(2007/01) Jan

hi zenn..

me astro.. newcome to the this thread

regarding this fishy issue :)P).. what i do for my son is.. i remove the bones from the fish when stil raw.. then i poached the fish in milk.. (having first used tumeric powder and salt to remove the fishy smell first.. wash off tumeric and salt).. i add sweet potatos and some sweet veg.. when everything all cooked nice and soft.. i blend in blender.. i find that my boy loves fish cooked this way.. i think nicer lah.. than just plain fish. with sweetness from the sweet potatoes..

also if u used the milk (full fat mlik) in the blending.. then u will increase estella's calcium intake also!

try it?

zenn,
saw ur blog. so proud of estelle. calling pa pa pa..

infact yesterday rachel was very noisy. my mum complained to me tat she has been talking the whole day too. ma ma ma & pa pa pa...

steam fish ah. i steam fish abt 15 mins - 20 mins. put 1-2 slice of ginger. tats all.

zenn, we normally steam the fish for about 10mins then put inside the porridge for her.

estelle is so sweet can call papa already. daddy must be very very happy. and she is so steady can stand so well

rachel's mummy..

nice lei.. i tried it myself.. nice :p
not new method.. i buy a lot of recipes books specifically for babies.. this is a common method..
try it lei. nice :p

side track a bit.. i planning to name my next kid (if girl) rachel lei.. so i can also call myself Rachel's mum hor? then there will be two rachel's mum in this thread.. haha.. i know .. lame.. what to do? i'm bored

everybody,

is there a common blog for everyone to share and perhaps upload photos when gatherings for the babies? something like this one.. march mummies..

http://smh-mar07.blogspot.com/

if not.. i can try to create one.. since me so eng.. no lah. more of bored.. :p would be good cause consolidated and a possible treasure trove of memories in future!

what u all think?

mymelody - thanks! So far so good, ate her cereal and drank her milk. heheh just now I even brought her with my dad to IMM for lunch. =p she's still playful and alert and smiling so I guess it should be ok.

but anyone heard of babies getting skull fracture from falls? I'm afriad of internal injuries.

hello Zombie....hhhmmm..maybe muscleman is meeting me Trisha in slumberland and playing together now? later must ask her if she likes Rayner Gor Gor or not...kekek...

will try your method of cooking fish. what type of fish you use? I very lazy, just cook with the yin yu to make the stock for porridge then mash up the fish and add back to porridge later. I think she don't like it already..got to try something new liao.

Trisha.. iszit? later i will have a chat with muscleman.. he ah.. a lot of meimeis liao.. still flirting around in slumberland park.. but difficult ot control him lah.. Cassovana!

*looking high & low for YOSIMITE & ICEBLUE*

yos & iceblue, come out & play with us! u r wanted! some mummies miss u here!!

Icy, would u come to Raffles PLace, Robinson, CHina Square, Maxwell area if we jio u?
U know we all love u and would welcome u with open arms!

mummies, need some advice.
kienan hasn't been drinking much milk in the daytime over the past few days. yesterday and the day before, he only drank about 20-30ml of milk!
but he has one semi-solid meal of brown rice with puree..

just spoke with my MIL and she said that his stools today is very hard.. yi li yi li (one piece one piece).. like adult stools like that. i have a feeling it's cause he hasn't been taking enough fluids..

and he refuses to drink water...

how huh? any advice? i'm trying not to put anything artificially sweet in water...

Trisha.. muscleman 'correctly' due in jan.. reason being i wasn't unware of sgmotherhood forum in the first place.. felt lost so anyhow surf for mothers' blogs.. and got to know a fellow mum who then intoduce me to sgmotherhood .. she march.. so i join march and always kpo over there.. till recently i think i should come jan lah.. coz odd ah.. my boy oldest (and yet slowest *sigh*) over there..

9th Oct is good for me! Where should we all meet? MyMelody is near Maxwell mkt. my and Charm at GE bld area. Cindy at Robinson Rd. How? meet where?

YY, thanks for sharing. interesting leh. ya how to poach the fish in milk? so u steam sweet potato, veg and put it together wif fish n blend? add milk when blend also? can use FM? sorrie for so many questions

icy, mymelody & aqu, now that she knows how to call papa, she dun 'call' mama anymore leh unless she cryin n need me. jian hor hahahha

icy, i also just steam the fish but estelle like got difficulties swallow leh

charmaine..just use full cream milk.. throw the fish (remove bones first hor.. cut into small pieces.. esier to cook) then bring to boil til cooked ..mash fish into the milk and blend can liao..

hmm defintely kienan is not drinking enough fluid to produce these kind of stools.. muscleman used to be like that and refused to drink water.. is kienan also coming 9 months? .. also if he is not drinking milk.. then only one semi solid meal.. then what he eat/drink for the rest of the day?

i feed muscleman water using spoon . at first he doesn't want.. then i realise if i feed him some food.. then feed water. then feed food.. he will be stupid enough to take all the water without fussing. then eventually he is ok with juz drinking water alone.. then stools all soft and moist.. but defintely not nice smelling.. haha!

think we have another food expert here besides sugarbabe liao...the more the merrier!

Charm - I also feed trisha water with spoon, she loves it and always open her mouth big big but if I put food on it esp porridge, wah lau, she sure just smile at me and don't open mouth..very frustrating.

Zombie - you are right, I also did that to Trisha, feed some food then water then food then water. She ben4 ben4 and drink water and now ok to drink only water from spoon. no need to trick her liao...kekek...

YY, thanks for sharing. interesting leh. ya how to poach the fish in milk? so u steam sweet potato, veg and put it together wif fish n blend? add milk when blend also? can use FM? sorrie for so many questions

icy, mymelody & aqu, now that she knows how to call papa, she dun 'call' mama anymore leh unless she cryin n need me. jian hor hahahha

icy, i also just steam the fish but estelle like got difficulties swallow leh

J&S MUm... i read a lot lah.. else very bored so 'appear' knowledgeable.. also i very poor thing no support from fammily (mum nvr take care of me when young.. so now i got to teach her how to help me take care of my son.. duh).. so everything all trial and error.. so now 'appear' knowledgeable.. actually not so.. rachel's mum.. i not food expert.. rather i lik to eat lah.hence my size..

trisha: haha.. works hor? now i thinking how to let him drink from beaker.. coz should discourage bottle feeding by 1 yr.. he no longer' young' ah.. siann... problematic.

zenn.. .just use full cream milk.. throw the fish (remove bones first hor.. cut into small pieces.. esier to cook) then bring to boil til cooked ..mash fish into the milk.

then add the steamed veg.. to the milky fish mixture (ha.. is this how u call it? :p) bring to boil.. then blend.. voila! the dish is done!!

Zombie - you feed the fish dish separate from porridge? So you just cook plain porridge and this is like side dish?

I've been trying to feed Trisha water from the mag mag cup. she likes to hold it to bite the teat but not to drink from it....sigh...

astro/lawpei:
have tried what you girls mentioned.. but he doesn't want to take from spoon either. we try to feed him water when he's taking brown rice cereal.

astro, here's kienan's feeding schedule:
7.30am - milk feed (latch on)
11am - semi-solid feed (brown rice + puree, etc)
3pm - milk feed (bottle) -- this is the feed that he has only been drinking about 20 - 30 ml in the past few days..

Between 6.30pm to 7pm: milk feed (latch on)
11pm or so..: another milk feed (latch on)

i'm quite worried about his stools..

zenn:
i suspect that he may be teething.. but when we look at his gums, there's no sign of anything.. when we touch also like nothing like that..

he's been waking up every nite the past week.. just crying and fussing..

me and hubby have been very sleep-deprived..

Charm - it's prob teething. It takes some time for the teeth to appear. Trisha was like that sometime back but she don't drink so little but still alot less than normal. she usually takes 150-180ml and that time teething, drinks 60-80ml, good days will be 100ml each feed. It took a few weeks before we see the upper teeth come out. She also cries at night a few times...cry like she having a nightmare, very kelian cries.

this phase will pass. don't worry too much.

Icy,

No lah. cos its seems abit too far for u. lai lai, we welcome you with our open arms.

Charm,
yeah, can oso see u in person.
No worries, last week Eilis oso like dun want to eat like that. Duno what is wrong with her. Mayb she is bored with porridge. But her milk intake still there cos we are feeding her like 13 times every day. She is drinking only 120 max per time. Likelihood, is teething. My dear Eilis has got 6 tooth already. Gosh!!!

Alethea/Char/My Melody.
we can meet @ market street? There is a few eating joints there.

lawpei:
yeps.. kienan has been waking up with very ke lian cries.. poor baby.

how's trisha doing after her morning ordeal? all good?

astro:
thanks for the info on poaching the fish! sounds quite yummy already.. !

trisha mum, though i sometimes use fish to cook porridge.. most of the time. the poached fish is a main dish by itself.. plus some greens. cause i find that muscleman gets constipated and keep straining if eat too much porridge lei..

my muscleman also like that.. keep biting nvr drink.. so fed up use spoon..

charmaine: how old is kienan? his solid intake like abit low for 9 months lei..

hmm. .. could be teething.. my boy fussing also.. he worse.. totally bogay.. ..he got swollen gums. everytime i bring him to ped.. always ask he teething o rnot.. my ped says she asked her dentist fren.. the white bumps can be there for weeks but sill not teething.. wah lua. elusive teething, dann!

because direct latch on.. difficult to tell how much he drinking.. waking up every night for a week could be teething.. but if this persists and no signs of teeth coming out.. then could be sign of not eating and drinking enough..

cindy, alethea & charm,
jialat... the places u gals mentioned i oso dun know where izzit. market place??

my life i only know jurong area, jurong pt, imm, west mall & lot 1...

Char - One other way to make Kienan drink a bit more for the time that he's refusing the bottle is to give him cereal coz gotta add milk into the cereal. We did that for Matt the last time when his gums were swollen eg. He only drinks 4oz out of 6oz so we use the remaining 2 oz to make cereal for him. Coz for Matt, though he refused to drink, he's willing to eat. See if it works for Kienan.

Astro - I'm also giving only 1 solid meal a day to my boy.

Fat babe - Hihi, long time no "see"

Char - I just realised yesterday when bathing Matt, that when Ash was at this age, I was already brushing her teeth.. whereas for Matt, still no need to brush

icy,

you trying for no.2!!?!?!?

anybody know where is the chinese fertility doc dat can help you get pregnant...?? muz queue like 6am in the morning one ar?? or which thread can find his contacts...i need to "get my fren preg"