(2007/01) Jan

1727328.jpg

Icy,

I think baby super look like you. Heehee. I still vote for Regine. Rachel and Regine... hmmm... sounds nice. Heeheehee

have been quite some time i did not visit the thread. looks like most of mom are having #2 or #3... wow..

Just 2 mths ago, together with my husband and our little one we have moved to sydney.

i don't have a good experience with my pregnancy, so a little scare to have the #2. So how different is it?

regards

wow! wat a cutey pie!

btw, updates on my #2, she still has jaundice. so sad. she's a month old tml n level still hasn't dropped to reasonable one (according to polyclinic MO). but i refused to send her to KK and sought 2nd opinion fm PD. so, still observing lah..

kate,
hee.. i managed to get use ur membership leow. no need to sms/pm me. thx!!

CONGRATS to Icy! Your girl is so cute and rosy!
Rest well and have a good confinement! Oh enjoy your 4 months maternity leave too!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
these are the items that are said to be recalled in Singapore by the AVA.

1. M&Ms
2. Snickers
3. Mento's yogurt bottle
4. Dove Cho
5. Oreo wafer sticks
6. Monmilk
7. Dutch lady sterilised milk
8. Wall's all natural mango
9. Mini poppers ice cream
10. Magnum ice cream
11. Moo sandwich ice cream
12. Mini cornetto ice cream
13. youcan ice cream

afternoon mummies.

hui:
i've finally managed to wean kienan off the breast.
hope you will succeed when the time comes.. be patient.

sherl & aqua:
are the two of you still letting ur tots latch on direct occasionally?

Char, congrats! kekeke

Yes, Deszi latch on every night. These 2 nights she refused to let go even when I use finger to try to un-latch her. wakakakak but I am travelling from thurs to sun...maybe when I am back she dun want to latch on le. lolx.

hui & aqua:
hahaha.. thx!
i'm also very happy to be able to wean him off the breast!

but also a bit sad.. mixed feelings... cause the feeling of him nursing is really very nice and intimate.

hui:
last week, i left him to stay at my MIL's for 3 nites (from monday to wednesday nite). when he's there, he only can drink from bottle cause i'm not there.

on thurs nite, he came back home.. and asked for the breast still.. but i just had to be persistent and say that "mummy has no more milk". and say that i will make milk for him in the bottle. at first, he kept crying and crying (see already very xin tong), and kept saying "no need no need" to drinking from the bottle.

but after about 30 min of this, he finally relented and said "mummy, make milk"...
since then, he has asked for the breast on friday and saturday and sunday... but i have to insist on giving him the bottle and saying that i don't have anymore milk for him in the breast.

today (monday), he didn't even ask me for the breast. when he said "drink milk", and i said "mummy make milk for you in a bottle ok?", he said "ok".

think that you may have to try it out for at least one week if you have someone to leave him with. but you're a SAHM, so may be more difficult to wean him... you have someone to put him with for a few nites, so that he gets used to not drinking from the breast?

one thing i learnt from this.. all babies are different. if you are actually still comfy with nursing JK, then go ahead? maybe he will one day just tell you that he doesn't want to nurse anymore?

on top of it all, you've got to be patient and loving when you tell him no more breast. cause i think they associate the breast with security and love.. and without nursing, we still have to display through other actions that we love them..
jia you!

char,
your story i see already feels very nice n not much of battle. so good.. i think i always gets angry when he insists on wanting to latch when i try not to. maybe thats y he cry even louder n more pitiful.

think my problem is i can't leave him with anybody else. N hubby also couldn't bear to see him cry when he asked to latch. so i have to give in lor. HIAZ HIAZ HIAZ.

Hi char,

Congratulations!

Yes I'm still latching Claire, I think you have to wean me rather than her, LOL. She can be totally weaned off le but I bu she de to do it. Mad mummy. heehee

hi sherl!

haha.. thanks..
i can totally understand how you feel. i really feel kinda sad still.. but oh well, there will come a pt of time when i should wean him off, and think this is the time.
the feeling of kienan growing up is even stronger now that he doesn't nurse anymore. it's like he's a big boy already.. (dunno if u understand what i mean...)

hui:
don't stress about it. just take your time then. i still believe that it takes both hands to clap in the weaning process. i'm sure there will be a time when JK will be ready to stop latching on.

in the meantime, just continue to be patient with him and shower him with all the love you can and the sense of security you are giving him when he latches on. slowly... don't sigh!
*pat pat*

hi zhu zhu:
haha. that's a very valid question.
personally, i just felt that it's about time. and i'm thinking of trying for no. 2 sometime next yr. so it's time to regulate my period. cause so far in the past 20 mths after i've given birth, i've only had my period 3 times.. haha.
plus, i kinda have a feeling that nursing was causing my boy to have the habit of waking up in the middle of the nite vs sleeping thru.
so far, since he started taking bottle when he's with me at home, he has more or less slept through.. like, from 10pm to about 6am. which is very good for me already.. haha.

Hi Hui,

Ya I am now in Sydney...
my girl is sick.. poor thing getting the virus from day care... so I have to stay at home for the week to take care of her.. and also for her to have a complete recovery...

morning mummies

hi JJM
my MIL msged me yesterday to say that Baby Bites is one of those that was listed in the newspapers. i don't have papers, so i cant' confirm it. but to be safe, i'm not giving kienan any.
hope this helps?

yah, so worrying. nothing is safe anymore. My hubby just bot 2 more packs of Want Want Take One BB Bites (chicken flavour, my twins' fave) over the weekend. Now, I've instructed my maid not to give them that anymore. When confirmed that it's also tainted, I will be thorwing them all away. The only biscuits I give them now are the Japan-made Manna biscuits and those small melt-in-your mouth sweet type of small biscuit buns and the Maple Arrowroot biscuits from Cold Storage. Even ice-cream, which they enjoy, have to be the Haagen Dazs or B&J now. No more Walls Chocolate Heaven - still have 2 tubs in the freezer

Hui, yup. Just checked ytd to realise that it's made in Shanghai!!! And all along I tawt it's made in Msia or something. My twins have also eaten a lot

alethea,
how's the CC search? have u decided oredi?

how abt the rest of the mommies who r sending their kids to PG or CC in the east, any to recommend?

Just to share. I was reading one of the sharing threads yesterday about China-made products. After reading through I think it is best not to give our babies any milk based products for now unless we are very very sure. Reason being that the manufacturers are not obliged to state the origins of their ingredients - so when they say that, for e.g. theirs is a product of Singapore, or Taiwan, etc., it simply means the product was made in the place, but doesn't mean the raw ingredients come from that place, i.e. the raw ingredients could come from China! So hor, better be safe than sorry.

hey sherl
yeah, i was also wondering about the whole milk-based products. but to check, formula milk should be ok? if not how? refrain from giving formula milk??

Char,

perhaps can check the websites of the various companies. I've checked for Gain because Claire is on partial Gain feed.

"Abbott Nutrition Statement on Infant Formula Contamination in China
Release Date: 19th September 2008
Abbott Nutrition extends its sympathy to all the children and families affected by the recent contamination of infant formula in China. As one of the most respected names in nutritional products, we understand the trust that mothers and health care professionals all over the world put in nutritional products -- especially those used by infants and children. Abbott remains committed to ensuring product quality, safety and integrity in all our infant formulas.

Abbott infant formulas are made in the United States, New Zealand and Europe. Abbott and our suppliers do not use milk or milk protein from China. As a result, our products are not impacted by the current situation in China, and no Abbott products have been found to contain melamine.

Abbott infant formulas are made in world-class facilities using high-quality ingredients from reputable suppliers. All suppliers must undergo a rigorous qualification process before we purchase any ingredients from them. Following qualification and prior to use, each lot of ingredients is assessed to ensure that it complies with our specifications. Abbott performs ongoing oversight of our suppliers, and we perform extensive quality checks on our infant formulas before they are released for sale.

Ensuring product quality, safety and integrity is the top priority of our company and our employees.

To speak with an Abbott customer service representative, please contact 6278 6220."

This is the press release from Abbott's website. So Gain IQ, Pediasure and other formulas from Abbott are not affected.

Thanks, Charmaine. M just playing the waiting game now with my Prince. Edd is 28 Sep, actual F1 day. Some more, gynae flying off to UK for holiday on 27, so if I were to bomb anytime after that, she will assign me another gynae....

Fae, think most prob. I will be enrolling the twins at YMCA half-day CC which is just downstairs tho' I don't think much of the teachers but it's so nearby. As for MMI, my dad and maid will still have to take a short bus ride to Katong Shopping Centre. The same goes for Shaws (Katong). I was also looking at Tung Ling Nursery (Church of S'pore) cos' I really like the environment (the principal said she doesn't mind letting them try out at 24 months, tho by right, shd be 2.5 yrs of age), but it's only for 3 hrs a day. Maybe I will switch them over to that nursery when they reach 2.5yrs old. Any more cases of HMFD? Else, was thinking of enrolling them in YMCA in about 2 months' time just to try out. How about you? Ay CC or PG you've shortlisted?

My kids are on Enfagrow, think I must go to hte website to check out too!!

alethea,
so exciting, very soon ur Prince will be popping!

now i've oso narrowed down to place nearby my granny's place (children's main caregiver)which includes MMI Tampines, LV @ Temasek Poly. But at the same time, me oso going to view those near my house, Upper Changi KL, Eureka, & ECCH. It's not ez this search.

En Bi is on Enfagrow right now as well. pls post ur findings here ok? :D