(2007/01) Jan

Alethea,

I didn't know that they serve confinement food one leh... thought it's just normal hospital food... *blur* kekekekekekekekekeke

Aiyah, thought your meals sounded so delicious...

Dun worry too much, think Medisave should be able to cover majority ba? Can ask your hubby to go down for 'financial counselling'... kekekekekeke.... That time when we went for the hospital tour my hubby asked about Medisave claims for the maternity package, then the staff who brought us on the tour gave us a very worried look and kept trying to send us to "financial counselling"... turns out financial counselling is just the cashier lo.

alethea: tat's wat i heard - Mt.A is cheaper than TMC. personally, i also feel that Mt A has far better parking facilities than TMC and the ppl (the sisters) in Mt. A are very nice and reassuring...i enjoyed talking to them, set my heart at ease and assured that i will be in gd hands. that's some of the reasons y i choose to deliver there though i have a choice to go TMC

Alethea - The $$ is quite a bit but for your sake and babies' sake, no choice lor. Just concentrate on resting well and when you see your babies' chubby smiling faces, everything will be worth it

Was telling my hubby that it'd be quite a sight when all of us have delivered and we do a gathering with all our babies and we place them side by side to take photos...

Financial counselling the cashier? Tawt they will want to assess your household income and combined CPF before deciding to subsidise? Based on both, they sure won't do anything for us one. But will try my luck.

Alethea,

Actually I also thought financial counselling means they are going to try to put you through some form of subsidised healthcare or something, that's why me and hubby kept telling the staff that we dun need... then scarlee she send us in to the cashier who just advised us how much medisave we can claim and how to claim it.

mummies btw how much can we claim from medisave? lets say our bill came out to me $3500. how much will we be paying in cash??

Big Hi <font color="aa00aa">Alethea</font>, nice to know u r feeling better!

heehee...think i am the 1 who started to ask u abt the FOOD at Mt A...good to know it's nice....then i would be looking forward to eating the confinement food after delivery.

when u mentioned your gynae wanted u to stay till 34 weeks, i tot forking out with e $$$ would be alot! i heard some people had successfully cham-siong with Mt A to settle huge bill payment by instalments... prob u can sound them out as alternative option too!( but remember to act ke lian n financially tight first lor)....

Claiming from insurance co. chances are slim. I ever checked with insurance agents with regard to maternity coverage before getting pregnant....but only 1 or 2 solely women's plan does cover maternity complications.....maybe our insurance agent <font color="aa00aa">zenn</font> can advise?

Icy,
medisave got cap on how much can be used rite? so when reach that cap, the rest got to be in cash, i think..

Alethea, was going to ask you about the hospital bill too...it sure is a big sum of money. Any chance to downgrade to 4 bedder or change hospital etc to save a bit? or insurance claim?

icy, depends if yours is single, 2 bedder or 4 bedder...if 4 bedder sometimes still can get back cash cos you need to place deposit upon check-in. My gynae and also a friend who just delivered at TMC (single bedder) told me medisave can claim up to about $1.6-1.7K in all (baby+mum's bill).

i hv chked w frens who recently delivered at Mt A n TMC.... both natural delivery w epidural n staying in 1 bedded ward... total cash to fork out after medisave deduction is abt 2.5k (including the deposit tt u pay for admission).

icy,

How much you can claim from medisave depends on the type of birth you go through. For Mt A, natural birth is 1250 I think, while c-sect is something like 1650.

Mummies, please check with the hospital you are delivering at for the amount of cash you have to prepare. When I went for the Mt A hospital tour in Sept, I was told that we have to pay in FULL first (this means preparing about 5-6K cash??) and then the medisave claim will be reimbursed to us later. This is a new policy. Last week I met one of my hubby's colleagues and was complaining to his wife about this new policy, then she told me she heard that the other hospitals also have this kind of policy now leh.

<font color="ff0000">Alethea</font>, $18k is such a large sum, really do hope you can claim from insurance or any other means. Yah, they serve double boil soup and confinement food for mummies who have juz delivered. The normal food is nice too.
I rem when I was admitted for 3 days of stay in Mt A. I eat and eat. Food keeps coming even before I have digested the previous meal!! Haha..

Good afternoon mummies!

Alethea - glad u enjoyed the ramen and good to see u popping in. Hang in there k?

Bluegenie - i bgt the milk container oradi and it is pigeon brand in a long tube separated into sections. The round one that u need to turn not as good cos like what one of the mummies said, sometimes can 'escape' to the other compartment. But when u buy this 'tower' kind, open up to check that each layer has its individual cover so that the milk powder (after the tossing and turning in our bags, etc) do not kena stick to the bottom of the top layer.. i feel like tt more clean and hygenic or else u keep getting milk powder on the bottom of the layer as you remove to use each time.

Zenn - The digital thermometer i saw and am getting is the one which your fren recommended - Cadi.

Icy - Sunday night i oso got a frightening time when I felt my tummy tightening up and feels like it is folding over or like got a lot of air inside like tt too. I had it at least once 2 -3 hours in the afternoon and when 7pm came, it was every 10-20 mins! I freaked out! I quickly relaxed and did deep breathing and it subsided.. Now, am very very wary lor.. so scared!! Also talk to bb helped..

Sherl - Ya, now bb very active.. he can turn and kick at the same time?? wah, he thinks my tummy a soccer field ah?? hahah!!

<font color="0000ff">bluegrapes</font>, i know what u mean... especially when u r told to CRIB, there's nothing else for u to do ...the only exercise u get is when u wanna urine or poo in bed... where to digest?! kekekekekekeke

I have checked with TMC upon reading Sherl's advice to check. Deposit upon admission is S$600 (4 bedder) cash, can be made in cash, Nets or Credit Card. remaining bill will settle upon discharge.

sugarbean - thks for ur advise on the milk powder container. But when u buy this 'tower' kind, can we open up on the spot to check that each layer has its individual cover? cos normally i think it's sealed up right?

btw, where u got the theremometer? juz recalled that i haven buy one yet...

Alethea - don worry abt the money.. u and bb health most impt.. u r still young.. and working so jus need to cut back on other stuff. I've heard some hospital do provide some form of instalment plan so make use of it if they have. Remember, money is transient, it comes and go. My last hospital stay only 4 days also cost me $2k plus (incl dr fees) if i had to pay cash but with medisave i paid under $1k. Ck w ur gynae if she can give u a special deal on the dr's fees since u have oradi signed up with her the maternity package at her clinic. Your dr fees at the hospital stay is not covered by the package u signed with her. See if she can give u discount/rebate wateva since u will be staying there for so long and wont be going to her clinic.

Nvm lah, money can be earned back.. Jus concentrate on resting so babies can grow well.

joy's mum my friend oso paid $600 for deposit. she told me her bill was separted from her baby's.

her bill is abt $3200, her baby;s de is abt $800+.

medisave deducted her bill ard $2800. her baby's bill totally paid by medisave. end of the day she only paid abt $90 when she discharged. hers is a planned c sect.

bluegenie - the pigeon one has resealable bag so i jus ck n stick back.. its the one that has colourful individual lids.

I haven got the thermometer but will be getting soon. Saw at Guardian $95 and Kiddy Palace $96 (comes with 1 free skinny thermos flask that u girls were jus talking abt jus now). Go ck it out. This thermometer can scan forehead and ears as well as its beta than braun.. my sis used the Braun and she said not good as babies hardly stay in 1 position long enuf to let u take and their ear cavity is so small so quite diff to get accurate reading.

Even for ourselves, when we go clinic, if dr din position or insert well,, out temp oso not accurate. So m planning to get tis as got 2 functions.

Icy - oh ya!! I remembered 1 mummy advised us some time back to have separate bills beta right?? Wah!! we mus not forget.. mus tell our hb or family members to remind us as we would be so happy abt bb tt we may tend to forget abt it!! Tks for reminding again!

hmmmm.....seems like most mummies here also have had experiences staying in hospitals before....really dread the miserable n uncertainties kind of feeling.....

let's keep our fingers crossed : all of us would have smooth pregnancies n deliveries......

hey mummies, talk to u girls again.. got to go n change as leaving early to buy something b4 going for ante natal later! Speak soon!

Alethea, like what sugarbean has just said....don't think of the money part for now. I'm sure you can claim certain amount fm medisave + insurance. If not, I believe your family members will be helping you to tied over this $ issue.

So don't worry... will be praying for you.
Get well soon.

sugarbean izzit? i cant recalled leh. i was thinking if i can do down to the cashier myself on the day of discharge. coz my hubby hor blur sotong de.

Sherl, am trying very hard to stop myself from joining the BP but the dress is so sweet!!! Haha...however, the material look like pure 100% cotton - easily crumpled kind (trying to phyco myself that it is not worth buying..hahaha).

HAHAHAHA...icylemon, join also leh. $11 nia.
$10 for your case since you stay in Jurong..can self-collect!!! Come come!! BUY BUY BUY!!

wonder which part of Jurong to self-collect at?

And wondering if white dress will turn yellowish if kept too long?