can try and you will know the difference cos my little gourmet will not eat it when cooked with FM - He CAN actually pick out the ingredients he doesn;t like. Sigh...my PD said today.. normally bb are like tt when they are 2, my kimi is only 11 mths.. he cld pick out individual ingredients from a v young age.. sigh.. PD said he is v much faster.. don know to be happy or sad.. His sharp food sense from me so I cant complain..

Will update my blog soon as I made some new stuff before I left but din have time to do so before my trip.. Also will update some pix from trip soon!

Ok, girls, Happy New Year, good health and good wishes to you and family!

Speak soon, unless someone online now.. keke!

hi all...
me online... sugar u still here?

hmmm.... been long haven been posting... bz as work as usual :p

Ya, I cna;t bring darrius to GUG class as I'll need to fly on 26th Jan morning. So will give up the slot to others. Would appreciate you can laise with Zenn on the slot then.

In the process of updating Darrius blog with his birthday pic, if got time can go visit

icy - varicella is chicken pox vaccine

Jen - what is dreqam bag?

zenn- i change pacifier and teats when i see it turns a bit yellow

Sherl - how to cook the spag sauce? can use the bottled type we adult eat? i gave lucas some macroroni or spag when i having my lunch outside and he likes it. So when we cook for bb, the spag so long, is it we have to cut to small pieces? and is it feed one pc one pc or spoonful?
And what brand is the barley cereal? is it instant type? I only can find Nestum Gold which have the Oat with prune cereal and Cereal with yogurt.. i want to let him try new one but dun know where and what to get..
Lucas eats porridge 2 times aday from Mon to Fri at MIL's place. At home on Sat and Sun,can only manage porridge for dinner and instant oat cereal for lunch. For porridge, we rotate the type of vege and alternate between fish, chicken, pork or "tian2 ji1".

Lawpei - Hi
Trust you are settling well in Amsterdam.
Me never MIA lah. Been reading the posts now and then but the thread is pretty quiet nowadays also. At 3rd month scan, gynae can see 3 lines so got chance will be gal gal. Keeping my fingers crossed cos we hope for a gal
It's Ashley's wish too to have a meimei. As for Matt, he's just happy as long as got food, playtime and nap so he is totally unaware of what's going on...ha ha

Sugar - Don't sad say.. i got sms you okie..kekeke.. Really must try the potato thingy everyone is learning from you. I've been the most unadventurous or rather lazy mommy.. never do all these for Matt... Will do my bestest to try the potato thingy for him this weekend

Sugar,

I used Russet leh... thought supposed to be good for mash? Yeah, I added in butter and full cream milk also, but maybe I was too stingy with the liquid, LOL. Must try and try again! Thanks!

Bluesky,
Basically I just used formula milk as a sauce, that is all. But I read and also I heard from Sugar that our babies can actually take full cream milk now, just not as a whole meal. So you can try doing that - like what Sugar mentioned, full cream milk definitely gives a richer and more fragrant taste! Adult sauce - er, personally I don't think so suitable yet. If you want can always make your own tomato spag sauce also, using tomatoes and spices. Er... Sugar, help??? LOL...

<font color="119911">Sherl</font>, what brand of full-cream milk? Must they be the pasteurised type? I want to start introducing them to full-cream milk cos' we're planning to take them to either Aus or NZ this yr, so they'll most likely get into contact with full-cream milk.

<font color="ff0000">Tona</font>, I've been giving the kids an 'ang mo' meal each day, starting with mashed potato, pumpin/sweet potato, green peas/broccoli, chicken/fish with cheese (adding milk to hydrate it). So far, Jayden's been very receptive, eating a lot, but for Shannen, who's a fussy eater, I've to disguise it as biscuit (break the Baby Bites into pieces, which are then used to scoop up the mashed potato combo) before she eats. This weekend, I shall try your cream pasta with broccoli. Hope they will like it

<font color="0000ff">Bluesky</font>, you can try the brand, Healthy Times. I bot it at the organic section at NTUC. Been giving the babes the mixed grain cereal. Btw, I had given the babes 'tian2 ji1' porridge a few months back but stopped after a few tries. The bone fragments tend to fall into the porridge and once, Shannen nearly swallowed a piece. How do you cook your tian2 ji1 porridge, huh, avoiding the bones? You de-bone it before cooking with the porridge?

<font color="aa00aa">AMM</font>, so happy that you may be having a princess!! I also wish for my 3rd to be a girl. Girls are just so much more 'tie1 xin1' and demure compared to boys

Alethea - Thks
Yeah, boys are too boisterous for me. One boy in the family is enough
Hopefully will be confirmed a princess during 5th month detailed scan. Then I can join Aqua, Sherl &amp; Mildy on their shopping sprees..kekeke

AMM, think should have high chance. Pray, pray, pray abt it
I prayed very very hard for my other twin to be a girl after I knew that one was cfmed a boy.

Cashew, your boy (Owen?) is a handsome boy!

Owen say thanks to Aunty Alethea.

Aleathea, i never tell u guys that my hubby is a twin, so when i know i am pregnant, i pray very hard to get a twin, ends up gynea told me having twin is depends on women not guys.. but unlike u.. i always hope for identical twin.. i like to see 2 small little thing with the exactly same look running around..
so i dun mind my 2nd one is a boy too..

Alethea - if buy those tian ji with leg and body, cut the chicken leg from the body, wash and try to remove the black black thingy near the bone part. i not sure whether u know or not, near the bone area, find a white nerve and put it out. it will come out like a tiny string. there will be one on each leg. then i thrrow the whole pc of chicken leg + body in the porridge to cook. The bone wouldn't come apart leh, is it u chop the piece even smaller pc?

Bluesky, i think i did chop the body a bit so the bones might have fallen out. So when the porridge is ready, the meat just falls out easily? I had wanted to debone it but thought that wo the bones, the porridge woould lose the essence and won't be sweet. Will try it again this weekend! *hee* So many things to try, the creamy pasta (carbonara, sp?) and the frog porridge. And og, maybe fish with yellow soya bean soup.