(2007/01) Jan

hi zenn,

seems like I can't make it anyways. Having early reunion lunch with my family on 27 Jan, couldn't find another time where everyone can make it.

sigh...no affinity with GUG class.

Zenn, I am keen. You got how many slots for 27 Jan? But I'm afraid that my kids will fall asleep leh....Will the actual lessons also be bet 130-3pm on sundays?

mummies, i m confused now. u mean we can actually use those bottles pasta paste for bb? how much pasta each time? 10? cos we ve to cut into smaller pc right?

lawpei, thanks for sharing! i tried givin estelle yogurt but she dun seems to like it. mayb too sour?

sherl & lawpei, are u guys referring to sugar's Baby Tuna & Spinach & Lentil Potato Lasagne? can use microwave to cook?

sherl, wat is capsicums?

bluesky, i givin estelle healthy times barley cereal.

sherl & J&S, how many tbsp of cereal u givin as breakfast? now oni givin estelle bread/fruits/biscuit for breakfast as she is still takin cereal for lunch

J&S, i m using meji full cream milk.

cashewnut, thanks for sharing! owen looks like big boy huh

AMM, if u see 3lines v high chance its princess leh heee

j&s, re GUG, now left 1 seat leh. anyone else giving up?

i guess no one's ard now.

i also feel that this thread is getting quieter. I come in whenever i have time to login, air seems chilly... yoohooo....

<font size="+2"> Where ever u are hiding, <font color="ff0000">JAN THREAD MUMMIES!</font> start making NOISES leh!!</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">I miss the good old days when everybody's so chatty n gossipy...</font></font>

Icy,

Yeah, I really very upset. You know I normally very mild one (LOL) but I really don't like it if I see that I am being 'jiak'. It's the principle of the thing. Anyway I have just cleared things up with the organizer. Can go see my reply again. hahaha. Think this is the first time I blow up in SMH.

zenn,
capsicum ah, is green/red/yellow peppers lo. kekekeke... Claire likes.

Alethea,
I used normal Farmhouse fresh milk. works well.
Oh yeah, must be pasturized.

AMM,
Yeah, I used unsalted butter. I bought the individual packet kind... a bit lang fei qian hor. hahaahhahahahahha

haiz, this weekend I gotta finish all of Claire's birthday preps coz next week I'm going to be tied up at work. And this Sat I still gotta go back to work!
kao_angry.gif

good morning all.

sherl - ya read ur post juz now. hehehe... our quiet quiet sherl oso got pi qi one leh. kekeke...

<font color="ff0000">ya mummies, our thread is getting very quiet. understand tat most of us are working. sometimes might not have time to log in.

let's all try to keep this thread lively again!!

jia you!! jia you!! jia you!!

good afternoon mummies!!

<font size="+1">Qn 1</font>: Want to check how many of u started toilet train your baby?

<font size="+1">Qn 2</font>: Training pants: Saw in Jshoppers website, there are 6-ply for Beginners, 4ply for stage 2(those who know 'when'), N 3-ply for stage 3. May i know what type u buy huh?

<font size="+1">Qn 3</font>: Any successful stories to tell with regard to toilet training? Any tips??

Thanks mummies.

good afternoon!

mummies yest i tried cookin pasta for estelle but seems abit too dry n estelle dun like
not sure if she dun like pasta or dun like i mixed everything together. haiz... will try again next time.

hui, everytime we see estelle like want to poo we will bring her to toilet but sometimes too late tho. for me now is just to let her get used to toilet. guess ve to wait till they really can talk to b fully toilet train? u gettin the training pants? i interested leh. any bp?

mummies who gave bb egg - beside egg yolk wif milk any other way of cooking? thinkin of add egg to the porridge...

Hi Zenn,

I jus now cooked brown rice porridge &amp; added the egg yolk and a little white lastly into the cooked porridge.

The texture = fluffy (a bit like cheese)

U may like to try...

Hi zenn,

yalor. I am thinking of getting the training pants from Jshoppers. Now have a few overseas BP on.

After smsing to karen, sherl n firstbaby, think maybe budget wise, I might be getting the 3 ply ones. http://www.jshoppers.com/shohin-eg.asp?Shocd=S65706&amp;Gamen=3&amp;PageNo=1&amp;bunrui1=0
Ard $3 per pc. hahaha...

As for egg, most of the time i hard boil the egg. Then just add the yolk n mash in to any porridge i cook. I haven't try the egg white yet. going to soon.

Thanks lynn &amp; hui! so far i oni given estelle egg yolk too. think will try egg white after she is one next wk.

hui, cannot go into the link leh. what is the diff btw 3, 4 n 6 ply? u ve the link for overseas bp? no time to search thro

Hui, me lazy to toilet train owen cos everytime i took off his diaper, he turn out dun wan to poo liao.. so me might just wait until he can talk and know how to tell he wan to poo then start to train him..

Re: traning pant
you sound like it can only be wear once??

Zenn, I oredi feed owen full egg, i either steam the egg or just add into the porridge while cooking the porridge..

cashewnut,

no lah. training pants are reusable. it's mostly made from 100% cotton. I think I want to get is more for replacing disposable diapers. Using 3 ply ones, i am thinking can tell when he urines... n to let him associate with wetness...

i would hate it if he POOs in training pants, which means i would need to clean up n wash his mess!! but no choice, i need to see if i can time his poo then...

Happy birthday to Sofia (Sambees), Ian (Yos), Kaelyn (kc) and Trisha (mine lah!). =)

Thanks Sambees for wishing Trisha a happy birthday in her blog. Hope Sofia is having a swell time too!

<font color="aa00aa">calling for bluesky and zenn,

bluesky: Are you taking over the GUG slot on 27 Jan? If you are, can I take your slot on 20 Jan?</font>

I just called the polyclinic near my place. MMR is offered FOC cos it's a mandatory jab. Chickenpox vaccine is offered at $70/jab, cheaper than PD rates.

So, could I confirm that now with our babies almost reaching or aldy 1 yr old, the most pressing jab is pneumoccocal, if we intend for them to take it between 1 to2 yrs? the 1st one to take now, then 2 months later take the 2nd? Then in the 15th month, it's both MMR and chickenpox?

What abt the Hep A or Hep B jabs? But are these aldy included in the 6-in-1 which most of our babies have completed?

Help! Confused, leh....

does ur bb encounter lost of appetite??

recently rachel seems to lost of appetite.

not sick leh. as active. juz tat her milk intake lesser then usual. porridge oso dun feel like eating.

how?

need to bring her to see a doctor??

good afternoon...

J&amp;S, for pneumoccocal yes it will b 2 jabs. first one taken now n 2nd one 2mths later. for chicken pox, seems like diff pd has diff practise. mine is anytime after 14mths.

tambourina, can u pls call GUG to inform them u takin over longan?

bluesky, r u stayin put on 20 or changin to 27th?

icy, estelle seems to be the change. rachel eats v little? is she after jab?

hi everyone...

Very busy this week so will not have much time to pop in.

Icy,
Claire also rejects food sometimes, esp when she's teething. When she keeps putting her hand in her mouth, drool a lot and dun want to eat I know she probably got tooth coming out liao. Sometimes these symptoms can stretch over a few days.

I don't think it is too much of a cause for concern, as sometimes babies will also sua pi qi and refuse food, but it should not carry on for too long. Plus, you say she is just as active, so she's probably ok. but you may wanna monitor her to see if she shows any other symptoms.

Or could it be that she wants to eat rice or bread or some other food? Claire will take a bit of bread with a little cheese spread, when all else fails.

Alethea,

Only Hep B is included in 6-in-1. Hep A is not included and it is not a compulsory jab also.

Hui,
Usually Claire will poo once in the morning and once in the late afternoon, so in between my mom lets her wear training pants..

icy:
kienan this few days also like that.. appetite isn't fantastic.. and his milk intake is also not great.. but he's not sick. think maybe they are just going through phases..?

mummies who are still bfing and thinking of weaning baby onto formula soon... or mummies who have bfed babies and already weaned them onto formula:
did any of your babies reject formula milk?
i'm going to wean kienan and start him on GAIN IQ after he turns 1 yr old this sunday.. dunno if he'll reject. hope not! cause i've already started conditioning my breasts to produce less..

aqua:
you here? you started ah-dez on formula yet?

sherl:
you're going to continue to bf claire exclusively still, rite?

char,

I'm trying, but it's very difficult now because I'm very stressed at work and it's affected my milk supply very badly.
To make matters worse, I don't have time to go pumping sometimes. I'm thinking of switching to half-half and still bf Claire at night and during weekends. She takes 3 milk feeds a day now (including her nighttime one), and I'm thinking about replacing 1 milk feed with formula, so that I don't further stress myself out also (talk about vicious cycle!).

Claire has started taking formula a couple of times per month coz during that time of the month my supply drops also. So far she has not rejected it (the greedy thing, humph!).

Feel kinda sad and guilty that I probably cannot carry on with total bf coz I truly believe it is the best thing for her, but I cannot lose my job leh, otherwise she will suffer also. Anyway, hope that if I carry on latching her on even if I replace 1 milk feed, she will still continue to benefit from breast milk.

sherl - dun be guilty cos its not easy and u have been done very well to tahan till now, great job..
even with 2 times aday bf she will still benefit from it

charmaine,

I stopped feeding Trisha EBM since she's 10mths and when we started with Mamil Gold, she don't want. then we switched to Friso and she's ok with it till now. Think Mamil Gold got a very strong smell and she don't like it.

char, i started giving her once a day of formula after her 1st bday too. she is taking enfapro and like claire, she drinks it. phew. now day time she drinks 1 time of EBM from my mum place. the other meal is formula + brown rice or just formula.

morning sherl!

pls don't feel guilty! not that i want to blow our own trumpets.. but i really think that we've done a formidable job to breastfeed our tots till now, when they are almost one..

can understand what you mean about milk supply dipping.. don't be too stressed at work yah.. *pat pat* it's probably cause this is a busy period for you in the office.. it'll pass in time, rite?

i'm thinking of putting kienan on 1 formula feed a day..when he's at my MIL's place.. so that i don't have to pump in the office anymore.. and just latch him on in the morning and evening when i'm with him.. untill the milk slowly disappears... then i'll give him formula..

was just thinking though.. actually, at this stage when our babies are older... does breastmilk still have a lot of benefits for them? thought the benefits is max when they are less than 6 mths..?

hang in there, sherl!

<font color="0000ff">mymelody:</font>
you also started ur girl on formula already...
good thing she takes formula.. i'm crossing my fingers that kienan will take formula..

i was thinking of trying kienan on formula this week actually... a bit gan jiong.. scared that he won't take formula, cause jia lat.. my milk ss has been conditioned by me to produce less cause i'm only pumping once a day now...

GAIN IQ says that it's for babies above 12 months.. do you think that it'll be ok for me to start him on it this week? just a few days before he turns one year old? or should i just wait till after 20th jan, when he's 1 years old?

think i have to do a mix of EBM and formula in the beginning..

did you give shayna a mix of EBM and formula in the start? or just straight away 100% formula?

<font color="0000ff">sherl:</font>
how about you? when you give claire formula to supplement ur EBM.. is it a mixture or 100% formula? actually, it's good that claire doesn't reject formula..
then not so stressful for you..

char,

benefits are less than at 6 months because at the time babies are getting all their nutrients from milk. After that, and esp by now our babies should be getting the bulk of their nutrients from solid food. This is why the importance of the milk component may have diminished somewhat.

But I find that there is still benefits like antibodies and stuff, and of course components like DHA, etc (all the brain-building what-nots) are still present in the best combi in breast milk, coz the composition of breast milk changes with baby's gestational age.

But I guess providing 2 times out of 3 is still good la hor (trying to make myself feel better, hahaha).

good morning...

sherl, dun feel guilty. u ve done a great job to bf her till one. but again i understand how u feel cos i felt the same way when edmond was hospitalized n my supply dropped badly. btw ve u ordered the buffet? think i will go ahead to order this afternoon.

bluesky, pls call to inform GUG abt the switch k? thanks!

mummies now that our bbs r turning or already one, how much milk should they be taking per day?

char, I check with Dr Chan as well and she said the same thing as Sherl. When they start on solids, we can give 3 times solid a day. Solids should take over milk as they receive the most nutrients from solid. Before I started to introduce formula to her, I checked with Dr Chan and she did mention that the iron in our breatmilk reduce by now already :) so not so guilty to give 1 meal of forumla a day :p

i give 100% formula. I didn't mix.

zenn,

My hubby says the boss supposed to call him back today. I already asked him to try to ask for our tables and chairs to be waived. heehee.

Milk feeds - I think different authorities have different suggestions for how much milk babies should take at 1, but I think most commonly suggested is between 2 to 3 feeds at most, as they should be on 3 solid meals by now.

My girl's milk intake is dipping. If milk feeds are recommended at a frequency of 2-3 times/day, what is the suggested amount (mL or ounces) baby shd consume in a day?

my mum juz called me.

she said lately rachel likes to pluck out her eyelashes!

oh no! she is like me! when i was younger i used to have such habits.

jialat!!

i dun want her to be like me in terms of size too.

how how how???

tambourina - i order from Neo Garden for my girl 1 yr old birthday.. onli 10% discount.. if member, additional 5%.

icy..

rachel will be ok. don't worry!
maybe her eyebrow-plucking is only a phase...

mymelody:
thx! so do you think i should ask dr chan whether it's ok for me to start kienan on formula yet? or just wait till after this sunday to start him on formula? think i just wait lah lor.. afterall, it's only a few more days away.. haha..

has shayna gone to see Dr Chan after she turned one yr old yet? you have to call up to make ur own appt or does the clinic call you to remind you to make appt with them?

sherl:
okies.. thanks for the info about breastmilk! i forgot all about how the proportion of nutrients is according to what baby needs...

by the way, kienan is still waking up at nite to feed!!!

ooh yes, sherl, my stuff still with you rite? hehe.pai seh...

zenn,

You go ahead and order first bah... my hubby still haven't receive any call from the boss... coz we got some special requests... hubby say if cannot come to a resolution now we may give up and order from somewhere else.

Char,
yup, your stuff still with me. You want to meet me to collect tomorrow? I may be going to Hond Lim. Let me know.

icy,

don't you find it amusing that rachel follows after you without you teaching her, yet at the same time you're upset?

Seems like habits are inborn.....

don't worry, i'm sure it's a passing phase. You don't pluck your eyelashes anymore, right? :D

help! i very luan!

juz called my PD.

she told me 12 mths jab MMR &amp; chickenpox then 18 mths jab boaster 5 in 1.

so different from wat bluesky furnish me.

my PD one seems like not detailed. how??

1 yr - 4th Hep B if mother is Hep carrier
1 yr - Varicella vaccine
15 mths - MMR
18 mths - Polio &amp; DTPa/HiB (1st booster)
24 mths - 1st Hep A
30 mths - 2nd Hep A
6 Yrs - Polio &amp; DT (2nd booster), Hep B Booster
12 Yrs - Polio &amp; DT (3rd booster), MMR Booster